DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or moot.
The Applicant argues on page 7 of Applicant’s remarks that “First, the office action (page 5) asserts that because Kobayashi "discloses the ships motor being electric", Kobayashi is construed as if its power source has a finite capacity. This is incorrect. Kobayashi discloses system that "generates power according to demand" (see e.g., para. [0002]). Other paragraphs also refer to power generation models (e.g., para. [0041]). Kobayashi is not concerned with recommending or automatically changing power usage to ensure that any finite power source is not depleted, and rather, generates whatever power is needed.”, and page 8 of the Applicant’s remarks that “For at least this reason, the applicant respectfully asserts that Kobayashi fails to disclose a system having a power source with finite capacity, as asserted in the office action, and therefore the office action does not provide a prima facie case to reject the claims under § 103.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kobayashi teaches that the main engine of the ship is an electric motor (See at least Para [0024] “…The ship 100 is assumed to be a ship whose main engine is an electric motor.”, Para [0050] “…The ship 100 is assumed to be a ship whose main machine is an electric motor…”). Since the motor is electric according to Kobayashi, the power source should be finite. Fuel is used to generate power (See Kobayashi at least Para [0041] “…it uses the power generation model to generate the best power generation efficiency for the requested (predicted) power generation engine (Fig. The combination of the operating states (not shown) and the (power generation) fuel consumption by the combination are calculated…”) as mentioned in the specification of the instant application (See at least Para [0031] “…To support these systems there is often a fuel-based generator installed that provides power to the system and also recharges energy storage systems, such as batteries. These marine vessels often include large fuel tanks such that the generators can last a very long time, providing the power necessary to run all onboard devices and maintain a charge in the supplemental batteries, thereby negating the need for closely monitoring energy consumption by any of the devices onboard. It will be recognized that with respect to generators, this may include power generated by an engine and accompanying alternator as previously discussed, and/or the use of external generators 93 (FIGURE 1) for producing electricity through the consumption of fuel, such as gasoline…”). The claims are interpreted in light of the specification. Kobayashi depends on Hakimi-Boushehri in the rejection for the teachings of recommending or automatically changing power usage to ensure that any finite power source is not depleted (See at least Para [0015] “… This observation can be exploited when defining the overall energy consumption and when adjusting the energy balance or energy distribution between the consuming devices.”, Para [0020] “…During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached…”).
Also, the Applicant argues on page 8 of the Applicant’s remarks that “The applicant respectfully
asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Kobayashi and with the teachings of Huang. Huang discloses determining a best time to use devices based on time-of-use electricity prices to provide the lowest user cost. Kobayashi does not relate to "time-of-use" electricity prices since it does not relate to land-based utilities that would have them. Accordingly, Huang's teachings of operating devices to reduce costs are irrelevant. The operating cost is the same any time, and nothing is gained combining with Huang.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kobayashi relates to energy demand of the residential area which is similar to land base utilities since it is related to the residential area (Para [0005] “This invention is made in view of such a situation, Comprising: It aims at providing the operation support system of the ship which established the prediction method of the energy demand of a residence area, and the operation support method of a ship.”). Kobayashi depends on Huang in the rejection for the teachings of receiving from a user a usage plan of the user’s intention for operating the marine vessel while the power source is limited to the finite capacity, the usage plan including expected durations for consuming power with at least a portion of the devices (See at least Page 3 Para 13 “The "user power consumption plan" here refers to the time period of the home user's various electrical
equipment to work in a day, and the power consumption plan is set for the household user according to their own power consumption needs.”, Page 3 Para 14 “When a home user uses the home energy energy management system applying the home energy energy management method of this application, he uploads the user's electricity consumption plan to the home energy energy management system according to his own wishes”, Page 3 Para 17 “The home energy energy management system divides a day (24 hours) into several electricity consumption periods. For example, a day is divided into 24 power consumption periods, and a power consumption period is divided every hour. Then, according to the user's power consumption plan, it is determined which power consuming devices work in each power consumption time period.”, Page 6 Para 11 “Step S43, obtaining a plurality of predicted output power ranges of the energy storage system in each power consumption period.”).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Huang by including expected durations for consuming power with at least a portion of the devices on the usage plan, thereby keeping track of user power consumption need for better power management (See at least Page 5 Para 4 “The control strategy is used to supply power, thereby effectively improving the efficiency of power consumption”). Huang specifically disclosed user power consumption plan which is referred to the time period of the home user's various electrical equipment to work in a day (See Page 3 Para 13). Although Huang mentioned about reducing electricity costs, he also mentioned improving electricity efficiency (See at least Page 5 Para 4 “The control strategy is used to supply power, thereby effectively improving the efficiency of power consumption and reducing the cost of power consumption.”).
Moreover, the Applicant argues on page 8 of the Applicant’s remarks that “Moreover, the combination of Kobayashi and Huang would nonetheless fail to provide the method as claimed. Neither reference discloses analyzing a usage plan to generate a projected performance of the power source ... [that] indicates the ability of the power source to supply the power needed by the devices according to the usage plan, whereby that power source has a finite capacity as discussed above. Since neither reference has a power source with a finite capacity, the power source is always capable of meeting the demands needed for the usage plan.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, Kobayashi disclosed power source with a finite capacity. Kobayashi depends on Huang in the rejection for the teachings of usage plan. As mentioned above, Kobayashi teaches prediction model construction which is construed as generation of projected performance of the power source (See at least Para [0025], [0030], [0031]).
