DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 28 May 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 8, and 15 were amended. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are the independent claims. This action is non-final.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuschman et al. (US 2019/0102802 A1) in view of Redkar et al. (US 2018/0276553 A1) in view of Raz et al. (US 2017/0060734 A1), further in view of Poulin (US 2014/0245207 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tuschman teaches a method comprising:
maintaining an enterprise environment comprising a plurality of clients and a plurality of associated client data, wherein the plurality of clients includes companies (see Tuschman, Paragraph [0037], “The system 100 may include one or more clients, and three such clients are shown, by way of example, in FIG. 1. An additional system 105 may be included, and this may be similar to one of the client systems 103.” [Figure 1 shows an enterprise environment comprising clients and associated client data.]);
generating one or more statistical models, via a statistical learning and predictive estimation system, by analyzing the client data in the enterprise environment using one or more statistical algorithms (see Tuschman, Paragraph [0020], “generating psychometric models of online users of a population based on automatically machine-collected data about online behavior of such users” [The psychometric models (i.e., statistical models) of users are generated.]);
storing the statistical models in a model database (see Tuschman, Paragraph [0077], “The method may include in 214 storing the generated psychometric profiles (the psychometric models), e.g., in a database.” [The psychometric models (i.e., statistical models) are stored.]);
However, Tuschman does not explicitly teach:
receiving a prediction estimate request from one of the plurality of clients with respect to the associated client data for the client, the prediction estimate request including logistics of managing a project;
Redkar teaches:
receiving a prediction estimate request from one of the plurality of clients with respect to the associated client data for the client, the prediction estimate request including logistics of managing a project (see Redkar, Paragraphs [0017], [0025], “The model management system 120 may receive user statements that include requests for information via one or more communications channels… IT resources 150 may include data sets for any other network or enterprise resources that may be monitored.” [A request (i.e., prediction estimate request that includes logistics of managing a project) may be received.]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Tuschman (teaching predicting psychometric profiles from behavioral data using machine-learning while maintaining user anonymity) in view of Redkar (teaching a system for querying models), and arrived at a method that receives a prediction estimate request. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purposes of providing a result to the user request (see Redkar, Paragraph [0014]). In addition, both the references (Tuschman and Redkar) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as models. The close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
The combination of Tuschman, and Redkar further teaches:
selecting, using a clustering algorithm, a subset of the associated client data based at least on one or more characteristics of the associated client data, wherein the clustering algorithm dynamically reduces input dimensions by examining, for each input variable, metadata descriptors characterizing the type and nature of the variable, including at least whether the input variable contains text data with free user input, and selectively excluding variables from the clustering process based on said metadata descriptors (see Tuschman, Paragraphs [0040], [0047]-[0048], [0131], [0150], “The behavioral information collected includes data on users' current and past online activity, including users' browsing history of websites and web pages visited, engagement behavior on the websites, search queries, and in-application behavior … the behavioral data in behavioral database 126 may be in raw form. An analysis method is used to reduce dimensionality of the data to summary form. … the at least one machine-learning method includes carrying out unsupervised clustering on an assumed number of clusters, e.g., three clusters, or four clusters, using the psychometric models as features, and examining the so-formed clusters to select the one or more clusters that has the largest proportion or the greatest number of engaged users. These clusters form a learned classification method that can be used to classify users according to engagement, i.e., an engagement model.” [A subset of data is selected using an unsupervised clustering algorithm (i.e., clustering algorithm). The behavioral data may be reduced by the unsupervised clustering algorithm.]);
However, the combination of Tuschman, and Redkar do not explicitly teach:
including at least whether the input variable contains text data with free user input
Raz teaches:
including at least whether the input variable contains text data with free user input (see Raz, Paragraph [0023], “the disclosed subject matter may utilize clustering techniques to reduce size of the test suite. In some exemplary embodiments, clustering may be performed on the test cases prior to being tagged and based on the free-text thereof.” [A clustering technique may be performed based on free text (i.e., free user input).]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Tuschman (teaching predicting psychometric profiles from behavioral data using machine-learning while maintaining user anonymity) in view of Redkar (teaching a system for querying models), further in view of Raz (teaching a method and system for creating functional model of test cases), and arrived at a method that incorporates free user input. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purposes of reducing the size of the information needed (see Raz, Paragraph [0004]). In addition, the references (Tuschman, Redkar, and Raz) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as models. The close relation between the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
The combination of Tuschman, Redkar, and Raz further teaches:
