DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-16 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hultin et al. (US 6,288,216) in view of Ngapo et al. (“Capillary gel electrophoresis versus SDS PAGE of exudate from fresh pork” in Meat Science, 53 (1999), pp. 145-148).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16, Hultin et al. disclose a process for recovering protein from an animal muscle source of protein and the resulting protein composition wherein the process comprises the steps of: (a) mixing a particulate form of the animal tissue with an acidic aqueous liquid having a pH between about 2.5 and 3.5 to produce a protein rich solution; and (b) raising the pH of the recovered supernatant (wherein the supernatant comprises solubilized myofibrillar and sarcoplasmic proteins – see C3/L44-63) to between about 5.0 and about 5.5 to recover a protein product containing myofibrillar proteins and a significant proportion of the sarcoplasmic protein of the original muscle tissue proteins (Abstract, Figure 4, C1/L11-13, C3/L44-C4/L9, C4/L21-46). Hultin et al. disclose an optional, preliminary step of homogenizing the animal muscle (i.e. no need for a homogenization step -C4/L66-C5/L2).
While Hultin et al. disclose a process for recovering protein from a muscle source, the reference is silent with respect to purge.
Ngapo et al. teach exudate (i.e. purge) obtained from fresh meat is known to comprise both sarcoplasmic and myofibrillar proteins (Abstract, p. 147/3. Results and discussion, Table 1). Ngapo et al. teach that the exudate is mainly sarcoplasmic in origin (p. 147/3. Results and discussion). Given Ngapo et al. teach extrudate from fresh normal pork, intrinsically the extrudate would comprises sarcoplasmic protein in an amount of at least 75% of the total protein.
Hultin et al. and Ngapo et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, proteins from animal meat. Given Hultin et al. teach a process of recovering protein from an animal muscle source of protein, since Ngapo et al. teach an animal muscle source of protein, i.e. purge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have applied the method of Hultin et al. to a quantity of purge comprising sarcoplasmic and myofibrillar proteins to recover the proteins.
Given Hultin et al. disclose recovery of a protein product containing myofibrillar proteins and a significant proportion of the sarcoplasmic protein of the original muscle proteins from a low value meat product, since Hultin et al. disclose a recovery process substantially similar to that presently claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to try using similar low value meat sources for the process, including exudate, as taught by Ngapo, and would expect yields as presently claimed, i.e., protein product comprising at least about 75% or at least 85% sarcoplasmic proteins by weight of total protein.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, modified Hultin et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Hultin et al. disclose that suitable animal protein sources or animal muscle tissue include fish, chicken, beef or lamb (C8/L49-54), the reference is silent with respect to pork. However, absent evidence to the contrary, given Hultin et al. disclose a process directed to isolating a protein component of animal muscle tissue generally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used any animal protein source, including pork, and arrive at the present invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes “[a]s previously show in the transcript and screenshots from the September 2,1 2023 Examiner Interview, Applicants has provided a side-by-side comparison which revealed that subjecting liquid purge tot the process described in Hultin did not achieve the claimed protein rich purge composition.”
Applicant explains that the video transcript and screen shots clearly demonstrate that a sample of whole muscle consistent with the teaching of Hultin et al. as well as a clear explanation of the separate sample of exudate (purge) extracted from muscle. Moreover, Applicant states the liquid sarcoplasmic proteins are discussed at timestamp 1:46 of the video transcript and is visible on page 9 of the video images. Applicant notes that the process of Hultin et al. was performed on both the solid muscle as well as the exudate to who the final products formed in each case.
In the transcript, the whole pork muscle in solid form is ground to give greater surface area (0:04). The ground pork muscle is subjected to squeeze out the sarcoplasmic proteins (0:17). The sarcoplasmic proteins are combined with water in a ratio of 1:9 as indicated in the Hultin et al. process (2:03). No precipitation forms (3:19).
As noted in the Final Office Action mailed April 21, 2025, the Examiner does not suggest mixing 1 part purge with 9 parts water. While Hultin et la. disclose mixing muscle tissue with water to solubilize protein and obtain a solution, the same steps would not be taken when using purge. The skilled artisan (e.g., a meat scientist) would understand the proteins in purge are solubilized and that a step of solubilizing the proteins in a dilution of water is not necessitated.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759