Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suciu (US 20160003149 as referenced in OA dated 5/5/2021) in view of Ackermann (US 20170051751 as referenced in OA dated 5/5/2021).
Annotated Figure 6, 7, and 13 of Suciu (US 20160003149)
Annotated Figure 3 of Ackermann (US 20170051751)
Regarding claim 1, Suciu discloses a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 20. For clarification, the prior art teaches Fig. 5 with cooling the compressor as in Fig. 13. Paragraph 0096) having a central longitudinal axis (The dashed dotted line of Figure 1 which is Figure 2; A. Paragraph 0046), comprising:
a compressor section (Figure 1; 24), comprising:
a plurality of blades (Annotated Figure 13; labeled blades) extending from a rotor (Annotated Figure 13; labeled rotor),
a guide vane (Annotated Figure 13; labeled vane. Also, see claim 14.) disposed axially downstream of the plurality of blades, the guide vane having an outer vane platform (Annotated Figure 13; labeled outer vane platform), an inner vane platform (Annotated Figure 13; labeled inner vane platform) spaced apart from the rotor along the central longitudinal axis, and a vane strut (The strut between the outer and inner vane platform) extending between the outer vane platform and the inner vane platform, and
a diffuser case (Figure 3; 102, 104, 106) disposed axially downstream of the guide vane, the diffuser case having a first case portion (Figure 3; 104) that is disposed adjacent to the outer vane platform, a second case portion (Figure 3; 106) that is disposed adjacent to the inner vane platform, and a strut (Figure 3; 102) extending between the first case portion and the second case portion, the strut having a leading surface (Annotated Figure 7; labeled leading surface as applied to Figure 5. Paragraph 0066), a trailing surface (Figure 7; 120 as applied to Figure 5) disposed opposite the leading surface, and a pair of side surfaces (The side surfaces from Annotated Figure 7; labeled leading surface to 120) extending between the leading surface and the trailing surface,
the strut defining an inlet (Annotated Figure 7; labeled inlet as applied to Figure 5. Paragraph 0066) located at the leading surface (The inlet is located near the leading surface. See Merriam Webster, Oxford, and American Heritage Dictionary definition of “at”) and disposed between the pair of side surfaces (The inlet is between Figure 7; 122 and 124 each of which is part of a respective side surface), the inlet extending from the leading surface along a first axis (The horizontal axis of Figure 5; 112) that is disposed generally parallel to the central longitudinal axis (The horizontal axis of Figure 5; 112 is parallel to C which is parallel to A. Paragraph 0062.) and a passageway (Figure 7; 114. Figure 5 shows 114 extending radially inward from the inlet) that extends from the inlet, wherein the passageway extends radially inward from the inlet along a second axis (The vertical axis along which the passageway extends and is perpendicular to Figure 5; A) that is disposed radially to the central longitudinal axis, wherein the passageway is located within the strut (The dashed portion of Figure 5; 114 closest to 112 is located within the strut. Figure 7 and 9 show the inlet opening within the strut, so that at least a portion of passageway is within the strut), and
wherein a feed passage (Annotated Figure 13; labeled feed passage) routes a cooler gas flow path (The cooler gas flow path that the feed passage routes) toward a region (The region between Annotated Figure 13; labeled blades and vane) between the guide vane and the plurality of blades of the rotor without flowing through any type of internal or external heat exchanger system (There is no internal or external heat exchanger in Figure 13, see Figure 14-15),
wherein the inlet having a first height (Annotated Figure 6; labeled first height) that extends along the second axis and disposed proximate to the leading surface of the strut and the inlet having a second height (Annotated Figure 6; labeled second height) that extends along the second axis and is spaced apart from the first height along the first axis toward the trailing surface, and
wherein the first height is less than the second height (The first height is greater than the second height).
Suciu does not teach wherein the vane strut is an airfoil; and a tangential onboard injection system having an injector, a body, and a feed passage that is fluidly connected to the passageway, wherein the feed passage extends axially forward from the passageway, the feed passage routes a cooler gas flow path toward a region between the airfoil of the guide vane and the plurality of blades of the rotor.
