DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1-30 are amended directly or by dependency on an amended claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26 May, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes the claims are an improvement and help move the case in a positive direction, however, still appear to be disclosed by prior art, some of which was cited previously, as well as a new reference.
As an initial matter, Sorenson et al. strongly imply shared memory, with the following statements:
wherein the shared memory is accessible to at least a portion of the circuitry executing a plurality of diagnostic algorithms:
Any stakeholder can be an engine author which can create an algorithm which can be used by an end user, without the end user having access to the algorithm, code, or image data. This can be done by sending the studies to a private or multi-tenant secure server, which can be cloud based or locally sited to process the study with any number of containerized engines/algorithms. The access control allows algorithm developers to grant authentication and administration privileges, [0039],
“Any stakeholder can be an engine author which can create an algorithm which can be used by an end user, without the end user having access to the algorithm, code, or image data required to train the algorithm. This is done by sending the studies to a private or multi-tenant secure server, which can be cloud based or locally sited to process the study with any number of containerized engines/algorithms. The access control allows algorithm developers to grant authentication and administration privileges”, [0081]
artificial intelligence finding interface 72 can be, for example, implemented on a single server, [0158]
wherein the one or more diagnostic algorithms are executed by the at least a portion of the circuitry using the dataset stored in the shared memory without transferring the dataset from the shared memory to a system memory:
medical image processing server 110 over network 103, [0054],
Image processing server 110 hosts a number of image processing engines 113-115 that can be invoked and configured to perform a series of one or more image processing operations or clinical content processing operations on medical images and clinical content, [0055],
In one embodiment, multiple image processing engines provided by multiple vendors can be configured in series, in parallel, or a combination of both to perform image processing operations, which may be configured via a configuration interface of medical image processing server 110 or through client applications 111-112, [0060],
“The engine or e-suites can detect findings (e.g., a disease, an indication, a feature, an object, a shape, a texture, a measurement, insurance fraud, or any combination thereof). The one or more engines and/or one or more e-suites can detect findings from studies (e.g., clinical reports, images, patient data, image data, metadata, or any combination thereof) based on metadata, known methods of in-image analysis, or any combination thereof. The image processing engines 113-115 of image processing server 110 can flag image data with findings, for example, indicating that the image data is abnormal”, [0065]
Image processing server 110 can be implemented by engines or e-suites from one or more medical institutes at different locations, one or more users, one or more groups, or any combination thereof, [0072],
Medical image processing server 110 may be multi-tenancy cloud server, [0077]).
Additionally however, as previously cited, Chandler et al. teach cause one or more first neural networks to: identify one or more objects comprising at least one type of feature depicted in one or more images stored to a shared memory of one or more graphics processing units (GPUs) wherein the shared memory is accessible to at least a portion of the circuitry executing a plurality of diagnostic algorithms:
performing the gesture recognition operation comprises using a first processor of the one or more multi-threaded processors that implements a first three-dimensional convolutional neural network (3D CNN) to perform an optical flow operation on the information representative of the one or more areas of interest that is accessed from the shared memory, wherein the optical flow operation is enabled to recognize a motion associated with the gesture, [0006],
analysis of medical images (e.g., MRI, X-ray, CT scan, video content, etc.), [0110],
After Thread A 3731 finishes generating the image frame, Thread B 3732 and Thread C 3733 continue to process the frame using artificial intelligence techniques, [0295],
The method 4000 includes, at 4030, accessing the multiple sets of data, by a plurality of processing units, based on the location of the shared memory indicated by the first attribute for recognizing the at least a part of a gesture. The location allows at least one of the plurality of processing units to access the multiple sets of data in the memory without copying the multiple sets of data to any other memory location, [0305],
The method 5500 includes, at operation 5530, storing information representative of the one or more areas of interest in a shared memory accessible to the one or more multi-threaded processors, [0402]
