DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Claims/Remarks on 12/15/25. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Claims 1-23 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9 and 23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schuster (US 2013/0125133 A1) in view of Nickolls et al. (hereinafter Nickolls) (“Scalable Parallel Programming”, ACM Queue, March/April 2008, pgs 40-53), and further in view of Steffen et al. (hereinafter Steffen) (“Improving SIMT Efficiency of Global Rendering Algorithms with Architecture Support for Dynamic Micro-Kernels”, 2010).
Schuster and Nickolls were cited in a previous PTO-892.
As to claim 1, Schuster teaches a computer-readable storage medium (Memory 510) having stored thereon instructions (program instructions 515, library functions 505, application 520, etc.), which if performed by one or more processors (GPU(s) 540), cause the one or more processors to at least ([0024]; [0013]; [0023]; [0119]; Fig. 5):
execute a parent thread within a multiprocessor (executing a given/parent thread, wherein each number of threads, including the given/parent thread, may execute concurrently with the same number of processors or cores in a multi-core processor) (Abstract; [0023]-[0024]; Figs. 1 (start 105, spawn 110), 3, and 5, items 105 and 305; [0040]; 0123]);
launch a grid (set/collection of spawned child threads in deque 230 of Fig. 2 satisfies broadest reasonable interpretation of claimed “grid”) of child threads within the multiprocessor (nested parallelism by parent/given thread spawning one or more children with concurrent/parallel execution of one or more GPUs, wherein a GPU processor that is a multi-core or multi-threaded processor) (Abstract; [0013]; [0023]; [0075]; [0119]; Figs. 1, 2, 3, and 5, items 105 and 305; [0040]; 0123]); and
in response to a synchronization function call (sync function call), block execution of the parent thread while waiting for the child thread to complete (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is block by suspending and waits until all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) (Fig. 1, items 120 and 130; claim 1; [0023]; [0031]-[0033]; [0095]); and
de-allocate resources used by the parent thread (parent thread abandons its call/return stack, making it an orphan stack, and switches to a newly acquired empty call/return stack, which is equivalent to the claimed de-allocating the resources of the parent thread) ([0035]; steps 370 and 375 of Fig. 3).
Furthermore, Schuster does not teach to launch a kernel to execute a parent thread and to launch its grid of child threads and does not teach to de-allocate resources used by the parent thread. However, Nickolls teaches nested parallelism involving multithreaded streaming multiprocessors that includes launching a kernel (CUDA kernel, etc.) to execute a parent thread, launching one or more dependent child grids (dependent grids) or kernel grids, and barrier synchronization (via calling the _syncthreads() function) (pg. 40, 42-43, 45-48; Figs. A, 2, and 3). Nickolls further reinforces the teaching of Schuster by disclosing the managing of memory space visible to kernels through calls to the CUDA runtime such as cudaFree() to de-allocate resources used by the parent thread in order to free-up resources (pg. 46).
Schuster and Nickolls are analogous art with the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of endeavor of parallel thread processing and all solving the same problem of synchronization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Schuster’s thread processing such that it would launch a kernel to execute its parent thread and launch a grid of child threads, as taught and suggested in Nickolls. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of achieving very efficient and fine-grained parallelism from having fast barrier synchronization together with lightweight thread creation and zero-overhead thread scheduling (pg. 42).
Schuster in view of Nickolls does not explicitly teach its grid of child threads is launched from within the kernel.
However, Steffen teaches an SIMT architecture that allows for threads to be created dynamically at runtime. Large application kernels are broken down into smaller code blocks called micro-kernels that dynamically created threads can execute. These runtime micro-kernels allow for the removal of branching statements that would cause divergence within a thread group, and result in new threads being created and grouped with threads beginning execution of the same micro-kernel (Abstract; pgs. 241-242; Figures 4 and 5). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), dynamically creating new threads during execution of a micro-kernel and grouping them for execution corresponds to launching a grid/collection of child threads from within the kernel on the multiprocessor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the application to modify Schuster in view of Nickolls’s parallel thread processing system and method such that its grid of child threads is launched from within the kernel, as taught and suggested in Steffen and according to the BRI of the claim phrase. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of improving processor utilization from having micro-kernels within the context of a single original application kernel, which allow for the removal of branching statements that would cause divergence within a thread group. This would yield the predicted result of improved processor efficiency and performance by an average of 1.4x (Steffen – Abstract; pg. 239, last paragraph before III. Global Rendering Algorithm). Therefore, Schuster, in view of Nickolls, and further in view of Steffen teaches the BRI of claim 1.