Furthermore, the Applicant argues on page 8 of the Applicant’s remarks that “For this reason, the combination also fails to disclose generating a recommendation for operating and/or automatically modifying operation of devices differently than as stored within the usage model and/or as received in the usage plan ... so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering another device among the devices. Neither reference discusses any situation in which any device is operated differently than as intended by the user so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering another device. In other words, even if Huang is interpreted as shifting when a device is operated, this has nothing to do with ensuring the sufficiency of a power source having finite capacity, but simply to take advantage of difference in time-of-use electricity prices.” And in page 9 that “Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Kobayashi and Huang as asserted, and such a combination would not support a prima facie case of obviousness under § 103. For at least these reasons, claims 1 and 15 are believed to be in condition for allowance, as well as claims 2, 6-14, 16, and 18-24 by dependency.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kobayashi already teaches about usage model and Huang teaches about usage plan. Kobayashi further depends on Hakimi-Boushehri in the rejection for the teachings of generating a recommendation for changing whether, how and/or for how long to operate … and/or automatically modifying whether, how and/or for how long to operate the devices based on the projected performance generated (See at least Para [0178] “Method 1200 may proceed by retrieving a user profile associated with the account portion of the dataset (block 1212), and dynamically updating a user profile with a recommendation for adjusting the electricity consumption for the one or more individual electric or electronic devices (block 1214). For example, upon retrieving the user profile, the processor 402 may update the user profile with information as to how to use or operate the stove in a more efficient manner for the customer.”)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Hakimi-Boushehri by including the feature of generating a recommendation for operating one of the devices and/or automatically modifying operation of one of the devices based on the projected performance generated, differently than as stored within the usage model and/or as received in the usage plan so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering the devices without additional power from outside the marine vessel, thereby keeping track of power consumed by different devices and generating a recommendation for operating the devices so that power can be managed within the onboard power source. Additionally, Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined and that there must be some reason why one skilled in the art would be motivated to make the proposed combination of primary and secondary references. In re Nomiya, 184 USPQ 607 (CCPA 1975).
Even furthermore, the Applicant argues on page 9 of the Applicant’s remarks that “Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Kobayashi and Huang as asserted, and such a combination would not support a prima facie case of obviousness under § 103. For at least these reasons, claims 1 and 15 are believed to be in condition for allowance, as well as claims 2, 6-14, 16, and 18-24 by dependency.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as already discussed above.
The same reasoning applied to the independent claims also apply to their corresponding dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2, 6-16, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Applicant provides the limitation in claim 1, and 15 "generating a recommendation for changing whether, how, and/or for how long to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices, and/or automatically modifying the devices and/or automatically modifying whether how, and/or for how long to operate whether, how, and/or for how long to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices based on the projected performance generated", however, based on the currently provided claim language, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claimed "how to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices" encompass, and therefore claim 1, and 15 are rendered indefinite. The term “how to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree that is the specification doesn’t really define further how the at least the non-propulsion devices are being operated, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, appropriate correction and/or clarification are earnestly solicited.
For a rejection of independent claims 1 and 15, dependent claims such as: 2, 6-14, 16, and 18-24 are also rejected by the virtue of their dependency on rejected base claims 1 and 15, and also because none of them fixes the deficiencies of independent claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP2016068892A) in view of Huang et al. (CN110794671B) (Hereinafter Huang), Hakimi-Boushehri et al. (US 20210192630 A1) (Hereinafter Hakimi-Boushehri), and further in view of Rasanen et al. (US 20110320073 A1) (Hereinafter Rasanen).
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a method for planning consumption of power by
devices onboard a marine vessel from a power source onboard the marine vessel, the power source having a finite capacity (See at least Para [0001] “The present invention relates to a ship operation support system and a ship operation support method, and more specifically to a ship operation support system and a ship operation support method for predicting the energy demand of the entire ship.”, Para [0024] “Hereinafter, an embodiment of a ship operation support system and a ship operation support method according to the present invention will be described with reference to the drawings. First Embodiment Hereinafter, a first embodiment of the present invention will be described using FIGS. 1 to 7. FIG. 1 shows a schematic configuration of a ship operation support system and a ship operation support method according to the present embodiment. As shown in FIG. 1, the operation support system 1 of a ship measures a measurement system 110 that measures operation data of its own ship mounted on the ship 100, an autopilot 120 and a display 130, and current position information on the earth from satellites. GPS (Global Positioning System / Global Positioning Network) 80 that receives a signal, and in the present embodiment, for example, an optimal route calculation unit 10 provided in a data center on the ground, a ship energy demand prediction unit 20… The ship 100 is assumed to be a ship whose main engine is an electric motor”, discloses the ships motor being electric which is construed as the power source is onboard the marine vessel having a finite capacity), the method comprising:
storing a usage model within a memory system, wherein the usage model includes an amount and a duration of the power consumed by each of the devices over a previous time period (See at least Para [0009] “According to the present invention, the prediction model construction unit extracts frequency components exceeding the first threshold with respect to past energy demand results, constructs a plurality of time series models as an energy prediction model, and generates energy based on past energy demand results. A plurality of regression models are constructed as a prediction model, a prediction evaluation value is calculated for each energy prediction model, and the prediction model selection unit determines which of the time series model or the regression model to use, and then the prediction evaluation value is minimized…”, discloses time series models which is construed as the duration of the power consumed, Para [0006] “…A prediction model construction unit that constructs a plurality of energy prediction models based on past energy demand and record in the ship's inboard demand…”, Para [0014] “In the above invention, the pre-processing unit performs feature analysis on the past energy demand record…”, Para [0015] “According to the present invention, the pre-processing unit performs feature analysis on past energy demand results”, Para [0007] “The unit selects an energy optimum prediction model having the smallest prediction evaluation value from the plurality of energy prediction models constructed by the prediction model construction unit, and the prediction unit comprises an energy optimum prediction model and past energy demand results…”, discloses past energy demand result which is construed as usage model); …