However, Ackermann teaches a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) having a central longitudinal axis (Figure 1; 12), comprising:
a compressor section (Figure 1; 19), comprising:
a plurality of blades (Figure 3; 112) extending from a rotor (The structure radially inwards of Figure 3; 112 which includes 94),
a guide vane (Figure 3; 70) disposed axially downstream of the plurality of blades, the guide vane having an outer vane platform (Figure 3; 74), an inner vane platform (Figure 3; 72) spaced apart from the rotor along the central longitudinal axis, and an airfoil (The airfoil of Figure 3; 70. Paragraph 0045) extending between the outer vane platform and the inner vane platform, and
a diffuser case (Figure 3; 50) disposed axially downstream of the guide vane, the diffuser case having a first case portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled first case portion (denoted by the top dotted line with arrows)) that is disposed adjacent to the outer vane platform, a second case portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second case portion (denoted by the bottom dotted line with arrows)) that is disposed adjacent to the inner vane platform, and a strut (The strut between the first and second case portions) extending between the first case portion and the second case portion, the strut having a leading surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled leading surface), a trailing surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled trailing surface) disposed opposite the leading surface;
an inlet (The portion Figure 3; 96 feeding Annotated Figure 3, labeled passageway (denoted by dashed lines with arrows)) and a passageway (The passageway of Figure 3; 96 through the diffuser case. For clarification, Annotated Figure 3, labeled passageway) that extends from the inlet, wherein the passageway extends radially inward from the inlet,
a tangential onboard injection system (Annotated Figure 3; labeled injector (denoted by solid lines), body (denoted by dotted lines), feed passage (denoted by a solid line with an arrow)) having an injector, a body, and a feed passage that is fluidly connected to the passageway, wherein the feed passage extends axially forward from the passageway (The feed passage extends axially forward from the passageway), the feed passage routes a cooler gas flow path (The cooler gas flow path that the feed passage routes) toward a region (The region between Figure 2; 112 and 70, see Figure 3 arrows) between the airfoil of the guide vane and the plurality of blades of the rotor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Suciu wherein the vane strut is an airfoil; and a tangential onboard injection system having an injector, a body, and a feed passage that is fluidly connected to the passageway, wherein the feed passage extends axially forward from the passageway, the feed passage routes a cooler gas flow path toward a region between the airfoil of the guide vane and the plurality of blades of the rotor as taught by and suggested by Ackermann because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Ackermann’s use of an stator vane airfoil and use of a tangential onboard injection system to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Suciu’s guide vane and gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case guiding the core air and providing cooling air with a tangential velocity component, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes the vane strut of Suciu an airfoil and uses the tangential onboard injection system of Ackermann in Suciu).
Regarding claim 2, Suciu in view of Ackermann teaches the invention as claimed.
Suciu further discloses wherein the inlet is radially aligned with a mid-point (Paragraph 0062. The inlet being at the exact middle of the diffuser strut places the inlet at the middle of an annular flow passage for a core flow through the compressor which is aligned to the mid-point of the vane strut) of the vane strut (In the combined invention of Suciu in view of Ackermann, the vane strut of Suciu is an airfoil) relative to the inner vane platform and the outer vane platform.
Regarding claim 4, Suciu in view of Ackermann teaches the invention as claimed.
Suciu does not disclose wherein the feed passage is defined between the body and the second case portion.
However, Ackermann teaches wherein the feed passage is defined between the body and the second case portion (Like the instant application, at least a portion of the feed passage is between the body and the second case portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Suciu wherein the feed passage is defined between the body and the second case portion as taught by and suggested by Ackermann because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Ackermann’s use of a tangential onboard injection system to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Suciu’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case providing cooling air with a tangential velocity component, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (This is the same modification as a portion claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Suciu in view of Ackermann teaches the invention as claimed.
Suciu further discloses wherein a gap (The gap between Annotated Figure 13; labeled rotor and inner vane platform that allows a cooling air to flow through (the right branched arrow). Figure 2 also shows this gap) is defined between the rotor and the inner vane platform.
Regarding claim 6, Suciu in view of Ackermann teaches the invention as claimed.
Suciu does not disclose wherein the injector extends towards the gap.
