DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification of the instant claimed invention fails to describe the newly added limitation of “wherein the particle removal effect increases as the duty rate of the modulated microwave power decreases regardless of a maximum output power level of the modulated microwave power”, recited in independent claim 1, lines 10-12. It should be noted that the specification and Fig. 5 of the instant claimed invention, provides data for only three specific power levels of the modulated microwave power (300W, 600W and 1000W). Additionally, it is noted that Fig. 5 (shown below) clearly shows that for the power levels of 300W and 600W, the particle removal effect is higher for the duty ratio of 60 than for the duty ratio of 40. Therefore, the specification, does not provide support for the newly claimed limitation.
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “duty rate” in claim 1, lines 8, 10, and 13, is confusing since it is not clear if the term is the same as the duty ratio disclosed in the specification. If applicant intention is to claim the duty ratio, the examiner suggests to amend the claim to read duty ratio to be consistent with the specification. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The term “a duty ratio” in claim 5-line 2, is confusing since it is not clear if the term is the same as the “duty rate” already recited in independent claim 1 (lines 8, 10, and 13). Also, it should be noted that if both terms are intended to be the same, then once a limitation is introduced in a claim sequence subsequent use of that limitation must use either -- the -- or --said--, or be appropriately differentiated to represent a different limitation.
The term “the duty rate” in claim 6, lines 15 and 18, is confusing since it is not clear if the term is the same as the duty ratio disclosed in the specification. If applicant intention is to claim the duty ratio, the examiner suggests to amend the claim to read duty ratio to be consistent with the specification. Additionally, it should be noted that there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the duty rate” in the claim (it should be noted that the term has not been introduced in the claim prior to these recitations). Please note that if applicant amends the terms to read duty ratio to be consistent with the specification, the term duty ratio needs to be introduced in the claim. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al., US 7,767,584 in view of Kikuchi, US 2010/0140221 or Akahori et al., US 6,443,165.
Singh et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed including a plasma processing method for plasma processing a sample in a processing chamber, the method comprising: a first step of plasma processing the sample 144; a second step of performing plasma cleaning inside the processing chamber using a fluorine-containing gas after the first step; and a third step of performing plasma cleaning inside the processing chamber using plasma generated by a radio frequency power and an oxygen gas after the second step to provide a particle removal effect; (see, for example, figs. 10-11B, and their descriptions). It should be further noted that Singh et al. discloses that its teachings apply to an inductive coupled apparatus, a capacitively coupled apparatus, a microwave apparatus, an ECR apparatus or a helicon resonator apparatus (col. 13, lines 35-40).
Singh et al. does not expressly disclose that the plasma in the third step is generated by a pulse modulated radio frequency power. Kikuchi discloses an oxygen plasma cleaning step comprising a pulse modulated radio frequency power used to clean the chamber, wherein the pulse modulated radio frequency power is coupled to the plasma generating source (see, for example, figs. 1-3 and 5-6, and their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0044-0053). Additionally, Akahori et al. discloses an oxygen plasma cleaning step comprising a pulse modulated radio frequency power which modulates a microwave power for cleaning (see, for example, figs. 1 and 6a-b, and their descriptions, especially (col. 12-line 11 to col. 13-ine 20). Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Singh et al. and perform the second cleaning process step using pulse modulated radio frequency power, because such cleaning method is known and used in the art as a suitable method for enhancing the cleaning of an apparatus, suppressing/reducing contamination of the chamber and substrate being treated, increase the cleaning rate, and shortening the cleaning time which improves the throughput of the process/apparatus.
Concerning the duty rate (duty ratio) of claims 1 and 6, and also with respect to 5, it should be noted that Kikuchi further discloses that a duty ratio of the pulsing can be set to 50% or less (see, for example, paragraphs 0051-0057). Also, Akahori et al. discloses that a duty ratio of the pulsing can be set to 50% or less (see, for example, col. 12, lines 11-23). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum duty ratio, and the optimum off time of the pulse/off time of the plasma based upon a variety of factors including the desired particle removal, plasma/process characteristics, and/or throughput of the processing, therefore, such limitations would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand that since the third step of the method of Singh et al. modified by Kikuchi or Akahori et al. generates plasma from an oxygen gas using a pulsed modulated rf power with the claimed duty ratio, the method would cause oxygen ions to accumulate at the inner wall of the processing chamber to provide particle removal at an inner wall of the processing chamber. Additionally, and regarding the particle removal effect increasing as the duty rate of the modulated microwave power decreases regardless of a maximum output power level of the modulated microwave power, it should be noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum duty ratio based upon a variety of factors including the desired particle removal, plasma/process characteristics, and/or throughput of the processing, therefore, such limitations would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, it should be noted that the second step in Singh et al. is done using continuous discharge.
With respect to claim 4, Kikuchi discloses the use of NF3 as a fluorine based gas in a cleaning process (see, for example, paragraph 0049). Also, Akahori et al. discloses the that NF3 is known to be used as a fluorine based gas in a cleaning process (see, for example, col. 1, lines 46-53). Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use NF3 in the process of Singh et al. because such gas is known and used in the art as a suitable fluorine based gas for effectively and efficiently perform a cleaning process inside a plasma chamber.