analyzing with a control system the usage plan in view of the usage model and generating a projected performance of the power source, wherein the projected performance indicates the ability of the power source to supply the power needed by the devices while operating the marine vessel according to the usage plan without depleting the power source (See at least Para [0025] “The optimal route calculation unit 10 receives weather, oceanographic and ocean current forecasts obtained from forecast data of the world meteorological organization, and an operation schedule (arrival point / arrival time, etc.) of the ship 100 from the measurement system 110 of the ship 100. Next, a navigation route which satisfies the received operation schedule and minimizes the fuel consumption is calculated. The information on the calculated optimum navigation route, ie, the operation route plan, is transmitted to the ship energy demand prediction unit 20”, Para [0030] “Further, the preprocessing unit 21 creates explanatory variable candidates for the prediction model using the data for constructing the prediction model. The average value for each time zone is calculated for the time- series data of the target (in the case of this embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) to be predicted… As described above, the predicted model construction data after filter processing, the spectrum analysis result, and the explanatory variable candidate derived by the processing of step S301 and step S302 in FIG. 3 by the preprocessing unit 21 are transmitted to the prediction model construction unit 22.”, Para [0031] “The prediction model construction unit 22 constructs a prediction model including parameter setting based on the data filtered by the preprocessing unit 21. ”, discloses prediction model construction which is construed as generation of projected performance of the power source); and …
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out …
receiving from a user a usage plan of the user’s intention for operating the marine vessel while the power source is limited to the finite capacity, the usage plan including expected durations for consuming power with at least a portion of the devices, and wherein the at least a portion of the devices includes a non-propulsion device operable other than to propel the marine vessel in water; …
generating a recommendation for changing whether, how, and/or for how long to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices and/or automatically modifying how, and/or for how long to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices based on the projected performance generated, differently than as stored within the usage model and/or as received in the usage plan to reduce the power consumed from the finite capacity by at least the non-propulsion device so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering another device among the devices without additional power from outside the marine vessel.
Huang teaches …
receiving from a user a usage plan of the user’s intention for operating the marine vessel while
the power source is limited to the finite capacity, the usage plan including expected durations for consuming power with at least a portion of the devices (See at least Page 3 Para 13 “The "user power consumption plan" here refers to the time period of the home user's various electrical
equipment to work in a day, and the power consumption plan is set for the household user according to their own power consumption needs.”, Page 3 Para 14 “When a home user uses the home energy energy management system applying the home energy energy management method of this application, he uploads the user's electricity consumption plan to the home energy energy management system according to his own wishes”, Page 3 Para 17 “The home energy energy management system divides a day (24 hours) into several electricity consumption periods. For example, a day is divided into 24 power consumption periods, and a power consumption period is divided every hour. Then, according to the user's power consumption plan, it is determined which power consuming devices work in each power consumption time period.”, Page 6 Para 11 “Step S43, obtaining a plurality of predicted output power ranges of the energy storage system in each power
consumption period.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Huang by including expected durations for consuming power with at least a portion of the devices on the usage plan, thereby keeping track of user power consumption need for better power management (See at least Page 5 Para 4 “The control strategy is used to supply power, thereby effectively improving the
efficiency of power consumption”).
Hakimi-Boushehri teaches … generating a recommendation for changing whether, how, and/or for how long to operate … the devices and/or automatically modifying whether, how, and/or for how long to operate … the devices based on the projected performance generated, differently than as stored within the usage model and/or as received in the usage plan, to reduce the power consumed from the finite capacity … so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering the devices without additional power from outside the marine vessel (See at least Para [0178] “Method 1200 may proceed by retrieving a user profile associated with the account portion of the dataset (block 1212), and dynamically updating a user profile with a recommendation for adjusting the electricity consumption for the one or more individual electric or electronic devices (block 1214). For example, upon retrieving the user profile, the processor 402 may update the user profile with information as to how to use or operate the stove in a more efficient manner for the customer.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Hakimi-Boushehri by including the feature of generating a recommendation for changing whether, how, and/or for how long to operate one of the devices and/or automatically modifying operation of one of the devices based on the projected performance generated, differently than as stored within the usage model and/or as received in the usage plan so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering the devices without additional power from outside the marine vessel, thereby keeping track of power consumed by different devices and generating a recommendation for operating the devices so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Rasanen teaches … and wherein the at least a portion of the devices includes a non-propulsion device operable other than to propel the marine vessel in water (See at least Para [0019] “According an exemplary embodiment, the first user group includes propulsion or steering devices and the second user group includes non-propulsion devices.”, Para [0016] “The second one can be called non-propulsion energy or base load that includes several energy consuming devices, which are running onboard all the time onboard, totally or at least partially independent of the movement of the vessel or the requirements of