However, Ackermann teaches wherein a gap (The gap between the rotor and inner vane platform) is defined between the rotor and the inner vane platform; and the injector extends towards the gap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Suciu wherein the injector extends towards the gap as taught by and suggested by Ackermann because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Ackermann’s use of a tangential onboard injection system to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Suciu’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case providing cooling air with a tangential velocity component, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (This is the same modification as a portion claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Suciu discloses a compressor section (Figure 1; 24. For clarification, the prior art teaches Fig. 5 with cooling the compressor as in Fig. 13. Paragraph 0096) arranged about a central longitudinal axis (The dashed dotted line of Figure 1 which is Figure 2; A. Paragraph 0046) of a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 20), comprising:
a guide vane (Annotated Figure 13; labeled vane. Also, see claim 14.) having an outer vane platform (Annotated Figure 13; labeled outer vane platform), an inner vane platform (Annotated Figure 13; labeled inner vane platform), and a vane strut (The strut between the outer and inner vane platform) extending between the outer vane platform and the inner vane platform; and
a diffuser case (Figure 3; 102, 104, 106) having a first case portion (Figure 3; 104) disposed adjacent to the outer vane platform, a second case portion (Figure 3; 106) that is disposed adjacent to the inner vane platform, and a strut (Figure 3; 102) extending between the first case portion and the second case portion, the strut defining an inlet (Annotated Figure 7; labeled inlet as applied to Figure 5. Paragraph 0066) located at a leading surface (Annotated Figure 7; labeled leading surface as applied to Figure 5. Paragraph 0066. The inlet is located near the leading surface. See Merriam Webster, Oxford, and American Heritage Dictionary definition of “at”) of the strut and the inlet extending towards a trailing surface (Figure 7; 120 as applied to Figure 5) of the strut along a first axis (The horizontal axis of Figure 5; 112) that is disposed generally parallel to the central longitudinal axis (The horizontal axis of Figure 5; 112 is parallel to C which is parallel to A. Paragraph 0062.), the strut defining a passageway (Figure 7; 114. Figure 5 shows 114 extending radially inward from the inlet) that extends from the inlet through the second case portion along a second axis (The vertical axis along which the passageway extends and is perpendicular to Figure 5; A) that is disposed transverse to the central longitudinal axis, wherein the passageway is located within the strut (The dashed portion of Figure 5; 114 closest to 112 is located within the strut. Figure 7 and 9 show the inlet opening within the strut, so that at least a portion of passageway is within the strut);
104909US02 (U421501US2)wherein a recirculation circuit (The circuit shown by the arrows of Figure 13) is defined along a gas flow path (Figure 2; C) that flows along a mid-point of the vane strut (Figure 2 shows C flowing along the mid-point of the vane strut.) that is disposed between the inner vane platform and the outer vane platform, through the inlet, through the passageway, and towards a leading edge of the vane strut (The leading edge of Annotated Figure 3; labeled vane);
wherein the recirculation circuit a cooler gas flow path (The cooler gas flow path that the recirculation circuit routes) toward a region (The region between Annotated Figure 13; labeled blades and vane) between the guide vane and a blade (Annotated Figure 13; labeled blades) of a rotor (Annotated Figure 13; labeled rotor), of the gas turbine engine without flowing through any type of internal or external heat exchanger system (There is no internal or external heat exchanger in Figure 13, see Figure 14-15);
wherein the inlet having a first height (Annotated Figure 6; labeled first height) that extends along the second axis and disposed proximate to the leading surface of the strut and the inlet having a second height (Annotated Figure 6; labeled second height) that extends along the second axis and is spaced apart from the first height along the first axis toward the trailing surface,
wherein the first height is less than the second height (The first height is greater than the second height);
wherein the strut includes a trailing surface (Figure 7; 120 as applied to Figure 5) disposed opposite the leading surface, and a pair of side surfaces (The side surfaces from Annotated Figure 7; labeled leading surface to 120) extending between the leading surface and the trailing surface; and
wherein the inlet is disposed between the pair of side surfaces (The inlet is between Figure 7; 122 and 124 each of which is part of a respective side surface).
Suciu does not disclose wherein the vane strut is an airfoil;
a tangential air injection system that extends between and is connected to the inner vane platform and the second case portion, the tangential air injection system having an injector that is connected to the inner vane platform and a body that extends between the injector and the second case portion; and
a feed passage defined between the body and the second case portion, the feed passage extending axially forward from the passageway, the passage being fluidly connected to the injector and the passageway, and 4
wherein a recirculation circuit through the feed passage, through the injector, and towards a leading edge of the airfoil, the recirculation circuit routes a cooler gas flow path toward a region between the airfoil of the guide vane and a blade of a rotor of the gas turbine engine.
