DETAILED ACTION
This is an office action on the merits in response to the communication filed on 11/07/2025.
Claims’ Status
Claims 1 and 25-28 are canceled. Claims 2 and 9 are amended. Claims 2-24 are considered and are pending in this office action.
Continued Examination
Response to Arguments/Comments
On pg.15 of the Arguments/Remarks, Applicant argues that “At the root of this difference is that, in Lingappa, “virtual currency data” (to the extent such data is even disclosed by Lingappa) is generated by distributor nodes 120A-120M.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with this characterization. In Lingappa, “digital currency” is in fact generated by user computing devices 130A-130B as described in paragraph [0029]; the “user computing device” in Lingappa can be used to map out the claimed “user terminal instantiated by one of a portable smartphone or a tablet computer”, see the complete rejection below.
With respect to Durvasula, Examiner didn’t use this reference to teach “the virtual currency data is generated by a portal user terminal”; instead Durvasula is used to teach other limitations of independent claim 2 or 9.
Examiner also would like to make a note that even though “a management device” is previously added to the preamble of claim 2, however “a management device” is not positively cited in the preamble, only the positively cited element carries patentable weight, therefore claim 2 is still drafted from the perspective of a “user terminal.”
Objection
Claims 10-24 are objected due to incorrect dependency on the respective dependent claims. For example on independent claim 9, rather than claiming from “A management device”, applicant amends the claim to include “A virtual currency data issuing system comprising”; therefore dependent claims 10-24 should also be amended to include “A virtual currency data issuing system.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a user terminal input means; reception means; a user terminal information processing means; a user terminal transmission and reception means; a management device information processing means; a user terminal first information processing means; a user terminal encryption means; a user terminal solution generating means; a management encryption means; a determining means; a management device decryption means; a settlement means; a user terminal second information processing means; a first recording means; a second recording means; a server solution generating means; etc” in claims 2-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03
Per Step 1, Claims 2-24 are drawn to system claims; which are all within the four statutory categories (i.e., a process).
Independent claim 2 recites: (claims 9 being similar in scope):
Claim 2:
a user terminal input means that accepts input of information, a user terminal transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via a predetermined network, and a user terminal information processing means that performs information processing including generating virtual currency data having a monetary value, the user terminal being instantiated by one of a portable smartphone or a portable tablet computer and being one of a plurality of user terminals each intended to be used by a user; and the management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and a management device information processing means that performs information processing; the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network; wherein the user terminal input means is configured to accept amount information that is information that specifies an amount of money to be paid with virtual currency data that a user desires to issue, and the user terminal information processing means comprises: a user terminal first information processing means that attaches a user ID, which is information for distinguishing each user of the user terminal from a user of another user terminal and which differs on a user terminal basis, to the amount information accepted by the user terminal input means, and that causes the amount information with the user ID attached to be transmitted from the user terminal transmission and reception means to the management device via the network; in the management device: the management device transmission and reception means is configured to accept the amount information with the user ID attached from the user terminal, and the management device information processing means comprises: a credit determination unit that makes a determination as to whether the virtual currency data of an amount of money specified by the amount information with the user ID attached is to be issued for the user specified by the user ID accepted by the management device transmission and reception means, and that generates issuance permission information when it is made a determination the virtual currency data is to be issued for the user, and a management device first information processing means that causes the issuance permission information generated by the credit determination unit to be transmitted from the management device transmission and reception means via the network to the user terminal which sent the amount information; the user terminal transmission and reception means is configured to receive the issuance permission information from the management device.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04
The limitations, as drafted, constitute a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interaction by including agreements in the form of contracts under the Certain methods of organizing human activity, but for the recitation of generic computer components. The abstract idea, recited above, includes: a user terminal input means that accepts input of information, a user terminal transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via a predetermined network, and a user terminal information processing means that performs information processing including generating virtual currency data having a monetary value, the user terminal being instantiated by one of a portable smartphone or a portable tablet computer and being one of a plurality of user terminals each intended to be used by a user; and the management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and a management device information processing means that performs information processing; the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network; wherein the user terminal input means is configured to accept amount information that is information that specifies an amount of money to be paid with virtual currency data that a user desires to issue, and the user terminal information processing means comprises: a user terminal first information processing means that attaches a user ID, which is information for distinguishing each user of the user terminal from a user of another user terminal and which differs on a user terminal basis, to the amount information accepted by the user terminal input means, and that causes the amount information with the user ID attached to be transmitted from the user terminal transmission and reception means to the management device via the network; in the management device: the management device transmission and reception means is configured to accept the amount information with the user ID attached from the user terminal, and the management device information processing means comprises: a credit determination unit that makes a determination as to whether the virtual currency data of an amount of money specified by the amount information with the user ID attached is to be issued for the user specified by the user ID accepted by the management device transmission and reception means, and that generates issuance permission information when it is made a determination the virtual currency data is to be issued for the user, and a management device first information processing means that causes the issuance permission information generated by the credit determination unit to be transmitted from the management device transmission and reception means via the network to the user terminal which sent the amount information; the user terminal transmission and reception means is configured to receive the issuance permission information from the management device. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of limitations commercial interactions by including agreements in the form of contracts, but for the recitation of generic computer components, it falls within the Certain methods of organizing human activity, grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP 2106.04.
The recited computing elements (claim 2: a user terminal; a management device; a virtual currency data issuing system; a predetermined network; a portable smartphone; a credit determination unit) are recited at a high-level of generality, i.e. as generic computing element performing generic computer functions such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more, since it amounts to no more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, as set forth in MPEP 2106.05(f).