and using the dataset stored in the shared memory without transferring the dataset from the shared memory to a system memory:
“In such cases, data that is common to the algorithms executed on the GPUs can be managed by a shared memory, thereby reducing the amount of data transfers between CPU and GPUs. FIG. 31A illustrates an example single-copy approach in accordance with an example embodiment of the disclosed technology. In this example, the variables 3101 are copied from the CPU to the GPU shared memory 3110 only once. Then, both GPU1 and GPU2 can access the variables 3101 without incurring additional data transfer time that would be required in the architecture of FIG. 30. Similarly, the mean values produced by GPU1 and GPU2 are also stored in the shared memory 3110. After all the mean values are generated, they are copied once from the shared memory 3110 to the CPU for subsequent updates”, [0275],
“Because all GPUs can access the shared memory 3110, variables 3101 can be set up in the shared memory 3110 directly without performing any copies. Similarly, the mean values 3102 are written directly to the shared memory 3110 to allow them to be accessed GPU N (3150). The GPU N (3150) can perform subsequent updates based on the mean values 3102 without requiring any data transfers between the GPUs”, [0276]
Additionally, a further reference is included herein, Guttman, in order to further teach one or more diagnostic algorithms are executed by the at least a portion of the circuitry using the dataset stored in the shared memory:
GPU, [0024],
“FIG. 6 illustrates an example of process 600 for selective image processing. In some examples, process 600, as well as all individual steps therein, may be performed by various aspects of: apparatus 200; server 300; cloud platform 400; computational node 500; and so forth. For example, process 600 may be performed by processing units 220, executing software instructions stored within memory units 210 and/or within shared memory modules 410. In this example, process 600 may comprise: obtaining first group of images (Step 610); identifying objects in the first group of images (Step 620); obtaining second group of images (Step 630); identifying regions in the second group of images (Step 640); selecting processing schemes (Step 650); and processing the identified regions (Step 660), [0068]).
Therefore in combination the references together teach all of “…wherein the shared memory is accessible to at least a portion of the circuitry executing a plurality of diagnostic algorithms… wherein the one or more diagnostic algorithms are executed by the at least a portion of the circuitry using the dataset stored in the shared memory without transferring the dataset from the shared memory to a system memory”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 11-14, 1-20, 23-26 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorenson et al. (US 20180137244 A1) in view of Chandler et al. (US 20220036050 A1) in view of Guttman (US 20180150695 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, 19, and 25, Sorenson et al. disclose one or more processors, comprising processing circuitry to (processors, ASIC, [0097]), a system comprising one or more processors to (processors, ASIC, [0097]), a method comprising (method, [0052], [0246]), machine readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions (software embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium, [0246]), and medical image analysis system (artificial intelligence findings system, anatomical images, abstract, embodiments of the invention relate to medical image interpretation, [0002], processors, ASIC, [0097]) to cause one or more first neural networks (multi-sided platform which utilizes machine learning, deep learning and deterministic statistical methods (engines) running on medical image data, [0032], in-image analysis for medical image data such as convolutional neural network based on deep learning framework, [0199]) to: identify one or more objects comprising at least one type of feature depicted in a dataset comprising one or more images stored to a shared memory of one or more graphics processing units (GPUs) (The image processing server can receive image data. The image data can be received by the machine learning module. The image analysis module and the file analysis module can be integrated within the machine learning module or separate from the machine learning module, as shown in FIG. 16. When the image data is received by the machine learning module automatically or at the request of the client, the machine learning module can categorize the image data. The machine learning module can categorize the image data based on in-image analysis and/or metadata (e.g., DICOM headers or tags). The machine learning module can identify any image information from the image data such as the modality, orientation (e.g., axial, coronal, sagittal, off axis, short axis, 3 chamber view, or any combination thereof), anatomies (organs, vessels, bones, or any combination thereof), body section (e.g., head, next, chest, abdomen, pelvis, extremities, or any combination thereof), sorting information (e.g., 2D, 2.5D, 3D, 4D), study/series description, scanning