selecting, using machine learning techniques, a statistical model from the one or more statistical models based at least on the subset of the associated client data and the one or more characteristics, wherein the statistical model is automatically selected based on the size and complexity of the subset of the associated client data (see Tuschman, Paragraphs [0020], [0031], [0041], [0077], [0205], “Depending on the particular dimension being modeled, there are three types of classifications: binary classification (predicting one of two possible outcomes), multiclass classification (predicting one of more than two outcomes) and regression (predicting a numeric value). One embodiment comprises training a plurality of machine-learning methods, carries out cross-validation, e.g., so-called k-fold cross-validation, and selects a machine-learning method and corresponding model according to a machine-learning method selection criterion. In one embodiment, the selection of the model that provides the best performance according to a performance criterion. The criterion used depends on the type of classification. In one embodiment, 10-fold cross-validation is carried out for selecting the best-performance model.” [A psychometric model (i.e., statistical model) is selected using machine learning based on the dimension being modeled (i.e., size and complexity of the subset of the associated client data).]);
applying the selected statistical model to the subset of the associated client data and the one or more selected characteristics to generate one or more prediction estimates and one or more statistical outliers, wherein the prediction estimates include prediction confidence related to the quality of the statistical model used to perform the prediction (see Tuschman, Paragraphs [0109], [0110], “These pairs of (summary) behavioral data and corresponding psychometric profile for each of N5 users form a training data set for a machine-learning process that determines (“statistically learns”) a prediction method of predicting a psychometric profile, i.e., determining a psychometric model of a user from the (summary) behavioral data of that user, e.g., by trying one or more prediction methods for each dimension and selecting the best prediction method for each dimension. … Once the prediction method is determined, in one embodiment PDAE 108 sends the target population provider system 102 containing the target population and behavioral data thereof an indication 411 that PDAE 108 can carry out large-scale prediction.” Also, see Redkar, Paragraph [0035], “The model registry 320 may include information for each model such as one or more functions that each model offers (e.g., forecasting, regression, classification, anomaly detection, etc.)” [The selected psychometric model (i.e., statistical model) is used to generate data (i.e., predication estimates and statistical outliers).]);
However, the combination of Tuschman, Redkar, and Raz do not explicitly teach:
wherein the prediction estimates include prediction confidence related to the quality of the statistical model used to perform the prediction;
Poulin teaches:
wherein the prediction estimates include prediction confidence related to the quality of the statistical model used to perform the prediction (see Poulin, Paragraph [0052], “For FIG. 4A, the search result interface 120 when the rating icon 114 a (of icons 114 a-114 e FIG. 4) is selected is shown for Boeing. Displayed in a screen are results of the prediction that the model forecasts as a “Forecast Delta”, which in this case is negative 3.3323 . . . and a corresponding visual graph on the right that indicates ‘Negative’ and shows a probability or confidence value that is calculated for the model prediction.” [The prediction estimate may include a confidence value (i.e., prediction confidence).]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Tuschman (teaching predicting psychometric profiles from behavioral data using machine-learning while maintaining user anonymity) in view of Redkar (teaching a system for querying models) in view of Raz (teaching a method and system for creating functional model of test cases), further in view of Poulin (teaching interfaces for predictive models), and arrived at a method that incorporates a prediction confidence. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purposes of improving data analysis (see Poulin, Paragraph [0004]). In addition, the references (Tuschman, Redkar, Raz, and Poulin) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as models. The close relation between the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
The combination of Tuschman, Redkar, Raz, and Poulin further teaches:
and providing a visual arrangement of the one or more prediction estimates including entries showing prediction confidence and one or more statistical outliers to the client, wherein the statistical learning and predictive estimation system is fully integrated with the enterprise environment in order to avoid consuming computation time transforming data from one format to another, wherein the visual arrangement includes a model quality map (see Tuschman, Paragraphs [0110], [0123], [0151], [0215], [0219], “As an example of how such an engagement model may be used, FIGS. 9A and 9B show a graphical display of the results of determining an engagement model of users, using the 32-dimensional psychometric profiles of the example profile shown in FIG. 8. In the test whose results are shown in FIG. 8, there were 300 positive engagements and 42,000 negative engagements. … FIG. 10B shows a map of DMAs in the United States, wherein each DMA can be color coded according to its likelihood of engagement.” Also, see Redkar, Paragraph [0035], “The model registry 320 may include information for each model such as one or more functions that each model offers (e.g., forecasting, regression, classification, anomaly detection, etc.)” Also, see Poulin, Paragraph [0052], “For FIG. 4A, the search result interface 120 when the rating icon 114 a (of icons 114 a-114 e FIG. 4) is selected is shown for Boeing. Displayed in a screen are results of the prediction that the model forecasts as a “Forecast Delta”, which in this case is negative 3.3323 . . . and a corresponding visual graph on the right that indicates ‘Negative’ and shows a probability or confidence value that is calculated for the model prediction. [The prediction estimates including the prediction confidence, and statistical outliers may be displayed. Figure 10B shows a map of designated market areas according the likelihood of engagement (i.e., model quality map).]).