The other additional positive element(s): “and the user terminal information processing means comprises: a user terminal encryption means that, when the user terminal transmission and reception means receives the issuance permission information, generates virtual currency encryption data by encrypting original data including the amount information using a scheme that is different to that used in another user terminal, and a user terminal second information processing means that generates the virtual currency data including at least the virtual currency encryption data by adding necessary data to the virtual currency encryption data.” in claim 2, which amounts to linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) or simply “applying it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea- see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Accordingly, these additional claim elements, alone and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, because (1) they do not effect improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (see MPEP 2106.05(a)); (2) they do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or a medical condition (see the Vanda memo); (3) they do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)); (4) they do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (see MPEP 2106.05(c)); (5) they do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designated to monopolize the exception (see MPEP 2106.05(e) and the Vanda memo). Therefore, per Step 2A, Prong Two, the claim is directed to an abstract idea not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP 2106.05.
Step 2B of the eligibility analysis concludes that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner carries over the analysis from Step 2A related to the generic computing elements being no more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The additional claim elements are simply linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, are carried over for further analysis in Step 2B.
When the independent claims are considered as a whole, as a combination, the claim elements noted above do not amount to any more than they amount to individually. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified as an abstract idea. Therefore, it is concluded that the elements of the independent claims are directed to one or more abstract ideas and do not amount to significantly more. (MPEP 2106.05)
Further, Step 2B of the analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well, both individually and as a whole, as a combination:
Claims 3-8 and 10-24 are further directed to additional abstract ideas because the steps performed are simply narrowing the scope of the abstract idea of claim 1 since their individual and combined significance is still not significantly more than the abstract concept at the core of the claimed invention. For example, claim 3 further describes encrypting the original data by a same scheme; claim 4 on changing a scheme used to encrypting the original data, at a predetermined timing; claim 5 on changing a scheme used to encrypting the original data each time the original data is encrypted; etc. creating the individual user account describing dynamic, updatable runtime data object properties; claim 3 describes permitting the individual user account to transfer a token between the business digital wallet and another business digital wallet of another business entity; claim 4 on accessing transaction data indicative of completing the token transfer; etc; which all of the limitation are narrowing the steps performed in claim 2.
The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified in the independent claims as an abstract idea. The fact that the associated computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer statutory subject matter eligibility. In sum, the additional elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance is still not heavier than the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is concluded that the dependent claims of the instant application do not amount to significantly more either. (see MPEP 2106.05)
In sum, claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-12, 17-21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Lingappa (US20150371224A1) in view of Durvasula et al. (US20180075453A1), and further in view of Kumar (US20180315027A1).
With respect to claim 2
Lingappa teaches the limitations of:
a user terminal input means that accepts input of information ([0038], The user computing device can include a processor, and memory, input devices, and output devices, operatively coupled to the processor. Specific examples of user computing devices include cellular or mobile phones, tablet computers, desktop computers personal digital assistants (PDAs), pagers, portable computers, smart cards, and the like.), a user terminal transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via a predetermined network ([0038], The term “user computing device” may refer to a computing device that is associated with a user. In some embodiments, the user computing device can be used to communicate with another device, computer, or system. It can include a user computing device that is used to conduct a transaction. The user computing device may be capable of conducting communications over a network.), and
a user terminal information processing means that performs information processing including generating virtual currency data having a monetary value ([0029], The term “digital currency” may refer to units of value that may be used as a form of payment for transactions, including financial transactions. Digital currency may be currency that is electronically generated by and stored within a user computing device. Digital currency may be purchased using conventional forms of currency (e.g., fiat currency) and generated with a specific value), the user terminal being instantiated by one of a portable smartphone or a portable tablet computer and being one of a plurality of user terminals each intended to be used by a user ([0054], The user computing devices 130A-130B may be in any suitable form. For example, suitable user computing devices may be hand-held and compact so that they can fit into a user's pocket. Examples of user computing devices 130A-130B may include any device capable of accessing the Internet. Specific examples of user computing devices 130A-130B include cellular or wireless phones (e.g., smartphones), tablet phones, tablet computers, laptop computers, desktop computers, terminal computers, work stations, personal digital assistants (PDAs), physical cryptocurrency wallet hardware, pagers, portable computers, smart cards, and the like. In some embodiments of the invention, the user computing devices 130A-130B and a payment device associated with the user may be a single device (e.g., a mobile phone).)
