DETAILED ACTION
Claims 23-38 are pending in this office action and presented for examination. Claims 26, 28, 31, 34, and 36 are newly amended by the response received May 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (Anderson) (US 20150088946) in view of Lutz et al. (Lutz) (US 20060117082 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (Gupta) (US 5058048) in view of Dockser (US 5649174) in view of Zbiciak et al. (Zbiciak) (US 20170168898 A1) in view of Sankaranarayanan et al. (Sankaranarayanan) (US 20160125263 A1).
Consider claim 23, Anderson discloses a method comprising: specifying, in a first field ([0105], lines 1-9, the instruction format may include … a second source specifier 1435 to explicitly specify a second source operand or storage location … By way of example, each of these specifiers may include an address of a register, memory location, or other storage location) of a vector floating-point scale instruction ([0061], lines 3-4, floating point scaling instruction; [0047], lines 3-6, the packed data registers may be used to store packed floating point data associated with the floating point scaling instruction(s) 103), a first source register that stores source data ([0061], lines 12-14, the second source includes a corresponding plurality of N packed floating point data elements B.sub.0-B.sub.N, where N is two or more), in which the first source register includes a plurality of lanes, each of which contains a floating-point value ([0061], lines 12-14, the second source includes a corresponding plurality of N packed floating point data elements B.sub.0-B.sub.N, where N is two or more) specified by a first set of bits representing a fraction value ([0066], lines 1-2, FIGS. 4A-E are block diagrams illustrating example embodiments of suitable floating point formats; FIGs. 4A-E, significand field 411A-E), a second set of bits representing an exponent value ([0066], lines 1-2, FIGS. 4A-E are block diagrams illustrating example embodiments of suitable floating point formats; FIGs. 4A-E, exponent field 412A-E), and a sign bit ([0066], lines 1-2, FIGS. 4A-E are block diagrams illustrating example embodiments of suitable floating point formats; FIGs. 4A-E, sign bit 413A-E); specifying, in a second field ([0105], lines 1-9, the instruction format may include a first source specifier 1434 to explicitly specify a first source operand or storage location … By way of example, each of these specifiers may include an address of a register, memory location, or other storage location) of the vector floating-point scale instruction ([0061], lines 3-4, floating point scaling instruction; [0047], lines 3-6, the packed data registers may be used to store packed floating point data associated with the floating point scaling instruction(s) 103), a second source register ([0061], lines 11-12, the first source includes a plurality of N packed floating point data elements A.sub.0-A.sub.N), in which the second source register includes a plurality of lanes respectively corresponding to the plurality of lanes of the first source register ([0061], lines 11-12, the first source includes a plurality of N packed floating point data elements A.sub.0-A.sub.N; [0062], lines 1-6, the floating point scaling instruction also specifies or otherwise indicates a destination (e.g., a destination storage location). A result 322 including one or more corresponding result floating point data elements may be generated and stored in the destination in response to the floating point scaling instruction; [0062], lines 6-12, each of the one or more result floating point data elements (C.sub.i) may represent a scaled floating point result data element that includes a corresponding floating point data element of the second source (B.sub.i) multiplied by a base raised to a power of an integer representative of the corresponding floating point data element (A.sub.i) of the first source (int(A.sub.0))), and each of the plurality of lanes of the second source register stores bits representing a scale value to be applied to the floating-point value of the corresponding lane of the first source register ([0061], lines 11-12, the first source includes a plurality of N packed floating point data elements A.sub.0-A.sub.N; [0062], lines 6-12, each of the one or more result floating point data elements (C.sub.i) may represent a scaled floating point result data element that includes a corresponding floating point data element of the second source (B.sub.i) multiplied by a base raised to a power of an integer representative of the corresponding floating point data element (A.sub.i) of the first source (int(A.sub.0))); specifying, in a third field ([0105], lines 1-9, a destination specifier 1436 to explicitly specify a destination operand or storage location where a result is to be stored. By way of example, each of these specifiers may include an address of a register, memory location, or other storage location) of the vector floating-point scale instruction ([0061], lines 3-4, floating point scaling instruction; [0047], lines 3-6, the packed data registers may be used to store packed floating point data associated with the floating point scaling instruction(s) 103), a destination register to store scaled source data ([0062], lines 1-6, the floating point scaling instruction also specifies or otherwise indicates a destination (e.g., a destination storage location). A