Concerning claim 6, it should be noted that the Singh et al. reference further discloses that the plasma processing apparatus comprises: a processing chamber 120 configured to perform plasma processing of a sample; a radio frequency power supply 124/128 configured to supply a radio frequency power for generating plasma; a sample stage on which the sample 144 is placed; (see, for example, figs. 11A-11B, and their descriptions). With respect to the apparatus comprising a control processor, it should be noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would found obvious that the apparatus would comprise such means in order to effectively perform the disclose plasma processing and cleaning processes. Additionally, it should be noted that the provision of mechanical or automated means to replace manual activity has been held to have been obvious. Additionally, and this notwithstanding, Kikuchi discloses the use of a control processor 76 in order to control the plasma apparatus to perform the desired process within the plasma apparatus. Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention modify the apparatus of Singh et al. as to comprise a control processor because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively, efficiently and precisely execute programmed instructions to perform a desired process within an apparatus. It should be noted that the control processor of the apparatus of Singh et al. modify by Kikuchi would perform the claimed first, second and third steps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument regarding the 35 USC 112-second paragraph rejection of claim 6, it should be noted that, as stated previously and above in the rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112-second paragraph, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the duty rate” in the claim. It should be noted that the term has not been introduced in the claim prior to these recitations (the first time a term is introduced in a claim sequence it should be introduced with -- a -- or -- an -- so that subsequent used of the term have the proper antecedence basis). Please note that, as stated in the 35 USC 112-second paragraph rejection, if applicant amends the “duty rate” terms to read duty ratio to be consistent with the specification, the term duty ratio needs to be also introduced in the claim with -- a -- or -- an -- the first time the term is mention in the claim.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the specification and Fig. 5 of the instant claimed invention provides support for the newly added limitation “wherein the particle removal effect increases as the duty rate of the modulated microwave power decreases regardless of a maximum output power level of the modulated microwave power” (recited in newly amended independent claims 1 and 6), as stated in the above 35 USC 112-first paragraph rejection, the specification of the instant claimed invention fails to describe the newly claimed limitation. It should be noted that the specification and Fig. 5 of the instant claimed invention provides data for only three specific power levels of the modulated microwave power (300W, 600W and 1000W). Additionally, it is noted that Fig. 5 (shown below) clearly shows that for the power levels of 300W and 600W, the particle removal effect is higher for the duty ratio of 60 than for the duty ratio of 40. Therefore, the examiner respectfully contends that the specification, as originally filed, does not provide support for the newly claimed limitation.
Applicant argues that Singh et al. does not teach or suggest the third step of performing cleaning inside the processing chamber using plasma generated by a pulse modulated radio frequency power which modulates a microwave power according to a duty rate and an oxygen gas after the second step, to provide a particle removal effect (see third paragraph of page 11 of the remarks/response filed on 09/03/2024). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As stated in the previous and above rejections, Singh et al. discloses a third step of performing plasma cleaning inside the processing chamber using plasma generated by a radio frequency power and an oxygen gas after the second step to provide a particle removal effect. The secondary references of Kikuchi and Akahori et al. are used for their teachings of performing cleaning inside the processing chamber using plasma generated by a pulse modulated radio frequency power and an oxygen gas.
Concerning applicant’s arguments about the claimed duty rate (duty ratio), as stated in the above rejection, Kikuchi further discloses that a duty ratio of the pulsing can be set to 50% or less (see, for example, paragraphs 0051-0057), and Akahori et al. discloses that a duty ratio of the pulsing can be set to 50% or less (see, for example, col. 12, lines 11-23). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum duty ratio, and the optimum off time of the pulse/off time of the plasma based upon a variety of factors including the desired particle removal, plasma/process characteristics, and/or throughput of the processing, therefore, such limitations would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results.
With respect to applicant’s argument that the claimed method provides particle removal effect, as stated in the above rejection, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand that since the third step of the method of Singh et al. modified by Kikuchi or Akahori et al. generates plasma from an oxygen gas using a pulsed modulated rf power with the claimed duty ratio, the method would cause oxygen ions to accumulate at the inner wall of the processing chamber to provide particle removal at an inner wall of the processing chamber.
Concerning applicant’s argument that the cited references do not disclose the newly added limitation of the particle removal effect increasing as the duty rate of the modulated microwave power decreases regardless of a maximum output power level of the modulated microwave power, as stated in the above rejections: a) the specification of the instant claimed invention fails to describe the newly claimed limitation; and b) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum duty ratio based upon a variety of factors including the desired particle removal, plasma/process characteristics, and/or throughput of the processing, therefore, such limitations would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results. Furthermore, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kikuchi et al. (US 2015/0007857) is cited because of its teachings of a plasma processing method and apparatus to perform a plasma cleaning inside the processing chamber.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
November 20, 2025