the management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal ([0109], In step 505, a server computer 150 in a management system determines that a first financial institution server computer (e.g., issuer node 105A) is authorized to generate a digital currency. As described in step 302 above, in some embodiments, the server computer 150 may receive a request from the first financial institution server computer requesting that the first financial institution server computer be designated as a node in the cryptocurrency payment network 145. In such embodiments, the server computer 150 may determine the type of financial institution associated with the first financial institution server computer.), and that comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and a management device information processing means that performs information processing; the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network ([0058], As noted above, the cryptocurrency payment network 145 may be comprised of issuer nodes 105A-105N and distributor nodes 120A-120M in communications via the communications network 115. In some embodiments, each of these node may be granted the rights and ability to participate in the cryptocurrency payment network 145 by the management system server computer 150. In such embodiments, the management system server computer 150 may be configured to generate and distribute digital certificates, including a node verification public key, to each of the nodes to allow the nodes to function in the cryptocurrency payment network 145; see also [0040], The term “transaction” may include an exchange or interaction between two entities. In some embodiments, a transaction may refer to a transfer of value between two users (e.g., individuals or entities). A transaction may involve the exchange of monetary funds (e.g., digital currency), or the exchange of goods or services for monetary funds between two individuals or entities. In other embodiments, the transaction may be a purchase transaction involving an individual or entity purchasing goods or services from a merchant or other entity in exchange for monetary funds. In other embodiments, the transaction may be a non-financial transaction, such as exchanging of data or information between two entities, such as the transfer of data or information across a communications channel. Examples of non-financial transactions may include transactions for verifying an identity of a server computer and/or rights and restrictions associated with the server computer; see also [0041]);
wherein the user terminal input means is configured to accept amount information that is information that specifies an amount of money to be paid with virtual currency data that a user desires to issue ([0085], In step 308, the issuer node 105A may perform the steps to generate and issue digital currency. In some embodiments, the financial institution server computer associated with the issuer node 105A may generate a request message for generating and issuing digital currency. In some embodiments, this process may occur algorithmically (e.g., according to a schedule, according to market conditions, according to a value of an associated fiat currency) or at the request of a user controlling the issuer node 105A. In some embodiments, the request message may include an amount of the digital currency the issuer node 105A wants to generate and a first key (e.g., a node verification public key) of a node verification key pair associated with the issuer node 105A.), and
the user terminal information processing means comprises: a user terminal first information processing means that attaches a user ID, which is information for distinguishing each user of the user terminal from a user of another user terminal and which differs on a user terminal basis, to the amount information accepted by the user terminal input means, and that causes the amount information with the user ID attached to be transmitted from the user terminal transmission and reception means to the management device via the network (see [0018-0019, 0061, and 0096]);
in the management device: the management device transmission and reception means is configured to accept the amount information with the user ID attached from the user terminal (see [0064]), and
the user terminal transmission and reception means is configured to receive the issuance permission information from the management device (see [0074]),
and the user terminal information processing means comprises: a user terminal encryption means that, when the user terminal transmission and reception means receives the issuance permission information, generates virtual currency encryption data by encrypting original data ([0016], Another embodiment of invention is directed to a method comprising receiving a request message from a financial institution server computer to generate a digital currency. The request message may include an amount of the digital currency (data) to be generated. The request message may be encrypted using a first key of a key pair associated with the financial institution server computer; [0041], The term “message” may include any data or information that may be transported from one entity to another entity (e.g., one computing device to another computing device.)
Lingappa does not explicitly disclose, but Durvasula teaches:
the management device information processing means comprises: a credit determination unit that makes a determination as to whether the virtual currency data of an amount of money specified by the amount information with the user ID attached is to be issued for the user specified by the user ID accepted by the management device transmission and reception means ([0058-0059], Referring now to FIGS. 8A and 8B, an exemplary process 800 is shown for execution on credit processing system 850, in accordance with various embodiments. System 850 may include a digital wallet 120 operating on user device 106 in communication over network 254 with wallet service 118………………………..User 252 may select credit application from digital wallet 120 (Block 804). The digital wallet running on user device 106 may present the user with a credit application form (Block 804). The credit application form may include fields for personal information such as name, social security number, driver's license number, driver's license issue date, driver's license expiration date, telephone number, email address, or other personal information for use in the credit application process. User 252 may provide personal information to digital wallet 120 by completing the credit application form (Block 808).) and
that generates issuance permission information when it is made a determination the virtual currency data is to be issued for the user, and a management device first information processing means that causes the issuance permission information generated by the credit determination unit to be transmitted from the management device transmission and reception means via the network to the user terminal which sent the amount information ([0060], digital wallet 120 may transmit the personal information to wallet service 118 (Block 810). Wallet service 118 may submit the credit application to lending system 104 (Block 812). Digital wallet 120 may present user 252 with a credit application submission confirmation (Block 814). Lending system 104 may also process the credit application to determine whether to extend credit for user 252 (Block 816). In response to approving the credit application, lending system 104 may notify wallet service 118 of credit line approval decision (Block 818). Wallet service 118 may provide credit application outcome by writing the decision in digital currency smart contract 112 maintained on blockchain 110 (Block 820). Digital currency smart contract 112 and/or wallet service 118 may notify the customer of the crediting decision using push notification system 450 as described above, for example (Blocks 822));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa with the teaching of Durvasula as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the systems of utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions as disclosed by Lingappa to the methods of determining credit application of a digit wallet as taught by Durvasula for the predicated result of improved systems of incorporating credit into digital currencies of a digital wallet.
Lingappa in view of Durvasula do not explicitly disclose, but Kumar teaches:
(see [0091-0100].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa/ Durvasula with the teaching of Kumar as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Lingappa/ Durvasula, for example utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions in Lingappa, to include the method of implementing different encryption algorithms between as taught by Kumar for the predicated result of improved systems of incorporating different encryption methods for each of the user terminal.