As to claim 2, Schuster teaches wherein the one or more processors comprise a graphics processing unit (GPU) (Computer System 500 includes a plurality of GPU(s) 540 and CPU(s) 530) (Fig. 5).
As to claim 3, Schuster teaches wherein the instructions, if performed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to resume execution of the parent thread after completion of execution of the child thread (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
As to claim 4, Schuster teaches wherein the instructions, if performed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to store execution state of the parent thread in response to the synchronization function call ([0034]; [0031]).
As to claim 5, Schuster teaches wherein the blocking execution of the parent thread further comprises causing one or more processors to ensure memory coherence between the parent thread and the child thread ([0062]).
As to claim 6, Schuster teaches wherein the instructions, if performed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to resume execution of the parent thread in response to notification that the child thread has completed execution (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
As to claim 7, Schuster teaches wherein: the one or more processors comprise a graphics processing unit (GPU) (GPU(s) 540); and the instructions, if performed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: store execution state of the parent thread in response to the synchronization function call ([0034]; [0031]); receive a notification that execution of the child thread completed (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]); and resume execution of the parent thread in response to notification that the child thread has completed execution (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
As to claim 8, Schuster teaches wherein the one or more processors comprise a graphics processing unit (GPU) and wherein the GPU comprises the multiprocessor (Fig. 5; [0013]; [0040]; [0118]).
As to claim 9, Schuster teaches wherein the parent thread comprises an instruction following the synchronization function call and wherein the instructions of the computer-readable storage medium, if performed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to continue execution at the instruction following the synchronization function call (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
As to claim 23, Schuster (parent thread spawns children threads with a particular spawn depth; the system supporting multi-threaded execution, a parent function of an executing thread may spawn one or more child functions suitable for execution in parallel with the parent function on one or more processors) ([0007]; [0025]; [0029]-[0031]; [0081]; [0113]) and Nickolls (Fig. 3; page 45) teaches wherein the grid of child threads is launched to perform a command stream generated by the parent thread.
Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schuster in view of Nickolls, Sheffen, and further in view of Abdallah (US 2010/0161948 A1).
Schuster, Nickolls, and Abdallah were cited in a previous PTO-892.
As to claim 10, Schuster teaches a system for executing fully strict thread-level parallel programs, wherein a parent thread may spawn one or more child threads and then encounter a sync. When the parent executes a sync, Schuster teaches that if any spawned children have not returned, the parent suspends and does not resume until all of its children have returned. When all children complete, the parent continues execution immediately following the sync function call (Abstract; [0024]-[0025]; [0031]; [0047]; Fig. 1). Thus, Schuster teaches a parent thread resuming execution upon completion of a child grid.
However, Schuster, Nickolls, and Sheffen do not explicitly teach to restore a saved state of the parent thread from a continuation state buffer upon completion of the child grid.
Abdallah teaches saving and restoring thread state during context switches, specifically by storing thread architectural state (registers, program counters, etc.) in a LIFO memory/circuit or register cache, which serves as a buffer for saving and restoring thread state ([0028]-[0030]; Figs 1 and 5). Abdallah further teaches that “the state of the previous context has to be restored before resuming execution” ([0028]). In addition to the LIFO, Abdallah’s register file hierarchy allows quick save/restore and gradual swap of registers between local and global files, and could also be interpreted as a continuation state buffer, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). Therefore, Abdallah teaches the BRI of the claimed continuation state buffer that is used to restore a saved state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the application to modify Schuster in view of Nickolls in view of Sheffen such that it would include to restore a saved state of the parent thread from a continuation state buffer upon completion of the child grid, as taught and suggested in Abdallah. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of reducing context switch penalties, supporting efficient save/restore of parent state and enable nested parallel execution (Abdallah: Abstract; [0028]-[0031]).
Claim 22 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schuster in view of Nickolls, in view of Sheffen, and further in view of Dickson (US 2004/0158833 A1).
Schuster, Nickolls, and Dickson were cited in a previous PTO-892.
As to claim 22, Schuster in view of Nickolls in view of Sheffen does not teach wherein the grid of child threads has a higher priority than the parent thread. However, Dickson teaches a child task having a higher priority than the parent program ([0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the teachings of wherein the grid of child threads has a higher priority than the parent thread to the existing invention of Schuster in view of Nickolls. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of accomplishing a robust just-in-time response to multiple asynchronous data streams (Dickson - Abstract; [0045]-[0046]).
