DETAILED ACTION
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1,6,9, and 19-21 which changes the scope of the claims and, as such, a new grounds of rejection is issued. Claims 1-24 are presently pending and examination of the pending claims are as follows.
In regards to the 103 rejection of claims 1 Applicant asserts:
In light of the above discussion and the amendments to the claims of the Application, it is respectfully submitted that the claims fully comply with the written description requirement and are clearly described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the Application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the 112 first rejection as specified below.
And further asserts:
It is respectfully submitted that Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tanjou does not teach, disclose or suggest, among other patentable elements (an example of emphasis added):
A method for heating an energy storage device having a core with an electrolyte, inputs including a first input and a second input of the energy storage device, a capacitance across the electrolyte and the core and internal surface capacitance between the inputs which can store electric field energy, the method comprising:… discontinuing the switching when the temperature of the electrolyte is above a predetermined temperature that is considered sufficient to increase a charging efficiency of the energy storage device as recited in claim 1.
In regards to the 103 rejection of claims 1 Applicant asserts:
In addition and in any event, Nishi, Togo Peraza, Tverskoy, Fogg, Svensson and Maji even in consideration in entirety, alone and in any combination, do nothing to cure the deficiencies in each of Rastegar, Ju and Tanjou.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 1 and similarly claim 19 where the Examiner uses the Rastegar, Ju, Maji, Tanjou and Rastegar, Ju, and Tani to teach the claim language of claims 19 as specified below.
In regards to the 103 rejection of claim 19 Applicant asserts:
it is respectfully submitted that nowhere within the four corners of Rastegar does it teach, disclose or suggest "setting a low temperature threshold and a high temperature threshold for respectively turning on and discontinuing the switching based on the estimated internal temperature" as for example recited in claim 19.
And further asserts:
As readily appreciated by a person having ordinary skill in the art, since the "very low" temperature is a "Predetermined Temperature", clearly, Rastegar does not teach, disclose or suggest "setting a low temperature threshold and a high temperature threshold for respectively turning on and discontinuing the switching based on the estimated internal temperature" as for example recited in claim 19.
Based on the foregoing, it is respectfully submitted that independent claim 19 is patentable and notice to this effect is earnestly solicited.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection claim 19 where the examiner cites the teaching Rastegar, Ju, and Tani to teach the claim language setting a low temperature threshold (“very low” ) and a high temperature threshold (above a predetermined temperature) for respectively turning on and discontinuing the AC input voltage based on the approximation of the internal temperature of the core (Fig. 3 [0057] of Rastegar. . Fig. 3 and [0059] S2a to S5a and repeated to S1a to S2a “No” to S3a showing continued measuring of the core temperature until the electrolyte temperature has been increased above a predetermined temperature. At which time the applied high frequency voltage signal is terminated).
In regards to the 103 rejection of claims 20 Applicant asserts:
For example, claim 20 provides "wherein the switching comprises varying a resistance of the sink resistor to change a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes to optimize a rate of heating of the energy storage device" and claim 9 similarly provides which is not taught or disclosed by the cited references.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection claim 20 where the examiner cites the teaching Rastegar, Ju, Tanjou, and Tani to teach the claim language “wherein the switching comprises varying a resistance of the sink resistor to change a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes to optimize a rate of heating of the energy storage device ([0059] of Rastega and [0008] [0030] of Tanjou by proportionally to a temperature of the liquid electrolyte lithium battery LB or gradually increasing the resistance value over the temperature range equal to and above T1 (see FIG. 6) when the power control device 2 is constituted of a variable resistor).
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6,9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites varying the resistance of the sink resistor such that nearly the same charge of the energy storage device occurs during the first time interval as discharge from the energy storage device occurs during the second time interval based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes” which is not supported in the specification and is therefore new matter..
Claim 9 recites “varying a resistance of the sink resistor for the heating to vary a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs to optimize a rate of heating of the energy storage device based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes” which is not supported in the specification and is therefore new matter.
