Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 08/17/26. Claims 1-26 are pending in this application
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C.§102
Claim 14-16, 19, 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being unpatentable over McKenna (US 6184063 B1).
Regarding claim 14, McKenna discloses A method for forming a plurality of integrated circuit (IC) chips, the method comprising:
adhering a wafer comprising perforations between dies of the wafer to a dicing tape (see fig 1 where 24 is on 18, see fig 6 disclosing kerfs on the wafer);
stretching the dicing tape around a contour and outer perimeter of a dome-shaped chuck (see figs 6 and 7 disclosing the tape being stretched around the perimeter of the wafer, 18 at 58), the stretching applying transverse forces to a surface of the dicing tape opposite the wafer that cause the perforations in the wafer to break the wafer into separate dies (see discussion of fig 8 disclosing the dome causing breakages once stretched); and
packaging the dies of the wafer in integrated circuit (IC) chips (see step 106 disclosing packaging).
Regarding claim 15, Mckenna discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the transverse forces induce non- uniform lateral forces across a thickness of the wafer (see col 3. Ln 15-20 disclosing independently controlled forces).
Regarding claim 16, Mckenna discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the breaking of the perforations causes the dies of the wafer to separate (see discussion of kerfs).
Regarding claim 19, Mckenna discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the wafer is formed of silicon see col 5, ln 45-55, disclosing silicon wafer.
Regarding claim 20, Mckenna discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the transverse forces result in application of more lateral force to a top region of the dies than to a bottom region, see figs .
Regarding claim 26, Mckenna discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the plurality of dies are removable from the dicing tape after the transverse forces applied to the surface of the dicing tape are withdrawn and further discloses singulation (see col 6, ln 10-50).
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Mckenna and further in view of Chin (US 20050101109 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Mckenna discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the wafer has a monocrystalline structure and the perforations have a polycrystalline structure (see claims 6 and 12 disclosing laser ablating).
Mckenna and Chin are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Mckenna and Chin. Mckenna and Chin may be combined by forming the kerfs of Mckenna with laser ablating, as taught in Chin. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Mckenna and Chin in order to make precision kerfs.
Regarding claim 18, Mckenna discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the perforations are formed with a lasing process(see claims 6 and 12, see laser ablating).
Mckenna and Chin are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Mckenna and Chin. Mckenna and Chin may be combined by forming the kerfs of Mckenna with laser ablating, as taught in Chin. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Mckenna and Chin in order to make precision kerfs.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Mckenna and further in view of Clawson (US 20080305616 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Yang discloses the method of Claim 14, Clemson further discloses wherein the perforations are scribed in a wafer after the wafer has undergone back-grind processing to reduce a thickness of the wafer. It would have been obvious to combine Yang and Clawson. Yang and Clawson may be combined by forming the device of Yang in accordance with Clawson to thin the substrate prior to singulation/perforation One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to combine Yang and Clawson in order to facilitate singulation by reducing necessary processing resources/time to score a thinner layer, i.e. efficiency, (see figs 4-6, see para [0031] of Clawson).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13, 21, 22, 24, 25 contain allowable subject matter. In particular, the cited art do not disclose attaching a first side of the wafer to a back grind tape; back grinding a second side of the wafer after attaching the first side of the wafer to the back grind tape and scribing perforations in the wafer.
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893