With respect to claim 9
Lingappa teaches the limitations of:
a management device that performs management of generation of virtual currency data that is data having a monetary value ([0109], In step 505, a server computer 150 in a management system determines that a first financial institution server computer (e.g., issuer node 105A) is authorized to generate a digital currency. As described in step 302 above, in some embodiments, the server computer 150 may receive a request from the first financial institution server computer requesting that the first financial institution server computer be designated as a node in the cryptocurrency payment network 145. In such embodiments, the server computer 150 may determine the type of financial institution associated with the first financial institution server computer.); and
a user terminal that is operable to generate the virtual currency data ([0029], The term “digital currency” may refer to units of value that may be used as a form of payment for transactions, including financial transactions. Digital currency may be currency that is electronically generated by and stored within a user computing device. Digital currency may be purchased using conventional forms of currency (e.g., fiat currency) and generated with a specific value), the user terminal comprising a user terminal input means that accepts input of information ([0038], The user computing device can include a processor, and memory, input devices, and output devices, operatively coupled to the processor. Specific examples of user computing devices include cellular or mobile phones, tablet computers, desktop computers personal digital assistants (PDAs), pagers, portable computers, smart cards, and the like.), a user terminal transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via a predetermined network ([0038], The term “user computing device” may refer to a computing device that is associated with a user. In some embodiments, the user computing device can be used to communicate with another device, computer, or system. It can include a user computing device that is used to conduct a transaction. The user computing device may be capable of conducting communications over a network.), and a user terminal information processing means that performs information processing including generating the virtual currency data ([0029], The term “digital currency” may refer to units of value that may be used as a form of payment for transactions, including financial transactions. Digital currency may be currency that is electronically generated by and stored within a user computing device. Digital currency may be purchased using conventional forms of currency (e.g., fiat currency) and generated with a specific value), the user terminal being instantiated by one of a portable smartphone or a portable tablet computer and being one of a plurality of user terminals each intended to be used by a user ([0054], The user computing devices 130A-130B may be in any suitable form. For example, suitable user computing devices may be hand-held and compact so that they can fit into a user's pocket. Examples of user computing devices 130A-130B may include any device capable of accessing the Internet. Specific examples of user computing devices 130A-130B include cellular or wireless phones (e.g., smartphones), tablet phones, tablet computers, laptop computers, desktop computers, terminal computers, work stations, personal digital assistants (PDAs), physical cryptocurrency wallet hardware, pagers, portable computers, smart cards, and the like. In some embodiments of the invention, the user computing devices 130A-130B and a payment device associated with the user may be a single device (e.g., a mobile phone).), the management device comprising: a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and a management device information processing means that performs information processing; the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network ([0058], As noted above, the cryptocurrency payment network 145 may be comprised of issuer nodes 105A-105N and distributor nodes 120A-120M in communications via the communications network 115. In some embodiments, each of these node may be granted the rights and ability to participate in the cryptocurrency payment network 145 by the management system server computer 150. In such embodiments, the management system server computer 150 may be configured to generate and distribute digital certificates, including a node verification public key, to each of the nodes to allow the nodes to function in the cryptocurrency payment network 145; see also [0040], The term “transaction” may include an exchange or interaction between two entities. In some embodiments, a transaction may refer to a transfer of value between two users (e.g., individuals or entities). A transaction may involve the exchange of monetary funds (e.g., digital currency), or the exchange of goods or services for monetary funds between two individuals or entities. In other embodiments, the transaction may be a purchase transaction involving an individual or entity purchasing goods or services from a merchant or other entity in exchange for monetary funds. In other embodiments, the transaction may be a non-financial transaction, such as exchanging of data or information between two entities, such as the transfer of data or information across a communications channel. Examples of non-financial transactions may include transactions for verifying an identity of a server computer and/or rights and restrictions associated with the server computer; see also [0041]);
wherein in the user terminal: the user terminal input means is configured to accept amount information that is information that specifies an amount of money to be paid with virtual currency data that a user desires to issue ([0085], In step 308, the issuer node 105A may perform the steps to generate and issue digital currency. In some embodiments, the financial institution server computer associated with the issuer node 105A may generate a request message for generating and issuing digital currency. In some embodiments, this process may occur algorithmically (e.g., according to a schedule, according to market conditions, according to a value of an associated fiat currency) or at the request of a user controlling the issuer node 105A. In some embodiments, the request message may include an amount of the digital currency the issuer node 105A wants to generate and a first key (e.g., a node verification public key) of a node verification key pair associated with the issuer node 105A.), and the user terminal information processing means comprises: a user terminal first information processing means that attaches a user ID, which is information for distinguishing each user of the user terminal from a user of another user terminal and which differs on a user terminal basis, to the amount information accepted by the user terminal input means, and that causes the amount information with the user ID attached to be transmitted from the user terminal transmission and reception means to the management device via the network (see [0018-0019, 0061, and 0096]); the management device transmission and reception means is configured to accept the amount information with the user ID attached from the user terminal (see [0064]); and in the user terminal: the user terminal transmission and reception means is configured to receive the issuance permission information from the management device (see [0074]), and the user terminal information processing means comprises: a user terminal encryption means that, when the user terminal transmission and reception means receives the issuance permission information, generates virtual currency encryption data by encrypting original data ([0016], Another embodiment of invention is directed to a method comprising receiving a request message from a financial institution server computer to generate a digital currency. The request message may include an amount of the digital currency (data) to be generated. The request message may be encrypted using a first key of a key pair associated with the financial institution server computer; [0041], The term “message” may include any data or information that may be transported from one entity to another entity (e.g., one computing device to another computing device.), and a user terminal second information processing means that generates the virtual currency data including at least the virtual currency encryption data by adding necessary data to the virtual currency encryption data
Lingappa does not explicitly disclose, but Durvasula teaches:
the management device information processing means comprises: a credit determination unit that makes a determination as to whether the virtual currency data of an amount of money specified by the amount information with the user ID attached is to be issued for the user specified by the user ID accepted by the management device transmission and reception means ([0058-0059], Referring now to FIGS. 8A and 8B, an exemplary process 800 is shown for execution on credit processing system 850, in accordance with various embodiments. System 850 may include a digital wallet 120 operating on user device 106 in communication over network 254 with wallet service 118………………………..User 252 may select credit application from digital wallet 120 (Block 804). The digital wallet running on user device 106 may present the user with a credit application form (Block 804). The credit application form may include fields for personal information such as name, social security number, driver's license number, driver's license issue date, driver's license expiration date, telephone number, email address, or other personal information for use in the credit application process. User 252 may provide personal information to digital wallet 120 by completing the credit application form (Block 808).),
that generates issuance permission information when it is made a determination the virtual currency data is to be issued for the user, and a management device first information processing means that causes the issuance permission information generated by the credit determination unit to be transmitted from the management device transmission and reception means via the network to the user terminal which sent the amount information ([0060], digital wallet 120 may transmit the personal information to wallet service 118 (Block 810). Wallet service 118 may submit the credit application to lending system 104 (Block 812). Digital wallet 120 may present user 252 with a credit application submission confirmation (Block 814). Lending system 104 may also process the credit application to determine whether to extend credit for user 252 (Block 816). In response to approving the credit application, lending system 104 may notify wallet service 118 of credit line approval decision (Block 818). Wallet service 118 may provide credit application outcome by writing the decision in digital currency smart contract 112 maintained on blockchain 110 (Block 820). Digital currency smart contract 112 and/or wallet service 118 may notify the customer of the crediting decision using push notification system 450 as described above, for example (Blocks 822));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa with the teaching of Durvasula as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the systems of utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions as disclosed by Lingappa to the methods of determining credit application of a digit wallet as taught by Durvasula for the predicated result of improved systems of incorporating credit into digital currencies of a digital wallet.