Claim 20 recite “wherein the switching comprises varying a resistance of the sink resistor … for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes to optimize a rate of heating of the energy storage device” which is not supported in the specification and is therefore new matter.
The above specification does not support changing the sink resistance while continuing the heating nor supports changing the sink resistance while continuing the heating based on obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes.
As to claim 2-7,9-13, and 15-18, are included in this rejection due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1,7,9-10,13, and 17,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Maji (US 20200169108) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116).
Fig. 3 of Rastegar
As to claim 1 Rastegar discloses a method for heating an energy storage device having a core with an electrolyte (Fig. 2 supercapacitor 20), inputs including a first input and a second input of the energy storage device (terminals 22), a capacitance across the electrolyte and the core (Fig. 11 Cc, [0086]) and internal surface capacitance between the inputs which can store electric field energy ([0086] capacitor Cs is the surface capacitance), the method comprising:
Rastegar further discloses providing an AC input voltage to at least one of the inputs (terminals 22) at a frequency sufficient to effectively short the internal surface capacitance of the energy storage device to generate heat and raise a temperature of the electrolyte (Fig. 3 S1a,S2a,S5a where inputting a predetermined voltage to terminals 22 of the energy storage device causing internal components of the energy storage device to generate heat if the temperature of the electrolyte is determined to be less than the predetermined temperature. Inputting can comprise a high frequency voltage signal [0059]. Rastegar discloses the frequency that should be applied in order to heat the electrolyte to a temperature at which it can be charged at or close to its nominal charging rate is a frequency that effectively shorts internal surface capacitance [0064]),
periodically obtaining at least one of a measurement and an approximation of the temperature of the electrolyte ([0059] The processor 11a can then periodically continue to obtain the supercapacitor core temperature,
discontinuing providing the AC input voltage (Fig. 3 S2a “No”) when the temperature of the electrolyte is above a predetermined temperature that is considered sufficient to increase a charging efficiency of the energy storage device (Fig. 3 and [0059] S2a to S5a and repeated to S1a to S2a “No” to S3a showing continued measuring of the core temperature until the electrolyte temperature has been increased above a predetermined temperature. At which time the applied high frequency voltage signal is terminated. It is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that internal resistance of the battery is reduced when the temperature is elevated. Therefore there is less charge loss due to a reduced internal resistance, thereby improving charging efficiency).
Although Rastegar discloses providing an AC input voltage to the inputs at a frequency to generate heat and raise a temperature of the electrolyte (Fig. 3 S1a,S21,S5a and [0059] inputting a predetermined voltage to terminals 22 at a high frequency voltage signal), Rastegar does not disclose the AC input voltage provided at the inputs of the energy storage device is provided by switching between an input voltage and a grounding input to the inputs.
Fig. 2 of Ju above
Ju teaches an AC voltage is provided by switching between an input voltage and a grounding input at inputs (Fig. 2 square wave pulse generator 120 is connected between ground and signal V1 and outputs converted power using pulse width modulation (PWM) [0038]), wherein the switching between the input voltage and the grounding input to inputs comprises producing a square waved shaped voltage ([0039] square wave voltage is output from pulse voltage generator 120 as identified above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide AC input voltage provided at the input of the energy storage device is provided by switching between an input voltage and a grounding input to the inputs in order to allow all circuit components to have the same reference potential and a complete current path for proper circuit operation.
As such the combined teachings of Rastegar, and Ju will render Rastegar’s discontinuation of providing the AC input voltage during the heating cycle to be a discontinuation of the switching between an input voltage and a grounding input.
Rastegar in view of Ju does not teach wherein the switching comprises varying a frequency of the switching at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes.
Maji teaches wherein the switching comprises varying a frequency of the switching at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes ([0088] The switching frequency of the converter may be increased if the temperature of the battery sensed by the sensor is below a first threshold, and may be decreased if a switching frequency of the converter if the temperature of the battery sensed by the sensor is above a second threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju to wherein the switching comprises varying a frequency of the switching at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes in order to heat the battery without providing additional hardware like a heater ([0008]).