result 322 including one or more corresponding result floating point data elements may be generated and stored in the destination in response to the floating point scaling instruction), in which the destination register includes a plurality of lanes respectively corresponding to the plurality of lanes of the first source register and respectively corresponding to the plurality of lanes of the second source register ([0061], lines 11-12, the first source includes a plurality of N packed floating point data elements A.sub.0-A.sub.N; [0062], lines 1-6, the floating point scaling instruction also specifies or otherwise indicates a destination (e.g., a destination storage location). A result 322 including one or more corresponding result floating point data elements may be generated and stored in the destination in response to the floating point scaling instruction; [0062], lines 6-12, each of the one or more result floating point data elements (C.sub.i) may represent a scaled floating point result data element that includes a corresponding floating point data element of the second source (B.sub.i) multiplied by a base raised to a power of an integer representative of the corresponding floating point data element (A.sub.i) of the first source (int(A.sub.0))); specifying in a fifth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction a precision of the floating-point values in the plurality of lanes of the first source register ([0135], lines 1-4, data element width field 1764--its content distinguishes which one of a number of data element widths is to be used (in some embodiments for all instructions; in other embodiments for only some of the instructions); [0090], lines 2-7, operations on single precision and double precision floating point data have been shown due to the widespread use of these formats. However, in other embodiments floating point scaling operations may operate on other floating point formats (e.g., half precision, quadruple precision, extended double precision, etc.)); and executing the vector floating-point scale instruction ([0061], lines 3-4, floating point scaling instruction; [0047], lines 3-6, the packed data registers may be used to store packed floating point data associated with the floating point scaling instruction(s) 103), wherein executing the vector floating-point scale instruction includes ([0061], lines 2-3, a floating point scaling operation 324 that may be performed in response to an embodiment of a floating point scaling instruction), for each lane in the first source register: reading the scale value from the corresponding lane of the second source register ([0061], lines 11-12, the first source includes a plurality of N packed floating point data elements A.sub.0-A.sub.N; [0062], lines 6-12, each of the one or more result floating point data elements (C.sub.i) may represent a scaled floating point result data element that includes a corresponding floating point data element of the second source (B.sub.i) multiplied by a base raised to a power of an integer representative of the corresponding floating point data element (A.sub.i) of the first source (int(A.sub.0))); scaling the floating-point value in the lane of the first source register, using the scale value read and as stored in the corresponding lane of the second source register, to generate a scaled floating-point value ([0062], lines 6-12, each of the one or more result floating point data elements (C.sub.i) may represent a scaled floating point result data element that includes a corresponding floating point data element of the second source (B.sub.i) multiplied by a base raised to a power of an integer representative of the corresponding floating point data element (A.sub.i) of the first source (int(A.sub.0))); and storing the scaled floating-point value in the corresponding lane of the destination register ([0062], lines 1-6, the floating point scaling instruction also specifies or otherwise indicates a destination (e.g., a destination storage location). A result 322 including one or more corresponding result floating point data elements may be generated and stored in the destination in response to the floating point scaling instruction).
To any extent to which Anderson is argued to not disclose the second source register storing bits representing a scale value to be applied to a floating-point value, and scaling the floating-point value using the scale value read and as stored in the second source register, Anderson further discloses, as an alternative to a floating point scaling instruction having the first source (which, in Anderson, stores the scale values) store floating point values (which will be converted to integer values during execution), the use of one or more preceding instructions to generate the integer values as input to the floating point scaling instruction ([0063], lines 1-5, in some embodiments, the floating point scaling instruction/operation may permit the first source to have non-integer floating point values. This may help to avoid one or more preceding instructions to generate the integer values as input to the floating point scaling instruction/operation; also, note [0042], lines 4-7, specifically, it is often useful to scale the floating point numbers by multiplying each of them by a base raised to an integer power. Commonly, the integer power is derived from another floating point number.)