protocol, sequences, options, flow data, or any combination thereof, [0197]) wherein the shared memory is accessible to at least a portion of the circuitry executing a plurality of diagnostic algorithms (Any stakeholder can be an engine author which can create an algorithm which can be used by an end user, without the end user having access to the algorithm, code, or image data. This can be done by sending the studies to a private or multi-tenant secure server, which can be cloud based or locally sited to process the study with any number of containerized engines/algorithms. The access control allows algorithm developers to grant authentication and administration privileges, [0039], Flagging can include displaying the actual finding(s), or derived summary indication utilizing a combination of findings, found by the engine/e-suite, the engine/e-suite name, a simple mark representing that the study was processed by image processing server 110, [0066], “Any stakeholder can be an engine author which can create an algorithm which can be used by an end user, without the end user having access to the algorithm, code, or image data required to train the algorithm. This is done by sending the studies to a private or multi-tenant secure server, which can be cloud based or locally sited to process the study with any number of containerized engines/algorithms. The access control allows algorithm developers to grant authentication and administration privileges”, [0081], According to another scenario, for example, a PACS server or CT, MRI, ultrasound, X-ray, or other imaging modality or information system can send studies to a first engine of the e-suite. After the first engine processes the studies, the output of findings from the first engine can be sent to a second engine and a third engine. The second engine and the third engine can run in parallel, [0083], artificial intelligence finding interface 72 can be, for example, implemented on a single server, [0158]); and determine a processing pipeline comprising one or more diagnostic algorithms selected based, at least in part, on the at least one type of feature one or more objects identified by the one or more first neural networks in the one or more images (According to some embodiments, a machine learned workflow system can receive image data. The machine learned workflow system can review the image data and propose one or more clinical protocols or one or more workflows. The proposed clinical protocols or workflows for each image data can be determined based on in-image analysis and/or metadata of the image data. The machine learned workflow system can allow the user to replace, remove, or add clinical protocols or workflows, [0053], Ensemble engines may be combined, for example, one which finds the body part, another that segments it, another that labels the anatomy within it, and another that detects signs of leading diseases in that area, and finally another that can match these findings with clinical information resources and recommendations to provide assistance and direction to the physician, [0062], Only certain engines will apply according to what part of the body it is pertaining to, or according to what imaging modality type (the imaging procedure type) that is used. This will help the engine of engines mentioned above make a good choice and learn what works, [0063], A clinical protocol module can contain clinical protocols related to, for example, volumetric, CT Cardiac, CT Chest, CT Body, CT Head and Neck, MR Body, Body fusion, interventional radiology, maxilla facial, EVAR planning, TAVR planning, vessel analysis, Cardiac MR, Lung Segmentation, Liver Segmentation, Autobatch, any clinical protocols related to the medical areas described in this specification, or any combination thereof. Each clinical protocol can have one or more workflows (not shown). A workflow arranges activities into a process flow according to the order of performing each activity. Each of the activities in the workflow has a clear definition of its functions, the resource required in performing the activity, and the inputs received and outputs generated by the activity. Each activity in a workflow is referred to as a workflow stage, or a workflow element. Workflows can require specific image data to complete the workflows. Currently, users must select the specific image data to use in each workflow which is time consuming. Recommending image data for each workflow for the clinical protocol can reduce physician time. A workflow can include, but is not limited to, vessel analysis, calcium scoring, Time Dependent Analysis, CT/CTA subtraction, lobular decomposition, segmentation analysis and tracking, time volume analysis, flythrough, volumetric histogram, fusion CT/MR/PET/SPECT, multi-phase MR, parametric mapping, spherefinder, multi-kv, flow dynamic-MR, autobatch, ejection fraction, centerline extraction, straightened view, diameter and length measurements, CPR and axial renderings, V-Track mode for automated thin-slab MIP, measurement calculations, flow, perfusion, stress, rest, DE, and T1 mapping, any other workflow related to the medical areas described in this specification, any other workflows related to the clinical protocols described in this specification, or any