DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on Feb. 4th 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 20170179299) in view of COQUAND et al. (US 20190198616) and Cheng et al. (US 20200027959).
Regarding claim 1, Bae teaches an integrated circuit structure (Abstract), comprising:
an insulator layer (fig. 3 and 7, planar insulating layer 110 or 210; para. 0059) above a substrate (substrate 101; para. 0031);
a vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (fig. 3, nanosheets 120 with first and second nanosheets 121 and 122; para. 0038) over the insulator layer (110);
a pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (source/ drain regions 104 and 105 using a selective epitaxial growth (SEG); para. 0055, 0077) at first and second ends of the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (fig. 3, 104 and 105 at the left and right ends of 121 and 122) and on the insulator layer (110); and
a gate stack (gate electrode 130, gate insulating layer 135; para. 0026) surrounding a channel region (120 provide channel regions CH; para. 0038) of the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (120), the gate stack comprising a high-k dielectric layer (gate insulating layer 135; para. 0026) continuous with and having a same composition as the insulator layer (planar insulating layer 110 may include a high dielectric constant material and the planar insulating layer 110 and the gate insulating layer 135 may be formed through a single manufacturing process; para. 0032, 0046);
a gate spacer (spacers 140; para. 0026) along sides of the gate stack (130, 135).
Bae fails to teach the gate spacer vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures.
However, COQUAND teaches the gate spacer (COQUAND: fig. 12, external dielectric spacers 110; para. 0062, similar to top 140 of Bae) vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (COQUAND: electrically conductive portions 120 form part of the source and drain regions; para. 0070, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the gate spacer vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures as taught by COQUAND.
Doing so would realize contact surface area between the source and drain regions and the channel is greater to reduce the contact electrical resistance between the source and drain regions and the transistor channel (COQUAND: para. 0010).
In addition, Bae in view of COQUAND fails to teach the insulator layer extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures;
an isolation structure on a top surface of the insulator layer at a side of one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures opposite the gate stack, wherein the isolation structure is a single continuous isolation structure, the isolation structure in direct contact with the side of the one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures.
However, Cheng teaches the insulator layer (Cheng: fig. 14, buried oxide (BOX) layer 14 as insulator; para. 0047, similar to 210/110 of Bae) extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: beyond outermost sides of source or drain region 28; para. 0055, similar to 104/105 of Bae);
an isolation structure (Cheng: interlevel dielectric (ILD) 30; para. 0055) on a top surface of the insulator layer (Cheng: top surface of 14) at a side (outer side) of one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: 28) opposite the gate stack (Cheng: opposite to inner side of gate dielectric 34 and gate conductor 36; para. 0058), wherein the isolation structure (Cheng: 30) is a single continuous isolation structure (Cheng: 30 is a single continuous isolation structure), the isolation structure (Cheng: 30) in direct contact with the side (outer side) of the one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: 28).
Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of the insulator layer extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures and an isolation structure on the insulator layer as taught by Cheng.
Doing so would realize an interlevel dielectric structure to improve electrical isolation between S/D and substrate and improve lateral electrically isolate of adjacent S/D structures (Cheng: para. 0035).
Regarding claim 4, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the insulator layer (Bae: fig. 5, 110) is on a sub-fin (Bae: sub-fin of 101), the sub-fin above or on the substrate (Bae: 101).
Regarding claim 5, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (Bae: fig. 3, 120) comprises silicon (Bae: nanosheets 120 may include Si; para. 0079).
Regarding claim 6, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig. 3, 104, 105) is a pair of non-discrete epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: 104, 105 are non-discrete epitaxial source or drain continuous from the ends of each nanowires 120).
Regarding claim 7, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the gate stack (Bae: fig. 3, 130) comprises a metal gate electrode (Bae: gate electrode 130 may be formed of a metal; para. 0026).