Examiner submits that Anderson teaches a single embodiment entailing the entirety of the above cited subject matter. Nevertheless, to any extent to which the above cited subject matter is considered to be in two separate embodiments and a rationale of obviousness is needed to combine the further subject matter in the immediately preceding office action paragraph with the first cited subject matter, Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned further subject matter of Anderson with the first cited subject matter of Anderson, as this modification merely entails simple substitution of one known element (converting a floating-point value to an integer value during execution of an instruction that performs processing using the integer value) for another (converting a floating-point value to an integer value prior to execution of an instruction that performs processing using the integer value) to obtain predictable results (the conversion occurring prior to execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction, such that an integer value, rather than a to-be-converted floating-point value, is stored in the recited corresponding lane of the second source register, with this integer value used in the recited scaling, such that the second source register stores bits representing a scale value to be applied to a floating-point value, and scaling the floating-point value uses the scale value read and as stored in the second source register), which is an exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness, as per MPEP 2143. Note that other exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness listed in MPEP 2143 may also be applicable. For example, Examiner submits that the aforementioned converting before execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction would have been “obvious to try”, as such entails choosing form a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (converting before execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction, and converting during execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction), with a reasonable expectation of success (in both cases, the conversion occurs before the integer value is used in the scaling calculation, so the result of the scaling calculation is valid). Examiner further submits that converting before, rather than during, execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction may decrease the time necessary to execute the vector floating-point scale instruction.
However, Anderson does not explicitly entail the scaling including determining that the scaled floating-point value is one of below a smallest normal floating-point value and above a largest subnormal floating-point value, the scaling further including adjusting the scaled floating-point value by performing a flush-to-zero operation on the scaled floating-point value when it is determined that the scaled floating-point value is below the smallest normal floating-point value and normalizing a fraction field of the scaled floating-point value when it is determined that the scaled floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value, and storing the adjusted scaled floating-point value. Anderson also does not explicitly entail executing is within a single cycle of the processor. Anderson also does not explicitly entail specifying, in a fourth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction. Anderson also does not entail specifying in a sixth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of the processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction.
On the other hand, Lutz discloses determining that a floating-point value is one of below a smallest normal floating-point value and above a largest subnormal floating-point value, and further adjusting the floating-point value by performing a flush-to-zero operation on the floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is below the smallest normal floating-point value ([0023], lines 1-15, the underflow range is divided into two sub-ranges. The first sub-range is immediately below the minimum normal range and is referred to as the "subnormal" range. In this range a subnormal result is returned or a predetermined result value is returned. As an example the predetermined result value may, dependent on the rounding mode employed, be a minimum normal positive result, a minimum normal negative result or a signed zero value, When the returned result is a signed zero rather than a subnormal result the mode of operation of the processor may be referred to as a "flush-to-zero" or "abrupt underflow" mode. In such a mode all values which are below the minimum normal threshold for the target precision and which are not zero result in a signed zero value returned, and optionally a flag signalling this event is set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lutz with the invention of Anderson in order to result in reduced cost (Lutz, [0024]). Alternatively, this modification merely entails combining prior art elements (the vector floating-point scale instruction and scaled floating-point value of Anderson, and Lutz’s explicit teaching of performing a flush-to-zero operation on a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is below the smallest normal floating-point value, as cited above) according to known methods (Lutz explicitly teaches performing a flush-to-zero operation on a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is below the smallest normal floating-point value as cited above) to yield predictable results (the invention of Anderson, further entailing performing a flush-to-zero operation on a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is below the smallest normal floating-point value), which is an exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness, as per MPEP 2143. Note that Lutz’s teaching of determining that a floating-point value is one of below a smallest normal floating-point value and above a largest subnormal floating-point value, and further adjusting the floating-point value by performing a flush-to-zero operation on the floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is below the smallest normal floating-point value, when applied to the invention of Anderson wherein the floating-point value is a scaled floating-point value which is stored, results in the overall claim limitation of the scaling including determining that the scaled floating-point value is one of below a smallest normal floating-point value and above a largest subnormal floating-point value, the scaling further including adjusting the scaled floating-point value by performing a flush-to-zero operation on the scaled floating-point value when it is determined that the scaled floating-point value is below the smallest normal floating-point value, and storing the adjusted scaled floating-point value.
However, the combination thus far does not disclose normalizing a fraction field of the scaled floating-point value when it is determined that the scaled floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value. The combination thus far also does not explicitly entail executing within a single cycle of the processor. The combination thus far also does not explicitly entail specifying, in a fourth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction. The combination thus far also does not entail specifying in a sixth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of the processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction.
