DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on January 05, 2026. Claims 1, 11, 21, and 31 have been amended. Claims 9, 19, 29 and 39 have been cancelled. Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18, 20 – 28, and 30 – 38, and 40 are pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 05, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response arguments, with regards to claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18, 20 – 28, and 30 – 38, and 40 filed on January 05, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s response arguments, with regards to claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18, 20 – 28, and 30 – 38, and 40, filed on January 13, 2023, wherein amended claims 1, 11, 21, and 31 are rejected under Rejection 35 U.S.C. § 103, are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection under the combination of Michini in view of Michini 2, and further in view of Schultz which are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Please see detailed rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0003161 A1 to MICHINI et al. (herein after "Michini") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0003656 A1 to MICHINI et al. (herein after "Michini 2"), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0053054 A1 to SCHULTZ et al. (herein after "Schultz").
(Note: Claim language is in bold typeface, and the Examiner’s comments and cited passages from the prior art reference(s) are in normal typeface.)
As to Claim 1,
Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system discloses a method for generating a flight plan for an unmanned vehicle and controlling the unmanned vehicle using the flight plan to capture high-resolution images of a structure (see at least Figs. 1A, 2E, 3 – 5, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0041 and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Fig. 1A and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308.
See ¶0018, autonomous unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) utilizes generated flight plans to capture high resolution images of wind turbine’s individual blades at various elevations along the lengths of the wind turbine’s individual blades), comprising the steps of:
processing aerial imagery data captured in real-time to generate a flight plan in-real time for the unmanned vehicle (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans based upon image data of individual blades of the wind turbine’s blade set to scan and examine the length and breadth of each portion of individual blade of the wind turbine’s blade set, including the rotor and hub),
said flight plan comprising a plurality of individual flight plans chained together to complete a high-resolution scan of the structure, each of said plurality of individual flight plans corresponding to a specific surface of the structure (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0043, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans which comprise dynamic flight path segments associated with inspecting individual, respective blades of the wind turbine’s blade set);
determining whether a change in elevation exists between the unmanned vehicle and the structure (see at least Figs. 2A-2C 2E, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0040-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, Figs. 2A-2C.
See ¶0018 and ¶0048, UAV can adjust its elevation within an individualized flight plan to inspect an individual blade in order to scan each portion of the blade, where UAV can ascend and / or descend as appropriate to fully scan each vertical length portion of the blade);
if the change in elevation does not exist, executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure (see at least Figs. 2A-2C 2E, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0040-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048); and
if the change in elevation does exist, adjusting an elevation of the flight plan to create an adjusted flight plan in real-time and executing the adjusted flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure. (See at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308. See ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043).
As shown above, Michini discloses adjusting a UAV flight plan to achieve a desired image resolution, herein of an individual blade in order to scan each portion of the blade, where UAV can ascend and / or descend as appropriate to fully scan each vertical length portion of the blade. (In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048). Michini 2 provides more clarification regarding (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075, flight control system of UAV 302 adjusts UAV flight operations, including, but not limited to, altitude to adjust and achieve an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with adjusting and achieving an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075), as suggested by Michini 2, to achieve higher reliability and increased precision in image acquisition, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structure inspections of vertical structures.
Neither Michini nor Michini 2 teach generation of a UAV flight plan including a plurality of points, each of said plurality of points representing a surface the structure and having a corresponding elevation level for capturing said surface at a predefined image resolution.