Regarding claim 10, Bae teaches an integrated circuit structure (Abstract), comprising:
a vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (fig. 3, nanosheets 120 with first and second nanosheets 121 and 122; para. 0038) above a substrate (substrate 101; para. 0031);
a gate stack (gate electrode 130, gate insulating layer 135 and planar insulating layer 110; para. 0026, 0031) surrounding a channel region (120 provide channel regions CH; para. 0038) of the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires, the gate stack comprising a high-k dielectric layer (gate insulating layer 135 and planar insulating layer 110, planar insulating layer 110 may include a high dielectric constant material and the planar insulating layer 110 and the gate insulating layer 135 may be formed through a single manufacturing process; para. 0032, 0046; para. 0026) having a lowermost portion (fig. 3 and 7, planar insulating layer 110 or 210; para. 0059) extending laterally beyond first and second ends of the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (fig. 3, 110 laterally beyond left and right ends of 120); and
a pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (source/ drain regions 104 and 105 using a selective epitaxial growth (SEG); para. 0055, 0077) at the first and second ends of the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (fig. 3, 104 and 105 at the left and right ends of 121 and 122) and on the lowermost portion of the high-k dielectric layer (110) of the gate stack (130, 135, 110);
a gate spacer (spacers 140; para. 0026) along sides of the gate stack (130, 135).
Bae fails to teach the gate spacer vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures.
However, COQUAND teaches the gate spacer (COQUAND: fig. 12, external dielectric spacers 110; para. 0062, similar to top 140 of Bae) vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (COQUAND: electrically conductive portions 120 form part of the source and drain regions; para. 0070, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the gate spacer vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures as taught by COQUAND.
Doing so would realize contact surface area between the source and drain regions and the channel is greater to reduce the contact electrical resistance between the source and drain regions and the transistor channel (COQUAND: para. 0010).
In addition, In addition, Bae in view of COQUAND fails to teach the lowermost portion of the high-k dielectric layer of the gate stack extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures;
an isolation structure on a top surface of the lowermost portion of the high-k dielectric layer of the gate stack at a side of one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures opposite the gate stack, wherein the isolation structure is a single continuous isolation structure, the isolation structure in direct contact with the side of the one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures.
However, Cheng teaches the lowermost portion of the high-k dielectric layer (Cheng: fig. 14, buried oxide (BOX) layer 14 as insulator; para. 0047, similar to 210/110 of Bae) of the gate stack (Cheng: gate dielectric 34, gate conductor 36; para. 0058, similar to 130, 135 of Bae) extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: beyond outermost sides of source or drain region 28; para. 0055, similar to 104/105 of Bae);
an isolation structure (Cheng: interlevel dielectric (ILD) 30; para. 0055) on a top surface of the lowermost portion of the high-k dielectric layer (Cheng: top surface of 14) of the gate stack (Cheng: 34, 36) at a side (outer side) of one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: 28) opposite the gate stack (Cheng: opposite to inner side of gate dielectric 34 and gate conductor 36; para. 0058), wherein the isolation structure (Cheng: 30) is a single continuous isolation structure (Cheng: 30 is a single continuous isolation structure), the isolation structure (Cheng: 30) in direct contact with the side (outer side) of the one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: 28).
Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of the insulator layer extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures and an isolation structure on the insulator layer as taught by Cheng.
Doing so would realize an interlevel dielectric structure to improve electrical isolation between S/D and substrate and improve lateral electrically isolate of adjacent S/D structures (Cheng: para. 0035).
Regarding claim 13, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 10, wherein the insulator layer (Bae: fig. 5, 110) is on a sub-fin (Bae: sub-fin of 101), the sub-fin above or on the substrate (Bae: 101).
Regarding claim 14, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 10, wherein the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (Bae: fig. 3, 120) comprises silicon (Bae: nanosheets 120 may include Si; para. 0079).
Regarding claim 15, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 10, wherein the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig. 3, 104, 105) is a pair of non-discrete epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: 104, 105 are non-discrete epitaxial source or drain continuous from the ends of each nanowires 120).
