DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/3/2025, 10/7/2025 and 1/22/2026, have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be (fully) persuasive. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objects are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-4, 11-19, 21, 23-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and (b) as being anticipated by WO2005074887 A2 to Uhrich. Uhrich discloses a nanoparticle (abstract) comprising a polymer containing a polyol (page 7, third full paragraph) comprising sucrose (a saccharide made up of two fructose units linked together, which reads on the present polymer comprising two or more of the structural unit –[A]- where “A” is fructose and the structural unit comprises two units of fructose) (pages 7-8, bridging paragraph to page 8, first full paragraph; pages 10-11, bridging paragraph and further comprising a polyglycol linkage, -(CH2-CH2-O)n, where n is 1-10 or 2-20 (page 8, second full paragraph). The nanoparticles further comprise a targeting ligand (page 4, second full paragraph through page 5, second full paragraph; page 7, first paragraph). The targeting ligand may be bound to the nanoparticle via carboxylate ester (page 7, first and second paragraph). The targeting agent comprises a ligand for targeting cells (a cellular receptor) (page 4, second full paragraph through page 5, second full paragraph; page 7, first paragraph). The targeting ligand may comprise antibodies and antibody fragments (page 7, first paragraph). The targeting ligand may comprise folic acid (page 7, first paragraph). The nanoparticle comprises at least one therapeutic agent incorporated therein or coupled thereto (page 4, second and third full paragraphs; page 7, second paragraph). The therapeutic agent may be an agent for treating cancer, including paclitaxel (a taxane; a taxol; a chemotherapeutic agent; as it is an anticancer drug, it is deemed to read on a camptothecin-based drug) (abstract; claim 234). Uhrich teaches an aqueous solution comprising a plurality of its nanoparticles (pages 13-14, bridging paragraph).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arugment that Ulrich does not provide evidence that the disclosed amphiphilic macromolecules are capable of encapsulating nucleic acid therapeutics or delving them across cell membranes, the examiner’s response is that the present claims are not directed to a method of encapsulating nucleic acid therapeutics and delivering them across cell membranes. Ulrich’s disclosure provides sufficient guidance to the artisan that the therapeutic may be paclitaxel and the artisan, in reading this disclosure would find it obvious to use paclitaxel in the invention (abstract; claim 234). Ulrich is a saccharide made up of two fructose units linked together, which reads on the present polymer wherein the polymer comprises two or more of the structural unit –[A]- where “A” is fructose and the structural unit comprises two units of fructose (pages 7-8, bridging paragraph to page 8, first full paragraph; pages 10-11, bridging paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 4, 11-21, 23-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2005074887 A2 to Uhrich in view of Devi (Cancer Gene Therapy, 2006). The relevant portions of Uhrich are given above.
Uhrich fails to teach “wherein at least one therapeutic agent comprises a plasmid, a genomic DNA, siRNA, shRNA, miRNA, antisense oligonucleotide, a chimeric nucleotide, an aptamer, or a combination thereof” as required by claim 20.
Devi teaches that siRNA may be used to treat cancer (abstract; Concluding remarks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate an siRNA as the therapeutic agent of Uhrich. The motivation for this is that Uhrich teaches therapeutic agents useful in treating cancer, and by incorporating siRNA as the therapeutic agent of Uhrich, cancer may be treated.
Applicant reiterates their arguments regarding Uhrich above. The examiner has addressed applicant’s arguments regarding Uhrich above.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that the polyols of Uhrich do not satisfy applicant’s “[A],” the examiner’s response is that sucrose taught by Ulrich is a saccharide made up of two fructose units linked together, which reads on the present polymer wherein the polymer comprises two or more of the structural unit –[A]- where “A” is fructose and the structural unit comprises two units of fructose (pages 7-8, bridging paragraph to page 8, first full paragraph; pages 10-11, bridging paragraph).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
January 24, 2026