Rastegar does not disclose coupling a sink resistor to at least one of the inputs.
Tanjou teaches coupling a sink resistor to at least one of the inputs ([0008] [0008] A power control device such as a relay or a variable resistor may be used so as to be connected in series to the liquid electrolyte battery).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar to include coupling a sink resistor to at least one of the inputs in order to fully utilize the battery to its limit while keeping down the extent to which the capacity decay progresses within a specific range ([0030].
As to claim 7, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined temperature is a first predetermined temperature (Fig. 3 and [0059] S2a) initiating the switching when the temperature of the electrolyte is below a second predetermined temperature that is considered to at least reduce the charging efficiency of the energy storage device (rapid charging and discharging at very low temperatures of sometimes −65 to −45 degrees or lower [0015]-[0016]), wherein the second predetermined temperature is a lower temperature than the first predetermined temperature (Since Rastegar implements the method of Fig. 3 at temperatures of −45 degrees, then the temperatures below −45 degrees are below the predetermined temperature used to discontinuing the method) .
As to claim 9, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1.
Rastegar in view of Ju in view does not teach varying a resistance of the sink resistor for the heating to vary a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs to optimize a rate of heating of the energy storage device based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes.
Tanjou teaches varying a resistance of the sink resistor for the heating to vary a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs to optimize a rate of heating of the energy storage device based on the obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes device ([0030] by proportionally to a temperature of the liquid electrolyte lithium battery LB or gradually increasing the resistance value over the temperature range equal to and above T1 (see FIG. 6) when the power control device 2 is constituted of a variable resistor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar to include varying a resistance of the sink resistor for the heating to vary a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs to optimize a rate of heating of the energy storage device based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes in order to fully utilize the battery to its limit while keeping down the extent to which the capacity decay progresses within a specific range ([0030]).
As to claim 10, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1, comprising applying an initial charging input to the energy storage device, measuring a rate of charging using the initial charging input, and determining a charging rate at the initial charging input, wherein if a rate of charging is determined to be less than a predetermined charging rate, the electrolyte temperature is approximated as being less than the predetermined temperature ([0020] of Rastegar).
As to claim 13, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of 1, comprising: providing a controller (processor 11a Fig. 1) configured to control at least one of the switching, the periodically obtaining the at least one measurement and approximation ([0059] and The processor 11a can then periodically continue to obtain the supercapacitor core temperature), and the discontinuing the switching.
As to claim 17, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1, comprising charging the energy storage device during the charging cycle (Fig. 4 S3-S4) while the temperature of the electrolyte is above the predetermined temperature while a measurement indicates that the temperature of the electrolyte is above the predetermined temperature ([0058] of Rastegar if the processor 11a determines the core temperature of the super capacitor is not less than a predetermined temperature (e.g., the core is at a temperature above which normal charging can be conducted) at step S2a or S2b (the determination at step S2a or S2b is NO), the charger unit would charge the supercapacitor conventionally at step S3).
As to claim 18, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the energy storage device is a lithium ion battery or a supercapacitor (Fig. 2 of Rastegar supercapacitor 20).
Claims 2, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Maji (US 20200169108) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116) in view of Nishi (US 20120021263).
As to claim 2 Rastegar, in view Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1, comprising providing the input voltage through a first switch (Fig. 2 of Ju, Q1) and providing the grounding input through a second switch (Fig. 2 of Ju, Q2),
Although Rastegar in view of Ju teaches the square wave voltage is provided using PWM control signal ([0038]), Ju is not clear as to wherein the switching comprises simultaneously coupling the at least one of the input voltage to the inputs through operation of the first switch and decoupling the grounding input from the at least one of the inputs through operation of the second switch during a first time interval and thereafter, simultaneously decoupling the input voltage from the at least one of the inputs through operation of the first switch and coupling the grounding input to the at least one of the inputs during a second time interval through operation of the second switch, wherein the first interval and the second interval are subsequently repeated.