combination thereof, [0182], The machine learning module can identify any image information from the image data such as the modality, orientation (e.g., axial, coronal, sagittal, off axis, short axis, 3 chamber view, or any combination thereof), anatomies (organs, vessels, bones, or any combination thereof), body section (e.g., head, next, chest, abdomen, pelvis, extremities, or any combination thereof), sorting information (e.g., 2D, 2.5D, 3D, 4D), study/series description, scanning protocol, sequences, options, flow data, or any combination thereof. Based on the image information from the image data, the machine learning module can recommend image data (i.e., series) for specific workflows. Based on the image information from the image data, the machine learning module can recommend workflows for specific image data, [0197]) [workflow interpreted as the processing pipeline] [diagnostic models interpreted as vessel analysis, calcium scoring, Time Dependent Analysis, CT/CTA subtraction, lobular decomposition, segmentation analysis and tracking, time volume analysis, flythrough, volumetric histogram, fusion CT/MR/PET/SPECT, multi-phase MR, parametric mapping, spherefinder, multi-kv, flow dynamic-MR, autobatch, ejection fraction, centerline extraction, straightened view, diameter and length measurements, CPR and axial renderings, V-Track mode for automated thin-slab MIP, measurement calculations, flow, perfusion, stress, rest, DE, and T1 mapping] wherein the one or more diagnostic algorithms are executed by the at least a portion of the circuitry using the dataset stored in the shared memory without transferring the dataset from the shared memory to a system memory (medical image processing server 110 over network 103, [0054], Image processing server 110 hosts a number of image processing engines 113-115 that can be invoked and configured to perform a series of one or more image processing operations or clinical content processing operations on medical images and clinical content, [0055], In one embodiment, multiple image processing engines provided by multiple vendors can be configured in series, in parallel, or a combination of both to perform image processing operations, which may be configured via a configuration interface of medical image processing server 110 or through client applications 111-112, [0060], “The engine or e-suites can detect findings (e.g., a disease, an indication, a feature, an object, a shape, a texture, a measurement, insurance fraud, or any combination thereof). The one or more engines and/or one or more e-suites can detect findings from studies (e.g., clinical reports, images, patient data, image data, metadata, or any combination thereof) based on metadata, known methods of in-image analysis, or any combination thereof. The image processing engines 113-115 of image processing server 110 can flag image data with findings, for example, indicating that the image data is abnormal”, [0065], Image processing server 110 can be implemented by engines or e-suites from one or more medical institutes at different locations, one or more users, one or more groups, or any combination thereof, [0072], Medical image processing server 110 may be multi-tenancy cloud server, [0077]).
While Sorenson et al. disclose a GPU ([0097]), and Sorenson describes different systems such as “The cloud-based system can be a public cloud. There can be a main cloud system that can connect multiple local cloud systems. For example, there can be a main cloud system that can connect multiple private cloud systems from multiple institutes. The degree of access of information and tools from the main cloud system to the private cloud systems can depend on preconfigured settings by the medical institutes” ([0031]) “This is done by sending the studies to a private or multi-tenant secure server, which can be cloud based or locally sited to process the study with any number of containerized engines/algorithms. The access control allows algorithm developers to grant authentication and administration privileges. On embodiment of algorithm and use authentication gives algorithm developers the ability to grant different end users the ability to use an algorithm, or allowing them to be published for use publicly while requiring the end user(s) to agree to platform and licensing agreements provided in written form or via click-through legal terms and conditions” ([0081]) and “Alternatively, artificial intelligence finding interface 72 can be, for example, implemented on a single server, a combination of servers, applications available on a cloud, or some other system” ([0158]) which strongly implies “one or more graphics processing units (GPUs), wherein the shared memory is accessible to at least a portion of the circuitry executing a plurality of diagnostic algorithms” and “wherein the one or more diagnostic algorithms are executed by the at least a portion of the circuitry using the dataset stored in the shared memory without transferring the dataset from the shared memory to a system memory” (the multiple configurations imply both shared and non-shared server/memory configurations, if the memory is local it would not need to be transferred), Sorenson et al. do not explicitly disclose “shared memory”.