Thus, Schultz’ UAV structural evaluation system is introduced to disclose wherein a UAV’s flight plan generation includes a plurality of points, each of said plurality of points representing a surface the structure and having a corresponding elevation level for capturing said surface at a predefined image resolution. (See ¶0068;Schultz ~ “the unmanned aircraft 18 passes the Flight Capture Points, the camera(s) 19 would fire… may be a vertical plane that is perpendicular to the Flight Path and that passes through the Flight Capture Point”, ¶0090;Schultz ~ “The Target Capture Points may be spaced along the Target Path in such a manner as to ensure full coverage of the vertical structure of interest 21… once the desired resolution is known”, and ¶0093;Schultz ~ “the fight management system… The position and orientation of the unmanned aircraft 18 would be monitored and the camera 19 would be aimed towards the corresponding Target Capture Point… keep the camera aimed towards the nearest point on the target path”; Schultz ; teaching a UAV following a series of waypoints (points) along a target elevation path to capture image feature points along a vertical plane of a building structure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini/Michini 2 with the Flight Capture point system, as taught by Schultz, to provide more precise close-up examinations and/or inspections of building vertical structural components, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structural integrity inspections of vertical structures.
As to Claim 11,
Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system discloses a method for generating a flight plan for an unmanned vehicle and controlling the unmanned vehicle using the flight plan to capture high-resolution images of a structure (see at least Figs. 1A, 2E, 3 – 5, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0041and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Fig. 1A and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308. See ¶0018, autonomous unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) utilizes generated flight plans to capture high resolution images of wind turbine’s individual blades at various elevations along the lengths of the wind turbine’s individual blades), comprising the steps of:
processing aerial imagery data captured in real-time to generate a flight plan in-real time for the unmanned vehicle (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans based upon image data of individual blades of the wind turbine’s blade set to scan and examine the length and breadth of each portion of individual blade of the wind turbine’s blade set, including the rotor and hub),
said flight plan comprising a plurality of individual flight plans chained together to complete a high-resolution scan of the structure, each of said plurality of individual flight plans corresponding to a specific surface of the structure (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0043, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans which comprise dynamic flight path segments associated with inspecting individual, respective blades of the wind turbine’s blade set);
determining whether a change in elevation exists between the unmanned vehicle and the structure (see at least Figs. 2A-2C 2E, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0040-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048, UAV can adjust its elevation within an individualized flight plan to inspect an individual blade in order to scan each portion of the blade, where UAV can ascend and / or descend as appropriate to fully scan each vertical length portion of the blade);
if the change in elevation does not exist, executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure. (See at least Figs. 2A-2C 2E, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0040-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048) ; and
if the change in elevation does exist, adjusting a lens of the unmanned aerial vehicle and executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure. (See at least Figs. 2A-2C, 2E, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0040-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048); and Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308. See ¶0026, ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043).
As shown above, Michini discloses adjusting a UAV flight plan to achieve a desired image resolution, herein of an individual blade in order to scan each portion of the blade, where UAV can ascend and / or descend as appropriate to fully scan each vertical length portion of the blade. (In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048). Michini 2 provides more clarification regarding (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075, flight control system of UAV 302 adjusts UAV flight operations, including, but not limited to, altitude to adjust and achieve an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with adjusting and achieving an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075), as suggested by Michini 2, to achieve higher reliability and increased precision in image acquisition, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structure inspections of vertical structures.
Both Michini and Michini 2 are silent in teaching generation of a UAV flight plan including a plurality of points, each of said plurality of points representing a surface the structure and having a corresponding elevation level for capturing said surface at a predefined image resolution.
Thus, Schultz’ UAV structural evaluation system is relied upon to disclose wherein a UAV’s flight plan generation includes a plurality of points, each of said plurality of points representing a surface the structure and having a corresponding zoom level for capturing said surface at a predefined image resolution. (See ¶0068;Schultz ~ “the unmanned aircraft 18 passes the Flight Capture Points, the camera(s) 19 would fire… may be a vertical plane that is perpendicular to the Flight Path and that passes through the Flight Capture Point”, ¶0069;Schultz ~ “cameral control information may direct the camera 19 to capture images at… control camera parameters including, but not limited to zoom, focal length, exposure control and/or the like”, ¶0090;Schultz ~ “The Target Capture Points may be spaced along the Target Path in such a manner as to ensure full coverage of the vertical structure of interest 21… once the desired resolution is known”, and ¶0093;Schultz ~ “the fight management system… The position and orientation of the unmanned aircraft 18 would be monitored and the camera 19 would be aimed towards the corresponding Target Capture Point… keep the camera aimed towards the nearest point on the target path”; Schultz ; teaching a UAV following a series of waypoints (points) along a target elevation path to capture image feature points along a vertical plane of a building structure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini/Michini 2 with the Flight Capture point system, as taught by Schultz, to provide more precise close-up examinations and/or inspections of building vertical structural components, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structural integrity inspections of vertical structures.