However Nishi teaches wherein the switching comprises simultaneously coupling the input voltage to the input through operation of the first switch and decoupling the grounding input from the input through operation of the second switch during a first time interval and thereafter (See timing diagram of Q1 and Q2 and the charging current IB Fig. 11 and [0081]), simultaneously decoupling the input voltage from the input through operation of the first switch and coupling the grounding input to the input during a second time interval through operation of the second switch, wherein the first interval and the second interval are subsequently repeated (See timing diagram of Q1 and Q2 and the charging current IB Fig. 11 and [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method of Rastegar to wherein the switching comprises simultaneously coupling the at least one of the input voltage to the inputs through operation of the first switch and decoupling the grounding input from the at least one of the inputs through operation of the second switch during a first time interval and thereafter, simultaneously decoupling the input voltage from the at least one of the inputs through operation of the first switch and coupling the grounding input to the at least one of the inputs during a second time interval through operation of the second switch, wherein the first interval and the second interval are subsequently repeated as this is a well-known function and operations of PWM control circuits.
Therefore the combined teachings of Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi would render the first interval and the second interval taught by Nishi be subsequently repeated at the frequency sufficient to effectively short the internal surface capacitance of the energy storage ([0089] of Rastegar).
As to claim 6, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou in view of Nishi teaches the method of claim 2.
Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi does not specifically disclose varying the resistance of the sink resistor such that nearly the same charge of the energy storage device occurs during the first time interval as discharge from the energy storage device occurs during the second time interval based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes.
Tanjou teaches varying the resistance of the sink resistor based on the obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes ([0030] by proportionally to a temperature of the liquid electrolyte lithium battery LB or gradually increasing the resistance value over the temperature range equal to and above T1 (see FIG. 6) when the power control device 2 is constituted of a variable resistor).
Tanjou does not teach carrying the sink resistor comprises such that nearly the same charge of the energy storage device occurs during the first time interval as discharge from the energy storage device occurs during the second time interval.
However Nishi teaches adjusting the energy such that nearly the same charge of the energy storage device occurs during the first time interval as discharge from the energy storage device occurs during the second time interval (See Fig. 11 of Nishi where charge current (IB) during first interval (t2-t3) is nearly the same charge during second interval (t1-t2).
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou in view of Nishi to vary the resistance of the sink resistor such that nearly the same charge of the energy storage device occurs during the first time interval as discharge from the energy storage device occurs during the second time interval based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes in order to reduce power dissipation in the charging circuit thereby preventing component damage.
As to claim 15, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1.
Rastegar does not teach comprising producing the input voltage from an AC source provided through an AC to DC converter.
Nishi teaches comprise producing the input voltage from an AC source provided through an AC to DC converter ([0103] Fig. 14 of Nishi Inverter 50 (AC/DC converter) converts three-phase AC power generated by motor generator 60 at the time of braking of the vehicle into direct current based on control signal PWMI, and outputs it to positive electrode line PL2 and negative electrode line NL).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rastegar method to produce the input voltage from an AC source provided through an AC to DC converter as taught by Nishi in order to use Rastegar’s method in vehicle applications
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Maji (US 20200169108) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116) in view of Nishi (US 20120021263) in view of Togo Peraza (US 20160241013).
As to claim 3 Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou in view of Nishi teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first switch (Fig. 14 Q1 of Nishi) is a switch that couples the input voltage to the at least one of the inputs when a first switching voltage is below a first predetermined voltage (Q1 is an IGBT transistor ([0076]-[0077] of Nishi) which it can be driven “ON” by applying a positive gate voltage, or switched “OFF” by making the gate signal zero or slightly negative)
Nishi does not disclose the first switch (Fig. 4 Q1 of Nishi) is a normally closed switch.