Chandler et al. teach cause one or more first neural networks to: identify one or more objects comprising at least one type of feature depicted in one or more images stored to a shared memory of one or more graphics processing units (GPUs) wherein the shared memory is accessible to at least a portion of the circuitry executing a plurality of diagnostic algorithms (performing the gesture recognition operation comprises using a first processor of the one or more multi-threaded processors that implements a first three-dimensional convolutional neural network (3D CNN) to perform an optical flow operation on the information representative of the one or more areas of interest that is accessed from the shared memory, wherein the optical flow operation is enabled to recognize a motion associated with the gesture, [0006], analysis of medical images (e.g., MRI, X-ray, CT scan, video content, etc.), [0110], After Thread A 3731 finishes generating the image frame, Thread B 3732 and Thread C 3733 continue to process the frame using artificial intelligence techniques, [0295], The method 4000 includes, at 4030, accessing the multiple sets of data, by a plurality of processing units, based on the location of the shared memory indicated by the first attribute for recognizing the at least a part of a gesture. The location allows at least one of the plurality of processing units to access the multiple sets of data in the memory without copying the multiple sets of data to any other memory location, [0305], The method 5500 includes, at operation 5530, storing information representative of the one or more areas of interest in a shared memory accessible to the one or more multi-threaded processors, [0402]) and using the dataset stored in the shared memory without transferring the dataset from the shared memory to a system memory (“In such cases, data that is common to the algorithms executed on the GPUs can be managed by a shared memory, thereby reducing the amount of data transfers between CPU and GPUs. FIG. 31A illustrates an example single-copy approach in accordance with an example embodiment of the disclosed technology. In this example, the variables 3101 are copied from the CPU to the GPU shared memory 3110 only once. Then, both GPU1 and GPU2 can access the variables 3101 without incurring additional data transfer time that would be required in the architecture of FIG. 30. Similarly, the mean values produced by GPU1 and GPU2 are also stored in the shared memory 3110. After all the mean values are generated, they are copied once from the shared memory 3110 to the CPU for subsequent updates”, [0275], “Because all GPUs can access the shared memory 3110, variables 3101 can be set up in the shared memory 3110 directly without performing any copies. Similarly, the mean values 3102 are written directly to the shared memory 3110 to allow them to be accessed GPU N (3150). The GPU N (3150) can perform subsequent updates based on the mean values 3102 without requiring any data transfers between the GPUs”, [0276]).
Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. are in the same art of medical image analysis (Sorenson et al., [0002]; Chandler et al., [0110]). The combination of Chandler et al. with Sorenson et al. enables using a shared memory of one or more graphics processing units. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shared memory of Chandler et al. with the invention of Sorenson et al. as this was known at the time of filing, the combination would have predictable results, and as Chandler et al. indicate “To address such performance penalty associated with the multiple copies, a customized code template can be generated to uniformly define attributes for all image data and allow access to the image data without any copies. For example, as shown in FIG. 33B, a custom template that characterizes data access and/or data formats, such as a custom class derived from OpenCv's cv::Mat class, can be defined to manage all captured image data uniformly. In this example, the custom template includes a Texture ID attribute to store the input as textures on the GPU shared memory 3304. The system determines the value of the Texture ID attribute based on where the captured image data is stored (as a texture) in the shared GPU memory 3304. The GPU can then translate the Texture ID value to an actual address value at which the image data is stored. Therefore, the GPUs can access the image without performing any copies. When UMA is enabled, the CPU can also access the image data via the Texture ID (or other similar indicators), thereby eliminating the need to copy the data back and forth between GPU(s) and the CPU” ([0278]) which will improve the computational efficiency and security of the system of Chandler et al.
Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. do not explicitly disclose the one or more diagnostic algorithms are executed by the at least a portion of the circuitry using the dataset stored in the shared memory.
Guttman teaches one or more diagnostic algorithms are executed by the at least a portion of the circuitry using the dataset stored in the shared memory (GPU, [0024], “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of process 600 for selective image processing. In some examples, process 600, as well as all individual steps therein, may be performed by various aspects of: apparatus 200; server 300; cloud platform 400; computational node 500; and so forth. For example, process 600 may be performed by processing units 220, executing software instructions stored within memory units 210 and/or within shared memory modules 410. In this example, process 600 may comprise: obtaining first group of images (Step 610); identifying objects in the first group of images (Step 620); obtaining second group of images (Step 630); identifying regions in the second group of images (Step 640); selecting processing schemes (Step 650); and processing the identified regions (Step 660), [0068]).