Claims 2-8, 10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0003161 A1 to MICHINI et al. (herein after "Michini") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0003656 A1 to MICHINI et al. (herein after "Michini 2"), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0053054 A1 to SCHULTZ et al. (herein after "Schultz") as to claims 1 and 11 respectively above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0110014 A1 to TENG et al. (herein after “Teng”).
As to Claim 2,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 1, except for
further comprising comparing the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein comparing the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0049, ¶0113, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests performing comparative analysis of aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.)
Michini is analogous art to the claimed invention as it relates to UAV based high-resolution image capture in that it provides generation of real-time flight plans comprising dynamic flight path segments associated with inspecting individual, respective blades of a power generation wind turbine’s blade set. Teng is analogous art to the claimed invention as it relates to UAV based high-resolution image capture in that it provides modification of flight path segments (flight legs) and combines these flight path segments (flight legs) into one overall flight path based upon an aerial imagery database.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, to facilitate greater air traffic safety, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: solidifying less volatile portions of a flight mission before applying one or more algorithms to identify an optimal or near-optimal means of traversing a target site; and further generating a plurality of flight legs for traversing the target airspace zone and then identify efficient flight plans based on the generated flight legs.
As to Claim 3,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 2, except for
further comprising modifying the flight plan to avoid the possible collision.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller modifies the flight plan to avoid the possible collision. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 4,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 2, except for
wherein the step of determining whether a possible collision exists along the flight path comprises generating a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adding a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses wherein the step of determining whether a possible collision exists along the flight path comprises generating a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adding a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 5,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 4, except for
wherein the step of adding the flight path segment comprises adding a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, conversely, discloses a system wherein the step of adding the flight segment comprises adding a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to vertical parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 6,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 4, except for
wherein the step of adding the flight path segment comprises adding a horizontal parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the step of adding the flight path segment comprises adding a horizontal parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to horizontal parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 7,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 1, except for
wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0120 - ¶0122, mission generation system 100 develops three-dimensional model of the structure to formulate a UAV flight plan.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 8,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 1, except for
wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0085. "the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that follow the contours and/or shapes of one or more topographical features (e.g., hills) or structures (e.g., buildings.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 10,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 1, except for
further comprising determining whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan and, in response to the obstacle, performing one or more of: entering a manual flight control mode, modifying the flight plan, or descending the unmanned vehicle to an automatic landing elevation.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller determines whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan, and in response to the obstacle, modifying the flight plan. (See ¶0052, ¶0070-¶0071, ¶0087, and ¶0106 - ¶0113. In particular, see ¶0113, Teng discloses a mission generation system that teaches a mission boundary manager 102 which manages avoiding obstacles that exist in a path of the flight plan).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 12,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 11, except for
further comprising comparing the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein comparing the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0049, ¶0113, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests performing comparative analysis of aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, to facilitate greater air traffic safety, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: solidifying less volatile portions of a flight mission before applying one or more algorithms to identify an optimal or near-optimal means of traversing a target site; and further generating a plurality of flight legs for traversing the target airspace zone and then identify efficient flight plans based on the generated flight legs.
