DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 16645741 application filed March 9, 2020, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on April 17, 2026. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15, 20-21 and 23-25 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancelation of claims 4, 7,16-19 and 22 acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 20-21 and 23-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Isono et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20140033768), hereinafter “Isono”, in view of Azuma (WO/2017/057686 published April 6, 2017, herein referred as U.S. PGPub. No. 20180174606), hereinafter “Azuma”:
--Claims 1, 8, 23, 24, 25: Isono teaches a method of manufacturing a glass disk for magnetic media by forming a glass disk by press molding, then refining the glass disk by double-side grinding and double-side polishing ([0122, 0128]) to produce a final glass disk having a diameter of 20-200 mm ([0083]), a thickness 0.2- 1.1 mm ([0084]), and a chamfering angle of 40-50 degrees ([0120]). Isono is silent about a thickness removed during the grinding and polishing. Azuma, also directed to a method of manufacturing a glass disk for magnetic media by forming a glass disk by press molding ([0089, 0092]), teaches refining the glass disk by double-side grinding and double-side polishing ([0111-0113]). In an embodiment, Azuma teaches that the chamfering width is 0.15 mm ([0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to chamfering both the upper and the lower edges of the outer circumferential end portion of the glass disk so that a chamfering width is 0.15 mm, as taught by Azuma, in the invention of Isono because Isono teaches chamfering the outer edge of the glass disk, but is silent about chamfering both the top main face and the bottom main face of the glass disk and the chamfering dimensions, and Azuma teaches that such chamfering would be effective. Azuma further teaches that the grinding and the polishing reduce the glass disk from 0.7 mm to about 0.635 mm ([0123, 0130]). For a better understanding, Fig. 2 of Azuma for the case of 45 degrees chamfering angle and 0.15 mm chamfering width is shown and illustrated below. It is noted that for the chamfering angle 40 degrees, the thickness that is removed in the vertical direction at the edge would be 0.125 mm (i.e. 0.15 mm x tangent(40 degree)).
Since Isono discloses that the final thickness of the glass disk is 0.2- 1.1 mm and Azuma discloses that the grinding and polishing removes about 0.065 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in routine experimentations, to obtain a glass disk having a thickness range t1 = 0.265 to 1.165 mm prior to the grinding and polishing in the invention of Isono because Isono is silent about a thickness removed during the grinding and polishing and Azuma teaches that removing such thickness would be effective. It is noted that for the glass disk shown in Fig. 2 to satisfy the claimed feature t1x0.15<t2<t1x0.4, for a chamfering angle of 45 degrees, the inequality becomes 0.15 t1 < (t1- (0.15 x 2)) < 0.4 t1, resulting in 0.35 mm < t1 <0.50 mm. For a chamfering angle of 40 degrees, the inequality becomes 0.15 t1 < (t1-(0.125 x 2)) < 0.4 t1, resulting in 0.27 mm < t1 <0.42 mm. For a chamfering angle of 50 degrees, the inequality becomes 0.15 t1 < (t1-(0.179 x 2)) < 0.4 t1, resulting in 0.42 mm < t1 <0.6 mm, which overlaps the claimed thickness range t1 = 0.5 to 1.0 mm Alternately, in another embodiment Azuma teaches that the chamfering may be performed by helical grinding technique ([0083-0085], Fig. 7 and 11) to produce an edge that has a curved cross section (Fig. 6, [0082]). For a better understanding, Fig. 6 of Azuma is copied and illustrated below. A hypothetical edge profile, as a red dotted line, which may occur when the substrate is thin so that the chamfering width exceeds the substrate’s thickness, is added as shown. Therefore, since Isono teaches that the final glass disk may have a thickness 0.2- 1.1 mm and the chamfering angle may be 40-50 degrees, and Azuma teaches that chamfering width is 0.15 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, that the chamfering would produce a circular edge cross section, of which there would be no definite thickness at the edge, and the thickness t2 at the edge may be taken as any thickness from 0 to t3, and would satisfy the inequality t1x0.15<t2<t1x0.4 and t3x0.5<t2 recited in claims 1, 11 and 14 .
Isono further teaches that the first polishing produces a glass disk having surface roughness Ra of less than 0.5 nm and a microwaviness Rq of less than 0.5 nm ([0129-0130]). Isono teaches that the second polishing uses smaller abrasives, 10-50 nm ([0136-0137]), as compared to the first polishing, several micrometers to about 50 micrometers ([0128]), to produce a mirrored surface having a surface roughness Ra preferably 0.1 nm or less ([0139]). Therefore, the surface roughness is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the surface roughness, such as a root mean square roughness Rq of 0.4 nm or less, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
--Claim 2: Isono further teaches that the final glass disk may have a thickness 0.2-1.1 mm ([0084]). It is noted that this is equivalent to 200-1100 µm. Since Isono teaches that the first polishing has machining allowance of about several um to about 50 μm, the glass disk may have a thickness of about 250-1150 µm after the grinding and before the first polishing. It is noted this overlaps the thickness range recited in claim 2. --Claims 3, 20, 21: Isono further teaches that the glass disk may have a diameter of 20- 200 mm ([0083]). In an embodiment, Isono discloses a glass disk having a diameter of 75 mm ([0150]). --Claims 5, 6, 9: Although Isono is silent about a parallelism between the two main surface of the disk, since Isono describes a flat disk that has a uniform thickness (Fig. 1, [0031]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to find the optimal parallelism between the two main surface of the disk, such as less than 1.0 µm or 0.05-0.95 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. --Claim 10: Isono further teaches that the second polishing uses the same apparatus as the first polishing but with different slurry ([0136]).
