DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20, 22-23, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galan et al (US 2015/0197847), as further evidenced by Grune et al (DE 102013106168, machine translation cited below) and Helmut et al (US 3,290,572).
With respect to claims 19 and 22, Galan discloses in figs. 2-3 an endblock [4] for a sputter deposition apparatus (Abstract; para 0014), wherein the endblock [4] comprises: a drive means to provide relative movement between a “cylindrical magnetron target” (i.e. claimed “consumable target”)” [1] having a “magnet bar structure” (para 0014 and 0016); the drive means comprises a “rotating conductive rotor” [22] part of a first motor* for rotating the consumable target [1], the rotor [22] being either “a single piece design, or may be made up of multiple pieces” (para 0015-0016), such as suggested by fig. 3 showing an end portion of the rotor [22] and a first motor shaft of the rotor [22]. The cropped figure below of fig. 3 serves to clarify the end portion and first motor shaft of the rotor [22].
Galan further discloses the endblock [4] comprises a “fixed conductive collector” (i.e. claimed “electrical power transmission means”) [20] for transmitting power (i.e. electric current) to the consumable target [1] via an electric power transmission path through the rotor [22] of the first motor (para 0015).
*Galan teaches that the rotor [22] is part of the first motor, as further evidenced by: Grune teaching in figs. 1-2 and para 0023 and 0030 an electric motor [4] comprises a rotor [42] and stator [41], the rotor [42] having a similar purpose and shape as the rotor [22] of Galan; and Helmut teaching at col. 1, lines 30-36 that the term “rotor” is an associated structure of a motor.
With respect to claims 20 and 31, Galan further depicts in figs. 2-3 an endblock housing containing the endblock [4] being substantially axially symmetric and coaxial with the first motor shaft of the rotor [22], wherein the consumable target [1] is mounted to have a rotational axis that is coaxial to the first motor shaft of the rotor [22] (para 0016), and the endblock [4] comprising coupling (approximate to detail [4a]) configured for mounting of the consumable target [1] (para 0016), wherein a diameter of a circle circumscribing the endblock housing and perpendicular to the first motor shaft of the rotor [22] is not greater than 2.1 times a diameter of the coupling configured for the mounting of the consumable target [1]. The cropped figure below of fig. 2 serves to clarify the endblock housing and coupling.
With respect to claim 23, Galan further depicts in fig. 3 one or more bearings [52,[54] to support the consumable target [1] mechanically for rotation around the rotational axis of the consumable target [1] (para 0016).
With respect to claims 28-30, as discussed above, claim 19 requires “the drive means comprising a first motor with a first motor shaft configured for rotating the consumable target and/or a second motor with a second motor shaft for rotating the magnetic bar” (emphasis added). Thus ‘the drive means comprises a second motor and a second motor shaft for rotating the magnetic bar’ is an optional limitation due to the alternative language ‘or’, and accordingly not required by claim 19. Claims 28-30 are dependent upon this optional limitation; accordingly these limitations are also not required as they are dependent upon the optional limitation from claim 19. Thus claims 28-30 are also rejected for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galan et al (US 2015/0197847), as further evidenced by Grune et al (DE 102013106168, machine translation cited below), as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Grune et al (DE 102013106168, machine translation cited below).
With respect to claim 24, the reference is cited as discussed for claim 19. However Galan is limited in that while the rotor [22] is present for rotating the consumable target [1] (para 0015-0016), and necessarily requires a stator (i.e. static portion) present for operation of the first motor, particulars of the stator, rotor, and first motor are not suggested.
Grune teaches in fig. 1 a support device (i.e. end-block) [3] in a sputter deposition apparatus (para 0001 and 0009), wherein the end-block [3] comprises: a drive means to provide a relative movement between a tube target (i.e. consumable target) [1] and a magnet arrangement (i.e. magnetic bar) [2] (para 0001-0002 and 0020-0025), the drive means comprises a first motor [4] with a drive shaft (i.e. first motor shaft) [33] configured for rotating the consumable target [1] (para 0023); and a contacting means [36] that includes an electrical power transmission means for transmitting electric current to the consumable target [42] (para 0014-15 and 0022-0023), similar to the endblock [4] of Galan. Grune further depicts in figs. 1-2 the first motor [4] that inherently has a magnet system (see p. 10 Remarks 8/24/2022) in addition to a stator comprising coils (para 0004 and 0023), wherein the coils of the stator are mounted on a static portion of the end-block [3] and the magnet system is mounted on a rotor on the first motor shaft [33] (para 0004 and 0007), also similar to the rotor [22] of Galan. The coils of the stator and the magnet system on the rotor are mounted in such a way that an electric current is sent through the coils capable of generating a rotation moment on the first motor shaft [33] for rotating the consumable target [1] (para 0004 and 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rotor and first motor of Galan have particular structures and stator as taught by Grune to yield the predictable result of rotating the consumable target [1]. In addition it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the particular structures and stator of Grune incorporated into Galan since Galan fails to specify the particular structures of the stator and first motor for rotating the consumable target [1], and one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation for success in making the modification since Grune has shown a similar first motor comprising a rotor and stator of Galan for rotating a consumable target.