On the other hand, Gupta discloses normalizing a fraction field of a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value (col. 1, lines 58-68, a normalization scheme for floating point numbers assures that all floating point numbers with the same value have the same representation. One normalization scheme is to ensure that the position of the most significant bit of the mantissa is one. Accordingly, to normalize a denormalized floating point number, the binary point is shifted to the right until the left most digit in the mantissa has a value of one. The exponent is then decreased so that the value of the combination of the mantissa and the exponent remains constant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gupta with the combination of Anderson and Lutz in order to assure all floating point numbers with the same value have the same representation (Gupta, col. 1, lines 58-68). Alternatively, this modification merely entails combining prior art elements (the vector floating-point scale instruction and scaled floating-point value of the combination of Anderson and Lutz, and Gupta’s explicit teaching of normalizing a fraction field of a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value, as cited above) according to known methods (Gupta explicitly teaches normalizing a fraction field of a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value, as cited above) to yield predictable results (the combination of Anderson and Lutz, further entailing normalizing a fraction field of a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value), which is an exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness, as per MPEP 2143. Note that Gupta’s teaching of normalizing a fraction field of a floating-point value when it is determined that the floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value, when applied to the combination of Anderson and Lutz, wherein the floating-point value is a scaled floating-point value, results in the overall claim limitation of normalizing a fraction field of the scaled floating-point value when it is determined that the scaled floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value.
However, the combination thus far does not explicitly entail executing within a single cycle of the processor. The combination thus far also does not explicitly entail specifying, in a fourth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction. The combination thus far also does not entail specifying in a sixth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of the processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction.
On the other hand, Dockser discloses executing within a single cycle of the processor (col. 1, lines 52-53, preferably, all or most instructions are executed within a single instruction cycle).
Dockser’s teaching minimizes the circuitry required to manage instructions of varying length (Dockser, col. 1, lines 53-54). In addition, Examiner submits that executing an instruction within a single cycle of the processor may result in increased speed of executing the instruction relative to executing the instruction within multiple cycles of the processor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dockser with the combination of Anderson, Lutz, and Gupta, in order to minimize circuitry and/or increase speed.
However, the combination thus far does not explicitly entail specifying, in a fourth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction. The combination thus far also does not entail specifying in a sixth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of the processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction.
On the other hand, Zbiciak explicitly discloses specifying, in a field of an instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the instruction ([0102], lines 4-12, FIG. 13 illustrates an example of the instruction coding 1300 of functional unit instructions used by this invention. Those skilled in the art would realize that other instruction codings are feasible and within the scope of this invention. Each instruction consists of 32 bits and controls the operation of one of the individually controllable functional units (L1 unit 221, S1 unit 222, M1 unit 223, N1 unit 224, D1 unit 225, D2 unit 237, L2 unit 241, S2 unit 242, M2 unit 243, N2 unit 244, C unit 245 and P unit 246); [0108], lines 3-6, specifies the type of instruction and designates appropriate instruction options. This includes unambiguous designation of the functional unit used and operation performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zbiciak with the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, and Dockser in order to facilitate correct execution of an instruction via designation of the appropriate functional unit that executes that instruction. Alternatively, this modification merely entails combining prior art elements (the vector floating-point scale instruction of the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, and Dockser, and Zbiciak’s explicit teaching of specifying, in a field of an instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the instruction, as cited above) according to known methods (Zbiciak explicitly discloses specifying, in a field of an instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the instruction, as cited above, and Examiner generally submits that it is known for an instruction to be directed to a functional unit that has the capability of executing that instruction) to yield predictable results (the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, and Dockser, further entailing specifying, in a field of an instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the instruction), which is an exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness, as per MPEP 2143. Note that Zbiciak’s teaching of specifying, in a field of an instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the instruction, when applied to the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, and Dockser, wherein the instruction is a vector floating-point scale instruction, results in the overall claim limitation of specifying, in a fourth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction, a functional unit, from among multiple functional units of a processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction, and executing the vector floating-point scale instruction by the functional unit specified in the fourth field.
However, the combination thus far does not entail specifying in a sixth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of the processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction.
