DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation of Claim 8 reading “wherein the at least one fixed shaped extension comprises a first shaped extension extends laterally away from a first lateral side of the handle, and a second shaped extension extends laterally away from an opposite, second lateral side of the handle”, should read “wherein the at least one fixed shaped extension comprises a first shaped extension that extends laterally away from a first lateral side of the handle, and a second shaped extension that extends laterally away from an opposite, second lateral side of the handle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 recites the limitation "flat top surface thereof" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 13-14, 17, 21, 23, 26-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 1435890, Bothe.
Regarding claim 1, Bothe discloses a cutlery utensil comprising:
a functional section (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2 below);
a handle 1 having a first end and a second end, the second end terminating at the functional section (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2 below), the handle further comprising:
a raised spine (valley, combination of the handle part 1, 4 and 5) disposed on a first surface (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2 below) of the handle (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2 below), the raised spine having a varying height that generally increases from the first end of the handle (at 6) toward the second end of the handle (at 4) that is adjacent the functional section (fig 2 which shows the spine rising in height from the first end, rear, to the first end, front of the utensil) wherein a crown of the raised spine is defined at a maximum height of the raised spine (highest portion of spine 4, closest to functional region, see annotated fig 1-2 below which shows portion of recess that corresponds to crown of the spine), wherein a cross-section taken perpendicular to a length between the first end and the second end through the handle proximate the crown of the raised spine defines a flat top surface thereof extend at least partially into the functional section (figs 1-3 and “flat” part of spine 4, see pg. 1, 35-37, where it is noted that “the fiber spoon is provided with a central corrugation, hollow ridge or valley 1 which starts from a 55 point 2 midway of the length of the bowl 3 and expands sidewise and flatwise as at 4 along the rear half of the bowl and extends along the handle as at 5, and shown in the figures to extend partially into the functional section)(emphasis added), a first side surface (see annotated figs 1-2 below) and a second side surface (see annotated fig 1 below), wherein the first side surface and second side surface extend at an upward angle from the first surface to the flat top surface (see annotated fig 1 below), and
at least one recessed channel (“hollow ridge” which forms the valley 1, 4, and 5), formed in a second surface (surface that is opposite to the top surface, see annotated figures below) of the handle, the second surface of the handle being opposite the first surface of the handle (since the bottom surface, shown in the annotated figure is opposite to the top surface), wherein the at least one recessed channel has a varying depth that increases from proximate the first end of the handle (rear, near portion 6) toward the second end of the handle (front, since the depth increases in correspondence to the increase height of the raised spine), wherein the at least one recessed channel formed in the second surface of the handle is configured to receive therein a raised spine of an identical cutlery utensil stacked adjacent to the cutlery utensil (since the channel is shaped to receive a top of an adjacent identically shaped cutlery utensil, because it is hollow and shaped correspondent to the valley).
at least one fixed shaped extension 7 that extends laterally away from at least one side of the handle in a plane defined by the first surface of the handle (see fig. 1, lines 40-50), wherein a first end of the at least one fixed, shaped extension furthest from the functional section extends a first distance from the at least one side of the handle (see annotated fig 1), and wherein the at least one fixed, shaped extension tapers toward the handle proximate the functional section (annotated figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, in Bothe the varying height of the raised spine generally increases from proximate the first end of the handle that is furthest from the functional section (e.g. at part 6) toward a second end of the handle that is adjacent to the functional section and wherein the height of the raised spine is greatest at a crown formed proximate a first end of the functional section (see annotated and fig’s 1 and 2, below).
Regarding Claim 6, in Bothe the raised spine has a varying height that generally increases from the first end of the handle that is furthest from the functional section (e.g. at part 6) toward the second end of the handle that is adjacent the functional section (fig 1-2), and the raised spine has a crown at the highest point of the raised spine where the varying height of the raised spine then decreases from the crown in a direction of the functional section (see fig 1-2 annotated below).
Regarding Claim 7, in Bothe the at least one shaped extension is (at least partially) triangular in shape (see annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 8, in Bothe the at least one shaped extension comprises a first shaped extension extends laterally away from a first lateral side of the handle, and a second shaped extension extends laterally away from an opposite, second lateral side of the handle; where a total width across the first shaped extension and the second shaped extension is less than a width of the functional section thereof in the same direction (see annotated fig 1, show below).
Regarding Claim 9, in Bothe wherein the first shaped extension is coplanar with the second shaped extension (compare figs 3 and 1).
Regarding Claim 10, in Bothe the functional section has an end, furthest from the handle, that has a scoop (3, “bowl”).
