DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 9/10/2025.
Claims 29-34 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous claim rejections under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-30 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102010027993A1 (machine translation attached) in view of Moens (US 2017/0101735 A1).
Re claim 29, DE102010027993A1 discloses a system (abstract), comprising:
a household appliance (ref. 7, see fig. 2) including a treatment space (ref. 8); and
a device (refs. 1a-c) adapted to be positioned in the treatment space of the household appliance and configured to communicate with the household appliance via a wireless communication link (“signals from the household appliance to the dosing device and / or from the dosing device to the household appliance”…” a wireless transmission of electrical energy and / or electrical and / or optical signals is effected”), the device comprising:
a core (see fig. 1) comprising a dispensing module (“In or on a chamber, a metering chamber may be formed in the flow direction of the preparation in front of the outlet opening of a chamber.”…example 1 “further metering device”; see also dispensing element is a piezoelectric element”) and a reservoir (“chamber”), the reservoir in fluid communication with the dispensing module via a liquid-tight, vapor-tight,and/or gas-tight connection for transport of at least one preparation from the reservoir to the dispensing module (inherent in “a plurality of chambers for the spatially separated receiving in each case of different preparations of a washing or cleaning agent”), the dispensing module being controlled by a processor (“control unit”) configured to communicate with the household appliance and to execute program instructions to dispense and/or effect dispensing of the at least one preparation into the treatment space of the household appliance (“Control unit is converted into a control signal, in particular for the delivery element”), and
a casing adapted to be positioned in the treatment space of the household appliance (see figs. 1-2, 1a-c have a housing/casing).
DE102010027993A1 does not explicitly disclose a casing adapted to be positioned in the treatment space of the household appliance, the casing enclosing the core and comprising a first envelope element and a second envelope element, the first envelope element formed of a first material, the second envelope element is formed of a second material.
However, Moens discloses it is very well-known in the detergent dosing art (abstract) to provide a casing (ref. 3) enclosing the core (ref. 1) and comprising a first envelope element (ref. 5 see figs. 3-4) and a second envelope element (ref. 3 upper and bottom parts ¶ [0049]), the first envelope element formed of a first material (¶ [0066] plastic, natural or synthetic rubber or fiber…[p]referably…rubber), the second envelope element is formed of a second material (¶ [0067] any type of plastic, natural or synthetic rubber, or fiber).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the casing of DE102010027993A1, to further include a first envelope element and a second envelope element, as suggested by Moens, in order to enhance physical cleaning ability and protect the device or clothes from damage.
Re claim 30, DE102010027993A1 or Moens further discloses wherein the household appliance is selected from the group consisting of a washing machine, a tumble dryer, and a washer-dryer (DE102010027993A1 Description “washing machine”; Moens ¶ [0002] washing machine).
Re claim 34, Moens further discloses wherein the first material is an elastomer, and wherein the second material is a thermoset and/or a thermoplastic (here, rubber for flexibility to dispense and absorb impact and a sturdier plastic for weight and economics). This further being an obvious selection of a known material suitable for its intended use, i.e. internal washing machine dispenser subject to tumbling forces.
Re claims 32-33, DE102010027993A1 and Moens further discloses wherein the device substantially spherical in shape (DE102010027993A1 fig. 1 and Moens fig. 3). Regarding “substantially cuboid”, the mere change in shape of the device to be spherical, compact and stackable and stable, i.e. cuboid, is simply an obvious engineering expedient to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(I) Aesthetic Design Changes and (IV) Changes in Shape.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102010027993A1 (machine translation attached) in view of Moens (US 2017/0101735 A1), as applied above, and further in view of Kohne et al. (US 2010/0000268 A1).
Re claim 31, DE102010027993A1 /Moens discloses as shown above but does not explicitly disclose biocidal properties. Kohn discloses it is known in the dispensing art (abstract) to provide a carrier body having biocidal properties (¶ [0015]-[0016] silver-containing or doped materials).
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious selection of material to further select the first and/or the second material of DE102010027993A1/Moens to similarly have biocidal properties, as suggested by Kohne, in order to prevent mold or odors build up on a cleaning device in constant contact with dirty water and/or sanitize the washing liquid. See MPEP 2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose, and/or wherein the casing further comprises a third envelope element formed of a third material, wherein the third material has biocidal properties (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) Duplication of Parts).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/10/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE102010028354A1 note wireless connected dispenser.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711