DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-19, 38-39, 41-47, 50-55, 67-68, 82, 84-89, 93, 103, 106-107 are pending.
An amendment of claim 38 and cancellation of claims 20-37, 40, 48-49, 56-66, 69-81, 83, 90-92, 94-102, 104-105 as submitted in a communication filed on 04/07/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 38-39, 41-47, and 106-107 are being examined due to Restriction/Election of Group II.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn.
Priority
The priority date of the instant application is 10/05/2016.
Drawings
The drawings of figures 5 and 18 are objected to due to of the following informalities: Figures 5 and 18 contain nucleic acid sequences under non-compliance. Disclosure requirements are discussed below.
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification Objections
Hyperlink Objection (Pages 16, 17, and 73): The disclosure is objected to because it contains embedded hyperlinks and/or other form of browser-executable codes. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlinks and/or other form of browser-executable codes; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosure Objections (Pages 40-45, 49-52, 54 -73, and 113-119): The disclosure is objected to because it contains nucleic acid sequences where reference has not been made to the sequences by use of a sequence identifier, preceded by "SEQ ID NO:”. Disclosure requirements are discussed below.
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 106 is indefinite because claim 106 depends from claim 40, which has been canceled. Therefore, it is unclear what subject matter claim 106 further limits. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant rejections are maintained from the previous Office Action of 12/19/2024 and modified in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 04/07/2025.
` The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 38-39, 41-47, and 106-107 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstock et al. (“Vibrio natriegens as a fast-growing host for molecular biology.” Nat Methods 13, 849–851 (2016); hereby: “Weinstock”) in view of Garriss et al. (“Mobile antibiotic resistance encoding elements promote their own diversity.” PLoS Genet. 2009 Dec;5(12):e1000775.; hereby “Garriss”)
These rejections have been discussed at length in the 12/06/2023, 06/06/2024, and the 12/19/2024 office actions. It is maintained and applied to amended Claim 38 for the reasons of record and set forth below.
The Applicant argues that the motivation found in the previous office actions is no longer obvious in view of the amended claim, claim 38, that has been amended to specify “wherein the donor oligonucleotide sequence is provided to the cell by electroporation”.
The teachings of Weinstock and Garriss have been discussed previously in the 12/06/2023, 06/06/2024, and the 12/19/2024 office actions. Weinstock teaches the use of electroporation of V. natriegens to achieve transformation efficiencies higher than the transformation efficiencies of chemically component cells (Page 849 [4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the electroporation as taught by Weinstock and Garriss to provide the nucleic acid sequence (discussed previously) to the cell. A person of ordinary skill in the art is motivated to use electroporation because electroporation transformation can have improved transformation efficiencies as taught by Weinstock. One of ordinary skill in the art has a reasonable expectation of success at arriving providing a donor sequence to the cell by electroporation because all that is required is performing a well-established technique, electroporation, to introduce nucleic acids into the host cells. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The argument is not considered to be persuasive.
Furthermore, the Applicant argues that there is insufficient support and motivation provided to establish that “one of skill would have been prompted to select the s065/s066 recombination system out of any number of possible recombination systems known to exist”. The Applicant expounds on this agreement by explaining that there is no direction to one of skill to (1) integrate the s065/s066 system of Garriss using the cell machinery Weinstock, and (2) to use such an integrated system to insert a donor nucleic acid.
Garriss teaches that s065 and s066, which are found in all SXT/R391 ICEs, are orthologues of the bacteriophage λ Red recombination genes bet and exo, and the s065/s066 recombination system is the first Red-like recombination pathway to be described in a conjugative element (Page 1, abstract). Garriss teaches that the oligonucleotides are used for chromosomal deletions and insertions (Page 17 [1]). Weinstock et al. teaches “methods for introducing DNA into V. natriegens.” (Page 849 [4]). Weinstock provides a host organism and genome engineering method for introducing and integrating nucleic acids into V. natriegens. Garriss teaches a Red-like recombination system using s065/s066 that is capable of mediating recombination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable success because Garriss teaches that s065/s066 function analogously to λ Red recombination elements. Therefore, with the teachings of Weinstock and Garriss one of skill would have been prompted to select the s065/s066 recombination system out of the possible recombination systems known to exist because is obvious to try due to it being a recognized recombination tool for facilitating recombination of introduced nucleic acids. The argument is not considered to be persuasive.
Conclusion
No claim is in condition for allowance.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/S.L.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1652
/ROBERT B MONDESI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1652