However, Ackermann teaches a compressor section (Figure 1; 19), arranged about a central longitudinal axis (Figure 1; 12) of a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10), comprising:
a guide vane (Figure 3; 70) having an outer vane platform (Figure 3; 74), an inner vane platform (Figure 3; 72), and an airfoil (The airfoil of Figure 3; 70. Paragraph 0045) extending between the outer vane platform and the inner vane platform; and
a diffuser case (Figure 3; 50) having a first case portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled first case portion (denoted by the top dotted line with arrows)) disposed adjacent to the outer vane platform, a second case portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second case portion (denoted by the bottom dotted line with arrows)) that is disposed adjacent to the inner vane platform, and a strut (The strut between the first and second case portions) extending between the first case portion and the second case portion, the strut defining a leading surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled leading surface) of the strut towards a trailing surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled trailing surface);
and an inlet (The portion Figure 3; 96 feeding Annotated Figure 3, labeled passageway (denoted by dashed lines with arrows));
the strut defining a passageway (Annotated Figure 3, labeled passageway (denoted by dashed lines with arrows)) that extends from the inlet through the second case portion along a second axis (The vertical axis along which the passageway extends and is perpendicular to Figure 3; 12) that is disposed transverse to the central longitudinal axis,
a tangential air injection system (Annotated Figure 3; labeled injector (denoted by solid lines), body (denoted by dotted lines), feed passage (denoted by a solid line with an arrow)) that extends between and is connected to the inner vane platform and the second case portion, the tangential air injection system having an injector (Annotated Figure 3; labeled injector) that is connected to the inner vane platform and a body (Annotated Figure 3; labeled body) that extends between the injector and the second case portion,
a feed passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled feed passage (denoted by a solid line with an arrow)) defined between the body and the second case portion, the feed passage extending axially forward from the passageway (The feed passage extends axially forward from the passageway), the passage being fluidly connected to the injector and the passageway, and
wherein a recirculation circuit (The flow through Figure 3; 96, 92 and the gap between Figure 3, 94 and 72, and back into 44) flows through the passageway, through the feed passage, through the injector, and towards a leading edge (The leading edge of Figure 3; 70) of the airfoil, the recirculation circuit routes a cooler gas flow path (The cooler gas flow path that the recirculation circuit routes) toward a region (The region between Figure 2; 112 and 70, see Figure 3 arrows) between the airfoil of the guide vane and a blade of a rotor of the gas turbine engine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Suciu wherein the vane strut is an airfoil; a tangential air injection system that extends between and is connected to the inner vane platform and the second case portion, the tangential air injection system having an injector that is connected to the inner vane platform and a body that extends between the injector and the second case portion; and a feed passage defined between the body and the second case portion, the feed passage extending axially forward from the passageway, the passage being fluidly connected to the injector and the passageway, and 4wherein a recirculation circuit through the feed passage, through the injector, and towards a leading edge of the airfoil, the recirculation circuit routes a cooler gas flow path toward a region between the airfoil of the guide vane and a blade of a rotor of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Ackermann because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Ackermann’s use of an stator vane airfoil and use of a tangential onboard injection system to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Suciu’s guide vane and gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case guiding the core air and providing cooling air with a tangential velocity component, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes the vane strut of Suciu an airfoil and uses the tangential onboard injection system of Ackermann in Suciu).
Regarding claim 19, Suciu discloses a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 20. For clarification, the prior art teaches Fig. 5 with cooling the compressor as in Fig. 13. Paragraph 0096) having a central longitudinal axis (The dashed dotted line of Figure 1 which is Figure 2; A. Paragraph 0046), comprising:
a compressor section (Figure 1; 24), arranged about the central longitudinal axis, and an integrally formed cooling system arranged to provide a recirculation circuit (The circuit shown by the arrows of Figure 13), the compressor section comprising:
