DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elastomeric needle shield positioned within the skin facing protrusion outwardly of the circumferential base portion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. It is not clear where the specification discloses an elastomeric needle shield positioned within the skin facing protrusion outwardly of the circumferential base portion. Applicant has not indicated in the remarks where support for the amendments can be found and it is not immediately evident from the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wall (US 2004/0116847 A1) in view of Gross et al. (US 5,527,288), Hadvary et al. (US 2013/0324884 A1), and Hessel (US 4,769,008).
With regard to claim 1, Wall teaches a medical fluid injection device that may be adhered to the skin of a patient, the device including: a housing including a skin-facing surface and upper and lower housing portions with the lower housing portion including the skin-facing surface (Fig. 1d member 10, the lower housing is taken as the lower half of the housing and the upper housing is the upper half of the housing); a medical fluid reservoir defined by an expandable elastomeric bladder having a fixed proximal end, a distal end and a bladder wall extending between the proximal and the distal end where the bladder is elongated between the proximal and distal ends and is expandable upon the pressurized introduction of medical fluid thereinto, an elastic force in the bladder wall of the elastomeric bladder solely, when the elastomeric bladder is expanded solely exerting a uniform pressure force on the medical fluid there within as the distal end of the bladder moves towards the proximal end (Figs. 1b-1d member 60, the proximal end facing the skin is fixed the opposing distal end 61 moves toward the proximal end [0061], the bladder is elongated between the proximal and distal ends as it extends the length between these ends, [0068] details the reservoir can be made of a material which contracts to reduce the volume, [0084] discloses that if a spring is used a constant force is applied for a constant rate which is interpreted as uniform pressure force, [0104] discloses various force means may be used/combined, the bladder is in contract with the fluid and is what is solely transferring pressure); an injection needle including an injection end movable between a retracted position within the housing and an injection position extending through the skin facing surface of the housing for injection into a patient, the needle being in fluid communication with the bladder in the injection position (Figs. 2a and 2e member 40).
Wall does not disclose a protrusion surrounded by a remaining portion of the skin-facing surface and including a circumferential base portion tapering away from the remaining portion of the skin-facing surface in a direction radially inwards towards the injection needle. However, Gross et al. teach a protrusion as recited (see Reference Figure 1 below), on an adhesively attached surface, which is beneficial for counter-acting the natural resilience of the skin to allow for better penetration (abstract, Col. 10 lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a protrusion with a circumferential base in Wall as Gross et al. teach this is beneficial for stretching the skin to aid in penetration.
Wall does not disclose the remaining portion of the skin-facing surface includes a circumferential edge that is tapered or curved toward the upper housing. However, Gross et al. teach the remainder of the skin-facing surface may be curved toward the upper housing for counter-acting the natural resilience of the skin to allow for better penetration (Fig. 10, surface 104, Col. 10 lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a curved skin-facing surface in Wall as Gross et al. teach this is beneficial for enhancing penetration. Further, one of ordinary skill would combine both the embodiments of Figs. 10 and 11 since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009. This would enhance penetration further by enhancing the stretching.
Wall does not disclose an elastomeric needle shield. However, Hadvary et al. teach an elastomeric seal within a skin facing protrusion within which an injection needle is embedded prior to use which would prevent leaking and accidental needle sticks (Fig. 3 member 18, [0046], [0049]). Such a seal would also necessarily enhance sterility. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a shield in Wall as in Hadvary et al. as this would close the end of the needle to prevent leakage and would necessarily enhance sterility. As combined the protrusion extends from the skin-facing surface of the wall, a septum seal as in Hadvary et al. is placed within the opening of the protrusion and extends into the opening above the wall, this places it outward of the circumferential base as it is above the base. The device would still be able to operate to provide delivery.
Wall does not disclose an inner plug in the expandable blader with a larger diameter to pre-stress the blader. However, Hessel teaches pressurized fluid dispensing with a bladder which pre-stresses the bladder so that constant pressure is provided during delivery to reliably delivery contents at a substantially constant flow rate (Col. 1 lines 10-26, 48-60, Fig. 2 plug 4 bladder 2). Additionally, Gross et al. teach using just a pre-stressed bladder in place of a bladder and spring (Col. 9 lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pre-stressed bladder in place of the bladder and spring of Wall as Hessel teaches this is beneficial for providing constant pressure for a constant flow rate and Gross et al. teach such to be equivalent. This would yield the same predictable result of delivery.