Regarding claim 2, Tuschman in view of Redkar in view of Raz, further in view of Poulin teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Tuschman further teaches:
wherein the one or more statistical models comprise at least one of gradient boosted trees, linear models, and centroids (see Tuschman, Paragraph [0226], “the machine-learning (ML) methods described herein in PDAE 108 use algorithms and utilities provided in Spark and part of Apache Spark's MLlib. Spark's MLlib provides methods usable for binary classification, logistic regression, naive Bayes, and others; for regression, generalized linear regression, survival regression, and others; for decision trees, random forests, and gradient-boosted trees;” [The machine learning algorithms (i.e., statistical models) include gradient boosted trees and generalized linear regression (i.e., linear models).]).
Regarding claim 3, Tuschman in view of Redkar in view of Raz, further in view of Poulin teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Tuschman further teaches:
wherein selecting the statistical model includes using cross-validation (see Tuschman, Paragraph [0209], “As for the binary and multiclass classifiers, several machine-learning methods are used, and the best is selected using cross-validation.” [Cross-validation is used to select the best machine learning algorithms (i.e., statistical models).]).
Regarding claim 4, Tuschman in view of Redkar in view of Raz, further in view of Poulin teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Tuschman further teaches:
wherein input into statistical models includes data and metadata (see Tuschman, Paragraphs [0040], [0055], “The seed users' psychometric profile data and corresponding behavioral data, e.g., as summary behavioral data are used as seed data for at least one machine-learning method to determine a method of predicting a psychometric profile of a person from that person's behavioral data” [The machine learning algorithms (i.e., statistical models) includes data and behavioral data (i.e., metadata).]).
Regarding claim 5, Tuschman in view of Redkar in view of Raz, further in view of Poulin teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Tuschman further teaches:
wherein the one or more predictions include a predicted value of the outcome of the subset of associated client data, a quality flag, and a subset of input fields to produce the one or more predictions (see Tuschman, Paragraphs [0033], [0051], [0205], “the relative likelihood of engagement can be predicted based as a function of psychometric dimensions… Filter program code 128 is operative to filter user records in user ID database 124, for example to exclude or flag those users that meet some pre-determined criteria, e.g., those users that have a relatively low amount behavioral data in the behavioral database 126… Depending on the particular dimension being modeled, there are three types of classifications: binary classification (predicting one of two possible outcomes), multiclass classification (predicting one of more than two outcomes) and regression (predicting a numeric value).” [The likelihood of engagement prediction value is based on a subset of user data, and filtering user records using a flag.]).
Regarding claim 6, Tuschman in view of Redkar in view of Raz, further in view of Poulin teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Tuschman further teaches:
wherein meta-data is used to reduce the number of input dimensions of the associated client data (see Tuschman, Paragraph [0048], “An analysis method is used to reduce dimensionality of the data to summary form.” [The behavioral data (i.e., meta-data) may be used to reduce the input dimensions.]).
Regarding claim 7, Tuschman in view of Redkar in view of Raz, further in view of Poulin teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Tuschman further teaches:
wherein a plurality of one or more statistical algorithms are implemented at a core level of software (see Tuschman, Paragraph [0226], “the machine-learning (ML) methods described herein in PDAE 108 use algorithms and utilities provided in Spark and part of Apache Spark's MLlib.” [The psychometric data analytics engine (i.e., a core level of software) implements the machine learning algorithms (i.e., statistical models).]).
Regarding claims 8-20, Tuschman in view of Redkar in view of Raz, further in view of Poulin teaches all of the limitations of claims 1-7 in method form rather than in system, and non-transitory computer readable medium form. Tuschman also discloses a system [0038], and non-transitory computer readable medium [0038]. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1-7 applies equally as well to those limitations of claims 8-20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments filed May 28th, 2026 have been fully considered, but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1.) Johnson et al. (US 2011/0016069 A1), which discloses a method utilizing insightful dimensional clustering to extrapolate characteristics of subscribers that contact customer care to the entire subscriber base.
2.) Satyavarta et al. (US 2017/0017638 A1), which discloses a method for detecting memes.
/HUSAM TURKI SAMARA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161