Regarding claim 16, Bae teaches a computing device (fig. 56, electronic device 2000; para. 0102), comprising:
a board (fig. 56, dash lines indicate a board for units of electronic device 2000; para. 0102); and
a component (memory 2040 and processor 2050 may include one or more semiconductor devices; para. 0105) coupled to the board (2000), the component including an integrated circuit structure (semiconductor devices; Abstract), comprising:
an insulator layer (fig. 3 and 7, planar insulating layer 110 or 210; para. 0059) above a substrate (substrate 100; para. 0067);
a vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (fig. 3, nanosheets 120 with first and second nanosheets 121 and 122; para. 0038) over the insulator layer (110;
a pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (source/ drain regions 104 and 105 using a selective epitaxial growth (SEG); para. 0055, 0077) at first and second ends of the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires (fig. 3, 104 and 105 at the left and right ends of 121 and 122) and on the insulator layer (110); and
a gate stack (gate electrode 130, gate insulating layer 135; para. 0026) surrounding a channel region (120 provide channel regions CH; para. 0038) of the vertical arrangement of horizontal semiconductor nanowires, the gate stack comprising a high-k dielectric layer (gate insulating layer 135; para. 0026) continuous with and having a same composition as the insulator layer (planar insulating layer 110 may include a high dielectric constant material and the planar insulating layer 110 and the gate insulating layer 135 may be formed through a single manufacturing process; para. 0032, 0046);
a gate spacer (spacers 140; para. 0026) along sides of the gate stack (130, 135).
Bae fails to teach the gate spacer vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures.
However, COQUAND teaches the gate spacer (COQUAND: fig. 12, external dielectric spacers 110; para. 0062, similar to top 140 of Bae) vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (COQUAND: electrically conductive portions 120 form part of the source and drain regions; para. 0070, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the gate spacer vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures as taught by COQUAND.
Doing so would realize contact surface area between the source and drain regions and the channel is greater to reduce the contact electrical resistance between the source and drain regions and the transistor channel (COQUAND: para. 0010).
In addition, Bae in view of COQUAND fails to teach the insulator layer extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures;
an isolation structure on a top surface of the insulator layer at a side of one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures opposite the gate stack, wherein the isolation structure is a single continuous isolation structure, the isolation structure in direct contact with the side of the one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures.
However, Cheng teaches the insulator layer (Cheng: fig. 14, buried oxide (BOX) layer 14 as insulator; para. 0047, similar to 210/110 of Bae) extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: beyond outermost sides of source or drain region 28; para. 0055, similar to 104/105 of Bae);
an isolation structure (Cheng: interlevel dielectric (ILD) 30; para. 0055) on a top surface of the insulator layer (Cheng: top surface of 14) at a side (outer side) of one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: 28) opposite the gate stack (Cheng: opposite to inner side of gate dielectric 34 and gate conductor 36; para. 0058), wherein the isolation structure (Cheng: 30) is a single continuous isolation structure (Cheng: 30 is a single continuous isolation structure), the isolation structure (Cheng: 30) in direct contact with the side (outer side) of the one of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Cheng: 28).
Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of the insulator layer extends laterally beyond outermost sides of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures and an isolation structure on the insulator layer as taught by Cheng.
Doing so would realize an interlevel dielectric structure to improve electrical isolation between S/D and substrate and improve lateral electrically isolate of adjacent S/D structures (Cheng: para. 0035).
Regarding claim 17, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the computing device of claim 16, further comprising: a memory (Bae: fig. 56, memory 2040; para. 0102) coupled to the board (Bae: 2000).
Regarding claim 18, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the computing device of claim 16, further comprising: a communication chip (Bae: fig. 56, communications unit 2010; para. 0102) coupled to the board (Bae: 2000).
Regarding claim 20, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng further teaches the computing device of claim 16, wherein the component (Bae: fig. 56, memory 2040 and processor 2050 may include one or more semiconductor devices; para. 0105) is selected from the group consisting of a processor (Bae: processor 2050; para. 0102), a communications chip (Bae: 2010), and a digital signal processor (Bae: output unit 2030 may output information in a form of audio or video; para. 0102).
Claims 2-3, 8-9, 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng as applied to claim 1, 10 or 16 above, and further in view of Suh et al. (US 20170222006).
Regarding claim 2, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1 including the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig. 3, 104, 105)
Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng fails to explicitly teach epitaxial source or drain structure has a compressed lattice.
However, Suh teaches epitaxial source or drain structure has a compressed lattice (Suh: semiconductor pattern 161 may be used as a source/drain region and comprise a compressive stress material having a larger lattice constant than Si, such as SiGe; para. 0061, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
Suh, Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of epitaxial source or drain structure has a compressed lattice as taught by Suh.