Togo Peraza teaches a first switch (Fig. 4 Q1 of Nishi) is a normally closed switch ([0023] Fig. 1 P-channel 106. Normally the MOSFET 106 is on (as a switch it is closed)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ effective filing date to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi to include wherein the first switch is a normally closed switch that couples the input voltage to the one input when a first switching voltage is below a first predetermined voltage, as taught by Togo Peraza in order to use switching circuit that draws small amount of current at high switching speeds.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Maji (US 20200169108) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116) in view of Nishi (US 20120021263) in view of Togo Peraza (US 20160241013) in further view of Tverskoy (US 20120203178).
As to claim 4 Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou in view of Nishi in view of Togo Peraza teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the second switch is a switch that decouples the grounding voltage from the at least one of the inputs (Q2 of Ju) when a second switching voltage is below a second predetermined voltage (Q2 of Nishi is an IGBT transistor ([0076]-[0077] of Nishi) which it can be driven “ON” by applying a positive gate voltage, or switched “OFF” by making the gate signal zero or slightly negative).
Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi in view of Togo Peraza does not teach wherein the second switch is a normally open switch.
Tverskoy teaches wherein a switch is a normally open switch ([0067] Fig. 10 switch 564).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi in view of Togo Peraza to include wherein the second switch is a normally open switch, as taught by Tverskoy in order to prevent over discharging the battery prior to charging.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Maji (US 20200169108) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116) in view of Nishi (US 20120021263) in further view of Fogg (US20040212347).
As to claim 5 Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou in view of Nishi teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the switching the grounding input comprises coupling the inputs to a circuit ground through the second switch (Q2 of Ju).
Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi does not teach the switching the grounding input comprises coupling the at least one of the inputs to a circuit ground through a sink resistor.
Fogg teaches the providing the grounding input comprises coupling the one input (positive input of battery, Fig. 3) to a circuit ground through a sink resistor (Fig. 3 [0075] transistor M2, which sinks current through reference resistor R2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the grounding input of Rastegar to comprise coupling the inputs to a circuit ground through a sink resistor, as taught by Fogg in order to control heat dissipation through the transistor by reducing its current, thereby avoiding component damage.
Claim 11-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Maji (US 20200169108) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116) in view of Tani (US 20140114517).
As to claim 11, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou teaches the method of claim 1, comprising setting a temperature threshold (“very low” ) for at least one of turning on and off the switching based on the approximation of the internal temperature of the core (Fig. 3 0057] of Rastegar Then, once the processor 11a has determined that the supercapacitor core temperature is very low and that due to the very low temperature level the supercapacitor (which can also be determined not to be fully charged) cannot be rapidly charged at either step S2a or S2b, the charger unit 11 can begin to charge (with AC voltage) the supercapacitor at step S5a. [0039] of Ju teaches switching voltage is output from pulse voltage generator 120 for providing the AC voltage)
Rastegar in view of Ju does not teach the internal temperature is approximated by determining a time history of heating energy input to the energy storage device, approximating an internal temperature of the electrolyte core based on the determined time history together with a thermal model of the energy storage device.
Tani teaches determining a time history of heating energy input to the energy storage device, approximating an internal temperature of the electrolyte core based on the determined time history together with a thermal model of the energy storage device ([0067] The electrolyte temperature of the battery may be calculated with the use of an arithmetic model based on a charge/discharge history (i.e. time history of heating energy input) of the battery,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju to include determining a time history of heating energy input to the energy storage device, approximating an internal temperature of the electrolyte core based on the determined time history together with a thermal model of the energy storage device, in order to determine the temperature of the battery without the use of sensors or extra equipment.
As to claim 12, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji in view of Tanjou in view of Tani teaches the method of claim 11, comprising providing a controller (processor 11a Fig. 1) configured to control at least one of the switching, the determining the time history, the approximating the internal temperature ([0059] and The processor 11a can then periodically continue to obtain the supercapacitor core temperature), and the setting the temperature threshold.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Maji (US 20200169108) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116) in view of Svensson (US20130093399).
As to claim 16, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Maji teaches the method of claim 1, comprising:
obtaining an energy storage type for the energy storage device ([0051] FIG. 1 of Rastegar, a simplified model of a supercapacitor 20).