the propulsion, of the steering or of the maneuvering.”, Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”); … at least the non-propulsion device among (See at least Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”) … at least the non-propulsion device among (See at least Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”)… to reduce the power consumed from the finite capacity by at least the non-propulsion device (See at least Claim 1. “… managing an energy balance between the user groups during the route.”, Para [0021] “According another exemplary embodiment, the energy balance is updated continuously during the route. The changing circumstances are taken into account. The measuring data and the historical data can be utilized when updating the energy balance.”, Para [0024] “Still another exemplary embodiment includes displaying and monitoring the energy balance.”, Para [0037] “An exemplary arrangement as disclosed herein also allows user to define consumption reduction buffers, which may be utilized by the Energy management prediction calculation…”, Para [0015] “…This observation can be exploited when defining the overall energy consumption and when adjusting the energy balance or energy distribution between the consuming devices.”)… another device among (See at least Para [0015] “…This observation can be exploited when defining the overall energy consumption and when adjusting the energy balance or energy distribution between the consuming devices.”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Rasanen by taking into account non-propulsion device operable other than to propel the marine vessel in water for power consumption and reducing power consumed by the non-propulsion device, thereby manage power consumption within the onboard power source.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses the
method according to claim 1, wherein the usage plan includes a route for navigating the marine vessel
(See at least Para [0025] “…The information on the calculated optimum navigation route, ie, the
operation route plan, is transmitted to the ship energy demand prediction unit 20…”, discloses
operation route plan which is construed as usage plan which includes a route).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP2016068892A) in view of Huang et al. (CN110794671B) (Hereinafter Huang), Hakimi-Boushehri et al. (US 20210192630 A1) (Hereinafter Hakimi-Boushehri), Rasanen et al. (US 20110320073 A1) (Hereinafter Rasanen), and further in view of Xu et al. (W. Xu and M. Dong, "Tracking energy consumptions of home appliances using electrical signature data," 2012 IEEE Power and Energy Society General Meeting, San Diego, CA, USA, 2012, pp. 1-5) (Hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses the
method according to claim 1, further comprising updating the usage model based on the amount of the
power consumed … the devices over additional time periods (See at least Para [0008] “In the
above invention, the prediction model construction unit extracts a frequency component exceeding a
first threshold value with respect to the past energy demand record, constructs a plurality of time
series models as the energy prediction model, and the past energy demand record”, discloses
constructing a plurality of time series models as the energy prediction model when frequency
component exceeding a first threshold value with respect to the past energy demand record which is
construed as updating the usage model based on the amount of the power consumed by each of the
devices over additional time periods, Para [0007] “According to the present invention, the prediction
model construction unit constructs a plurality of energy prediction models based on the past energy
demand and record in the ship's inboard demand…”).
Although Kobayashi teaches the energy demand of the residential area (See at least Para [0030] “Further, the preprocessing unit 21 creates explanatory variable candidates for the prediction model using the data for constructing the prediction model. The average value for each time zone is calculated for the time-series data of the target (in the case of this embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) to be predicted, and is taken as the explanatory variable candidate together with the temperature, humidity, etc. measured simultaneously. For example, if the data to be predicted has a correlation with time, that is, there is periodicity (for example, there is a peak in the day and there is a bottom in the night), a regression model with an average value for each time zone as an explanatory variable By constructing, improvement in prediction accuracy can be expected. As described above, the predicted model construction data after filter processing, the spectrum analysis result, and the explanatory variable candidate derived by the processing of step S301 and step S302 in FIG. 3 by the preprocessing unit 21 are transmitted to the prediction model construction unit 22.”), he does not explicitly spell out … power consumed by each of the devices …
Xu discloses … power consumed by each of the devices (See at least Table II, Fig 9, Fig 10) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Xu by including power consumed by each of the devices, thereby keeping track of actual power consumption of each devices so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1.
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 1, wherein the usage model further includes the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices by a time of day.
Xu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the usage model further includes the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices by a time of day (See at least Table II, Para Fig 9: Time distribution of identified appliances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Xu by including in the usage model the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices by a time of day, thereby keeping track of power consumption by each of the devices by a time of day so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 8. Kobayashi further discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising generating recommendations for
modifying the power consumed (See at least Para [0030] “Further, the preprocessing unit 21 creates explanatory variable candidates for the prediction model using the data for constructing the prediction model. The average value for each time zone is calculated for the time-series data of the target (in the case of this embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) to be predicted, and is taken as the explanatory variable candidate together with the temperature, humidity, etc. measured simultaneously. For example, if the data to be predicted has a correlation with time, that is, there is periodicity (for example, there is a peak in the day and there is a bottom in the night), a regression model with an average value for each time zone as an explanatory variable By constructing, improvement in prediction accuracy can be expected…”).
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out … by one or more of the devices by the time of day.
Xu teaches … by one or more of the devices by the time of day (See at least Table II, Para Fig 9: Time distribution of identified appliances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Xu by including feature of the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices by a time of day, thereby keeping track of power consumption by one or more of the devices by a time of day so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses the
method according to claim 1, further comprising determining an actual consumption of the power …
as the marine vessel is operated (See at least Para [0037] “The prediction unit 24
performs prediction based on the prediction model selected by the prediction model selection unit 23.