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-14, 20-21 and 23-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ozeki et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20160357294), hereinafter “Ozeki”, in view of Miyagoe et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20170282500), hereinafter “Miyagoe”, Nordin et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20100007444), hereinafter “Nordin”, Bankaitis (U.S. PGPub. No. 20170008793), hereinafter “Bankaitis”, and Huang. --Claims 1, 2, 3 , 10, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25: Ozeki teaches a method for manufacturing a glass substrate for a light-guided plate ([0313]), comprisingi) preparing a blank glass substrate ([0203, 0208, 0210], Fig. 8 and 9);ii) first polishing the surface of the glass substrate with a rotational grind stone ([0218]); theniii) second polishing the surface of the glass substrate using a rotational sander tool and a slurry ([0231, 0220-0221, 0231]), wherein the rotational sander tool moves forward and backward on the glass disk ([0222]), wherein the polishing is performed by using a double face polisher ([0250]), wherein the surface roughness Rq after the polishing may be 0.3 nm ([0310]); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the double face polisher to perform both the first polishing and the second polishing to save equipment cost and simplify manufacturing processes. Ozeki fails to teach chamfering the blank glass substrate. Miyagoe ([0065-0066]) and Bankaitis ([0005]) teaches that such substrate should be chamfered to prevent chipping at the edge. Bankaitis further teaches that polishing the edge during traditional chamfering is labor intensive and may cause surface damage ([0006-0007]). Instead, Bankaitis teaches that a chamfered glass substrate may be advantageously produced by using a laser to cut a substrate having a rough chamfered edge directly from a glass panel ([0069-0072]), then performing a quick chamfered polishing ([0029]), rather than a long polishing as in a conventional method ([0199, 0205]), Claim 1), to produce the final substrate that is chamfered in both the top and bottom surface (Fig. 7B), wherein the chamfering may form a round edge profile (Fig. 20A, B; [0151]). Thus, one of skill in the art would be motivated to form a rough chamfered edge directly from a glass panel then performing a quick chamfered polishing, as taught by Bankaitis, to prevent chipping at the edge and saving time and labor while doing so. Since Bankaitis teaches that the chamfer polishing is performed immediately after the glass substrate is cut and separated from the glass panel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to perform the chamfer polishing immediately after the laser cutting/separation step. It is noted that Fig. 7B includes a photograph of the cross section of the glass substrate that shows the edge thickness t2 approximately 1/3 the thickness t1 of the glass substrate. This satisfies the claimed equation t1x0.15<t2<t1x0.4. Alternately, Ozeki further teaches that the final glass disk may have a thickness 0.1-0.8 mm or less ([0194]). It is noted that this is equivalent to 100-800 µm. Bankaitis teaches that the chamfering may have an angle of 45 degrees, and a width 100 µm (Fig. 12C). It is noted that the overlaps the ranges t1x0.15<t2<t1x0.4 and t3x0.5<t2 recited in claims 1, 11 and 14. Alternately, in the embodiment that the edge of the disk has a circular cross section at the edge as shown in Fig. 6, and as explained in Section 3(a) above, the thickness t2 at the edge may be taken as any thickness from 0 to t3, and would satisfy the inequality t1x0.15<t2<t1x0.4 and t3x0.5<t2 recited in claims 1, 11 and 14. Ozeki further teaches that “(t)he lower limit of the arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the front surface 14 of the thin portion 13 is not specifically limited, but the arithmetic mean roughness Ra is preferably 2 nm or more, more preferably 4 nm or more. The arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the front surface 14 of the thin portion 13 may be controlled by selecting the abrasive grains and the polishing method to be employed, etc.” ([0177]) and that “(t)he arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the back surface 15 of the thin portion 13 (the bottom 8 and the side surface 9 of the concave portion 7) is more preferably 50 nm or less, like that of the front surface 14 of the thin portion 13, more preferably 45 nm or less, even more preferably 30 nm or less. When the arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the back surface 15 of the thin portion 13 is 50 nm or less, the roughness is sufficiently smaller than the degree of the irregularities of a fingerprint to favorably increase the sensor sensitivity.” ([0179]). Therefore, the surface roughness is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the surface roughness, such as a root mean square roughness Rq of 0.4 nm or less in the invention of Ozeki, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
--Claim 8: Bankaitis discloses that a portion of the chamfering surface remains after the grinding and the polishing (Fig. 20A, B; [0151]). --Claims 11, 12, 14: Ozeki further teaches cutting the glass substrate into a plurality of rectangular pieces after the polishing ([0210, 0224-0228]), then chamfering the outer edge of the plurality of rectangular pieces ([0277]). Ozeki further teaches to form a mask on the glass substrate and etching through the mask to form a plurality of concave portions prior to the polishing ([0210-0216]). Ozeki is silent about a shape of the substrate and but fails to teach chamfering the blank glass substrate prior to the polishing.