Lingappa in view of Durvasula do not explicitly disclose, but Kumar teaches:
the virtual currency encryption data by adding necessary data to the virtual currency encryption data (see [0091-0100].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa/ Durvasula with the teaching of Kumar as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Lingappa/ Durvasula, for example utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions in Lingappa, to include the method of implementing different encryption algorithms between as taught by Kumar for the predicated result of improved systems of incorporating different encryption methods for each of the user terminal.
With respect to claim 4
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 2. Kumar teaches: the user terminal encryption means is configured to change a scheme used to encrypt the original data, at a predetermined timing (see claim 14, wherein central controller maintains the public and private cryptographic key pair assigned to the first client application associated with the first client device; the cryptographic keys remaining valid for a predetermined time interval; see [0059], “Encryption” means using a key or cipher to convert a piece of information into scrambled information so that the original information can be transferred securely.)
With respect to claim 5
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 4. Kumar teaches:
the user terminal encryption means is configured to change a scheme used to encrypt the original data each time the original data is encrypted ([0100], The hash value can then be encrypted using AES (Advanced Encryption Standard) algorithm with a 256-bit key. The choice of the hash function, encryption algorithm and keys used for encryption and decryption etc. are determined by the Central Controller 101 and communicated to the client application on each client device 201 during the registration step 905 of FIG. 9 and during the synchronization step 1012 of FIG. 10. The choice of hashing algorithm and encryption algorithm used is not important for the implementation of the current invention and central controller can instruct the client applications (or Transaction Processing Module) on each device to use a different set of algorithms such as IDEA (International Data Encryption Algorithm) or CAST-128.; [0121], Thus the exact cryptographic key pair, the hashing algorithm and the encryption algorithm may change over time as determined by the central controller 101 and communicated to the device entities 201.)
With respect to claim 6
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 4. Kumar teaches: the user terminal information processing means comprises a user terminal solution generating means that can continuously generate a solution that is formed by enumerating a predetermined number of at least one of characters, numbers, and symbols based on an initial solution that differs on a user terminal basis, with a solution generated under a same condition always being a same solution (see [0021], “…create a unique transaction crypto token comprising of information of the device identifiers, transaction amount, timestamp and other identifiers; storing the crypto token locally until the transaction is synchronized with the central controller; and finally central controller transferring the electronic currency from the payer account to payee account when either of the three devices involved in the transaction synchronizes and checks-in the stored transaction data containing crypto token and other information.”; [0059], “The request message comprises the transaction information 1301 as shown in FIG. 13 and an encrypted value of a hash of the transaction information wherein hash is computed using a hash function and encrypted values is generated using the private key of the client application associated with the payee device B. Following formula shows by example a method to compute the hash value:”), (see paragraphs [0059], [0080], [0091] and [0100]-[0101] and Fig. 13, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2)
the user terminal encryption means is configured to change a scheme used to encrypt the original data based on the solution that is provided from the user terminal solution generating means (see abstract and paragraphs [0059], [0080], [0091] and [0020], [0100]-[0101] and Fig. 13, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2)
With respect to claim 8
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 4. Kumar teaches: the user terminal second information processing means is configured to add to the virtual currency encryption data a user ID that specifies the user terminal which encrypts the virtual currency encryption data, and to adopt the virtual currency encryption data to which the user ID is added as the virtual currency data ([0021], optionally payer device establishing a communication link with a third registered approver device; payer, payee and optional approver device to create a unique transaction crypto token comprising of information of the device identifiers, transaction amount, timestamp and other identifiers; storing the crypto token locally until the transaction is synchronized with the central controller.)
With respect to claim 10
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 9. Lingappa further teaches: the management device transmission and reception means is configured to accept, via the network, virtual currency data generated by any of the user terminals from the user terminal which generates the virtual currency data or from any device that received the virtual currency data by transfer directly or indirectly from the user terminal which generates the virtual currency data ([0074 and 0119]); and
Kumar further teaches: the management device information processing means comprises: a settlement means that, when the virtual currency data accepted from the user terminal is authentic, accepts settlement of an amount of money specified by the amount information encrypted and included in virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data with respect to a user of a device that is a transmitting source of the virtual currency data ([0116], In step 707, PPM 114 carries out further steps to validate each transaction and compute a consolidated debit or credit amount for the account balance for the counterparties of each transaction where such steps are described in detail in FIG. 8; see claim 1, deploying a central controller computer coupled to a packet network device comprising a memory and a processor and further comprising programmable code stored in the memory of the computer, the code adapted to processing, storing and managing transactions using an electronic currency across a plurality of client devices by determining and establishing the confidentiality, integrity, authenticity and non-repudiability of the client devices associated with a transaction and of the transaction itself; see also [0091 and 0118], fig, 3, 7, 8 and 13.)
