DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicants’ Response to the Final Rejection is acknowledged but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang et al ( US 2020/0126584)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelbman et al (US 2018/0353072) in view of Huang et al ( US 2020/0126584)
Regarding claim 1, Gelbman et al discloses one or more processing unit , comprising circuitry:
cause a first portion, comprising a pre-trained generative portion, (the images may be de-identified, e.g., by using one or more neural networks before transmission to system 100 and/or at system 100, paragraph [0035]) of one or more neural networks to receive genetic information as input (engine 115 may receive gene variants 101. Gene variants 101 may comprise genetic variants that are representations of gene sequences (e.g., stored as text or other format that captures the sequence of cytosine (C), guanine (G), adenine (A) or thymine (T) that form different genes; paragraph [0032]) and generate one or more segmentation masks and one or more images of one or more cells exhibiting one or more features associated with the genetic information(feature extraction 109 may output features (e.g., vectors) to predictive engine 111. Predictive engine 111 may comprise a machine learned model that accepts one or more features from one or more external soft tissue images as input and outputs one or more possible pathogens (pathogens 113) based on one or more features, paragraph [040-0043])
While Gelbman et al teaches the limitation above, Gelbman et al. fails to teach “use a second portion, comprising a pre-trained discriminator, of the one or more neural networks to update the one or more neural networks based, at least in part, on a loss function that indicates a correspondence among the one or more images of the one or more cells, the one or more segmentation masks, and the genetic information that is input to the second portion.”
Huang et al. teaches generative adversarial network (GAN) system input encoding for mapping text and sentiment information into feature vector and the synthesized image ( Paragraphs [0097-0100]). Huang et al teaches the training system 1402 uses another CNN 1410 that has already been trained, which serves as a loss-analysis network, to produce different sets of classifier activation values. That is, the CNN 1410 can include, for example, the type of image-processing layers 1412 described above (e.g., one or more convolution components, one or more pooling layers, one or more feed-forward neural network layers, etc.) ( paragraph [0118-0123]). Huang teaches wherein the GAN was further trained by passing the synthetic image, the segmentation mask, and the image feature vector to a discriminator for determining a set of loss values, wherein one or more network parameters of the GAN were updated using the set of loss values (Paragraphs [0092-0094], [0098-0099]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before filing of the claimed invention to modify Gelbman with Huang's system such that wherein the GAN was trained in part by transforming the description of semantic features to an image feature vector in order to provide a clear visual content that associated with specific object
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Gelbman discloses wherein the one or more neural networks: accept, as input, background image data and genetic expression data, the genetic expression data associated with visual features of the one or more cells ( images 107b may comprise visual representations of one or more of users 105 (or portions thereof, such as faces or other external soft tissues). As depicted in FIG. 1, images 107b may undergo feature extraction 109. As used in the context of images, the term “feature” refers to any property of images 107b (such as points, edges, gradients, or the like) or to any property of a face or other tissue representable by an image (such as a phenotypic feature). More broadly, “feature” may refer to any numerical representation of characteristics of a set of data, such as characteristics of text (e.g., based on words or phrases of the text), characteristics of genes (e.g., the presence one or more gene variants, locations of particular genes), characteristics of images (as explained above), or the like, paragraph [0039]).
c. Regarding claims 7-8, claims 7-8 are analogous and correspond to claims 1-2. See rejection of claims 1-2 for further explanation.
d. Regarding claims 13-14, claims 13-14 are analogous and correspond to claims 1-2. See rejection of claims 1-2 for further explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-6, 9-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelbman et al (US 2018/0353072) in view of Huang et al ( US 2020/0126584)and in further view of Mahmood et al. (“Deep Adversarial Training for Multi-Organ Nuclei Segmentation in Histopathology Images”).
Regarding claim 3, Gelbman and Huang disclose all the previous claim limitations. However, Gelbman et al does not disclose one or more neural networks infer the one or more images, and the one or more neural networks are a multi-conditional generative adversarial network (GAN) trained using medical image data and genetic expression data.
Mahmood discloses wherein the one or more ALUs are further to be configured to: infer the one or more images using a multi-conditional generative adversarial network (GAN) trained using medical image data and genetic expression data (Mahmood discloses that “ The cycle GAN framework learns a mapping between randomly generated polygon masks and unpaired pathology images” when “[t]he size, location and shape of the nuclei can vary significantly based on patients, clinical condition, organs, cell-cycle phase and aberrant phenotypes” at Fig. 1 and chapter III-D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the cycle GAN of Mahmood to Gelman’s machine learning module in order to improve the input image and boundary artifacts are reduced”
Regarding claim 4, the combination applied in claim 3 discloses wherein the one or more neural networks are trained in part by encoding medical image data and genetic expression data and fusing the encoded data to generate the one or more images of the one or more cells and the one or more segmentation masks the one or more images of the one or more cells including a representation of a group of cells blended with a background portion of the medical image data (Mahmood discloses normalizing pathology images at Fig. 1 and chapter III-B)
Regarding claim 5, the combination applied in claim 3 discloses wherein the one or more neural networks are further trained by passing the one or more images of the one or more cells, the one or more segmentation masks, and a gene code for genetic expression data to the pre-trained discriminator for determining a set of loss values, wherein one or more network parameters of the one or more neural networks are updated using the set of loss values (Mahmood discloses that “the cycle GAN framework learns a mapping between randomly generated polygon masks and unpaired pathology im-ages. Since cycle GAN is based on consistency loss, the setup also learns a reverse mapping from pathology images to corresponding segmentation or polygon masks . . . To train this framework for synthetic data generation with unpaired data, the cycle GAN objective consists of an adversarial loss term LGAN and a cycle consistency loss term Lcyc. The adversarial loss is used to match the distribution of translated samples to that of the target distribution and can be expressed for both mapping functions” at Fig. 1 and chapters III-D and E).
Regarding claim 6, the combination applied in claim 3 discloses wherein the one or more neural networks are trained utilizes a learned genomic map between visual features of the one or more cells and the genetic expression data (Mahmood discloses three evaluation methods related to ground truth such as Average Pompeiu-Hausdorff (aHD), F1 Score, and Aggregated Jaccard Index (AJI). All of those methods try to utilize the ground truth corresponding to the segmentation mask(s). at chapter IV-B.).
Regarding claims 9-12, claims 9-12 are analogous and correspond to claims 3-6, respectively. See rejection of claims 3-6 for further explanation.
Regarding claims 15-18, claims 15-18 are analogous and correspond to claims 3-6, respectively. See rejection of claims 3-6 for further explanation.
Contact Information
NANCY . BITAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2664
/NANCY BITAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664