On the other hand, Sankaranarayanan discloses specifying in a field of an instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of a processor, for execution of the instruction ([0096], lines 1-9, the s bit 1307 (bit 1) designates scalar datapath side A 115 or vector datapath side B 116. If s=0, then scalar datapath side A 115 is selected. This limits the functional unit to L1 unit 221, S1 unit 222, M1 unit 223, N1 unit 224, D1 unit 225 and D2 unit 226 and the corresponding register files illustrated in FIG. 2. Similarly, s=1 selects vector datapath side B 116 limiting the functional unit to L2 unit 241, S2 unit 242, M2 unit 243, N2 unit 244, P unit 246 and the corresponding register file illustrated in FIG. 2).
Sankaranarayanan’s teaching increases system performance (via, for example, parallelism, relative to a system with just one data path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Sankaranarayanan with the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, and Zbiciak in order to increase system performance. Alternatively, this modification merely entails combining prior art elements (the prior art elements of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, and Zbiciak as described above, and Sankaranarayanan’s teaching of multiple data paths, as cited) according to known methods (Sankaranarayanan teaches of supporting multiple data paths via specification in a field of an instruction) to yield predictable results (the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, and Zbiciak, implementing multiple data paths), which is an exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness, as per MPEP 2143. Note that Sankaranarayanan’s teaching of specifying in a field of an instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of a processor, for execution of the instruction, when applied to the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, and Zbiciak, wherein the instruction is a vector floating-point scale instruction, results in the overall claim limitation of specifying in a sixth field of the vector floating-point scale instruction a datapath, among multiple datapaths of the processor, for execution of the vector floating-point scale instruction.
Consider claim 24, the overall combination entails the method of claim 23 (see above), wherein the source data comprises a 512-bit vector (Anderson, [0090], lines 13-18, floating point scaling operations may operate on packed data having widths of 512-bits or wider (e.g., including at least sixteen 32-bit single precision floating point data elements or at least eight 64-bit double precision floating point data elements); [0061], lines 14-17, commonly, the number N of the packed floating point data elements may be equal to the size in bits of the packed data divided by the size in bits of the floating point data elements.)
Consider claim 25, the overall combination entails the method of claim 23 (see above), wherein each floating-point value is a single precision floating-point value (Anderson, [0078], lines 2-3, floating point scaling operations that may be performed on packed 32-bit single precision floating point data) or a double precision floating-point value (Anderson, [0083], lines 2-3, floating point scaling operations that may be performed on packed 64-bit double precision floating point data), as specified by the vector floating-point scale instruction (Anderson, [0135], lines 1-4, data element width field 1764--its content distinguishes which one of a number of data element widths is to be used (in some embodiments for all instructions; in other embodiments for only some of the instructions; [0172], lines 1-4, data element width field 1764 (EVEX byte 2, bit [7]--W)--is represented by the notation EVEX.W. EVEX.W is used to define the granularity (size) of the datatype (either 32-bit data elements or 64-bit data elements)).
Consider claim 26, the overall combination entails the method of claim 23 (see above), wherein each of the scale values is represented by 16 bits (Anderson, [0090], lines 9-11, in other embodiments the floating point formats of the sources may be different (e.g., mixed-format scaling operations may be performed; [0067], lines 2-3, the half precision floating point format has 16-bits and is also referred to as binary16).
Consider claim 27, the overall combination entails the method of claim 23 (see above), wherein the scale values are signed values (Anderson, [0068], line 6, 1-bit sign 413B in bit [31]; [0069], line 6, 1-bit sign 413C in bit [63]).
Consider claim 28, the combination thus far entails the method of claim 23 (see above), but does not entail specifying, in a seventh field of the vector floating-point scale instruction, whether the vector floating-point scale instruction is to be executed in parallel with another instruction.