The prediction by the prediction unit 24 will be described (steps S309 and S310 in FIG. 3). The
prediction unit 24 is a past actual value (for the present embodiment, the energy demand of the
residential area) for which the operation route plan and the weather, oceanographic condition and
ocean current forecast are predicted from the optimal channel planning unit 10 (in the case of this
embodiment, energy demand in the residential area) The past energy demand results are received
(S309).”), and repeating the steps of analyzing the usage plan in view of the usage model (See at least
Para [0041] “Thereafter, the prediction of the ship energy demand by the ship energy demand
prediction unit 20 and the calculation of the ship speed pattern by the optimum ship speed planning
unit 30 are repeated) and generating the projected performance of the power source based on the
actual consumption determined (See at least Para [0037] “The prediction unit 24 performs prediction
based on the prediction model selected by the prediction model selection unit 23. The prediction by
the prediction unit 24 will be described (steps S309 and S310 in FIG. 3). The prediction unit 24 is a past actual value (for the present embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) for which the operation route plan and the weather, oceanographic condition and ocean current forecast are
predicted from the optimal channel planning unit 10 (in the case of this embodiment, energy demand
in the residential area) The past energy demand results are received (S309).”).
Although Kobayashi teaches the energy demand of the residential area (See at least Para [0030] “Further, the preprocessing unit 21 creates explanatory variable candidates for the prediction model using the data for constructing the prediction model. The average value for each time zone is calculated for the time-series data of the target (in the case of this embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) to be predicted, and is taken as the explanatory variable candidate together with the temperature, humidity, etc. measured simultaneously. For example, if the data to be predicted has a correlation with time, that is, there is periodicity (for example, there is a peak in the day and there is a bottom in the night), a regression model with an average value for each time zone as an explanatory variable By constructing, improvement in prediction accuracy can be expected. As described above, the predicted model construction data after filter processing, the spectrum analysis result, and the explanatory variable candidate derived by the processing of step S301 and step S302 in FIG. 3 by the preprocessing unit 21 are transmitted to the prediction model construction unit 22.”), He does not explicitly spell out … actual consumption of the power by each of the devices…
Xu teaches … actual consumption of the power by each of the devices (See at least Table II, Fig 9, Fig 10)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Xu by including actual consumption of the power by each of the devices in order to keep track of actual power consumption of each devices so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 10. Kobayashi further discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising determining the actual consumption of the power … the devices (See at least Para [0037] “The prediction unit 24 performs prediction based on the prediction model selected by the prediction model selection unit 23. The prediction by the prediction unit 24 will be described (steps S309 and S310 in FIG. 3). The prediction unit 24 is a past actual value
(for the present embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) for which the operation
route plan and the weather, oceanographic condition and ocean current forecast are predicted from
the optimal channel planning unit 10 (in the case of this embodiment, energy demand in the
residential area) The past energy demand results are received (S309).”), analyzing the usage plan, and
generating the projected performance on a periodic basis (See at least Para [0015] “According to the
present invention, the pre-processing unit performs feature analysis on past energy demand results,
and the prediction model selection unit determines whether to use the time series model or the
regression model based on the result of the feature analysis and is fed back. By selecting the energy
optimum prediction model which is the minimum value of the prediction evaluation value of the
prediction evaluation value type, the energy prediction model according to the energy demand
performance can be derived from its feature analysis (for example, periodicity).”).
Although Kobayashi teaches the energy demand of the residential area (See at least Para [0030] “Further, the preprocessing unit 21 creates explanatory variable candidates for the prediction model using the data for constructing the prediction model. The average value for each time zone is calculated for the time-series data of the target (in the case of this embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) to be predicted, and is taken as the explanatory variable candidate together with the temperature, humidity, etc. measured simultaneously. For example, if the data to be predicted has a correlation with time, that is, there is periodicity (for example, there is a peak in the day and there is a bottom in the night), a regression model with an average value for each time zone as an explanatory variable By constructing, improvement in prediction accuracy can be expected. As described above, the predicted model construction data after filter processing, the spectrum analysis result, and the explanatory variable candidate derived by the processing of step S301 and step S302 in FIG. 3 by the preprocessing unit 21 are transmitted to the prediction model construction unit 22.”), He does not explicitly spell out … actual consumption of the power by each of the devices…
Xu teaches … actual consumption of the power by each of the devices (See at least Table II, Fig 9, Fig 10)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Xu by including actual consumption of the power by each of the devices in order to keep track of actual power consumption of each devices so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Claim(s) 6, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP2016068892A) in view of Huang et al. (CN110794671B) (Hereinafter Huang), Hakimi-Boushehri et al. (US 20210192630 A1) (Hereinafter Hakimi-Boushehri), Rasanen et al. (US 20110320073 A1) (Hereinafter Rasanen), and further in view of Daum et al (US20120316717A1) (hereafter Daum).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1. Kobayashi further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the power source is one or more batteries (See at least Para [0024] “…The ship 100 is assumed to be a ship whose main engine is an electric motor.”, discloses the ships motor being electric which is construed as the power source is one or more batteries) and …
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out … the previous time period is an elapsed time between charging the one or more batteries.
Daum discloses the previous time period is an elapsed time between charging the one or more
batteries (See at least Paragraph [0076] “FIG. 4…The trip progress represented by the horizontal axis 408 can be expressed temporally or spatially, such as by time elapsed or distance traveled since the beginning of the trip or since a designated time or location in the trip”, Paragraph [0087] “For example, a wayside station 106, 108, 202, 208 (shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) that can provide additional electric energy to the vehicle 300 by charging the onboard energy storage device 302…”, In summary, battery is charged after an elapsed time during the trip).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Daum to include an elapsed time between charging the one or more batteries in order to keep track of energy demand accurately which will improve power management.
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1.
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, further
comprising determining a recharging rate of a power generation source replenishing the limited capacity
of the power source, and further comprising incorporating the recharging rate into the projected
performance generated by the control system.
