Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, line 12, filed 18 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-4 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunitsky et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0167433 A1), hereinafter Kunitsky; have been fully considered and, in light of the claim amendments made, are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1-4 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn.
3. Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, line 12, filed 18 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-4 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitsky et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0167433 A1), hereinafter Kunitsky; have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument is focused on the argument that Kunitsky fails to teach wherein the glycidyloxy group is at the *para* position. Each of the experimental examples of Kunitsky teach the glycidyloxy group is at the para position, Paragraphs [0114-0128]. The general structure of Paragraph [0038] of Kunitsky (below) states: “wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, and R5 are glycidyloxy, H, OCH3, OH, OR8, or linear or branched alkyl, aryl, halo, or cyano; R6 and R7 are H, halo, or cyano; R8 is linear or branched alkyl or aryl; provided that at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4, or R5 is glycidyloxy.”
As one can clearly see, the glycidyloxy group is taught in the para position, i.e. R3, relative to the ethylene group which becomes part of the polymer backbone following polymerization. Herein, R1, R2, R5, and R4 of Kunitsky would correspond to Ra, Rb, Rc, and Rd of the present application, respectively. Thus, Ra, Rb, Rc, and Rd, using the moiety descriptions of the present application, are taught as being within the scope of the claims of the present application, most importantly Rb and Rd of the present application are taught as being halogen. Examiner will further note that while there may not be experimental example of Kunitsky within the scope of the claims of the present application, neither does the present application have a single experimental example within the scope of the claims of the present application. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection of record is maintained.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-4 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitsky et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0167433 A1), hereinafter Kunitsky.
7. Regarding Claims 1-4 and 15-17, Kunitsky teaches (Paragraph [0038], Claim 1) a polymer of formula (I). Kunitsky teaches (Paragraph [0038], Claim 1) each of Ra and Rc, each of Ra0-Rc0, each of Ra1-Rd1, and each of Ra2-Rd2 are hydrogen (H) and each of Rb and Rd are a halogen. Kunitsky teaches (Paragraph [0038], Claim 1) wherein n and n0 of Formula (I) of the present application are each independently a number from 0 to 20 and n + n0 of Formula (I) of the present application is a number from 24 to 36. Kunitsky teaches (Paragraph [0038], Claim 1) wherein n1 and n2 of Formula (I) of the present application are each independently a number from 0 to 2 and/or n1 + n2 of Formula (I) of the present application is a number from 0 to 3.
8. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that each element of the polymer claimed herein, although not necessarily in a single experimental example, one of ordinary skill in the art could simply substitute a monomer within the scope of the present application for one of the experimental examples of Kunitsky by known methods and the result of this simple substitution were predictable.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737