Doing so would realize compressive stress material, which may improve the mobility of carriers in a channel region and improve device performance (Suh: para. 0061).
Regarding claim 3, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1 including the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig. 3, 104, 105)
Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng fails to explicitly teach epitaxial source or drain structures has an expanded lattice.
However, Suh teaches epitaxial source or drain structures has an expanded lattice (Suh: semiconductor pattern 161 may be used as a source/drain region and comprise a tensile stress material having a smaller lattice constant than Si, like SiC; para. 0062, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
Suh, Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of epitaxial source or drain structure has a has an expanded lattice as taught by Suh.
Doing so would realize tensile stress for NMOS devices similar to compressive stress for PMOS devices, which may improve the mobility of carriers in a channel region and improve device performance (Suh: para. 0061, 0062).
Regarding claim 8, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1 including the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig.3, 104, 105).
Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng fails to teach the semiconductor material of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures is silicon.
However, Suh teaches the semiconductor material of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures is silicon (Suh: semiconductor pattern 161 may be used as a source/drain region and comprise a tensile stress material and may comprise Si; para. 0062, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
Suh, Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of the semiconductor material of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures is silicon as taught by Suh.
Doing so would realize tensile stress for NMOS devices similar to compressive stress for PMOS devices, which may improve the mobility of carriers in a channel region and improve device performance (Suh: para. 0061, 0062).
Regarding claim 9, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1 including the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig.3, 104, 105).
Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng fails to teach the semiconductor material of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures is silicon germanium.
However, Suh teaches the semiconductor material of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures is silicon germanium (Suh: semiconductor pattern 161 may be used as a source/drain region and comprise a compressive stress material having a larger lattice constant than Si, such as SiGe; para. 0061, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
Suh, Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of the semiconductor material of the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures is silicon germanium as taught by Suh.
Doing so would realize compressive stress material, which may improve the mobility of carriers in a channel region and improve device performance (Suh: para. 0061).
Regarding claim 11, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 10 including the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig. 3, 104, 105)
Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng fails to explicitly teach epitaxial source or drain structure has a compressed lattice.
However, Suh teaches epitaxial source or drain structure has a compressed lattice (Suh: semiconductor pattern 161 may be used as a source/drain region and comprise a compressive stress material having a larger lattice constant than Si, such as SiGe; para. 0061, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
Suh, Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of epitaxial source or drain structure has a compressed lattice as taught by Suh.
Doing so would realize compressive stress material, which may improve the mobility of carriers in a channel region and improve device performance (Suh: para. 0061).
Regarding claim 12, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 10 including the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures (Bae: fig. 3, 104, 105)
Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng fails to explicitly teach epitaxial source or drain structures has an expanded lattice.
However, Suh teaches epitaxial source or drain structures has an expanded lattice (Suh: semiconductor pattern 161 may be used as a source/drain region and comprise a tensile stress material having a smaller lattice constant than Si, like SiC; para. 0062, similar to 104, 105 of Bae).
Suh, Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of epitaxial source or drain structure has a has an expanded lattice as taught by Suh.
Doing so would realize tensile stress for NMOS devices similar to compressive stress for PMOS devices, which may improve the mobility of carriers in a channel region and improve device performance (Suh: para. 0061, 0062).
Regarding claim 19, Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng teaches the computing device of claim 16 including the component (Bae: fig. 56, memory 2040 and processor 2050 may include one or more semiconductor devices; para. 0105).
Bae in view of COQUAND and Cheng fails to explicitly teach the component is a packaged integrated circuit die.
However, Suh teaches the component (Suh: fig. 34, DRAM 1060 and the application processor 1001; para. 0213, similar to 2040 and 2050 of Bae) is a packaged integrated circuit die (Suh: DRAM 1060 and the application processor 1001 may be packaged together in the form of a Package-on-Package; para. 0213).
Suh, Cheng, COQUAND and Bae are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanosheet devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the detail of the component as a packaged integrated circuit die as taught by Suh.
Doing so would realize memory and processor be packaged together in the form of a Package-on-Package (POP), which allows higher component density in devices (Suh: para. 0213).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song et al. (US 20190096996) teaches the gate spacer vertically overlapping with the pair of epitaxial source or drain structures.
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818