With respect to claim 11
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 10. Kumar further teaches: the management device information processing means comprises a management device decryption means for decrypting virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data received by the management device transmission and reception means ([0090], TPM at central controller 101, then in step 1617 decrypts, validates and processes all transactions received in the message 1616, determines the final amount to credit or debit from the central account balance associated with the user identifier at device entity 201 b.)
the settlement means is configured to accept the settlement by determining the virtual currency data in which the virtual currency encryption data is included to be authentic when the management device decryption means is able to decrypt the virtual currency encryption data ([0116], In step 707, PPM 114 carries out further steps to validate each transaction and compute a consolidated debit or credit amount for the account balance for the counterparties of each transaction where such steps are described in detail in FIG. 8; see claim 1, deploying a central controller computer coupled to a packet network device comprising a memory and a processor and further comprising programmable code stored in the memory of the computer, the code adapted to processing, storing and managing transactions using an electronic currency across a plurality of client devices by determining and establishing the confidentiality, integrity, authenticity and non-repudiability of the client devices associated with a transaction and of the transaction itself; see also [0091 and 0118], fig, 3, 7, 8 and 13.)
With respect to claim 12
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 11. Kumar further teaches: wherein the user terminal encryption means is configured to always encrypt the original data by a same scheme (see [0091-0101]), and the management device decryption means is configured so that, when confirming authenticity of virtual currency data generated at a same user terminal, the management device decryption means always decrypts the virtual currency encryption data by a same scheme (see [0091-0101])
With respect to claim 17
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 10. Lingappa further teaches: the management device information processing means comprises: a management device encryption means that generates encryption data for confirmation by encrypting original data that is identical to original data encrypted at the user terminal, that includes the amount information that is received by the management device transmission and reception means (see [0034-0036], and a determining means that compares virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data received by the management device transmission and reception means with the encryption data for confirmation that is generated by the management device encryption means, and determines that the virtual currency data in which the virtual currency encryption data is included is authentic when both of the data coincide with each other; and the settlement means is configured to accept the settlement when the determining means determines that the virtual currency data is authentic (see [0097-0099].)
With respect to claim 18
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 17. Lingappa further teaches: the management device information processing means comprises a first recording means that records original data that is identical to original data encrypted at the user terminal, that includes the amount information received by the management device transmission and reception means, and the management device encryption means is configured so that, when the virtual currency data is received by the management device transmission and reception means, the management device encryption means reads, from the first recording means, original data that is identical to data serving as an origin of the virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data, and encrypts the original data that is read (see [0095-0097])
With respect to claim 19
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 17. Lingappa further teaches: the management device information processing means comprises a second recording means that records the encryption data for confirmation, and the determining means is configured so that, when the management device transmission and reception means receives the virtual currency data, the determining means compares encryption data for confirmation that is recorded in the second recording means with virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data that the management device transmission and reception means receives, and determines that the virtual currency data in which the virtual currency encryption data is included is authentic when the encryption data for confirmation that is identical to the virtual currency encryption data is recorded in the second recording means (see [0095-0097])
With respect to claim 20
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 17. Kumar further teaches: the user terminal encryption means is configured to always encrypt the original data by a same scheme, and the management device encryption means is configured to always encrypt the original data by a same scheme when confirming authenticity of virtual currency data generated at a same user terminal (see [0091-0101].)
With respect to claim 21
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 17. Kumar further teaches: the user terminal encryption means is configured to change a scheme used to encrypt the original data, at a predetermined timing (see claim 14, wherein central controller maintains the public and private cryptographic key pair assigned to the first client application associated with the first client device; the cryptographic keys remaining valid for a predetermined time interval; see [0059], “Encryption” means using a key or cipher to convert a piece of information into scrambled information so that the original information can be transferred securely.), and the management device encryption means is configured so that, when encrypting the original data, the management device encryption means encrypts the original data by a same scheme as a scheme used when original data that is identical to the original data is encrypted by the user terminal encryption means (see [0091-0101].)
With respect to claim 23
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 17. Kumar further teaches: the user terminal information processing means comprises a user terminal solution generating means that can continuously generate a solution that is formed by enumerating a predetermined number of at least one of characters, numbers, and symbols based on an initial solution that differs on a user terminal basis, with a solution generated under a same condition always being a same solution (see [0021], “…create a unique transaction crypto token comprising of information of the device identifiers, transaction amount, timestamp and other identifiers; storing the crypto token locally until the transaction is synchronized with the central controller; and finally central controller transferring the electronic currency from the payer account to payee account when either of the three devices involved in the transaction synchronizes and checks-in the stored transaction data containing crypto token and other information.”; [0059], “The request message comprises the transaction information 1301 as shown in FIG. 13 and an encrypted value of a hash of the transaction information wherein hash is computed using a hash function and encrypted values is generated using the private key of the client application associated with the payee device B. Following formula shows by example a method to compute the hash value:”), (see paragraphs [0059], [0080], [0091] and [0100]-[0101] and Fig. 13, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2)
the user terminal encryption means is configured to change a scheme used to encrypt the original data based on the solution that is provided from the user terminal solution generating means (see abstract and paragraphs [0059], [0080], [0091] and [0020], [0100]-[0101] and Fig. 13, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2)
; and the management device information processing means comprises a server solution generating means that records initial solutions that are identical to initial solutions of the user terminals, respectively, and based on the solutions can generate the solution that is identical to the solution generated by the user terminal solution generating means of the user terminals, respectively, and the management device encryption means is configured to determine a scheme of encrypting the original data, based on the solution that is provided from the management device solution generating means (see [0082-0084].).
With respect to claim 24
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 17. Kumar further teaches: the user terminal second information processing means is configured to add to the virtual currency encryption data a user ID that specifies the user terminal that encrypts the virtual currency encryption data, and to adopt the virtual currency encryption data to which the user ID is added as the virtual currency data ([0021], optionally payer device establishing a communication link with a third registered approver device; payer, payee and optional approver device to create a unique transaction crypto token comprising of information of the device identifiers, transaction amount, timestamp and other identifiers; storing the crypto token locally until the transaction is synchronized with the central controller)
the management device encryption means is configured so that, when encrypting the original data, the management device encryption means determines a scheme of encrypting the original data according to the user ID that is included in the virtual currency data together with the virtual currency encryption data (see [0105-0106])
Claims 3, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Lingappa (US20150371224A1; hereinafter, “Lingappa”) in view of Durvasula et al. (US20180075453A1; hereinafter: “Durvasula”) in view of Kumar (US20180315027A1; hereinafter: “Kumar”) in view of Nakamura (US20090141889A1; hereinafter: “Nakamura”).