On the other hand, Zbiciak further explicitly discloses specifying, in a field of an instruction, whether an instruction is to be executed in parallel with another instruction ([0111], lines 1-11, the p bit 1308 (bit 0) marks the execute packets. The p-bit determines whether the instruction executes in parallel with the following instruction. The p-bits are scanned from lower to higher address. If p=1 for the current instruction, then the next instruction executes in parallel with the current instruction. If p=0 for the current instruction, then the next instruction executes in the cycle after the current instruction. All instructions executing in parallel constitute an execute packet. An execute packet can contain up to twelve instructions. Each instruction in an execute packet must use a different functional unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the further teaching of Zbiciak with the previously presented combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, Zbiciak, and Sankaranarayanan in order to increase system performance via parallel execution. Alternatively, this modification merely entails combining prior art elements (the vector floating-point scale instruction of the combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, Zbiciak, and Sankaranarayanan, and Zbiciak’s further explicit teaching of specifying, in a field of an instruction, whether an instruction is to be executed in parallel with another instruction, as cited above) according to known methods (Zbiciak explicitly discloses specifying, in a field of an instruction, whether an instruction is to be executed in parallel with another instruction, as cited above) to yield predictable results (the previously presented combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, Zbiciak, and Sankaranarayanan, further entailing specifying, in a field of an instruction, whether an instruction is to be executed in parallel with another instruction), which is an exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness, as per MPEP 2143. Note that Zbiciak’s teaching of specifying, in a field of an instruction, whether an instruction is to be executed in parallel with another instruction, when applied to the previously presented combination of Anderson, Lutz, Gupta, Dockser, Zbiciak, and Sankaranarayanan, wherein the instruction is a vector floating-point scale instruction, results in the overall claim limitation of specifying, in a seventh field of a vector floating-point scale instruction, whether the vector floating-point scale instruction is to be executed in parallel with another instruction.
Consider claim 29, the overall combination entails the method of claim 23 (see above), wherein at least one of the scale values is different than others of the scale values (Anderson, [0061], lines 11-12, the first source includes a plurality of N packed floating point data elements A.sub.0-A.sub.N. Also see FIG. 7B, as compared to FIG. 10, for example). Nevertheless, to any extent to which Anderson might not disclose that at least one of the scale values is different than others of the scale values, Examiner submits that a value in a vector being different from another value in the vector would have been obvious to try, which is an exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness, as per MPEP 2143.
Consider claim 30, the overall combination entails the method of claim 23 (see above), wherein, when it is determined that the scaled floating-point value is above the largest subnormal floating-point value, executing the vector floating-point scale instruction further comprises: determining a portion of the scale value that is consumed by normalizing the fraction field of the scaled floating-point value; and applying a remaining portion of the scale value to the exponent field of the floating-point value in the corresponding lane (Gupta, col. 1, lines 58-68, a normalization scheme for floating point numbers assures that all floating point numbers with the same value have the same representation. One normalization scheme is to ensure that the position of the most significant bit of the mantissa is one. Accordingly, to normalize a denormalized floating point number, the binary point is shifted to the right until the left most digit in the mantissa has a value of one. The exponent is then decreased so that the value of the combination of the mantissa and the exponent remains constant).
Independent claim 31 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 23 above.
Dependent claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24 above.
Dependent claim 33 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 25 above.
Dependent claim 34 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26 above.
Dependent claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 27 above.
Dependent claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 28 above.
Dependent claim 37 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 29 above.
Dependent claim 38 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 30 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant on page 7 argues: ‘Claims 31-38 are objected to because of an informality. The objection stems from the lack of the word "and" separating two limitations in claim 31, with the objection extending to claims 32-38 because of their dependencies. Claim 31 is amended to correct the informality. Thus, the objections are overcome.’
In view of the aforementioned amendment, the previously presented objection is withdrawn.
Applicant on page 7 argues: ‘Claims 26, 28, and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as allegedly being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventors regard as the invention. Claims 26 and 34 are amended to recite 16 bits, not 16-bits. Claims 26 and 38 are amended to change "sixth" to "seventh" for consistency with their independent claims. Claim 28 is amended to change "a" to "the" preceding vector floating-point scale instruction. Claim 31 is also amended to remedy the issues raised with respect to that claim. Thus, the § 112 rejections are overcome.’
In view of the aforementioned amendments, the previously presented indefinite rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant across pages 7-8 argues: “Applicant respectfully submits that the Office has failed to establish adequate motivation to combine the six (6) applied references, and that the combination represents the type of impermissible hindsight reconstruction that § 103 and Federal Circuit precedent are designed to prevent. A claim comprising several elements is not proved obvious merely by showing that each of those elements was known in the prior art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007); In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, the combination must be evaluated as a whole, not element by element in isolation. Each additional reference compounds the need for an additional articulated motivation to combine it with the others.”