Daum discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising determining a recharging
rate of a power generation source replenishing the limited capacity of the power source, and further
comprising incorporating the recharging rate into the projected performance generated by the control
system (See at least Para [0005] “…The controller is configured to be disposed at a wayside station having an off-board energy storage device that charges an onboard power storage device of a vehicle traveling along a route during a trip…”, Paragraph [0056] describes charge rate comparison which indicates that charging the power source is performed at a rate).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention to modify Kobayashi with the teachings of Daum and incorporate the recharging rate into the projected performance generated by the control system in order to recharge batteries accurately which will improve power management.
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1.
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, further
comprising incorporating within the usage model a recharging rate of a power generation source for
replenishing the limited capacity of the power source, and further comprising generating
recommendations for operating the power generation source.
Daum discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising incorporating within the
usage model a recharging rate of a power generation source for replenishing the limited capacity of the
power source, and further comprising generating recommendations for operating the power generation
source (See at least Paragraph [0005] “…The controller is configured to be disposed at a wayside station having an off-board energy storage device that charges an onboard power storage device of a vehicle traveling along a route during a trip…”, Paragraph [0056] describes charge rate comparison which indicates that charging the power source is performed at a rate).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention to modify Kobayashi with the teachings of Daum to incorporate the recharging rate into the projected performance generated by the control system in order to recharge batteries accurately which will improve power management.
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 13. Kobayashi further discloses the
method according to claim 13, wherein the power generation source is at least one of an engine having
an alternator, an external generator, a wind turbine, and a solar panel (See at least Para [0042] “The
autopilot 120 operates each part (not shown) such as a generator related to propulsion and steering
of the ship 100”).
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi teaches a method for planning consumption of power by devices
onboard a marine vessel from a power source having a finite capacity (See at least Para [0001] “The
present invention relates to a ship operation support system and a ship operation support method,
and more specifically to a ship operation support system and a ship operation support method for
predicting the energy demand of the entire ship.”, Para [0024] “Hereinafter, an embodiment of a ship
operation support system and a ship operation support method according to the present invention
will be described with reference to the drawings. First Embodiment Hereinafter, a first embodiment of
the present invention will be described using FIGS. 1 to 7. FIG. 1 shows a schematic configuration of a
ship operation support system and a ship operation support method according to the present
embodiment. As shown in FIG. 1, the operation support system 1 of a ship measures a measurement
system 110 that measures operation data of its own ship mounted on the ship 100, an autopilot 120
and a display 130, and current position information on the earth from satellites. GPS (Global Positioning System / Global Positioning Network) 80 that receives a signal, and in the present
embodiment, for example, an optimal route calculation unit 10 provided in a data center on the
ground, a ship energy demand prediction unit 20… The ship 100 is assumed to be a ship whose main
engine is an electric motor”), the method comprising:
storing in a memory system a usage model that includes an amount and a duration of the power consumed by … the devices (See at least Para [0009] “According to the present invention, the prediction model construction unit extracts frequency components exceeding the first threshold with
respect to past energy demand results, constructs a plurality of time series models as an energy prediction model, and generates energy based on past energy demand results. A plurality of regression models are constructed as a prediction model, a prediction evaluation value is calculated for each energy prediction model, and the prediction model selection unit determines which of the time series model or the regression model to use, and then the prediction evaluation value is minimized…”, discloses time series models which is construed as the duration of the power consumed, Para [0006] “…A prediction model construction unit that constructs a plurality of energy prediction models based on past energy demand and record in the ship's inboard demand…”, Para [0014] “In the above invention, the pre-processing unit performs feature analysis on the past energy demand record…”, Para [0015] “According to the present invention, the pre-processing unit performs feature analysis on past energy demand results”, Para [0007] “The unit selects an energy optimum prediction model having the smallest prediction evaluation value from the plurality of energy prediction models constructed by the prediction model construction unit, and the prediction unit comprises an energy optimum prediction model and past energy demand results…”, discloses past energy demand result which is construed as usage model) …
…, generating with a control system, based on the usage model, a projected performance
indicating an ability of the power source to supply the power needed by the devices when operated
according to the usage model … without depleting the power source (See at least Para [0025] “The optimal route calculation unit 10 receives weather, oceanographic and ocean current forecasts obtained from forecast data of the world meteorological organization, and an operation schedule (arrival point / arrival time, etc.) of the ship 100 from the measurement system 110 of the ship 100. Next, a navigation route which satisfies the received operation schedule and minimizes the fuel consumption is calculated. The information on the calculated optimum navigation route, ie, the operation route plan, is transmitted to the ship energy demand prediction unit 20”, Para [0030] “Further, the preprocessing unit 21 creates explanatory variable candidates for the prediction model using the data for constructing the prediction model. The average value for each time zone is calculated for the time-series data of the target (in the case of this embodiment, the energy demand of the residential area) to be predicted… As described above, the predicted model construction data after filter processing, the spectrum analysis result, and the explanatory variable candidate derived by the processing of step S301 and step S302 in FIG. 3 by the preprocessing unit 21 are transmitted to the prediction model construction unit 22.”, Para [0031] “The prediction model construction unit 22 constructs a prediction model including parameter setting based on the data filtered by the preprocessing unit 21.”, discloses prediction model construction which is construed as projected performance of the power source).