Rastegar in view of Ju does not teach retrieving from a look-up table the predetermined temperature that corresponds to the obtained energy storage type, wherein the look-up table correlates different energy storage types with corresponding predetermined temperatures.
Svensson teaches retrieving from a look-up table the predetermined temperature that corresponds to the obtained energy storage type, wherein the look-up table correlates different energy storage types with corresponding predetermined temperatures (the processing unit CPU may instruct the sensing unit SENS to detect the present cell temperature of the battery BATT and compare it to an optimum cell temperature range for charging the battery BATT. The optimum charging temperature interval can vary from battery type to battery type (and is usually specified) the processing unit may be adapted to have these optimum temperature intervals stored in a memory [0019]-[0020])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar to include retrieving from a look-up table the predetermined temperature that corresponds to the obtained energy storage type, wherein the look-up table correlates different energy storage types with corresponding predetermined temperatures, as taught by SVENSSON in order to automate and quickly execute Nishi’s battery heating method without human interaction.
Claims 8,14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Tani (US 20140114517).
As to claim 19, Rastegar discloses a method for heating an energy storage device having a core with an electrolyte (Fig. 2 supercapacitor 20), inputs including a first input and a second input of the energy storage device (terminals 22), a capacitance across the electrolyte and the core (Fig. 11 Cc, [0086]) and internal surface capacitance between the inputs which can store electric field energy ([0086] capacitor Cs is the surface capacitance), the method comprising:
Rastegar further discloses providing an AC input voltage to one of the at least one of the inputs (terminals 22) at a frequency sufficient to effectively short the internal surface capacitance of the energy storage device to generate heat and raise a temperature of the electrolyte (Fig. 3 S1a,S2a,S5a where inputting a predetermined voltage to terminals 22 of the energy storage device causing internal components of the energy storage device to generate heat if the temperature of the electrolyte is determined to be less than the predetermined temperature. Inputting can comprise a high frequency voltage signal [0059]. Rastegar discloses the frequency that should be applied in order to heat the electrolyte to a temperature at which it can be charged at or close to its nominal charging rate is a frequency that effectively shorts internal surface capacitance [0064]),
Rastegar further discloses setting a low temperature threshold (“very low” ) and a high temperature threshold (above a predetermined temperature) for respectively turning on and discontinuing the AC input voltage based on the approximation of the internal temperature of the core (Fig. 3 [0057] of Rastegar, once the processor 11a has determined that the supercapacitor core temperature is very low and that due to the very low temperature level the supercapacitor (which can also be determined not to be fully charged) cannot be rapidly charged at either step S2a or S2b, the charger unit 11 can begin to charge (with AC voltage) the supercapacitor at step S5a. [0039] of Ju teaches switching voltage is output from pulse voltage generator 120 for providing the AC voltage. Fig. 3 and [0059] S2a to S5a and repeated to S1a to S2a “No” to S3a showing continued measuring of the core temperature until the electrolyte temperature has been increased above a predetermined temperature. At which time the applied high frequency voltage signal is terminated).
wherein the providing an AC input voltage is at least one of initiated and discontinued based on the set low temperature threshold (Fig. 3 S1a,S2a,S5a, S3,S4).
Although Rastegar discloses providing an AC input voltage the inputs at a frequency to generate heat and raise a temperature of the electrolyte (Fig. 3 S1a,S21,S5a and [0059] inputting a predetermined voltage to terminals 22 at a high frequency voltage signal), Rastegar does not disclose the AC input voltage provided at the inputs of the energy storage device is provided by switching between an input voltage and a grounding input to the inputs.
Fig. 2 of Ju above
Ju teaches an AC voltage is provided by switching between an input voltage and a grounding input to the inputs (Fig. 2 square wave pulse generator 120 is connected between ground and signal V1 and outputs converted power using pulse width modulation (PWM) [0038]), wherein the switching between the input voltage and the grounding input the inputs comprises producing a square waved shaped voltage ([0039] square wave voltage is output from pulse voltage generator 120 as identified above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the AC voltage of Ju by switching between an input voltage and a grounding input to the inputs, as taught by Ju in order to allow all circuit components to have the same reference potential and a complete current path for proper circuit operation.