As Sorenson et al. disclose diagnostic processes, and Guttman teaches carrying out different types of processes on shared memory, in combination this teaches the entirety of the limitation.
Sorenson et al. and Guttman are in the same art of neural networks (Sorenson et al., [0208]; Guttman, [0076]). The combination of Guttman with the invention of Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. allows for other algorithms to be carried out on shared memory. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shared memory described by Guttman with the invention of Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. as this was known at the time of filing, the combination would have predictable results, and as Guttman indicates “In some embodiments, the one or more shared memory modules 410 may be accessed by more than one computational node. Therefore, shared memory modules 410 may allow information sharing among two or more computational nodes 500. In some embodiments, the one or more shared memory access modules 510 may be configured to enable access of computational nodes 500 and/or the one or more processing units 220 of computational nodes 500 to shared memory modules 410” ([0063]) “Step 920 in an audio data, and Step 930 may analyze the images preceding the time of the call for help and/or the cry of pain to identify an event leading to the call for help and/or the cry of pain, such as an injury, an accident, a safety event, and so forth” ([0148]) thereby providing a computational as well as security benefit to combining inventions.
Regarding claims 2, 8, 14, 20, and 26, Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman disclose the one or more processors, system, method, machine readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, and medical image analysis system of claims 1, 7, 13, 19, and 25. Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. further indicate causing the selected one or more diagnostic algorithms to perform one or more diagnostic processes on the one or more images stored to the shared memory of the one or more GPUs (Sorenson et al., such components can be implemented as software installed and stored in a persistent storage device, which can be loaded and executed in a memory by a processor (not shown) to carry out the processes or operations described throughout this application, [0097], machine learning module will be able to automatically select the relevant data to be processed by other machine learning module or read using a particular clinical protocol, [0183], For example, this allows many imaging studies that include many image acquisitions, many image series, and the use of manual end-user interaction to select and categorize these series prior to evoking image post-processing workflows. An engine of engines driven with the above types of intelligence and awareness about body parts, organs, anatomic segmentation and features of these, can be used to automatically perform this categorization. For example, the end user can refine the categorizations before or after such artificial intelligence work, and then the artificial intelligence engine will learn to perform these tasks better from that input. Eventually, it becomes totally automatic, [0229]; Chandler et al., shared memory GPU, [0278]).
Regarding claims 5, 11, 17, 23, and 29, Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman disclose the processor, system, method, machine readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, and medical image analysis system of claims 2, 8, 14, 20, and 26. Sorenson et al. further indicate the processing circuitry is further to provide results of the one or more diagnostic processes as the results are received from individual diagnostic processes (One or more results 250 may be generated and stored in persistent storage device 224 as a part of output data 222. In one embodiment, image processing engines 113-115 can be arranged in series, in which an output of a first image processing engine can be utilized as an input of a second image processing engine, as shown in FIG. 4A, [0078], According to another scenario, for example, a PACS server or CT, MRI, ultrasound, X-ray, or other imaging modality or information system can send studies to a first engine of the e-suite. After the first engine processes the studies, the output of findings from the first engine can be sent to a second engine and a third engine. The second engine and the third engine can run in parallel. The output of findings of the second engine and the third engine can be combined. The combined output of the second engine and the third engine can become the output of findings of the e-suite. Alternatively, the process may begin with multiple engines receiving the data for processing and these send their results to one or more other engines as described. The final output can be sent back to the source modality, or a PACS, or the medical data review system to be reviewed by a physician to confirm or deny the findings of the output of the e-suite ensemble, [0083], Similar engines which find similar findings can be run in parallel, in series, or any combination thereof can be different engines to detect the same finding. For example, a first engine, a second engine, and a third engine can be lung nodule detection engines, but they can be from different engine developers or different medical institutions. Such a configuration can enable comparing the findings from the three engines from different vendors, providing physicians with immediate access to multiple tools and a quick overview of the findings from each engine, immediately during the diagnostic interpretation process which occurs during medical data review., [0086]).
