DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung Eun Noh et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2014/0125885, here after 885), further in view of Hisako Ishikawa et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2012/0225274, here after 274).
Claim 9 is rejected. 885 teaches a flexible color filter (touch panel without the lower electrode 122) [fig. 2], consisting of:
a transparent flexible substrate (110) [0044] consisting of a thermoset thiol-click polymer [0044];
a black matrix pattern fabricated on the transparent flexible substrate (131), the claim is to device and therefor the method of producing the black matrix pattern does not read in claim (fabricated via a light sensitive black ink coated on the transparent flexible substrate via spin coating) [0045];
color filter pixels (red, blue, green) disposed between the black matrix pattern and fabricated on the transparent flexible substrate, the claim is to device and therefor the method of producing the black matrix pattern does not read in claim (each of the color filter pixels is formed via spin coating onto the transparent flexible substrate) [fig. 2]; further wherein the transparent flexible substrate is cured after each of the color filter pixels is spun coated on to the transparent film;
wherein the flexible color filter further comprises a patterned transparent electrode layer (121, patterned electrode) no matter of how it deposited on the black matrix pattern and the color filter pixels, wherein the transparent electrode layer comprises any of Indium-Tin-Oxide (ITO) [0049, 003]. 885 does not teach the polymer substrate is a thermoset thiol-click polymer. 274 teaches a transparent flexible substrate (film) for making color filters consisting of thermoset (cured) thiol polymer (multifunctional monomer) [(trimethylolpropane tris (3- mercaptopropionate) [0034,0082-83, 0043-0044, 0056, 0058], and thiol CO monomer (another monomer, diallyl
carbonate) (274 teaches it comprising multifunctional thiol monomers and co-monomers therefore, it considered as Thiol-Click polymer) [0070]. 274 teaches transmittance of 89% (in 550nm, green light) [table 1], although itis not 90%, however A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art do not overlap but are close enough that one in ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America V. Banner, 778 f.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05. Although 274 does not teach haze value of below 1%, however since the polymer is the same, therefore has the same property. Furthermore, haze value depends on thickness of the film and it is to skill of an ordinary person to reduce the thickness of the film to obtain desirable haze value. claim 9 is related to product and curing condition of the polymer does not read in claim limitation as it does not affect the final product. The rest of the claim limitation is not a part of the final product and related to method claim (wherein a fluid is introduced exclusively at an interface between the transparent flexible substrate and a release layer lowers adhesion between the transparent flexible substrate and the release layer, wherein the lowering of the adhesion between the transparent flexible substrate and the release layer enables delamination of the flexible color filter from a carrier substrate).
Claim 10 is rejected as 274 teaches thermoset thiol-click polymer is cured a monomer mixture, and wherein the monomer mixture comprises of one or more
multifunctional thiol monomers (trimethylolpropane tris(8-mercaptopropionate) and
multifunctional co- monomers (diallyl carbonate) [0056,0070], since 274 does not teach
the wt% of each monomer, it is considered 50 wt% of each (also see example 12).
Claims 11-12 are rejected as 274 teaches the cure polymer has small molecule
additive (benzyl acrylate) [0070]. It is to the skill of ordinary person to substitute for
example 10% of diallyI carbonate [0070] with benzyl acrylate in absence of criticality.
Claims 13-14 are rejected as 274 teaches thiol monomer (which is
multifunctional) comprising trimethylolpropane tris (8-mercaptopropionate) [0056].
Claim 15 is rejected as 274 teaches co-monomer (multifunctional) is diallyl|
carbonate [0070].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 6, 16-18 are allowed. The following is an examiner's statement of
reasons for allowance: Claims are allowed for the same reason indicated in office action mailed on 07/30/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues previous references do not teach new limitation of amended claim 9, however claim 9 has limitation of structure of color filter as Noh teaches it( see claim rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718