Regarding Claim 13, in Bothe the raised spine has a varying width that generally decreases from beginning proximate the first end of the handle toward the functional section, wherein the varying width of the raised spine generally decreases from proximate the first end of the handle that is furthest from the functional section toward the second end of the handle that is adjacent the functional section (annotated fig below).
Regarding Claim 21, in Bothe the varying height of the raised spine decreases from the crown toward the functional section (see fig 1-2).
Regarding Claim 23, in Bothe, the at least one shaped extension is located proximal to the highest point of the raised spine (see annotated fig 1: shown below).
Regarding Claim 26, in Bothe, the utensil further comprises a stop (point 2) is extending into the at least one recessed channel (as best understood) since the point 2 is a portion of the channel/valley), wherein the stop engages the identical cutlery utensil to create a clearance between the functional section of the cutlery utensil and a functional section of the identical cutlery utensil stacked adjacent to the cutlery utensil (since the risen portion 2 would contact adjacent utensils during a stacking thereof, and thereby creates a clearance between a top surface of an adjacent utensil and the channel of the top utensil).
Regarding Claim 27, in Bothe, the raised spine has a first height relative to the handle at the first end of the handle and a second height relative to the handle at the second end of the handle, wherein the second height is greater than the first height. (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 28, in Bothe, the raised spine tapers from the second height at the second end to the first height at the first end (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 29, in Bothe the raised spine defines a first width at the first end and a second width at the second end, wherein the first width is greater than the second width See: (annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 30, in Bothe the raised spine tapers from the first width at the first end to the second width at the second end (annotated fig 1 shown below).
Regarding claim 14, Bothe discloses a cutlery utensil comprising:
a functional section (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2 below); and
a handle (“handle”) comprising:
a raised spine (valley, combination of the handle part 1, 4-5) disposed on a first surface of the handle (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2 below), the raised spine having a varying height that increases from a first end of the raised spine proximate a first end of the handle (at portion 6) to a second end of the raised spine proximate a second end of the handle in a direction of the functional section (fig 1-2 which show the spine rising in height from the first end, rear, at 6 to the first end at parts 4, front of the utensil) wherein a crown of the raised spine is defined at a maximum height of the raised spine (highest portion of spine 4, closest to functional region, see annotated fig 2 below which shows portion of recess that corresponds to crown of the spine), wherein a cross-section taken through the handle perpendicular to a length between the first end of the handle and the second end of the handle proximate the crown of the raised spine defines a flat top surface ((figs 1-3 and “flat” part of spine 4, see pg. 1, 35-37, where it is noted that “the fiber spoon is provided with a central corrugation, hollow ridge or valley 1 which starts from a 55 point 2 midway of the length of the bowl 3 and expands sidewise and flatwise as at 4 along the rear half of the bowl and extends along the handle as at 5”) (emphasis added) , a first side surface and a second side surface (see annotated fig 6 below), wherein the first side surface and second side surface extend at an upward angle from the first surface to the flat top surface (see annotated fig 6 below),
and the raised spine and flat top surface thereof extend at least partially into the functional section (part 5, shown in the figures to extend partially into the functional section)
a first recessed channel formed in a second surface of the handle (hollow ridge on bottom of handle, formed by the spine being raised), the first surface of the handle being opposite the second surface of the handle (since the bottom surface, shown in fig 6 is opposite to the top surface), and a second recessed surface (recesses formed between ribs 2) formed within the first recessed channel (fig 3 and 4), wherein the first recessed channel is configured to receive a raised spine of a second utensil (since the channel is shaped to receive a top of an identical adjacent cutlery utensil), the first recessed channel engages the raised spine of the second utensil to permit relative movement in a first direction along which the handle extends, and preclude relative movement in a second direction, opposite the first direction,
since the channel is shaped to receive a top of an adjacent identically shaped cutlery utensil, because it is hollow and shaped correspondent to the valley; also, the at least one recessed channel is configured to engage a raised spine of the identical cutlery utensil [due again, to the complementary shape of the identical utensils]; also the shape of the Bothe utensil permits relative movement in a first direction [direction shown as arrow “1” in second annotated fig 1 below] along which the handle extends, and preclude relative movement in a second direction, opposite the first direction; Also, The term “wherein the at least one recessed channel engages the raised spine of the identical cutlery utensil to permit relative movement in a first direction along which the handle extends, and preclude relative movement in a second direction, opposite the first direction” is considered a statement of intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. The only requirement is that the prior art reference be capable of said intended use. See MPEP 2114. In this case, the Bothe device is capable of engaging a raised spine of an identical cutlery utensil to permit relative movement in a first direction along which the handle extends, and preclude relative movement in a second direction, opposite the first direction due to the shape of the recess as described previously in the rejection of this limitation above)
and a first fixed shaped extension extends laterally away from a first lateral side of the handle, and a second fixed shaped extension extends laterally away from an opposite, second lateral side of the handle, wherein the first shaped extension is co-planar with the second shaped extension (see annotated figure 1).
