DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and species A is claim 7, L is claim 9, B is a chelating agent and compound XY-FAP-02 in the reply filed on 8/12/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 6,8,10-12,15-18 and 23-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/12/25.
Drawings
The petition to accept colored drawings was accepted on 8/10/21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claimed Markush structures contain a combination of numerous possible variations of substituents, numerous substituted 5 to 10-membered heterocyclic ring structures, numerous linkers and numerous reporter moiety chelating agents that the scope of the claim cannot be determined. While breadth alone is not indefinite, the instant claims have an almost unlimited number of possible combinations of chemical moieties that it is not possible to determine the metes and bounds of the claims.
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,21 and 22 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if: (1) the species of the Markush group do not share a single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a "single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent (see Federal Register, Vol. 76, No. 27, Wednesday, February 9, 2011, p. 7166, left and middle columns, bridging paragraph).
The claims are directed to compounds used for imaging and/or radiotherapy of cells highly expressing FAP that comprise a combination of numerous possible alternative variations of substituents, numerous substituted 5 to 10-membered heterocyclic ring structures, numerous linkers and numerous reporter moiety chelating agents.
Applicant attention is directed to the third paragraph of MPEP 803.02 which discloses: “Since
the decisions in In re Weber, 580 F.2d 455, 198 USPQ 328 (CCPA 1978) and In re Haas, 580 F.2d 461, 198 USPQ 334 (CCPA 1978), it is improper for the Office to refuse to examine that which Applicants regard as their invention, unless the subject matter in a claim lacks unity of invention. In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 206 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1980); and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). Broadly, unity of invention exists where compounds included within a Markush group (1) share a common utility, and (2) share a substantial structural feature essential to that utility.”
In the instant case, if it is asserted that the claims share a common utility, it is noted the only shared structure of the proline ring, but they may be substituted with a plethora of different and distinct chemical moiety combinations. In addition, the wide variety of rings optionally containing one or more heteroatoms does not allow the genus to have an art recognized classification. Hence, the Markush grouping is improper.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7,9,13,14,21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US2010/0098633A1) in view of Jansen et al. (US2014/0357650A1) and Jansen et al. (ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 2013, 14, 491-496).
Zimmerman et al. (US2010/0098633A1) discloses radiopharmaceuticals comprising a proline moiety and a chelated-radionuclide adapted for radioimaging and radiotherapy of diseases
,
wherein U is -B(OH)2, -CN, etc.; G is H, alkyl, etc.; V is a bond, (CH2-CH2-X)n, etc.; W is H, NHR’; X is O,S, CH2, etc.; the metal is a metallic moiety include a radionuclide for PET, SPECT; chelate is a chelating moiety that coordinates with the radionuclide (p1-2, [0008-0021],[0029]; p3, [0048-0049]; p6, [0087-0099]; p8, [0108-0110]; p9, [0111-0117]).
The
encompasses the
of the instant claims.
The chelating moieties include DOTA, DTPA, etc. (p7, [0100]; p43, compounds 22,23) that
encompasses the chelating agent of the instant claims.
The linker
encompasses the linkers of the instant claims.
The compounds comprise a functionalized proline moiety capable of selectively inhibiting seprase (FAP-α) (p1, [0007]; p2, [0029]).
The compounds may be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (p2, [0031]; p16, [0137]) that encompasses the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier of the instant claims.
Zimmerman et al. does not disclose the 5- or 6-membered N-containing aromatic or non-
aromatic mono- or bicyclic heterocycle
moiety.
Jansen et al. (US2014/0357650A1) discloses the FAP inhibitors
for treatment and/or prevention of FAP-related disorders (abstract; p3, [0024]; p10, [0113]; p19, [0239]), such as
wherein R1 and R2 are H, -OH, halogen, etc. (p3, [0025];
p5, [0070-0071]; p9, [0114]).
The R3 is H, -CN, -B(OH)2, etc. (p4, [0026]; p5, [0072]; p9, [0115]).
The R4 is H (p4, [0027]; p6, [0073]; p9, [0116]).
The
moiety comprises
(p6, [0088]; p12, [0173]; p15, [0212]) that encompasses the corresponding
5 to 10-membered N-containing aromatic or non-aromatic mono- or bicyclic heterocycle of the instant claims.
The R5-R7 are H, -OH, oxo, -halo, C1-6alkyl, -O-C1-6alkyl optionally substituted with 1-3 substituents (p4, [0028]; p4-6, [0050-0089]; p10, [0117],[0122]; p13-16, [0176-0215])
The inhibitors may comprise stereoisomers, tautomers, racemates, salts, hydrates or solvates thereof (p3, [0024]; p10, [0113]) which encompasses the stereoisomers, tautomers, racemates, salts, hydrates or solvates thereof of the instant claims.
Jansen et al. (ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 2013, 14, 491-496) discloses FAP inhibitor (serine protease)
scaffolds having the structure
and substituting the quinoline ring at varying positions (abstract; Table 3).
The N-acyl-glycyl-(2-cyanoprolidine) scaffold has significant potential to deliver FAP inhibitors with good selectivity toward PREP and the dipeptidyl peptidases and previously the most potent compound identified is (N-(1-naphthoyl)-Gly-(2-cyanopyrrolidine) (p492, left column, second paragraph).