a plurality of blades (Annotated Figure 13; labeled blades) radially extending from and secured to a rotor (Annotated Figure 13; labeled rotor),
a guide vane (Annotated Figure 13; labeled vane. Also, see claim 14.) disposed axially downstream of the plurality of blades, the guide vane having an outer vane platform (Annotated Figure 13; labeled outer vane platform), an inner vane platform (Annotated Figure 13; labeled inner vane platform), the inner vane platform being spaced apart from the rotor along the central longitudinal axis such that a gap (Annotated Figure 13; labeled gap) is disposed between the inner vane platform and the rotor,
a diffuser case (Figure 3; 102, 104, 106) disposed axially downstream of the guide vane, the diffuser case having a first case portion (Figure 3; 104) that is disposed adjacent to the outer vane platform, a second case portion (Figure 3; 106) that is disposed adjacent to the inner vane platform, and a strut (Figure 3; 102) radially extending between the first case portion and the second case portion, the strut defining an inlet that is radially aligned with a mid- point (Paragraph 0062. The inlet being at the exact middle of the diffuser strut places the inlet at the middle of an annular flow passage for a core flow through the compressor which is aligned to the mid-point of the vane strut) of the guide vane and that extends from a leading surface (Annotated Figure 7; labeled leading surface as applied to Figure 5. Paragraph 0066) of the strut towards a trailing surface (Figure 7; 120 as applied to Figure 5) of the strut along a first axis (The horizontal axis of Figure 5; 112) that is disposed generally parallel to the central longitudinal axis, the strut further defining a passageway (Figure 7; 114. Figure 5 shows 114 extending radially inward from the inlet) that extends from the inlet through the second case portion along a second axis (The vertical axis along which the passageway extends and is perpendicular to Figure 5; A) that is disposed transverse to the central longitudinal axis, and
wherein the recirculation circuit is defined along an airflow path (The airflow path through the compressor) that routes a portion of a central airflow along a stream line (The portion of the central airflow along a stream that feeds the recirculation circuit) from an aft portion (The aft portion where Annotated Figure 7; labeled inlet as applied to Figure 5 is located. Paragraph 0066) of the compressor section towards a more forward portion (The gap between the Annotated Figure 13; blades and vanes where the air from the recirculation circuit is discharged) of the compressor section, thereby defining an airflow path (The airflow path described immediately after) that flows along the mid-point of the guide vane, through a mid-flow area (The mid-flow area of the compressor), through the inlet of the strut, and through the gap to redirect a cooling air stream (The cooling air stream back towards the aft portion of the blade) back towards a forward portion of the guide vane (The forward portion of the guide vane) and/or an aft portion (The aft portion of Annotated Figure 13; labeled blade) of the blade and the rotor (See Figure 13), and
wherein the strut includes a pair of side surfaces (The side surfaces from Annotated Figure 7; labeled leading surface to 120) that extend between the leading surface and the trailing surface, a diffuser cavity (Annotated Figure 13; labeled diffuser cavity) is defined between the leading surface, the guide vane, and portions of the first case portion, the outer vane platform, the inner vane platform, and the second case portion (The portions of the first case portion, the outer vane platform, the inner vane platform, and the second case portion that defined the diffuser cavity);
wherein the inlet is disposed between the pair of side surfaces (The inlet is between Figure 7; 122 and 124 each of which is part of a respective side surface).
Suciu does not teach an airfoil extending between the outer vane platform and the inner vane platform
a mid-point of the airfoil of the guide vane
a tangential air injection system that extends between and is connected to the inner vane platform and the second case portion, the tangential air injection system including an injector, a body, and a feed passage, wherein the injector is disposed radially between the inner vane platform and the central longitudinal axis and connected to the inner vane platform and the body that extends between the injector and the second case portion, the injector extending towards the gap, and wherein the feed passage is defined between the body and the second case portion, the feed passage being fluidly connected to the injection and the passageway, and the injector being configured to inject cooling air received through the feed passage into or towards the gap,
an airflow path that flows through the inlet of the strut, through the passageway, through the feed passage, through the injector, and through the gap to redirect a cooling air stream back towards a forward portion of the airfoil of the guide vane and/or an aft portion of the blade and the rotor, and
a diffuser cavity is defined by the airfoil.