Regarding Claim 17, in Bothe the raised spine has a varying width that generally decreases from beginning proximate the first end of the handle toward the functional section, wherein the varying width of the raised spine generally decreases from proximate the first end of the handle that is furthest from the functional section toward the second end of the handle that is adjacent the functional section (annotated fig below).
Regarding Claim 32, Bothe discloses a cutlery utensil comprising: a functional section (valley, combination of the handle part 1, 4-5);
a handle (“handle comprising the parts 1, 5, 6) having a first end and a second end (valley, combination of the handle part 1, 4-5), the second end terminating at the functional section (valley, combination of the handle part 1, 4-5), the handle further comprising:
a raised spine (valley, combination of the handle part(s) 1, 4-5),
disposed on a first surface of the handle (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2, below), the raised spine having a varying height that generally increases from the first end of the handle (portion 6) toward the second end of the handle that is adjacent the functional section (at part 4), the raised spine and flat top surface thereof at least partially in the functional section; (figs 1-3 and “flat” part of spine 4, see pg. 1, 35-37, where it is noted that “the fiber spoon is provided with a central corrugation, hollow ridge or valley 1 which starts from a 55 point 2 midway of the length of the bowl 3 and expands sidewise and flatwise as at 4 along the rear half of the bowl and extends along the handle as at 5, and shown in the figures to extend partially into the functional section)(emphasis added);
a recessed channel (hollowed portion which forms valley) formed in a second surface of the handle (see annotated fig’s 1 and 2, below), the second surface of the handle being opposite the first surface of the handle (See fig’s 1 and 3), wherein the recessed channel has a varying depth that increases from proximate the first end of the handle toward the second end of the handle (since the depth of the channel corresponds to the height of the spine see figs. 1-3),
wherein the at least one recessed channel formed in the second surface of the handle is configured to receive therein a raised spine of an identical cutlery utensil stacked adjacent to the cutlery
utensil (since the channel is shaped to receive a top of an identical adjacent cutlery utensil), and a stop (2) extending into the recessed channel, wherein the stop engages the identical cutlery utensil to create a clearance between the cutlery utensil and the identical cutlery utensil stacked adjacent to the cutlery utensils (since the risen portion 2 contact adjacent utensils during a stacking thereof, and thereby creates a clearance between a top surface of an adjacent utensil and the channel of the top utensil).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bothe in view of US Design Pat. No. US D172480, Silletti, and US Pat. No. 4779344, Panisch.
It may be argued that even though the extensions in Bothe are generally triangularly shaped that they are not sufficiently triangularly shaped to meet the limitation as claimed. Without acquiescing to such an argument, but in order to advance prosecution, Claim 7 is herein also rejected in view of Silletti and Panisch.
As noted above, if Bothe is proved to lack the shaped extension being triangular in shape, then Harris is presented. Silletti discloses a handheld cutlery tool in the same field of endeavor as the handheld cutlery tool of the present invention and includes at least one fixed shaped extension (see annotated fig 1 below) that extends laterally away from one side of the handle in a plane defined by the first surface of the handle, wherein the at least one shaped extension is triangular in shape (see annotated fig 1 below).
Also, Panisch discloses a handheld utensil in the same field of endeavor as the handheld utensil of the present invention, and discloses that in such an assembly it is beneficial to have the utensil handle be shaped like an airplane in order to make eating/feeding activities more enjoyable (Col. 1 lines 18-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee by including at least one shaped extension that extends laterally away from one side of the handle or from one side of the functional section defined by the first surface of the handle, wherein a first end of the at least one fixed, shaped extension is triangular in shape as shown in Silletti, in order to make eating/feeding activities more enjoyable, as taught by Panisch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed 10/20/2025 with regard to the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections, as the claims have now been amended, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended the claim in a manner which obviates the indefinite rejections made in the previous action.
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed 10/20/2025 with regard to the prior art rejections, as the claims have now been amended, have been fully considered and are partially persuasive and partially not persuasive. Applicant presents two main arguments with regard to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections over Bothe, as applied to independent claims 1, 14 and 32.
First, Applicant posits that:
As evident from the figures and disclosure of Bothe, the described utensil requires an arched surface that is curved along its length, and fails to define a raised spine of the configuration recited in Claim 1. FIGS. 1 and 3 of Bothe further clarify that the spoon has an arched handle that is necessarily round, as illustrated by the profile and the surface shading. Thus, Bothe fails to teach or suggest that which is claimed, and cannot reasonably be interpreted to anticipate independent Claim 1.