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose … the devices comprising a non-propulsion
device operable other than to propel the marine vessel in water, and the marine vessel comprising a propulsion device operable to propel the marine vessel in the water,… at least the non-propulsion device among … over a previous time period; … during a subsequent time period after the previous time period and after the finite capacity of the power source has been restored… at least the non-propulsion device among … at least the non-propulsion device among … and generating a recommendation for changing whether how, and/or for how long to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices and/or automatically modifying whether how, and/or for how long to operate at least the non-propulsion device among the devices based on the projected performance generated, differently than as stored within the usage model and/or as received in a usage plan of a user’s intentions received from a user that includes expected durations for consuming power with at least the non-propulsion device among the devices, so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering another device among the devices without additional power from outside the marine vessel.
Huang teaches … as received in a usage plan of a user’s intentions received from a user that includes expected durations for consuming power with at least a portion of the devices (See at least Page 3 Para 13 “The "user power consumption plan" here refers to the time period of the home user's various electrical equipment to work in a day, and the power consumption plan is set for the household user according to their own power consumption needs.”, Page 3 Para 14 “When a home user uses the home energy energy management system applying the home energy energy management method of this application, he uploads the user's electricity consumption plan to the home energy energy management system according to his own wishes”, Page 3 Para 17 “The home energy energy management system divides a day (24 hours) into several electricity consumption periods. For example, a day is divided into 24 power consumption periods, and a power consumption period is divided every hour. Then, according to the user's power consumption plan, it is determined which power consuming devices work in each power consumption time period.”, Page 6 Para 11 “Step S43, obtaining a plurality of predicted output power ranges of the energy storage system in each power consumption period.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kobayashi with the teachings of Huang by including receiving in a usage plan of a user’s intentions received from a user that includes expected durations for consuming power with at least a portion of the devices, thereby keeping track of user power consumption need for better power management (See at least Page 5 Para 4 “The control strategy is used to supply power, thereby effectively improving the efficiency of power consumption”).
Daum teaches over a previous time period; during a subsequent time period after the
Previous time period and after the finite capacity of the power source has been restored (Paragraph [0064] “…For example, the stations may communicate an amount of electric energy that is currently available or is estimated to be available at a time when the vehicle 300 arrives at the stations to the vehicle 300. The stations may communicate this information on a periodic basis and/or when prompted, such as when the vehicle 300 moves to within a predetermined range of the stations and/or transmits a request for the information.”, Paragraph [0065], In summary, energy is being restored at the stations periodically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kobayashi with the teachings of Daum including energy restoration periodically, thereby perform power management accurately.
Hakimi-Boushehri teaches … and generating a recommendation for changing whether how, and/or for how long to operate … the devices and/or automatically modifying whether how, and/or for how long to operate … the devices based on the projected performance generated, differently than as stored within the usage model …. so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering the devices without additional power from outside the marine vessel (See at least Para [0178] “Method 1200 may proceed by retrieving a user profile associated with the account portion of the dataset (block 1212), and dynamically updating a user profile with a recommendation for adjusting the electricity consumption for the one or more individual electric or electronic devices (block 1214). For example, upon retrieving the user profile, the processor 402 may update the user profile with information as to how to use or operate the stove in a more efficient manner for the customer.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Hakimi-Boushehri by including the feature of generating a recommendation for changing whether how, and/or for how long to operate the devices and/or automatically modifying whether how, and/or for how long to operate the devices based on the projected performance generated, differently than as stored within the usage model so the finite capacity of the power source is sufficient for powering the devices without additional power from outside the marine vessel, thereby keeping track of power consumed by different devices and generating a recommendation for operating the devices so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Rasanen teaches the devices comprising a non-propulsion device operable other than to propel the marine vessel in water, and the marine vessel (See at least Para [0019] “According an exemplary embodiment, the first user group includes propulsion or steering devices and the second user group includes non-propulsion devices.”, Para [0016] “The second one can be called non-propulsion energy or base load that includes several energy consuming devices, which are running onboard all the time onboard, totally or at least partially independent of the movement of the vessel or the requirements of the propulsion, of the steering or of the maneuvering.”, Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”) comprising a propulsion device operable to propel the marine vessel in the water,… at least the non-propulsion device among (See at least Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”)… at least the non-propulsion device among (See at least Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”)… at least the non-propulsion device among (See at least Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”) … at least the non-propulsion device among (See at least Para [0020] “According another exemplary embodiment, at least the second user group is able to store energy. The non-propulsion loads may include cooling or ventilation systems that can be driven to the upper limit before the oncoming and predicted growth of energy demand. During the high energy demand the ventilation or other energy consuming devices can be switched off until an allowable limit has been reached...”) … another device among (See at least Para [0015] “…This observation can be exploited when defining the overall energy consumption and when adjusting the energy balance or energy distribution between the consuming devices.”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Rasanen by taking into account non-propulsion device operable other than to propel the marine vessel in water for power consumption and reducing power consumed by the non-propulsion device, thereby manage power consumption within the onboard power source.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 15.
However, modified Kobayashi does not disclose the method according to claim 15, wherein the
previous time period includes multiple cycles of restoring the finite capacity of the power source, and wherein the amounts of the power stored in the usage model are provided as average over those
multiple cycles of restoring the finite capacity.
Daum discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the previous time period includes
multiple cycles of restoring the finite capacity of the power source, and wherein the amounts of the
power stored in the usage model are provided as average over those multiple cycles of restoring the
finite capacity (Paragraph [0007] “…The storage device has a maximum capacity of no more than a
mean power demand of the wayside station,…”).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kobayashi with the teachings of Daum by incorporating average energy restoration in order to keep consistency in power management.
Regarding claim 18, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 15.
