DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Note: The amendment of June 25th 2019 has been considered.
Claims 1-13 are pending and examined in the current application.
Any rejections not recited below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver et al (US 2019/0060227 A1) in view of Kataoka et al., (JP-10276672-A Machine Translated).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4-13: Silver discloses a mixture of cannabinoid oil and a base oil mixture (i.e., a foaming substance and flavoring substance) wherein the cannabinoid oil is slowly added to a heated base oil mixture (i.e., a foaming substance and flavoring substance), wherein the mixture is blended in a high speed mixer and the mixture is cooled down until solidified (i.e., until frozen) (see Silver Abstract; Paragraphs [0061]-[0065]). Moreover, Silver discloses a method of making THC infused oils comprising 1-2% THC, up to 98% oils, such as coconut oil and/or olive oil and mixing the THC and base oil with a high speed mixer until a homogeneous mixture is attained (see Silver abstract; paragraphs [0023]-[0031] and [0037]-[0045]-). Given the fact the contents of the cannabinoid oil, foaming and flavoring substances recited in claims 2 and 8-13 overlap the contents of the cannabinoid oil, foaming and flavoring substances in Silver, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to the cooling and thawing steps recited in the claims: Silver discloses of setting/cooling the THC infused mixture to room temperature; However, Kataoka discloses that freezing and thawing a fat mixture, allows for a product with improved shelf life and spread ability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have modified Silver and to have frozen and thawed the mixture of cannabinoid oil in order to attain a product with an improved shelf life and/or spread ability, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 3: Silver discloses of setting/cooling the THC infused mixture to room temperature, but fails to disclose setting/cooling the THC infused oils in an insulted container as recited in claim 3; However, given the fact cooling heated mixture in insulted molds is well known in the art, the disclosure in Silver meets the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792