This is not found persuasive. As noted in the rejection above, and in the most recent Action, Bothe discloses on pg. 1, lines 35-37, that “the fiber spoon is provided with a central corrugation, hollow ridge or valley 1 which starts from a 55 point 2 midway of the length of the bowl 3 and expands sidewise and flatwise as at 4 along the rear half of the bowl and extends along the handle as at 5)(emphasis added). In addressing the previous rejection Applicant appears to ignore this language of the disclosure, in which the plain text of the document states that the part 4 extends flatwise. Even though the figures, especially figure 3 appears to show an almost arcuate top at spine 1, this figure could also be interpreted to have a flat portion at the very tip thereof, which is further supported by the above quoted plain text. In applicant’s remarks applicant appears to be referring to the text on page 1 lines 65-70 of Bothe where it is further said that “It may be said that the spoon is concave from end to end and from side to side throughout its entire extent and is lengthwise of inverted arch form”. Referring to the figures it appears that this disclosure is directed to the arc shaped edge portions that form the “extent” of the perimeter of the spoon. Clearly from the figures the utensil has certain flat portions including along the spine thereof. As such, the rejection of claim 1 and claim 14 in view of Bothe are maintained.
Applicant next argues that the Examiner has, in the previous rejection, failed to address the limitation of claims 1, 14, and 32, respectively reading (respectively) “wherein the raised spine and flat top surface thereof extend at least partially into the functional section” (claim 1), “the raised spine and flat top surface thereof extend at least partially into the functional section” (Claim 14), and “the raised spine and flat top surface thereof extend at least partially into the functional section” (claim 32). This discrepancy has been addressed in the rejections above.
Finally, Applicant argues against the rejections made to dependent claim 8 over Bothe. Applicant argues that:
“The Office Action has rejected dependent Claim 8 as anticipated by Bothe. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Claim 8 recites:
the at least one fixed shaped extension comprises a first shaped extension extends laterally away from a first lateral side of the handle, and a second shaped extension extends laterally away from an opposite, second lateral side of the handle, and wherein a total width across the first shaped extension and the second shaped extension is less than a width of the functional section in a same direction.
Emphasis added. The Office Action has interpreted the below cited area as the claimed "fixed shaped extension." Applicant respectfully disagrees with this interpretation. However, even under this interpretation Bothe fails to teach or suggest that which is recited in Claim 8.
The Office Action points to the above as the "shaped extension" in the rejection of Claim 7, and proceeds to change that interpretation in order to reject Claim 8. The alleged "shaped extension" is shown in the marked-up figure on page 7 of the Office Action. Under the interpretation of the "shaped extension" employed for Claim 7, "a total width across the first shaped extension and the second shaped extension" is clearly greater than a width of the functional section in the same direction, such that Bothe teaches the opposite of Claim 8. However, in the rejection of Claim 8, the Office Action on page 8 with a different version of marked-up FIG. 1 points to an apparently random dimension across the alleged "shaped extension" and considers that dimension a "total width" without any further explanation.
In FIG 1 of Bothe, the alleged "shaped extension" as interpreted by the Office Action is clearly of a "total width across the first shaped extension and the second shaped extension" that is decidedly not" less than width of the functional section in the same direction" as recited by Claim 1. A Portion of FIG. 1 Is reproduced below with a width of the total width across the alleged "fixed Shaped extensions" being greater than the width of the functional section. The Annotated FIG. 1 From the rejection of Claim 7 Of the Office Action is also shown below to clarify the distinction even under the interpretation of the shaped extensions within the Office Action.”
This is not found persuasive. Claim 8 requires: “wherein the at least one fixed shaped extension comprises a first shaped extension extends laterally away from a first lateral side of the handle, and a second shaped extension extends laterally away from an opposite, second lateral side of the handle, and wherein a total width across the first shaped extension and the second shaped extension is less than a width of the functional section in a same direction”. (emphasis added). Notably, the Claim requires only that a (e.g. any) total width across the first and second shaped extensions, be greater than a (e.g. any) width measured across the functional section in the same direction. Thus, the claim allows for the measurements to be taken along any portion of the extensions and functional section, including the measurements shown in the annotated figure related to the claim 8 rejection. (reproduced below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/PGPUBs 10081095 5137376 1868426 1907737 D642874 D705604 S D752398 20170340152, D387956, D642874 0904553 0904553 16/239621 20070000136 20050155229 8091242 12042069 and 20170056291, each disclose state of the art utensils with shaped recesses, and thus each disclose elements of the current application.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fernando Ayala whose telephone number is (571) 270-5336. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday between the hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Adam Eiseman can be reached on 571-270-3818. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/FERNANDO AYALA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724