Examiner submits that the Office Action sets forth adequate rationales for obviousness. For example, the rationales for obviousness of the Office Action did not merely show that each of the elements was known in the prior art. Examiner further submits that the combination entailing six applied references is not extraordinary in view of the length of the claims. For example, independent claim 23 is recited across 37 lines. Examiner further submits that the combination entailing six applied references is not extraordinary in view of the breadth of the claims. For example, claim 23 encompasses subject matter ranging from specifying a particular datapath and a particular functional unit to execute a vector floating-point scale instruction (which is distinct from how the vector floating-point scale instruction is actually executed inside a functional unit to scale a floating-point value) to low-level details on how the vector floating-point scale instruction is actually executed inside a functional unit (including details regarding how specific scaling result edge cases are handled). Regardless, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Applicant on page 8 argues: “A threshold problem with the Office's rejection is that six (6) different references are drawn from different processor architecture contexts, each addressing different design goals and hardware constraints. As such, there is no reasonable expectation that a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would be motivated to combine them all nor that such combination would result in the claimed inventions.”
Examiner submits that to any extent to which the references are drawn from different processor architecture contexts, each addressing different design goals and hardware constraints, such does not necessarily preclude a teaching from one reference from being combined with another reference. For example, Examiner submits that a processor designer designing a processor with a general design goal of making a high performance processor does not necessarily shun any kind of modification which would lead to lower power in exchange for a minor decrease in performance. Similarly, Examiner submits that a processor designer designing a processor with a general design goal of making a low power processor does not necessarily shun any kind of modification which would lead to higher performance in exchange for a minor increase in power. Examiner submits that the Office Action sets forth adequate rationales for obviousness.
Applicant on page 8 argues: “A POSITA working on a vector floating-point scaling instruction for a high-performance processor would not naturally turn to an embedded area-optimized processor (Dockser) for single-cycle guidance”.
Examiner submits that executing an instruction within a single cycle (instead of multiple cycles) would be desirable, regardless of whether a processor is high-performance processor or an embedded area-optimized processor (to whatever extent the former cannot be the latter, and vice versa). Examiner also submits that there is nothing about a vector floating-point scaling instruction for a high-performance processor that would necessarily preclude executing the instruction within a single cycle. Examiner submits that it is unclear as to why a POSITA working on a vector floating-point scaling instruction for a high-performance processor would not look at the overall processor landscape for desirable modifications to their processor invention; Examiner disagrees with any sort of argument that a teaching that is not disclosed in the context of a “high-performance processor” necessarily could not be applicable to a “high-performance processor”. Examiner further submits that a POSITA modifying the Anderson reference is not limited to modifications which appear to align with the design goals of Anderson, as a POSITA may have different design goals than Anderson.
Applicant on page 8 argues: “nor would such person look to a VLIW DSP instruction encoding scheme (Zbiciak, Sankaranarayanan) for instruction field design when working in an x86 SIMD context (Anderson). These references address different problems for different hardware platforms. No rationale is provided as to why a designer working with Anderson's x86-style vector ISA would seek out VLIW DSP instruction encoding references to define the instruction fields of a vector FP scale instruction.”
However, Examiner provided a rationale for obviousness. Examiner submits that it is unclear as to why a designer working with Anderson's x86-style vector ISA would not look at the overall processor landscape for desirable modifications to their processor invention; Examiner disagrees with any sort of argument that a teaching that is not disclosed in the context of an x86-style vector ISA necessarily could not be applicable to Anderson's x86-style vector ISA.
Applicant on page 8 argues: ‘Moreover, the "reduced cost" rationale for combining Lutz with Anderson and "minimize the circuitry" rationale for adding Dockser to the mix is at odds with the cumulative complexity that results from combining all six (6) references. Each successive addition of a new reference adds hardware complexity, instruction encoding overhead, and design constraints. A POSITA motivated to reduce cost and minimize circuitry would not simultaneously add a dedicated flush- to-zero detection and handling circuit (Lutz), a normalization circuit with remainder-to-exponent logic (Gupta), multiple functional units selectable by instruction field (Zbiciak), and multiple datapaths selectable by instruction field (Sankaranarayanan). These goals are in tension with one another. The rejection cannot simultaneously rely on reduce cost/circuitry as motivation to add Lutz and Dockser while also adding the hardware complexity of Zbiciak and Sankaranarayanan. This internal consistency undermines the overall rejection.’
