DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: There is a typo where “method” is missing from line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4-9,11,12,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe et al (US20050252454) in view of Laia et al (US20100258173).
With regards to claim 1, Parkhe et al discloses a method comprising: obtaining a chamber component of a vacuum processing chamber (obtaining a support component 20 of a vacuum chamber 106, Fig. 7A), the chamber component comprising: a surface, wherein the surface is a metal (pedestal body 154 comprises a metal material, paragraph 0060,lines 10-12); and a seal groove formed in the surface of the chamber component (grooves 159 formed on body 154, Fig. 2A), the seal groove designed to accept a ring shaped gasket (the surface 22 of the pedestal body 154 comprises a pattern of grooves 159 that is capable of equalizing the pressure on the front and backside of a substrate 104 placed on the surface 22, paragraph 0065, lines 1-2), the seal groove having a depth from the surface to a bottom of the recess seal groove ranging from about 0.5 mm to about 10 mm and a width ranging from about 1 mm to about 15 mm (the grooves 159 may comprise a depth of from about 0.5 mm (0.02 inches) to about 1 mm (0.04 inches), such as about 0.8 mm (0.03 inches), paragraph 0066, lines 2-4).
Parkhe et al does not disclose polishing the bottom of the seal groove using a laser treatment to form a polished bottom having an Ra number of 1 micron or less.
Laia et al teaches polishing the bottom of the seal groove using a laser treatment to form a polished bottom having an Ra number of 1 micron or less (it is desirable to have some means for treating example thin metallic substrate 204 to remove at least one defect up to about 5 .mu.m below the surface of example thin metallic substrate 204, paragraph 0034, lines 10-13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Parkhe et al and Laia et al before him or her, to modify the method of Parkhe et al to include the polishing of Laia et al because combination provides removal of at least one defect and achieves a smooth surface.
With regards to claim 2, Parkhe et al discloses wherein the chamber component is a substrate support configured to hold a substrate for processing in the vacuum processing chamber (component 20 supports substrate 104 for processing in a process chamber 106, Fig. 2A,7A).
With regards to claim 4, Laia et al teaches wherein the laser treatment is laser ablation comprising exposing the bottom of the seal groove to a laser radiation (the laser preferentially heats regions of the surface having lesser heat capacity than the base portion of the thin metallic substrate, for example, regions with the topography of a protrusion or pit. In addition, such features can be removed by laser smoothing based on laser ablation, paragraph 0061, lines 7-9).
With regards to claim 5, Laia et al teaches wherein the laser radiation has a power ranging from about .4 watts to about 400 watts (laser may have an average power of 50 watts, paragraph 0053, lines 2-3).
With regards to claim 6, Parkhe et al discloses wherein the surface is stainless steel (pedestal body 154 is made of stainless steel, paragraph 0060, lines 11-12).
With regards to claim 7, Parkhe et al discloses wherein the seal groove is formed by milling (the grooves 159 are formed by machining, paragraph 0064, lines 3-5).
With regards to claim 8, Parkhe et al a method comprising: obtaining a chamber component of a vacuum processing chamber (obtaining a support component 20 of a vacuum chamber 106, Fig. 7A), the chamber component comprising: a surface, wherein the surface is a metal (pedestal body 154 comprises a metal material, paragraph 0060,lines 10-12); a seal groove formed in the surface, the seal groove designed to accept a ring shaped gasket (the surface 22 of the pedestal body 154 comprises a pattern of grooves 159 that is capable of equalizing the pressure on the front and backside of a substrate 104 placed on the surface 22, paragraph 0065, lines 1-2); and a scratch disposed in a bottom surface of the seal groove (grooves 159 are formed by machining which would result in scratches, paragraph 0064, lines 3-5), the seal groove having a depth from the surface to the bottom surface ranging from about 0.5 mm to about 10 mm and a width ranging from about 1 mm to about 15 mm (the grooves 159 may comprise a depth of from about 0.5 mm (0.02 inches) to about 1 mm (0.04 inches), such as about 0.8 mm (0.03 inches), paragraph 0066, lines 2-4).
Parkhe et al does not disclose removing the scratch from the bottom surface of the seal groove using a laser treatment to form a polished bottom surface having an Ra number of 1 micron or less.
Laia et al teaches removing the scratch from the bottom surface of the seal groove using a laser treatment to form a polished bottom surface having an Ra number of 1 micron or less (it is desirable to have some means for treating example thin metallic substrate 204 to remove at least one defect up to about 5 .mu.m below the surface of example thin metallic substrate 204, paragraph 0034, lines 10-13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Parkhe et al and Laia et al before him or her, to modify the method of Parkhe et al to include the polishing of Laia et al because combination provides removal of at least one defect and achieves a smooth surface.