Regarding claims 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30, Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman disclose the one or more processors, system, method, machine readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, and medical image analysis system of claims 1, 7, 13, 19, and 25. Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. further indicate the processing pipeline comprises one or more containers including one or more pre-trained neural network models and a configuration file corresponding to the one or more pre- trained neural network models (Sorenson et al., image processing engine as an executable image, container, virtual environment or binary code, [0059], “The engines can be improved to detect the findings on a developer platform, for example, via training using machine-learning algorithms or via modifying a containerized version of a predict method for a given engine. One way this approach can be accomplished is by aggregating data to improve a given engine and versioning the data used for iterative training assessment and the versioning of engine source code within a given software container or wrapper asynchronously, allowing distribution and updating of algorithms in use either in the cloud or which are in use remotely in a deployed containerized algorithm player software that is administered and governed by the actions of the end-users and algorithm/engine authors collaborating and working in the platform”, [0074], Image processing engines 113-115 can be configured in a variety of configurations according to process configuration 224. Process configuration 224 may be stored in a configuration file that is specifically configured by a user or for a particular study or images. Medical image processing server 110 may be multi-tenancy cloud server. There may be multiple configuration files, each may be associated with a user or a group of users, which may be configured via a configuration interface (not shown), [0077], One or more of image processing engines 113-115 can be arranged according to a sequential order based on process configuration data 224, [0078], multi-tenant secure server, which can be cloud based or locally sited to process the study with any number of containerized engines/algorithms, [0081]; Chandler et al., The processor executable code upon execution by the processor configures the processor to determine a set of parameters of the 3D scene based on a predetermined number of training images to be generated and generate the predetermined number of training images corresponding to the set of parameters, [0258], 3D CNN fully or partially trained using the proper training images, disclosed configurations of the 3D CNN(s) and the RNN may be used recognize any time-varying activity in three-dimensions, [0376]) [iterating training as for instance described by Sorenson et al. interpreted as “pre-trained”]
Claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 15, 16, 21, 22, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorenson et al. (US 20180137244 A1) in view of Chandler et al. (US 20220036050 A1) and Guttman (US 20180150695 A1) as applied to claims 2, 8, 14, 20, and 26 above, further in view of Kishore et al. (US 20150160974 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 15, 21, and 27, Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman disclose the one or more processors, system, method, machine readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, and medical image analysis system of claims 2, 8, 14, 20, and 26. Sorenson et al. further partly indicate the one or more diagnostic processes are assigned as jobs to one or more processing workflows, wherein the jobs are schedulable to be performed at least partially in sequence or in parallel, and wherein a performance of at least one of the jobs is able to be conditioned on an output of a prior job in a respective processing workflow (The selected image processing engines can be configured to a variety of configurations (e.g., in series, in parallel, or both) to perform a sequence of one or more image processing operations, [0041], The selected image processing engines can be configured to a variety of configurations (e.g., in series, in parallel, or both) to perform a sequence of one or more image processing operations., [0059] multiple image processing engines provided by multiple vendors can be configured in series, in parallel, or a combination of both to perform image processing operations, [0060] Processing engines having compatible inputs and outputs can be executed serially or in parallel (e.g., via multiple threads) to create a more accurate final output.[0075] In one embodiment, image processing engines 113-115 can be arranged in series, in which an output of a first image processing engine can be utilized as an input of a second image processing engine, as shown in FIG. 4A. Alternatively, image processing engines 113-115 can be arranged in parallel to perform the same or different image processing operations concurrently as shown in FIG. 4B [0078]) however another reference is added to make this more explicit.