As to Claim 13,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 12, except for
further comprising modifying the flight plan to avoid the possible collision.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller modifies the flight plan to avoid the possible collision. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 14,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 12, except for
wherein the step of determining whether a possible collision exists along the flight path comprises generating a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adding a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses wherein the step of determining whether a possible collision exists along the flight path comprises generating a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adding a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 15,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 14, except for
wherein the step of adding the flight path segment comprises adding a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, conversely, discloses a system wherein the step of adding the flight segment comprises adding a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to vertical parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 16,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 14, except for
wherein the step of adding the flight path segment comprises adding a horizontal parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the step of adding the flight path segment comprises adding a horizontal parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to horizontal parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 17,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 11, except for
wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0120 - ¶0122, mission generation system 100 develops three-dimensional model of the structure to formulate a UAV flight plan.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 18,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 11, except for
wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the step of processing the aerial imagery data to generate the flight plan comprises processing a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0085. "the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that follow the contours and/or shapes of one or more topographical features (e.g., hills) or structures (e.g., buildings.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 20,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the method of Claim 11, except for
further comprising determining whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan and, in response to the obstacle, performing one or more of: entering a manual flight control mode, modifying the flight plan, or descending the unmanned vehicle to an automatic landing elevation.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller determines whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan, and in response to the obstacle, modifying the flight plan. (See ¶0052, ¶0070-¶0071, ¶0087, and ¶0106 - ¶0113. In particular, see ¶0113, Teng discloses a mission generation system that teaches a mission boundary manager 102 which manages avoiding obstacles that exist in a path of the flight plan).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
Claims 21-28, 30-38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0003161 A1 to MICHINI et al. (herein after "Michini") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0003656 A1 to MICHINI et al. (herein after "Michini 2"), , and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0053054 A1 to SCHULTZ et al. (herein after "Schultz"), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0110014 A1 to TENG et al. (herein after “Teng”).
As to Claim 21,
Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system discloses a system for generating a flight plan for an unmanned vehicle and controlling the unmanned vehicle using the flight plan to capture high-resolution images of a structure. (See at least Figs. 1A, 2E, 3 – 5, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0041 and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Fig. 1A and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308. See ¶0018, autonomous unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) utilizes generated flight plans to capture high resolution images of wind turbine’s individual blades at various elevations along the lengths of the wind turbine’s individual blades) the steps comprising:
processing aerial imagery data captured in real-time to generate a flight plan in-real time for the unmanned vehicle (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans to scan and examine the length and breadth of each portion of individual blade of the wind turbine’s blade set, including the rotor and hub),
said flight plan comprising a plurality of individual flight plans chained together to complete a high-resolution scan of the structure, each of said plurality of individual flight plans corresponding to a specific surface of the structure (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0043, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans which comprise dynamic flight path segments associated with inspecting individual, respective blades of the wind turbine’s blade set);
if the change in elevation does not exist, executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure; and
if the change in elevation does exist, adjusting a lens of the unmanned aerial vehicle and executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure. (See at least Figs. 2A-2C, 2E, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0040-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048); and Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0004, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308. See ¶0026, ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043).
As shown above, Michini discloses adjusting a UAV flight plan to achieve a desired image resolution, herein of an individual blade in order to scan each portion of the blade, where UAV can ascend and / or descend as appropriate to fully scan each vertical length portion of the blade. (In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048). Michini 2 provides more clarification regarding (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075, flight control system of UAV 302 adjusts UAV flight operations, including, but not limited to, altitude to adjust and achieve an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with adjusting and achieving an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075), as suggested by Michini 2, to achieve higher reliability and increased precision in image acquisition, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structure inspections of vertical structures.
Michini does not explicitly disclose an aerial imagery database including aerial imagery database including aerial imagery data captured in real-time; and
a controller in communication with the aerial imagery database and controlling operation of the unmanned vehicle.
35 On the other hand, Teng teaches a controller in communication with the aerial imagery database and controlling operation of the unmanned vehicle. (See Figs. 1, 8, and 10, and ¶0133, processor. See ¶0262, controller. See ¶0042, and ¶0231 - ¶0254, processor operates UAV, wherein it develops flight legs and combines into one overall flight path by way aerial imagery database).