With regards to claim 9, Parkhe et al discloses wherein the chamber component is a substrate support configured to hold a substrate for processing in the vacuum processing chamber (component 20 supports substrate 104 for processing in a process chamber 106, Fig. 2A,7A).
With regards to claim 11, Laia et al teaches wherein the laser treatment is laser ablation comprising exposing the bottom of the seal groove to a laser radiation (the laser preferentially heats regions of the surface having lesser heat capacity than the base portion of the thin metallic substrate, for example, regions with the topography of a protrusion or pit. In addition, such features can be removed by laser smoothing based on laser ablation, paragraph 0061, lines 7-9).
With regards to claim 12, Laia et al teaches wherein the laser radiation has a power ranging from about .4 watts to about 400 watts (laser may have an average power of 50 watts, paragraph 0053, lines 2-3).
With regards to claim 16, Parkhe et al discloses a method comprising: obtaining a substrate support of a vacuum processing chamber (obtaining a support component 20 of a vacuum chamber 106, Fig. 7A), the substrate support comprising: a surface, wherein the surface is a metal (pedestal body 154 comprises a metal material, paragraph 0060,lines 10-12); a seal groove formed in the surface, the seal groove designed to accept a ring shaped gasket (the surface 22 of the pedestal body 154 comprises a pattern of grooves 159 that is capable of equalizing the pressure on the front and backside of a substrate 104 placed on the surface 22, paragraph 0065, lines 1-2); a scratch in a bottom surface of the seal groove (grooves 159 are formed by machining which would result in scratches, paragraph 0064, lines 3-5), the seal groove having a depth from the surface to the bottom surface ranging from about 0.5 mm to about 10 mm and a width ranging from about 1 mm to about 15 mm (the grooves 159 may comprise a depth of from about 0.5 mm (0.02 inches) to about 1 mm (0.04 inches), such as about 0.8 mm (0.03 inches), paragraph 0066, lines 2-4).
Parkhe et al does not disclose removing the scratch from the bottom surface of the seal groove using a laser treatment to form a polished bottom surface having an Ra number of 1 micron or less.
Laia et al teaches removing the scratch from the bottom surface of the seal groove using a laser treatment to form a polished bottom surface having an Ra number of 1 micron or less(it is desirable to have some means for treating example thin metallic substrate 204 to remove at least one defect up to about 5 .mu.m below the surface of example thin metallic substrate 204, paragraph 0034, lines 10-13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Parkhe et al and Laia et al before him or her, to modify the method of Parkhe et al to include the polishing of Laia et al because combination provides removal of at least one defect and achieves a smooth surface.
With regards to claim 17, Laia et al teaches wherein the laser radiation has a power ranging from about .4 watts to about 400 watts (laser may have an average power of 50 watts, paragraph 0053, lines 2-3).
Claim(s) 13-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe et al and Laia et al as applied to claim 12 and 17 above, and further in view of Nangoy (US 9,034,771).
With regards to claims 13 and 18, Parkhe et al and Laia et al does not teach wherein the laser radiation has a pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds to about 100 nanoseconds.
Nangoy teaches wherein the laser radiation has a pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds to about 100 nanoseconds (the femtosecond laser sources have a pulse width approximately in the range of 10 femtoseconds to 500 femtoseconds, col 20, lines 1-10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Parkhe et al, Laia et al and Nangoy before him or her, to modify the method of Parkhe et al and Laia et al to include the laser source configuration of Nangoy because combination provides a laser that minimizes chipping, microcracks and other deficiencies during machining.
With regards to claims 14 and 19, Nangoy teaches wherein the laser radiation has a repetition rate ranging from about 1 KHz to about 10 MHz (the spacial beam profile at the work surface may be a single mode (Gaussian) or have a shaped top-hat profile. In an embodiment, the laser source has a pulse repetition rate approximately in the range of 200 kHz to 10 MHz, col 20, lines 14-17).
With regards to claims 15 and 20, Laia teaches wherein the laser radiation has a scan rate ranging from about 0.01 meters per second to about 30 meters per second (the spot may be rastered across the surface of the sample in a raster pattern with a speed of about 4 meters per second (m/s) using a laser galvanometer scanner to produce an overall rate of laser smoothing of about 100 square centimeters per second (cm.sup.2/s), paragraph 0053, lines 7-9).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761