With respect to claims 25 and 26, Grune further depicts in fig. 2 the stator [41] mounted to the static portion that comprises a disc with a cylinder, the cylinder coaxial with the first motor shaft [33], and the disc being perpendicular to the first motor shaft [33], wherein the cylinder is located around the first motor shaft [33], and the coils of the stator [42] are mounted on the cylinder, and the electrical power transmission means (of contact means [36]) mounted between the cylinder and the first motor shaft [33] (para 0004, 0007, 0014-0019, and 0029-0031).
Double Patenting
Claims 19-20, 22-26, and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of US Patent No. 8,562,799 in view of US 2015/0197847 as further evidenced by DE 102013106168. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent are narrower in scope than the claims of the current invention, and encompass the subject matter of the current claims. Therefore, any reference meeting the limitations set forth in claims 1-24 of the US Patent would also meet the requirements set forth in claims 19-20, 22-26, and 28-31 of the current invention. The US Patent also recites a conductive ring used to transmit power to a consumable target in order for the consumable target to be sputtered, with US 2015/0197847 also teaching to transmit power to a consumable target through a first motor that rotates the consumable target, as further evidenced by DE 102013106168.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks on p. 9-18 filed 7/21/2026 are addressed below.
102 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments on p. 10-13 with respect to claim 19 and associated dependent claims over Cnockaert have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim 19 amendment. The previous rejections over Cnockaert have been withdrawn.
On p. 13-16, Applicant argues that neither Galan nor Grune teaches “an electric power transmission path to the consumable target that passes through the first motor” as recited by amended claim 19, and that the “rotor” of Galan is not necessarily part of an electric motor.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Galan explicitly teaches the power path to the consumable target [1] passes through the rotor [22] (para 0015); the rotor [22] is part of the first motor, as further evidenced by: Grune teaching in figs. 1-2 and para 0023 and 0030 that an electric motor [4] comprises a rotor [42] and a stator [41] (the rotor [42] of Grune having similar purpose and shape as the rotor [22] of Galan); and Helmut teaching that the term “rotor” is part of an electric motor. Thus since Galan teaches the power path is through the rotor [22] to the consumable target [1], and the rotor [22] is part of the first motor as evidenced by Grune and Helmut, Galan (with evidence by Grune and Helmut) teaches the power path is through the first motor.
Regarding the “rotor” of Galan, the term “rotor” is specific to an electric motor for providing “force to turn the shaft” (such as Galan’s first motor shaft of the rotor [22] for rotating the target), as evidenced by both Grune and Helmut (as discussed above in the rejection). Furthermore an “Electric motor” as per Wikipedia (see attached PTO-892 form) states that components of the electric motor necessarily includes a “rotor” for “extert[ing] force to turn the shaft”. As such, the term “rotor” of Galan signifies that a stator and motor are present in order to then turn or rotate the rotor [22] that then rotates consumable target [1]; thus Galan’s rotor [22] (and the claimed “electric power transmission path” thereof) is part of the first motor.
Applicant’s arguments on p. 14-16 to the structural arrangement of Grune are noted, however Grune is merely relied upon as evidence that the terms “rotor” and “stator” are known as structural components of a motor in a cylindrical sputtering device, similar to “rotor” [22] in the cylindrical sputtering device of Galan.
In response to Applicant's argument on p. 14 that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., stator, coils, or a magnet system arranged to electromagnetically drive rotor) are not recited in the rejected claims (but are recited in withdrawn claim 39). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the Specification, limitations from the Specification are not read into the claims (MPEP 2145, VI).
On p. 16, Applicant argues that dependent claims 28-30 reciting ‘both first and second motors’ adds additional structural arrangement not suggested by Galan.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees since the limitation of the “second motor” is an alternative limitation as recited in independent claim 19 (i.e. “a first motor and a first motor shaft […] and/or a second motor and a second motor shaft” (emphasis added), thus limitations reciting the “second motor” and “second motor shaft” are optional limitations. As such, any dependent claims that recites the optional limitations is also an optional claim.
103 Rejections
All other arguments on p. 17-18 to claims 24-26 are directed towards the subject matter addressed in the 102 Rejections above and therefore have been addressed accordingly.
Double Patenting Rejections
On p. 17-18, Applicant argues that US Patent No. 8,562,799 with US 2015/0197847 does not require the limitation of amended claim 19 of: “wherein the first motor being an electric motor […], wherein an electric power transmission path to the consumable target passes through the first motor”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees since the arguments have been addressed similarly above in the 102 Rejections.
Rejoinder Request
The request on p. 18 is noted for claims 32-36, and presumably new claim 39.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A BAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794