With respect to claim 3
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 2. The combination does not explicitly disoclose, but Nakamura teaches:the user terminal encryption means is configured to always encrypt the original data by a same scheme (see [0049-0050], The algorithm generating means and the key generating means of the data processing apparatus of the third invention generate the algorithm and the key each time the subject data is encrypted respectively. And when performing the decryption, the data processing apparatus of the third invention generates the same algorithm and the key as those used when performing the encryption. Therefore, the data processing apparatus of the third invention sequentially generates the same algorithms or keys as those generated in the past, and so it does not need to use the above-mentioned specific information if only it decrypts the multiple pieces of the encrypted data in the same order as the order used on the encryption thereof.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa/ Durvasula/Kumar with the teaching of Nakamura as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the systems of utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions as disclosed by Lingappa to the methods of encrypting the data under the same scheme as taught by Nakamura for the predicated result of improved systems of encrypting/decrypting the data.
With respect to claim 13
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 11. Kumar further teaches: the user terminal encryption means is configured to change a scheme used to encrypt the original data, at a predetermined timing (see claim 14, wherein central controller maintains the public and private cryptographic key pair assigned to the first client application associated with the first client device; the cryptographic keys remaining valid for a predetermined time interval; see [0059], “Encryption” means using a key or cipher to convert a piece of information into scrambled information so that the original information can be transferred securely.), and
The combination does not explicitly disclose, but Nakamura teaches:
the management device decryption means is configured so that, when decrypting virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data received by the management device transmission and reception means, the management device decryption means decrypts the virtual currency encryption data using a scheme corresponding to that used when the virtual currency encryption data is encrypted ([0046], encrypting and decrypting means for encrypting the plain text cut data with the key and the algorithm generated by the first algorithm generating means to render it as the encrypted cut data and decrypting the encrypted cut data with the key used when encrypting the encrypted cut data and the same algorithm as that used when encrypting the encrypted data generated by the second algorithm generating means to render it as the plain text cut data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa/ Durvasula/Kumar with the teaching of Nakamura as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the systems of utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions as disclosed by Lingappa to the methods of having encryption and decryption based on the same scheme as taught by Nakamura for the predicated result of improved systems of encrypting/decrypting the data.
With respect to claim 15
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, Kumar, and Nakamura teaches the limitation of claim 13. Kumar further teaches:
the user terminal information processing means comprises a user terminal solution generating means that can continuously generate a solution that is formed by enumerating a predetermined number of at least one of characters, numbers, and symbols based on an initial solution that differs on a user terminal basis, with a solution generated under a same condition always being a same solution, and the user terminal encryption means is configured to change a scheme used to encrypt the original data based on the solution that is provided from the user terminal solution generating means ([0039], The term “identifier” may refer to any information that may be used to identify information. In some embodiments, the identifier may be a special value generated randomly or according to a predetermined algorithm, code, or shared secret. For example, an account identifier may be used to uniquely identify an account. In some embodiments, the identifier may be one or more graphics, a token, a bar code, a QR code, or any other information that may be used to uniquely identify an entity.)
; and the management device information processing means comprises a server solution generating means that records initial solutions that are identical to initial solutions of the user terminals, respectively, and based on the solutions can generate the solution that is identical to the solution generated by the user terminal solution generating means of the user terminals, respectively, and the management device decryption means is configured to determine a scheme of decrypting the virtual currency encryption data based on the solution that is provided from the management device solution generating means (see [0082-0084].)
With respect to claim 16
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, Kumar, and Nakamura teaches the limitation of claim 13. Kumar further teaches: the user terminal second information processing means is configured to add to the virtual currency encryption data a user ID that specifies the user terminal which encrypts the virtual currency encryption data, and to adopt the virtual currency encryption data to which the user ID is added as the virtual currency data ([0021], optionally payer device establishing a communication link with a third registered approver device; payer, payee and optional approver device to create a unique transaction crypto token comprising of information of the device identifiers, transaction amount, timestamp and other identifiers; storing the crypto token locally until the transaction is synchronized with the central controller;); the management device decryption means is configured so that, when decrypting virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data received by the management device transmission and reception means, the management device decryption means determines a scheme of decrypting the virtual currency encryption data according to the user ID that is included in the virtual currency data together with the virtual currency encryption data ([0116], In step 704, Transaction processing module (TPM) 102 at the central controller 101 decrypts the message using public key of device 201 b and extracts transactions information and the account information. TPM 102 then decrypts each information record with the public key of the associated device that encrypted the record and validates the hash value of each information record in step 705. If the value is valid then, in step 706, TPM 102 stores the transaction in the transaction database 105 and sends the request for further payment processing to the payment processing module (PPM) 114.)
Claims 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Lingappa (US20150371224A1; hereinafter, “Lingappa”) in view of Durvasula et al. (US20180075453A1; hereinafter: “Durvasula”) in view of Kumar (US20180315027A1; hereinafter: “Kumar”), and further in view of Hong et al. (US20190386940A1; here inafter: “Hong”).