Claims 11-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schuster in view of Aingaran (US 2006/0136915 A1), and further in view of Nickolls, and further in view of Sheffen.
Schuster, Aingaran, and Nickolls were cited in a previous PTO-892.
As to claim 11, Schuster teaches a processor, comprising:
a plurality of cores (multi-core) ([0013]; [0040]; [0118]);
an L1 cache ([0122]);
an instruction cache ([0122]);
a scheduler ([0003]); and
the processor (GPU 540, CPU(s) 530, etc.) to execute instructions (program instructions 515, library functions 505, application 520, etc.):
execute a parent thread within a multiprocessor (executing a given/parent thread, wherein each number of threads, including the given/parent thread, may execute concurrently with the same number of processors or cores in a multi-core processor) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 3, and 5, items 105 and 305; [0040]; 0123]);
launch a grid (set/collection of spawned child threads in deque 230 of Fig. 2 satisfies broadest reasonable interpretation of claimed “grid”) of child thread within the multiprocessor (nested parallelism by parent/given thread spawning one or more children with concurrent/parallel execution of one or more CPUs and/or GPUs, wherein a CPU or GPU processor that is a multi-core or multi-threaded processor) (Abstract; [0013]; [0023]; [0119]; Figs. 1, 2, 3, and 5, items 105 and 305; [0040]; 0123]); and
in response to a synchronization function call (sync function call), block execution of the parent thread while waiting for the child thread to complete (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is suspended and waits until all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]; [0095]); and
de-allocate resources used by the parent thread (parent thread abandons its call/return stack, making it an orphan stack, and switches to a newly acquired empty call/return stack, which is equivalent to the claimed de-allocating the resources of the parent thread) ([0035]; steps 370 and 375 of Fig. 3).
Schuster does not explicitly teach its processor to have a register file and a crossbar unit. However, Aingaran teaches a multiprocessor that includes items such as a plurality of cores 36a-h, a crossbar 34, L1 cache 42, L1 instruction cache 43, scheduler 216, register files 210, etc. (Figs. 3 and 8; [0024]; claim 1). Shuster and Aingaran are analogous art with the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of endeavor of thread processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Shuster’s processor such that it would include a register file, crossbar unit, etc., as taught in Aingaran. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of having the computer architectural structure needed for scheduling multiple threads for execution.
Furthermore, Schuster does not teach to launch a kernel to execute its parent thread and to launch a grid of child threads. However, Nickolls teaches nested parallelism with multithreaded streaming multiprocessors that includes launching a kernel to execute a parent thread, launching one or more dependent child grids, and barrier synchronization (pg. 40, 42-43, 45-48; Figs. A, 2, and 3). Schuster, Aingaran, and Nickolls are analogous art with the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of endeavor of thread processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schuster in view of Aingaran’s thread processing such that it would launch a kernel to execute its parent thread and launch a grid of child threads, as taught and suggested in Nickolls. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of achieving very efficient and fine-grained parallelism from having fast barrier synchronization together with lightweight thread creation and zero-overhead thread scheduling (pg. 42).
Schuster, Aingaran, and Nickolls do not explicitly teach its grid of child threads is launched from within the kernel.
However, Steffen teaches an SIMT architecture that allows for threads to be created dynamically at runtime. Large application kernels are broken down into smaller code blocks called micro-kernels that dynamically created threads can execute. These runtime micro-kernels allow for the removal of branching statements that would cause divergence within a thread group, and result in new threads being created and grouped with threads beginning execution of the same micro-kernel (Abstract; pgs. 241-242; Figures 4 and 5). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), dynamically creating new threads during execution of a micro-kernel and grouping them for execution corresponds to launching a grid/collection of child threads from within the kernel on the multiprocessor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the application to modify Schuster in view of Nickolls’s parallel thread processing system and method such that its grid of child threads is launched from within the kernel, as taught and suggested in Steffen and according to the BRI of the claim phrase. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of improving processor utilization from having micro-kernels within the context of a single original application kernel, which allow for the removal of branching statements that would cause divergence within a thread group. This would yield the predicted result of improved processor efficiency and performance by an average of 1.4x (Steffen – Abstract; pg. 239, last paragraph before III. Global Rendering Algorithm). Therefore, Schuster, in view of Nickolls, and further in view of Steffen teaches the BRI of claim 11.
