Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, line 7, filed 03 November 2025, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement; have been fully considered and, in light of the amendments made, are persuasive. The rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph has been withdrawn.
2. Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, line 12, filed 03 November 2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-4 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunitsky et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0167433 A1), hereinafter Kunitsky; and Claims 1-4 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitsky et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0167433 A1), hereinafter Kunitsky; have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that "nothing in Kunitsky teaches or suggests selecting the specific groups of the presently claimed invention for each of Rb and Rd and each of Rb0 and Rd0." Then in the next sentence Applicant states "In Example 5 of Kunitsky, one of Rb and Rb or one of Rb0 and Rd0 is methoxyl." Unsaid is that in Example 5 of Kunitsky, all other of Rb, Rd, Rb0, and Rd0 which is not methoxyl is a hydrogen. Thus, not only does Kunitsky teaches or suggest selecting the specific groups of the presently claimed invention for each of Rb and Rd and each of Rb0 and Rd0, but teaches a specific example wherein each of Rb and Rd and each of Rb0 and Rd0 are clearly defined and within the scope of the claims of the present application. Applicant further argues that the intended use of the polymer of Kunitsky differs from the intended use of the polymer of the present application. This is irrelevant as what is claimed by the present application is a polymer, not a process using said polymer, particularly since the intended use of said polymer is not claimed by the present application. Given that all limitations of the claims of the present application are taught by the prior art, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunitsky et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0167433 A1), hereinafter Kunitsky.
6. Regarding Claims 1-4 and 15-17, Kunitsky teaches (Paragraphs [0121-0122 and 0128]) a polymer of formula (I). Kunitsky teaches (Paragraphs [0121-0122 and 0128]) each of Ra-Rd, each of Ra0-Rd0, each of Ra1-Rd1, and each of Ra2-Rd2 are hydrogen (H) and C1 alkoxy. Kunitsky teaches (Paragraphs [0121-0122 and 0128]) wherein n and n0 of Formula (I) of the present application are each independently a number from 0 to 20 and n + n0 of Formula (I) of the present application is a number from 24 to 36. Kunitsky teaches (Paragraphs [0121-0122 and 0128]) wherein n1 and n2 of Formula (I) of the present application are each independently a number from 0 to 2 and/or n1 + n2 of Formula (I) of the present application is a number from 0 to 3.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-4 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitsky et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0167433 A1), hereinafter Kunitsky.
10. Although the claims are deemed to be anticipated by Kunitsky for the reasons above, the following is offered in the interest of compact prosecution in the event the Applicant can demonstrate that Kunitsky is not anticipatory.
11. Regarding Claims 1-4 and 15-17, Kunitsky teaches (Claim 1) a polymer of formula (I). Kunitsky teaches (Claim 1) each of Ra-Rd, each of Ra0-Rd0, each of Ra1-Rd1, and each of Ra2-Rd2 are hydrogen (H) and C1 alkoxy. Kunitsky teaches (Claim 1) wherein n and n0 of Formula (I) of the present application are each independently a number from 0 to 20 and n + n0 of Formula (I) of the present application is a number from 24 to 36. Kunitsky teaches (Claim 1) wherein n1 and n2 of Formula (I) of the present application are each independently a number from 0 to 2 and/or n1 + n2 of Formula (I) of the present application is a number from 0 to 3.
12. If Applicant is able to demonstrate that all limitations of the present claims are not present in a single experimental example of the prior art, all limitations are taught by the prior art and a person having ordinary skill in the art would simply combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
13. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737