With respect to claim 7
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 4. The combination does not explicitly disclose, but Hong teaches: the user terminal second information processing means is configured to add to the virtual currency encryption data, encryption condition data for specifying a condition of encryption executed by the user terminal encryption means when the virtual currency encryption data is encrypted, and to adopt the virtual currency encryption data to which the encryption condition data is added as the virtual currency data ([0095], If the record data or its at least one message digest is acquired and at least one anchoring condition is satisfied, the server 100 may register or support another device to register a representative hash value or its processed value generated by using both a specific hash value and its corresponding at least one neighboring hash value in the database 200, where the specific hash value may be one of (a) a hash value of an encrypted record data generated by encrypting the record data with the private key of the server, (b) a hash value of the encrypted record data generated by encrypting the record data with at least one private key of at least one of the chat participants and the private key of the server, (c) a hash value of an encrypted message digest generated by encrypting the message digest with the private key of the server, and (d) a hash value of the encrypted message digest generated by encrypting the message digest with the private key of said at least one of the chat participants and the private key of the server.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa/ Durvasula/Kumar with the teaching of Hong as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the systems of utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions as disclosed by Lingappa to the methods of specifying a condition for encryption as taught by Hong for the predicated result of improved systems of encrypting the data.
With respect to claim 22
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, and Kumar teaches the limitation of claim 17. The combination does not explicitly disclose, but Hong teaches: the user terminal second information processing means is configured to add to the virtual currency encryption data, encryption condition data for specifying a condition of encryption executed by the user terminal encryption means when the virtual currency encryption data is encrypted, and to adopt the virtual currency encryption data to which the encryption condition data is added as the virtual currency data ([0095], If the record data or its at least one message digest is acquired and at least one anchoring condition is satisfied, the server 100 may register or support another device to register a representative hash value or its processed value generated by using both a specific hash value and its corresponding at least one neighboring hash value in the database 200, where the specific hash value may be one of (a) a hash value of an encrypted record data generated by encrypting the record data with the private key of the server, (b) a hash value of the encrypted record data generated by encrypting the record data with at least one private key of at least one of the chat participants and the private key of the server, (c) a hash value of an encrypted message digest generated by encrypting the message digest with the private key of the server, and (d) a hash value of the encrypted message digest generated by encrypting the message digest with the private key of said at least one of the chat participants and the private key of the server.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa/ Durvasula/Kumar with the teaching of Hong as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the systems of utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions as disclosed by Lingappa to the methods of specifying a condition for encryption as taught by Hong for the predicated result of improved systems of encrypting the data.
Kuma further teaches:
the management device encryption means is configured so that, when encrypting the original data, the management device encryption means determines a scheme of encrypting the original data according to the encryption condition data that is included in the virtual currency data together with the virtual currency encryption data ([0116], In step 707, PPM 114 carries out further steps to validate each transaction and compute a consolidated debit or credit amount for the account balance for the counterparties of each transaction where such steps are described in detail in FIG. 8; see claim 1, deploying a central controller computer coupled to a packet network device comprising a memory and a processor and further comprising programmable code stored in the memory of the computer, the code adapted to processing, storing and managing transactions using an electronic currency across a plurality of client devices by determining and establishing the confidentiality, integrity, authenticity and non-repudiability of the client devices associated with a transaction and of the transaction itself; see also [0091 and 0118], fig, 3, 7, 8 and 13.)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Lingappa (US20150371224A1; hereinafter, “Lingappa”) in view of Durvasula et al. (US20180075453A1; hereinafter: “Durvasula”) in view of Kumar (US20180315027A1; hereinafter: “Kumar”) in view of Nakamura (US20090141889A1; hereinafter: “Nakamura”), and further in view of Hong et al. (US20190386940A1; hereinafter: “Hong”).
With respect to claim 14
The combination of Lingappa, Durvasula, Kumar, and Nakamura teaches the limitation of claim 13. The combination does not explicitly disclose, but Hong teaches: the user terminal second information processing means is configured to add to the virtual currency encryption data, encryption condition data for specifying a condition of encryption executed by the user terminal encryption means when the virtual currency encryption data is encrypted ([0095], If the record data or its at least one message digest is acquired and at least one anchoring condition is satisfied, the server 100 may register or support another device to register a representative hash value or its processed value generated by using both a specific hash value and its corresponding at least one neighboring hash value in the database 200, where the specific hash value may be one of (a) a hash value of an encrypted record data generated by encrypting the record data with the private key of the server, (b) a hash value of the encrypted record data generated by encrypting the record data with at least one private key of at least one of the chat participants and the private key of the server, (c) a hash value of an encrypted message digest generated by encrypting the message digest with the private key of the server, and (d) a hash value of the encrypted message digest generated by encrypting the message digest with the private key of said at least one of the chat participants and the private key of the server.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lingappa/ Durvasula/Kumar with the teaching of Hong as they relate to managing blockchain transactions. One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the systems of utilizing cryptocurrency payment network to conduct digital currency transactions as disclosed by Lingappa to the methods of specifying a condition for encryption as taught by Hong for the predicated result of improved systems of encrypting the data.
Kumar further teaches: the management device decryption means is configured so that, when decrypting virtual currency encryption data included in the virtual currency data received by the management device transmission and reception means, the management device decryption means determines a scheme of decrypting the virtual currency encryption data according to the encryption condition data that is included in the virtual currency data together with the virtual currency encryption data ([0116], In step 707, PPM 114 carries out further steps to validate each transaction and compute a consolidated debit or credit amount for the account balance for the counterparties of each transaction where such steps are described in detail in FIG. 8; see claim 1, deploying a central controller computer coupled to a packet network device comprising a memory and a processor and further comprising programmable code stored in the memory of the computer, the code adapted to processing, storing and managing transactions using an electronic currency across a plurality of client devices by determining and establishing the confidentiality, integrity, authenticity and non-repudiability of the client devices associated with a transaction and of the transaction itself; see also [0091 and 0118], fig, 3, 7, 8 and 13.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE Non-FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YIN Y CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3699 1/13/2026