With regard to claims 2-5, see Fig. 1b and exemplary Fig. 5 releasable member 120, adhesive portions 122 and 127, cover 129, 122 is pierced by the needle and remains on the skin ([0131], [0143], [0144]). This would be placed over the protrusion provided by the combination above.
Claims 7-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wall (US 2004/0116847 A1) in view of Gross et al. (US 5,527,288), and Hadvary et al. (US 2013/0324884 A1).
With regard to claim 7, Wall teaches a medical fluid injection device that may be adhered to the skin of a patient, the device including: a housing including a skin-facing surface and upper and lower housing portions with the lower housing portion including the skin-facing surface (Fig. 1d member 10, the lower housing is taken as the lower half of the housing and the upper housing is the upper half of the housing); a medical fluid reservoir defined by an expandable elastomeric bladder having a fixed proximal end, a distal end and a bladder wall extending between the proximal and the distal end where the bladder is elongated between the proximal and distal ends and is expandable upon the pressurized introduction of medical fluid thereinto, an elastic force in the bladder wall of the elastomeric bladder solely, when the elastomeric bladder is expanded solely exerting a uniform pressure force on the medical fluid there within as the distal end of the bladder moves towards the proximal end (Figs. 1b-1d member 60, the proximal end facing the skin is fixed the opposing distal end 61 moves toward the proximal end [0061], the bladder is elongated between the proximal and distal ends as it extends the length between these ends, [0068] details the reservoir can be made of a material which contracts to reduce the volume, [0084] discloses that if a spring is used a constant force is applied for a constant rate which is interpreted as uniform pressure force, [0104] discloses various force means may be used/combined, the bladder is in contract with the fluid and is what is solely transferring pressure); an injection needle including an injection end movable between a retracted position within the housing and an injection position extending through the skin facing surface of the housing for injection into a patient, the needle being in fluid communication with the bladder in the injection position (Figs. 2a and 2e member 40).
Wall does not disclose a protrusion surrounded by a remaining portion of the skin-facing surface and including a circumferential base portion tapering away from the remaining portion of the skin-facing surface in a direction radially inwards towards the injection needle. However, Gross et al. teach a protrusion as recited (see Reference Figure 1 above), on an adhesively attached surface, which is beneficial for counter-acting the natural resilience of the skin to allow for better penetration (abstract, Col. 10 lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a protrusion with a circumferential base in Wall as Gross et al. teach this is beneficial for stretching the skin to aid in penetration.
Wall does not disclose the remaining portion of the skin-facing surface includes a circumferential edge that is tapered or curved toward the upper housing. However, Gross et al. teach the remainder of the skin-facing surface may be curved toward the upper housing for counter-acting the natural resilience of the skin to allow for better penetration (Fig. 10, surface 104, Col. 10 lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a curved skin-facing surface in Wall as Gross et al. teach this is beneficial for enhancing penetration. Further, one of ordinary skill would combine both the embodiments of Figs. 10 and 11 since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009. This would enhance penetration further by enhancing the stretching.
Wall does not disclose an elastomeric needle shield. However, Hadvary et al. teach an elastomeric seal within a skin facing protrusion within which an injection needle is embedded prior to use which would prevent leaking and accidental needle sticks (Fig. 3 member 18, [0046], [0049]). Such a seal would also necessarily enhance sterility. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a shield in Wall as in Hadvary et al. as this would close the end of the needle to prevent leakage and would necessarily enhance sterility. As combined the protrusion extends from the skin-facing surface of the wall, a septum seal as in Hadvary et al. is placed within the opening of the protrusion and extends into the opening above the wall, this places it outward of the circumferential base as it is above the base. The device would still be able to operate to provide delivery.
If Wall is not found to teach the expandable elastomeric bladder to provide force as claimed, additionally, Gross et al. teach using just a pre-stressed bladder in place of a bladder and spring (Col. 9 lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pre-stressed bladder in place of the bladder and spring of Wall as Gross et al. teach such to be equivalent. This would yield the same predictable result of delivery.
With regard to claims 8-11, see Fig. 1b and exemplary Fig. 5 releasable member 120, adhesive portions 122 and 127, cover 129, 122 is pierced by the needle and remains on the skin ([0131], [0143], [0144]). This would be placed over the protrusion provided by the combination above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The references of record are relied upon to teach the new limitations as rejected above. The Examiner notes previously the bladder of Wall was combined with Hessel and the spring was substituted out. As noted in the 112 rejection it is not clear how the shield extends outwardly of the base. As combined and rejected above the seal would extend into the housing and is thus outward of the base.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783