In addition, Teng discloses if the change in elevation does exist, adjusting an elevation of the flight plan to create an adjusted flight plan and executing the adjusted flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure. (See ¶0113, ¶0117, ¶0214, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests high resolution image capture by way of the mission generation system 100 that suggests a mission boundary utilizing high-resolution images within the image display area 708 when elevation is not constant.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
Schultz’ UAV structural evaluation system is relied upon to disclose wherein a UAV’s flight plan generation includes a plurality of points, each of said plurality of points representing a surface the structure and having a corresponding elevation level for capturing said surface at a predefined image resolution. (See ¶0068;Schultz ~ “the unmanned aircraft 18 passes the Flight Capture Points, the camera(s) 19 would fire… may be a vertical plane that is perpendicular to the Flight Path and that passes through the Flight Capture Point”, ¶0090;Schultz ~ “The Target Capture Points may be spaced along the Target Path in such a manner as to ensure full coverage of the vertical structure of interest 21… once the desired resolution is known”, and ¶0093;Schultz ~ “the fight management system… The position and orientation of the unmanned aircraft 18 would be monitored and the camera 19 would be aimed towards the corresponding Target Capture Point… keep the camera aimed towards the nearest point on the target path”; Schultz ; teaching a UAV following a series of waypoints (points) along a target elevation path to capture image feature points along a vertical plane of a building structure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini/Michini 2 with the Flight Capture point system, as taught by Schultz, to provide more precise close-up examinations and/or inspections of building vertical structural components, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structural integrity inspections of vertical structures.
As to Claim 22,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 21, except for
wherein the controller compares the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the controller compares the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0049, ¶0113, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests performing comparative analysis of aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, to facilitate greater air traffic safety, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: solidifying less volatile portions of a flight mission before applying one or more algorithms to identify an optimal or near-optimal means of traversing a target site; and further generating a plurality of flight legs for traversing the target airspace zone and then identify efficient flight plans based on the generated flight legs.
As to Claim 23,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 22, except for
wherein the controller modifies the flight plan to avoid the possible collision.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller modifies the flight plan to avoid the possible collision. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 24,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 22, except for
wherein the controller generates a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adds a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses wherein the controller generates a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adding a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 25,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 24, except for
wherein the controller adds a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the controller adds a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to vertical parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 26,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 24, except for
wherein the controller adds a horizontal parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the controller adds a horizontal parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to horizontal parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 27,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 21, except for
wherein the controller processes a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller processes a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0120 - ¶0122, mission generation system 100 develops three-dimensional model of the structure to formulate a UAV flight plan.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 28,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 21, except for
wherein the controller processes a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the controller processes a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0085. "the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that follow the contours and/or shapes of one or more topographical features (e.g., hills) or structures (e.g., buildings.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 30,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 21, except for
wherein the controller determines whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan and, in response to the obstacle, performing one or more of: entering a manual flight control mode, modifying the flight plan, or descending the unmanned vehicle to an automatic landing elevation.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller determines whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan, and in response to the obstacle, modifying the flight plan. (See ¶0052, ¶0070-¶0071, ¶0087, and ¶0106 - ¶0113. In particular, see ¶0113, Teng discloses a mission generation system that teaches a mission boundary manager 102 which manages avoiding obstacles that exist in a path of the flight plan).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 31,
Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system discloses a system for generating a flight plan for an unmanned vehicle and controlling the unmanned vehicle using the flight plan to capture high-resolution images of a structure (see at least Figs. 1A, 2E, 3 – 5, and ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0041and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Fig. 1A and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308. See ¶0018, autonomous unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) utilizes generated flight plans to capture high resolution images of wind turbine’s individual blades at various elevations along the lengths of the wind turbine’s individual blades) comprising:
processing aerial imagery data captured in real-time to generate a flight plan in-real time for the unmanned vehicle (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041, ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans to scan and examine the length and breadth of each portion of individual blade of the wind turbine’s blade set, including the rotor and hub),
said flight plan comprising a plurality of individual flight plans chained together to complete a high-resolution scan of the structure, each of said plurality of individual flight plans corresponding to a specific surface of the structure (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0017- ¶0021, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0043, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, 3, ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043, UAV generates real-time flight plans which comprise dynamic flight path segments associated with inspecting individual, respective blades of the wind turbine’s blade set);
if the change in elevation does not exist, executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure (see at least Figs. 2A-2C 2E, ¶0017-¶0019, ¶0030-¶0031, ¶0040-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048); and
if the change in elevation does exist, adjusting a lens of the unmanned aerial vehicle and executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure. . (See at least Figs. 1B, 2A-2D, 3, ¶0030-¶0032, ¶0041-¶0048, and ¶0052-¶0053. In particular, see Figs. 2A, and Fig. 3 ~ process method step 308. See ¶0030-¶0032, and ¶0041 - ¶0043).
As shown above, Michini discloses adjusting a UAV flight plan to achieve a desired image resolution, herein of an individual blade in order to scan each portion of the blade, where UAV can ascend and / or descend as appropriate to fully scan each vertical length portion of the blade. (In particular, Figs. 2A-2C. See ¶0018 and ¶0048). Michini 2 provides more clarification regarding (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075, flight control system of UAV 302 adjusts UAV flight operations, including, but not limited to, altitude to adjust and achieve an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with adjusting and achieving an elevation to capture and maintain a desired image resolution (see Fig. 9 ~ process method 906, ¶0048 and ¶0075), as suggested by Michini 2, to achieve higher reliability and increased precision in image acquisition, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structure inspections of vertical structures.
Michini does not explicitly disclose an aerial imagery an aerial imagery database including aerial imagery data; and
a controller in communication with the aerial imagery database and controlling operation of the unmanned vehicle, the controller:
35 On the other hand, Teng teaches a controller in communication with the aerial imagery database and controlling operation of the unmanned vehicle. (See Figs. 1, 8, and 10, and ¶0133, processor. See ¶0262, controller. See ¶0042, and ¶0231 - ¶0254, processor operates UAV, wherein it develops flight legs and combines into one overall flight path by way aerial imagery database).
In addition, Teng discloses if the change in elevation does exist, adjusting a lens of the unmanned aerial vehicle and executing the flight plan to capture at least one high-resolution image of the structure. (See ¶0113, ¶0117, ¶0214, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests high resolution image capture by way of the mission generation system 100 that suggests a mission boundary utilizing high-resolution images within the image display area 708 when elevation is not constant.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
Again, both Michini and Michini 2 are silent in teaching generation of a UAV flight plan including a plurality of points, each of said plurality of points representing a surface the structure and having a corresponding elevation level for capturing said surface at a predefined image resolution.
Thus, Schultz’ UAV structural evaluation system is relied upon to disclose wherein a UAV’s flight plan generation includes a plurality of points, each of said plurality of points representing a surface the structure and having a corresponding zoom level for capturing said surface at a predefined image resolution. (See ¶0068;Schultz ~ “the unmanned aircraft 18 passes the Flight Capture Points, the camera(s) 19 would fire… may be a vertical plane that is perpendicular to the Flight Path and that passes through the Flight Capture Point”, ¶0069;Schultz ~ “cameral control information may direct the camera 19 to capture images at… control camera parameters including, but not limited to zoom, focal length, exposure control and/or the like”, ¶0090;Schultz ~ “The Target Capture Points may be spaced along the Target Path in such a manner as to ensure full coverage of the vertical structure of interest 21… once the desired resolution is known”, and ¶0093;Schultz ~ “the fight management system… The position and orientation of the unmanned aircraft 18 would be monitored and the camera 19 would be aimed towards the corresponding Target Capture Point… keep the camera aimed towards the nearest point on the target path”; Schultz ; teaching a UAV following a series of waypoints (points) along a target elevation path to capture image feature points along a vertical plane of a building structure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify Michini/Michini 2 with the Flight Capture point system, as taught by Schultz, to provide more precise close-up examinations and/or inspections of building vertical structural components, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher efficiency and cost savings in damage and structural integrity inspections of vertical structures.