As such the combined teachings of Rastegar, and Ju will render Rastegar’s discontinuation of providing the AC input voltage during the heating cycle to be a discontinuation of the switching between an input voltage and a grounding input.
Rastegar in view of Ju does not teach the internal temperature is approximated by determining a time history of heating energy input to the energy storage device, estimating an internal temperature of the energy storage device based on the time history together with a thermal model of the energy storage device.
Tani teaches determining a time history of heating energy input to the energy storage device, estimating an internal temperature of the energy storage device based on the time history together with a thermal model of the energy storage device ([0067] The electrolyte temperature of the battery may be calculated with the use of an arithmetic model based on a charge/discharge history (i.e. time history of heating energy input) of the battery,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju to include determining a time history of heating energy input to the energy storage device, estimating an internal temperature of the energy storage device based on the time history together with a thermal model of the energy storage device, in order to determine the temperature of the battery without the use of sensors or extra equipment.
As to claim 8, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani teaches the method of claim 19, comprising charging the energy storage device when the temperature of the electrolyte is above a charging temperature ([0058] of Rastegar if the processor 11a determines the core temperature of the super capacitor is not less than a predetermined temperature (e.g., the core is at a temperature above which normal charging can be conducted) at step S2a or S2b (the determination at step S2a or S2b is NO), the charger unit would charge the supercapacitor conventionally at step S3).
As to claim 14, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani teaches the method of claim 19, comprising providing a controller configured to control at least one of the switching, the determining the time history, and the estimating the internal temperature of the core ([0059] and The processor 11a can then periodically continue to obtain the supercapacitor core temperature).
Claims 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Tani (US 20140114517) in view of Maji (US 20200169108).
As to claim 21, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani teaches the method of claim 19, periodically obtaining at least one of a measurement and an approximation of the temperature of the electrolyte ([0059] of Rastegar. The processor 11a can then periodically continue to obtain the supercapacitor core temperature).
Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani does not disclose/teach wherein the varying comprises at least varying the frequency of the switching at the at least one of the inputs based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes.
Maji teaches wherein the varying comprises at least varying the frequency of the switching at the at least one of the inputs based on a measurement (Fig. 2 [0088] The switching frequency of the converter (14) may be increased if the temperature of the battery sensed by the sensor is below a first threshold, and may be decreased if a switching frequency of the converter if the temperature of the battery sensed by the sensor is above a second threshold.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar to wherein the varying comprises at least varying the frequency of the switching at the at least one of the inputs based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation as the periodically obtained at least one measurement and approximation changes in order to alter the level of thermal heat generation (Abstract).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Tani (US 20140114517) in view of Tanjou (US 20030186116).
As to claim 20, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani teaches the method of claim 19 comprising periodically obtaining at least one of a measurement and an approximation of the temperature of the electrolyte ([0059] The processor 11a can then periodically continue to obtain the supercapacitor core temperature).
Rastegar does not disclose coupling a sink resistor to at least one of the inputs nor discloses varying a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement of the temperature of the electrolyte as taught by Rastegar above by varying the resistance of the sink resistor.
Tanjou teaches coupling a sink resistor to at least one of the inputs ([0008] [0008] A power control device such as a relay or a variable resistor may be used so as to be connected in series to the liquid electrolyte battery) and teaches varying a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement of the temperature of a battery by varying the resistance of the sink resistor ([0030] by proportionally to a temperature of the liquid electrolyte lithium battery LB or gradually increasing the resistance value over the temperature range equal to and above T1 (see FIG. 6) when the power control device 2 is constituted of a variable resistor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar to include coupling a sink resistor to at least one of the inputs and varying a resistance of the sink resistor to change a voltage of the input voltage at the at least one of the inputs for the heating based on the periodically obtained at least one measurement of the temperature of the electrolyte as taught by Rastegar above in order to fully utilize the battery to its limit while keeping down the extent to which the capacity decay progresses within a specific range ([0030].