Kishore et al. teach one or more diagnostic processes are assigned as jobs to one or more processing workflows (implement an analytics workflow management system that can schedule jobs based on inferred dependencies, [0047], Workflow manager 302 can coordinate scheduling of jobs. For example, workflow manager 302 can receive job definitions via job creation user interface 304 and can determine when to schedule jobs, e.g., by inferring dependencies between jobs from the data tables (or other data objects) identified as being produced and consumed by various jobs. Examples of job scheduling processes that can be implemented in workflow manager 302 are described below, [0049], Once a job or workflow (a set of jobs with dependencies) is defined, workflow manager 302 can proceed to schedule the job, [0106]), wherein the jobs are schedulable to be performed at least partially in sequence or in parallel (a scheduling system can require that jobs A 102 and B 104 be completed before job C 106 begins. Jobs A 102 and B 104 can execute in any order, or concurrently, since neither depends on data generated by the other, [0028]), and wherein a performance of at least one of the jobs is able to be conditioned on an output of a prior job in a respective processing workflow (The system can schedule executions of the source and sink jobs such that the source job completes (or completes generation of the source data object) before the sink job is launched, abstract, [0022], For purposes of correctly executing all of the jobs in FIG. 1, a scheduling system can be used to make sure that jobs are executed in the correct order, which can be any order subject to the condition that a job that produces a data object completes execution (or at least completes production of the data object) before any job that consumes that data object begins execution (or at least begins consumption of the data object). Thus, for example, a scheduling system can require that jobs A 102 and B 104 be completed before job C 106 begins. Jobs A 102 and B 104 can execute in any order, or concurrently, since neither depends on data generated by the other. In some systems, e.g., as described below, the scheduling system can identify jobs that are ready to execute and can dispatch the jobs to a computing cluster for execution. Upon completion of a job, the computing cluster can inform the scheduling system, which can then determine which job (or jobs) to dispatch next, [0028], Based on job definitions provide by the analyst(s), workflow manager 302 can schedule jobs for execution by task runner 312. In scheduling jobs, workflow manager 302 can infer dependencies between jobs and a corresponding execution order for dependent jobs based on the analyst's specifications of data objects produced and consumed by various jobs, [0056]).
Sorenson et al. and Kishore et al. are in the same art of performing multiple operations (Sorenson et al., [0083], [0086]; Kishore et al., abstract, [0056]). The combination of Kishore et al. with the invention of Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman enables dependencies to be established so operations can automatically be carried out. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the workflow management described by Kishore et al. with the invention of Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman as this was known at the time of filing, the combination would have predictable results, and as Kishore et al. indicate “Specifying dependencies on data objects rather than jobs can simplify the analyst's task. For example, the analyst defining a job that consumes data from a particular source data object does not need to know which job (or jobs) produce the source data object; the analyst can simply indicate that the source data object needs to be up-to-date before the consumer job is run” ([0007]), which will aid in the effective automation of the pipeline generation described by Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman.
Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, 22, and 28, Sorenson et al. and Chandler et al. and Guttman disclose the processor, system, method, machine readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, and medical image analysis system of claims 3, 9, 15, 21, and 27. Sorenson et al. further indicate the one or more circuits and processors are further to generate at least one additional diagnostic process based, at least in part, upon a result of at least one of the generated diagnostic processes (In one embodiment, Ensemble engines may be combined, for example, one which finds the body part, another that segments it, another that labels the anatomy within it, and another that detects signs of leading diseases in that area, and finally another that can match these findings with clinical information resources and recommendations to provide assistance and direction to the physician, [0062] After the first engine processes the studies, the output of findings from the first engine can be sent to a second engine and a third engine. The second engine and the third engine can run in parallel. The output of findings of the second engine and the third engine can be combined. The combined output of the second engine and the third engine can become the output of findings of the e-suite. Alternatively, the process may begin with multiple engines receiving the data for processing and these send their results to one or more other engines as described [0083] For example, image identification engine 273, based on the new image data 272 and based on the identified for study images of patient anatomical structures, anatomical anomalies and anatomical features within the new image data, calls additional finding engines 275 to produce findings. Additional findings engines 275 are selected to be called by image identification engine 273 is based on the identified for study images of patient organs, body parts, and features within the new image data 272 and based upon the expertise of each of the additional findings engine 275. This allows an engine or engine of engines to process one or more medical imaging studies of a patient to determine the organs, body parts or even features found in the body parts or organs and even classifiers of these features, and uses this information to select pertinent other engines that can be run on all of these, and combinations of the images to provide precision-application of engines to image data. [0227]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE M ENTEZARI HAUSMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671