As to Claim 32,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 31, except for
wherein the controller compares the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a controller wherein the controller compares the aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0049, ¶0113, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests performing comparative analysis of aerial image data to the flight plan to determine whether a possible collision exists along a flight path of the flight plan.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, to facilitate greater air traffic safety, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: solidifying less volatile portions of a flight mission before applying one or more algorithms to identify an optimal or near-optimal means of traversing a target site; and further generating a plurality of flight legs for traversing the target airspace zone and then identify efficient flight plans based on the generated flight legs.
As to Claim 33,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 32, except for
wherein the controller modifies the flight plan to avoid the possible collision.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller modifies the flight plan to avoid the possible collision. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 34,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 32, except for
wherein the controller generates a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adds a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses wherein the controller generates a geometric buffer around each obstacle in the flight path and adding a flight path segment to the flight path around each obstacle. (See Fig. 1, and ¶0046 - ¶0049, ¶0113 - ¶0114, and ¶0223 - ¶0226, Teng suggests collision avoidance maneuvers wherein UAV avoids obstacle in the flight path by creating a navigable flight path around an airspace envelope about the obstacle.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 35,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 34, except for
wherein the controller adds a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the controller adds a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to vertical parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 36,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 34, except for
wherein the system adds a horizontal parabolic flight path around each obstacle.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the controller adds a vertical parabolic flight path around each obstacle. (See Figs. 1, and 9A - 14, and ¶0085, "flight leg facility 104, can generate flight legs that are not parallel in order to circumvent obstacles, capture images of elevated objects… For example, the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that are circular, curvilinear, parabolic, logarithmic, zigzagged, or some other shape or pattern." Teng suggests a plurality of flight path and / or leg geometries, including but not limited to horizontal parabolic flight paths around obstacles.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the parabolic flight path planning by aerial image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 37,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 31, except for
wherein the system processes a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the system processes a three-dimensional model of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0120 - ¶0122, mission generation system 100 develops three-dimensional model of the structure to formulate a UAV flight plan.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 38,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 31, except for
wherein the system processes a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan.
Teng, on the other hand, discloses a system wherein the system processes a contour of the structure to generate the flight plan. (See Figs. 1, and 10, and ¶0085. "the flight leg facility 104 can generate flight legs that follow the contours and/or shapes of one or more topographical features (e.g., hills) or structures (e.g., buildings.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the flight path planning by aerial three-dimensional image processing system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
As to Claim 40,
Modified Michini substantially discloses the system of Claim 31, except wherein the controller determines whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan and, in response to the obstacle, performing one or more of: entering a manual flight control mode, modifying the flight plan, or descending the unmanned vehicle to an automatic landing elevation.
Teng, on the contrary, discloses a system wherein the controller determines whether an obstacle exists in a path of the flight plan, and in response to the obstacle, modifying the flight plan. (See ¶0052, ¶0070-¶0071, ¶0087, and ¶0106 - ¶0113. In particular, see ¶0113, Teng discloses a mission generation system that teaches a mission boundary manager 102 which manages avoiding obstacles that exist in a path of the flight plan).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further provide Michini’s UAV based wind turbine inspection system with the collision avoidance maneuvering system, as suggested by Teng, in order to facilitate greater air traffic safety.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Peter Nolan can be reached Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at (571) 270 – 7016. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ASHLEY L REDHEAD JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661