Examiner submits that the combination of Lutz with Anderson to avoid the cost and undesirability of subnormal handling is not at odds with the combination of other prior art references with Anderson which are likewise associated with rationales for obviousness. Similarly, Examiner submits that the combination of Dockser with Anderson to minimize the circuitry required to manage instructions of varying length and/or to increase speed relative to executing the instruction within multiple cycles of the processor is not at odds with the combination of other prior art references with Anderson which are likewise associated with rationales for obviousness. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s apparent argument that one of the aforementioned rationales for obviousness would preclude any sort of further modification to any other part of the processor that might entail an increase in cost or circuitry. Examiner submits that processor design entails the well-known tradeoffs of performance, power-consumption, size, cost, capabilities, and more, and, for example, a designer choosing to avoid the cost of subnormal handling does not necessarily mean that that designer would choose to prioritize cost reduction over every other design tradeoff for every other aspect of the processor. For example, Examiner submits that a designer can both a) find the use of multiple datapaths desirable in the context of the performance versus power/cost/size tradeoff, and b) find subnormal handling, rather than flush-to-zero, to not be desirable in the context of the performance versus power/cost/size tradeoff, without such findings being considered to be at odds or inconsistent, and without such findings undermining the overall utility or desirability of the processor. Therefore, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that the rejection “cannot” simultaneously rely on reduce cost/circuitry as motivation to add Lutz and Dockser while also adding the hardware complexity of Zbiciak and Sankaranarayanan.
Applicant across pages 8-9 argues: “Other inconsistencies are present in the rejection as well. Lutz teaches away from combining with Gupta. Lutz's flush-to-zero is motivated by avoiding subnormal complexity; combining Lutz with Gupta's normalization is internally inconsistent. Gupta requires pipeline stalls, whereas Dockser requires single-cycle execution. These are directly incompatible design goals that the rejection cannot satisfy simultaneously. Lutz's subnormal detection is multiplication specific; it cannot be trivially applied to a FP scaling operation without understanding how the exponent is computed differently in scaling vs. multiplication. Sankaranarayanan requires a dual datapath VLIW architecture; applying it to Anderson's processor would require a significant architectural redesign, not a simple instruction field addition.”
However, Applicant does not elaborate on how Lutz's flush-to-zero and Gupta's normalization is internally inconsistent (nor why the instant claim’s flush-to-zero and normalization is not internally inconsistent). (Examiner also notes that while both Lutz and Gupta have been cited to teach the relevant limitations of claim 23 for the purposes of compact prosecution, only one of Lutz and Gupta is needed in the prior art combination in view of the relevant limitations being mutually exclusive contingent limitations.) Examiner also submits that the particular portion of Gupta cited (directed to normalization in general, rather than Gupta’s overall invention embodiment) is not disclosed to require pipeline stalls and does not inherently require pipeline stalls. Examiner additionally submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand computing an exponent while multiplying, computing an exponent while scaling, and differences between the two. Examiner further submits that a modification that entails a second datapath (which reflects the well-known general concept of parallel processing), to any extent to which such a modification would be considered substantial, does not by itself preclude such a modification from being obvious.
Applicant on page 9 argues: “The contradictory design goals and architectural differences among the six (6) references ensure that no real-world processor would result from the combination. To this end, the rejections have the hallmarks of hindsight reconstruction, with the claims simply providing a roadmap for selecting elements from disparate references. Thus, the Office has failed to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Finally, that the Office has to string together six (6) references together to formulate an obviousness rejection is itself an indication that the invention is nonobvious.”
However, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Examiner further submits that the Office Action sets forth adequate rationales for obviousness. Examiner additionally submits that the combination of six applied references is not extraordinary in view of the length of the claims. For example, independent claim 23 is recited across 37 lines. Examiner also submits that the combination of six applied references is not extraordinary in view of the breadth of the claims. For example, claim 23 encompasses subject matter ranging from specifying a particular datapath and a particular functional unit to execute a vector floating-point scale instruction (which is distinct from how the vector floating-point scale instruction is actually executed inside a functional unit to scale a floating-point value) to low-level details on how the vector floating-point scale instruction is actually executed inside a functional unit (including details regarding how specific scaling result edge cases are handled). Regardless, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH E VICARY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183