As to claim 12, Schuster teaches wherein the processor comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) to execute the instructions (Computer System 500 includes a plurality of GPU(s) 540 and CPU(s) 530) (Fig. 5).
As to claim 13, Schuster teaches wherein the instructions, if performed by the processor, cause the processor to resume execution of the parent thread after completion of execution of the child thread (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
As to claim 14, Schuster teaches wherein the instructions, if performed by the processor, cause the processor to store execution state of the parent thread in response to the synchronization function call ([0034]; [0031]).
As to claim 15, Schuster teaches wherein the instructions, if executed by the processor, cause the processor to ensure memory coherence between the parent thread and the child thread ([0062]).
As to claim 16, Schuster teaches wherein the instructions, if executed by the processor, cause the processor to resume execution of the parent thread in response to notification that the child thread has completed execution (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
As to claim 17, Schuster teaches wherein: the processor comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) (GPU(s) 540); and the instructions, if performed by the processor, cause the processor to: store execution state of the parent thread in response to the synchronization function call ([0034]; [0031]); receive a notification that execution of the child thread completed (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]); and resume execution of the parent thread in response to notification that the child thread has completed execution (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
As to claim 18, Schuster teaches wherein the processor comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) and wherein the GPU comprises the multiprocessor (Fig. 5; [0013]; [0040]; [0118]).
As to claim 19, Schuster teaches wherein the parent thread comprises an instruction following the synchronization function call and wherein the instructions, if performed by the processor, cause the processor to continue execution at the instruction following the synchronization function call (in response to a sync function call, the parent thread is blocked and waits until be notified that all of its child threads are completed before continuing/resuming execution) ([0031]).
Claim 20 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schuster in view of Aingaran, in view of Nickolls, in view of Sheffen, and further in view of Dickson (US 2004/0158833 A1).
Schuster, Aingaran, Nickolls, and Dickson were cited in a previous PTO-892.
As to claim 22, Schuster, Aingaran, Nickolls, and Sheffen do not teach wherein the grid of child threads has a higher priority than the parent thread. However, Dickson teaches a child task having a higher priority than the parent program ([0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the teachings of wherein the grid of child threads has a higher priority than the parent thread to the existing invention of Schuster, Aingaran, Nickolls, and Sheffen. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of accomplishing a robust just-in-time response to multiple asynchronous data streams (Dickson - Abstract; [0045]-[0046]).
Claim 21 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schuster in view of Aingaran, in view of Nickolls, in view of Sheffen, and further in view of Abdallah (US 2010/0161948 A1).
Schuster, Aingaran, and Nickolls were cited in a previous PTO-892.
As to claim 21, Schuster teaches a system for executing fully strict thread-level parallel programs, wherein a parent thread may spawn one or more child threads and then encounter a sync. When the parent executes a sync, Schuster teaches that if any spawned children have not returned, the parent suspends and does not resume until all of its children have returned. When all children complete, the parent continues execution immediately following the sync function call (Abstract; [0024]-[0025]; [0031]; [0047]; Fig. 1). Thus, Schuster teaches a parent thread resuming execution upon completion of a child grid.
However, Schuster, Aingaran, Nickolls, and Sheffen do not explicitly teach to restore a saved state of the parent thread from a continuation state buffer upon completion of the child grid.
Abdallah teaches saving and restoring thread state during context switches, specifically by storing thread architectural state (registers, program counters, etc.) in a LIFO memory/circuit or register cache, which serves as a buffer for saving and restoring thread state ([0028]-[0030]; Figs 1 and 5). Abdallah further teaches that “the state of the previous context has to be restored before resuming execution” ([0028]-[0031]). In addition to the LIFO, Abdallah’s register file hierarchy allows quick save/restore and gradual swap of registers between local and global files, and could also be interpreted as a continuation state buffer, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). Therefore, Abdallah teaches the BRI of the claimed continuation state buffer that is used to restore a saved state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the application to modify Schuster in view of Aingaran, in view of Nickolls, and in view of Sheffen such that it would include to restore a saved state of the parent thread from a continuation state buffer upon completion of the child grid, as taught and suggested in Abdallah. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide the predicted result of reducing context switch penalties, supporting efficient save/restore of parent state and enable nested parallel execution (Abdallah: Abstract; [0028]-[0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197