Claim 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Tani (US 20140114517) in view of Nishi (US 20120021263).
As to claim 22, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani teaches the method of claim 19, comprising providing the input voltage through a first switch (Fig. 2 of Ju, Q1) and providing the grounding input through a second switch (Fig. 2 of Ju, Q2),
Although Rastegar in view of Ju teaches the square wave voltage is provided using PWM control signal ([0038]), Ju is not clear as to wherein the switching comprises simultaneously coupling the input voltage to at least one of the inputs through operation of the first switch and decoupling the grounding input from the at least one of the inputs through operation of the second switch during a first time interval and thereafter, simultaneously decoupling the input voltage from the inputs through operation of the first switch and coupling the grounding the at least one of the input to the inputs during a second time interval through operation of the second switch, wherein the first interval and the second interval are subsequently repeated.
However Nishi teaches wherein the switching comprises simultaneously coupling the input voltage to the input through operation of the first switch and decoupling the grounding input from the input through operation of the second switch during a first time interval and thereafter (See timing diagram of Q1 and Q2 and the charging current IB Fig. 11 and [0081]), simultaneously decoupling the input voltage from the input through operation of the first switch and coupling the grounding input to the input during a second time interval through operation of the second switch, wherein the first interval and the second interval are subsequently repeated (See timing diagram of Q1 and Q2 and the charging current IB Fig. 11 and [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method of Rastegar to wherein the switching comprises simultaneously coupling the input voltage to the inputs through operation of the first switch and decoupling the grounding input from the inputs through operation of the second switch during a first time interval and thereafter, simultaneously decoupling the input voltage from the inputs through operation of the first switch and coupling the grounding input to the inputs during a second time interval through operation of the second switch, wherein the first interval and the second interval are subsequently repeated as this is a well-known function and operations of PWM control circuits.
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Tani (US 20140114517) in view of Togo Peraza (US 20160241013).
As to claim 23, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani in view of Nishi teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the first switch (Fig. 14 Q1 of Nishi) is a switch that couples the input voltage at least one of to the at least one of the inputs when a first switching voltage is below a first predetermined voltage (Q1 is an IGBT transistor ([0076]-[0077] of Nishi) which it can be driven “ON” by applying a positive gate voltage, or switched “OFF” by making the gate signal zero or slightly negative)
Nishi does not disclose the first switch (Fig. 4 Q1 of Nishi) is a normally closed switch.
Togo Peraza teaches a first switch (Fig. 4 Q1 of Nishi) is a normally closed switch ([0023] Fig. 1 P-channel 106. Normally the MOSFET 106 is on (as a switch it is closed)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ effective filing date to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi to include wherein the first switch is a normally closed switch that couples the input voltage to the one input when a first switching voltage is below a first predetermined voltage, as taught by Togo Peraza in order to use switching circuit that draws small amount of current at high switching speeds.
Claim 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 20170085107) in view of Ju (US 20120043939) in view of Tani (US 20140114517) in further view of Tverskoy (US 20120203178).
As to claim 24, Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Tani in view of Nishi teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the second switch is a switch that decouples the grounding voltage from the at least one of the inputs (Q2 of Ju) when a second switching voltage is below a second predetermined voltage (Q2 of Nishi is an IGBT transistor ([0076]-[0077] of Nishi) which it can be driven “ON” by applying a positive gate voltage, or switched “OFF” by making the gate signal zero or slightly negative).
Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi in view of Togo Peraza does not teach wherein the second switch is a normally open switch.
Tverskoy teaches wherein a switch is a normally open switch ([0067] Fig. 10 switch 564).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rastegar in view of Ju in view of Nishi in view of Togo Peraza to include wherein the second switch is a normally open switch, as taught by Tverskoy in order to prevent over discharging the battery prior to charging.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859