However, Ackermann teaches a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) having a central longitudinal axis (Figure 1; 12), comprising:
a compressor section (Figure 1; 19) arranged about the central longitudinal axis, and an integrally formed cooling system (Annotated Figure 3; labeled injector (denoted by solid lines), body (denoted by dotted lines), feed passage (denoted by a solid line with an arrow), and the flow through Figure 3; 96, 92 and the gap between Figure 3, 94 and 72, and back into 44) arranged to provide a recirculation circuit (The flow through Figure 3; 96, 92 and the gap between Figure 3, 94 and 72, and back into 44), the compressor section comprising:
a plurality of blades (Figure 3; 112) radially extending from and secured to a rotor (The structure radially inwards of Figure 3; 112 which includes 94),,
a guide vane (Figure 3; 70) disposed axially downstream of the plurality of blades, the guide vane having an outer vane platform (Figure 3; 74), an inner vane platform (Figure 3; 72), and an airfoil (The airfoil of Figure 3; 70. Paragraph 0045) extending between the outer vane platform and the inner vane platform, the inner vane platform being spaced apart from the rotor along the central longitudinal axis such that a gap (Annotated Figure 3; labeled gap) is disposed between the inner vane platform and the rotor,
a diffuser case (Figure 3; 50) disposed axially downstream of the guide vane, the diffuser case having a first case portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled first case portion (denoted by the top dotted line with arrows)) that is disposed adjacent to the outer vane platform, a second case portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second case portion (denoted by the bottom dotted line with arrows)) that is disposed adjacent to the inner vane platform, and a strut (The strut between the first and second case portions) radially extending between the first case portion and the second case portion, and
a tangential air injection system (Annotated Figure 3; labeled injector (denoted by solid lines), body (denoted by dotted lines), feed passage (denoted by a solid line with an arrow)) that extends between and is connected to the inner vane platform and the second case portion, the tangential air injection system (Annotated Figure 3; labeled injector (denoted by solid lines), body (denoted by dotted lines), feed passage (denoted by a solid line with an arrow)) including an injector (Annotated Figure 3; labeled injector (denoted by solid lines)), a body (Annotated Figure 3; labeled body (denoted by dotted lines)), and a feed passage (Annotated Figure 3; feed passage (denoted by a solid line with an arrow)), wherein the injector is disposed radially between the inner vane platform and the central longitudinal axis and connected to the inner vane platform (The injector is connected to the inner platform through the body) and the body that extends between the injector and the second case portion, the injector extending towards the gap, and wherein the feed passage is defined between the body and the second case portion, the feed passage being fluidly connected to the injector and the passageway, and the injector being configured to inject cooling air (The cooling air received through the feed passage into or towards the gap) received through the feed passage into or towards the gap,
wherein the recirculation circuit defining an airflow path (The airflow path through the following components) through the passageway, through the feed passage, through the injector, and through the gap to redirect a cooling air stream back towards a forward portion of the airfoil of the guide vane and/or an aft portion of the blade and the rotor (The cooling air stream is directed towards a forward portion of the airfoil and/or an aft portion of the blade, see Figure 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Suciu to include an airfoil extending between the outer vane platform and the inner vane platform, a mid-point of the airfoil of the guide vane, a tangential air injection system that extends between and is connected to the inner vane platform and the second case portion, the tangential air injection system including an injector, a body, and a feed passage, wherein the injector is disposed radially between the inner vane platform and the central longitudinal axis and connected to the inner vane platform and the body that extends between the injector and the second case portion, the injector extending towards the gap, and wherein the feed passage is defined between the body and the second case portion, the feed passage being fluidly connected to the injection and the passageway, and the injector being configured to inject cooling air received through the feed passage into or towards the gap, an airflow path that flows through the inlet of the strut, through the passageway, through the feed passage, through the injector, and through the gap to redirect a cooling air stream back towards a forward portion of the airfoil of the guide vane and/or an aft portion of the blade and the rotor as taught by and suggested by Ackermann because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Ackermann’s use of an stator vane airfoil and use of a tangential onboard injection system to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Suciu’s guide vane and gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case guiding the core air and providing cooling air with a tangential velocity component, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes the vane strut of Suciu an airfoil and uses the tangential onboard injection system of Ackermann in Suciu).
It is herein asserted that the combined invention of Suciu in view of Ackermann has a mid-point of the airfoil of the guide vane and a diffuser cavity is defined by the airfoil because the guide vane of Suciu has an inlet at the mid-point and defines a diffuser cavity, so that by making the guide vane of Suciu into an airfoil, as taught by Ackermann, has the airfoil having an inlet at the mid-point and defines a diffuser cavity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the prior art does not disclose the inlet disposed between the pair of side surfaces. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in this OA, Suciu discloses the disputed claim limitations. Furthermore, this argument is conclusory and thus, not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Varney (US 20200011199 as referenced in OA dated 5/5/2021) states in Paragraph 0029 that vanes are airfoils.
Watson (US 20180119619 as referenced in OA dated 5/5/2021) states in Paragraph 0022 that compressors are made of airfoil stator vanes and airfoil rotor blades.
Maier et al (US 4822244 as referenced in OA dated 5/5/2021) states in Column 2, line 35-40 that a TOBI directs air tangentially at a velocity substantially equal to the rotor and in Column 1, line 34-36 that a TOBI optimizes the use of cooling air.
Levine (US 4435123 as referenced in OA dated 5/5/2021) states in Column 1, line 48-53 that a TOBI provides effective and uniform delivery of air for cooling.
Kernon (US 5224819 as referenced in OA dated 5/30/2025) shows an inlet for cooling purposes extending through the leading surface of a diffuser.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741