The quinoline containing compounds have 60 times more FAP-affinity than the initial N-(1-naphthoyl) based FAP inhibitors
(p492, right column, second full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the FAP inhibitors of Zimmerman et al. with a
moiety comprising
to attach the metal chelating agent for the advantage of site selective targeting of the inhibitors to seprase (FAP-α) for diagnostic imaging and/or therapeutic treatment of FAP-related diseases/disorders wherein the quinoline containing FAP inhibitors have 60 times more FAP-affinity than the previously known potent N-(1-naphthoyl) FAP inhibitors.
Therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art to attach the metal chelate of the FAP inhibitors of Zimmerman et al. via a quinoline moiety as the improvement to the FAP inhibitors advantageously provide substantially more potent and selective inhibitors.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,19,21 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 42-46,53,54,58-60 and 64 of copending Application
No. 18/553,092 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds of Formula (III) of copending Application No. 18/553,092 encompass the compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of the instant claims. The targeting moiety structure for FAP-α, A, of copending Application No. 18/553,092 is analogous to the targeting moiety for FAP-α, A, of the instant claims.
The linker, L, of copending Application No. 18/553,092 having bi-functionalization that encompasses the linker, L, having bi-functionalization of the instant claims.
The chelating agent of copending Application No. 18/553,092 is analogous to the chelating agent, B, of the instant claims.
The compound of Formula (I) of copending Application No. 18/553,092 and the compound of Formula (I) of the instant claims, have the same properties and are capable of the same functions, such as being used for the method of imaging a disease or disorder associated with fibroblast-activation protein-α, a method of inhibiting fibroblast-activation protein-α and the method for treating a fibroblast-activation protein-α disease or disorder.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,19,21 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28-32,39 and 40 of copending Application No. 19/172,114 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the low molecular weight compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of copending Application No. 19/172,114 encompass the compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of the instant claims. The targeting moiety structure for FAP-α, A, of copending Application No. 19/172,114 is analogous to the targeting moiety for FAP-α, A, of the instant claims.
The
of copending Application No. 19/172,114 represents a quinolinyl ring having a point of attachment to the remainder of the FAP binding moiety at the 4-position of the quinolinyl ring that encompasses the quinolinyl moiety of the instant claims.
The linker, L, having bi-functionalization of copending Application No. 19/172,114 encompasses the linker, L, having bi-functionalization of the instant claims.
The chelating group of copending Application No. 19/172,114 is analogous to the chelating agent, B, of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,19,21 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 71,72,80,83 and 84 of copending Application No. 18/990,863 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of copending Application No. 18/990,863 encompass the compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of the instant claims. The targeting moiety structure for FAP-α, A, of copending Application No. 18/990,863 is analogous to the targeting moiety for FAP-α, A, of the instant claims.
The
of copending Application No. 18/990,863 comprises a quinolinyl ring having a point of attachment to the remainder of the FAP-α targeting moiety at the 4-position of the quinolinyl ring that encompasses the quinolinyl moiety of the instant claims.
The linker, L, of copending Application No. 18/990,863 having bi-functionalization encompasses the linker, L, having bi-functionalization of the instant claims.
The radiolabeled functional group, B, suitable for PET, SPECT of copending Application No. 18/990,863 is analogous to the chelating agent of the instant claims.
The compound of Formula (I) of copending Application No. 18/990,863 and the compound of Formula (I) of the instant claims, have the same properties and are capable of the same functions, such as being used for the method of imaging a disease or disorder associated with fibroblast-activation protein-α, a method of inhibiting fibroblast-activation protein-α and the method for treating a fibroblast-activation protein-α disease or disorder.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,19,21 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,201. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the low molecular weight compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,201B2 encompass the compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of the instant claims. The targeting moiety structure for FAP-α, A, of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,201B2 is analogous to the targeting moiety for FAP-α, A, of the instant claims.
The
U.S. Patent No. 11,938,201B2 represents a 5 to 10-membered N-containing
aromatic encompasses the quinolinyl moiety of the instant claims.
The linker, L, of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,201B2 having bi-functionalization encompasses the linker, L, having bi-functionalization of the instant claims.
The radiolabeled functional group suitable for PET, SPECT of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,201B2 encompasses the chelating agent, B, of the instant claims.
Claims 1-5,7,9,13,14,19,21 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,233. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the low molecular weight compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,233B2 encompass the compounds of Formula (I) B-L-A of the instant claims. The targeting moiety structure for FAP-α, A, of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,233B2 is analogous to the targeting moiety for FAP-α, A, of the instant claims.
The
of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,233B2 represents a quinolinyl ring having a point of attachment to the remainder of the FAP binding moiety at the 4-position of the quinolinyl ring that encompasses the quinolinyl moiety the instant claims.
The linker, L, of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,233B2 having bi-functionalization encompasses the linker, L, having bi-functionalization of the instant claims.
The chelating group, of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,233B2 is analogous to the chelating agent, B, of the instant claims.
Conclusion
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1618