Miyagoe teaches that a substrate should be chamfered to prevent chipping the corner or end surface that would generate foreign particles, such as glass powder, while being transport or processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to chamfer the glass disk prior to the etching and the polishing to prevent chipping that would generate glass powder while being transport or processing in the invention of Ozeki, as taught by Miyagoe. --Claims 5, 6, 9,13: Although Ozeki is silent about a parallelism between the two main surface of each glass substrate, since Ozeki describes a glass substrate that has a uniform thickness (Fig. 1, 3-7,18-19; [0220]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to find the optimal parallelism between the two main surface of the disk, such as less than 1.0 µm or 0.05-0.95 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 15, none of the cited prior arts teaches the feature “stacking the cutout glass substrate on each other” in the context of claim 15;
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 17, 2026 have been fully considered as follows:--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the prior arts fail to teach the claimed feature the root mean square roughness Rq being 0.4 nm or less, and that “(t)he claimed root mean square roughness Rq of 0.4 nm or less can represent a critical threshold at which unexpected synergistic effects can be provided.”, this argument is not persuasive> As explained above, -Isono further teaches that the first polishing produces a glass disk having surface roughness Ra of less than 0.5 nm and a microwaviness Rq of less than 0.5 nm ([0129-0130]). Isono teaches that the second polishing uses smaller abrasives, 10-50 nm ([0136-0137]), as compared to the first polishing, several micrometers to about 50 micrometers ([0128]), to produce a mirrored surface having a surface roughness Ra preferably 0.1 nm or less ([0139]). Therefore, the surface roughness is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the surface roughness, such as a root mean square roughness Rq of 0.4 nm or less, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).-Ozeki further teaches that “(t)he lower limit of the arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the front surface 14 of the thin portion 13 is not specifically limited, but the arithmetic mean roughness Ra is preferably 2 nm or more, more preferably 4 nm or more. The arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the front surface 14 of the thin portion 13 may be controlled by selecting the abrasive grains and the polishing method to be employed, etc.” ([0177]) and that “(t)he arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the back surface 15 of the thin portion 13 (the bottom 8 and the side surface 9 of the concave portion 7) is more preferably 50 nm or less, like that of the front surface 14 of the thin portion 13, more preferably 45 nm or less, even more preferably 30 nm or less. When the arithmetic mean roughness Ra of the back surface 15 of the thin portion 13 is 50 nm or less, the roughness is sufficiently smaller than the degree of the irregularities of a fingerprint to favorably increase the sensor sensitivity.” ([0179]). Therefore, the surface roughness is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the surface roughness, such as a root mean square roughness Rq of 0.4 nm or less in the invention of Ozeki, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Regarding Applicant’s argument that “(t)he claimed root mean square roughness Rq of 0.4 nm or less can represent a critical threshold at which unexpected synergistic effects can be provided.”, Applicant fails to provide any evidence for the unexpected result.-- Regarding Applicant’s argument that the hypothetical scenario that the glass disk is less than 0.3 mm would not be possible according to claim 1, this argument is persuasive. However, Examiner maintains that the thickness t2 would be undefined if the chamfering surface is not flat and the edge of the glass disk is completely curved, such as in Fig. 6 above.-- Regarding Applicant’s argument that the glass disk thickness t1 in the prior arts would not be within the claimed range 0.5-1 mm to satisfy the claimed inequality, this argument is not persuasive. Even assuming that flat chamfering surface, for a chamfering angle of 50 degrees, the inequality becomes 0.15 t1 < (t1-(0.179 x 2)) < 0.4 t1 in the invention of Isono, resulting in 0.42 mm < t1 <0.6 mm, which overlaps the claimed thickness range t1 = 0.5 to 1.0 mm. In the rejection based on Ozeki modified by Bankatis, Ozeki discloses that the final glass disk may have a thickness 0.1-0.8 mm or less ([0194]). It is noted that Fig. 7B includes a photograph of the cross section of the glass substrate that shows the edge thickness t2 approximately 1/3 the thickness t1 of the glass substrate. This satisfies the claimed equation t1x0.15<t2<t1x0.4.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713