However, Kobayashi does not teach the method according to claim 15, further
comprising configuring updating the usage model based on the amount of the power consumed by each
of the devices over time, further comprising providing an indication when the amount of the power
consumed by one of the devices changes in excess of a threshold amount over time.
Daum teaches the method according to claim 15, further comprising configuring updating the
usage model based on the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices over time, further
comprising providing an indication when the amount of the power consumed by one of the devices
changes in excess of a threshold amount over time (See at least Fig 9, item 912, Does estimated trip load exceed available energy?, Paragraph [0125] “At 912, a determination is made as to whether any changes in the estimated trip loads of the previously generated trip plan cause the estimated trip loads to exceed the electric energy that is available to power the vehicle…”).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention to modify Kobayashi with the teachings of Daum by including features to find out whether power consumption by the devices exceed a threshold to better manage power consumption of the marine vessel.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 1.
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 1, wherein the finite capacity of the power source comprises electrical power stored in batteries for powering the devices onboard the marine vessel.
Daum discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the finite capacity of the power source comprises electrical power stored in batteries for powering the devices onboard the marine vessel (See at least Para [0024] “…The ship 100 is assumed to be a ship whose main engine is an electric motor.”, discloses the ships motor being electric which is construed as the power source is one or more batteries, Paragraph [0087] “For example, a wayside station 106, 108, 202, 208 (shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) that can provide additional electric energy to the vehicle 300 by charging the onboard energy storage device 302…”).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Daum and include the finite capacity of the power source being comprised electrical power stored in batteries for powering the devices onboard the marine vessel, thereby distribute energy efficiently.
Regarding Claim 23, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 22.
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 22, wherein the recommendation for operating one of the devices and/or automatically modified operation of one of the devices is generated to reduce the power to be consumed by the one of the devices in comparison to the usage plan of the one of the devices from the user.
Hakimi-Boushehri teaches the method according to claim 22, wherein the recommendation for operating one of the devices and/or automatically modified operation of one of the devices is generated (See at least Para [0178] “Method 1200 may proceed by retrieving a user profile associated with the account portion of the dataset (block 1212), and dynamically updating a user profile with a recommendation for adjusting the electricity consumption for the one or more individual electric or electronic devices (block 1214). For example, upon retrieving the user profile, the processor 402 may update the user profile with information as to how to use or operate the stove in a more efficient manner for the customer.”)...
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Hakimi-Boushehri by including the feature of generating a recommendation for operating one of the devices, thereby keeping track of power consumed by different devices and generating a recommendation for operating the devices so that power can be managed within the onboard power source.
Huang teaches … to reduce the power to be consumed by the one of the devices in
comparison to the usage plan of the one of the devices from the user (See at least Page 1 Para 10 “Based on this, it is necessary to address the above technical problems and provide a household energy management method and system capable of improving electricity efficiency and reducing electricity costs.”, Page 3 Para 13 “The "user power consumption plan" here refers to the time period of the home user's various electrical equipment to work in a day, and the power consumption plan is set for the household user according to their own power consumption needs.”, Page 3 Para 14 “When a home user uses the home energy energy management system applying the home energy energy management method of this application, he uploads the user's electricity consumption plan to the home energy energy management system according to his own wishes”, Page 3 Para 17 “The home energy energy management system divides a day (24 hours) into several electricity consumption periods. For example, a day is divided into 24 power consumption periods, and a power consumption period is divided every hour. Then, according to the user's power consumption plan, it is determined which power consuming devices work in each power consumption time period.”, Page 6 Para 11 “Step S43, obtaining a plurality of predicted output power ranges of the energy storage system in each power consumption period.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Huang and include the feature of reducing the power to be consumed by the one of the devices in
comparison to the usage plan of the one of the devices from the user, thereby improve power efficiency (See at least Page 1 Para 10 “Based on this, it is necessary to address the above technical problems and provide a household energy management method and system capable of improving electricity efficiency and reducing electricity costs.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP2016068892A) in view of Huang et al. (CN110794671B) (Hereinafter Huang), Hakimi-Boushehri et al. (US 20210192630 A1) (Hereinafter Hakimi-Boushehri), Rasanen et al. (US 20110320073 A1) (Hereinafter Rasanen), Daum et al (US20120316717A1) (hereafter Daum), and further in view of Xu et al. (W. Xu and M. Dong, "Tracking energy consumptions of home appliances using electrical signature data," 2012 IEEE Power and Energy Society General Meeting, San Diego, CA, USA, 2012, pp. 1-5) (Hereinafter Xu).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 15.
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 1, wherein the usage model further includes the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices by a time of day.
Xu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the usage model further includes the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices by a time of day (See at least Table II, Para Fig 9: Time distribution of identified appliances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kobayashi with the teachings of Xu by including in the usage model the amount of the power consumed by each of the devices by a time of day in order to keep track of power consumption by each of the devices by a time of day.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi
(JP2016068892A) in view of Huang et al. (CN110794671B) (Hereinafter Huang), Hakimi-Boushehri et al. (US 20210192630 A1) (Hereinafter Hakimi-Boushehri), Rasanen et al. (US 20110320073 A1) (Hereinafter Rasanen), Daum et al. (US20120316717A1) (hereafter Daum), and further in view of Clifton et al. (US20180041072A1) (hereafter Clifton).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kobayashi has all the elements of claim 15. Kobayashi further
discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the projected performance includes a duration in
which the devices may be operated according to the usage model (See at least Para [0015] “According
to the present invention, the pre-processing unit performs feature analysis on past energy demand
results, and the prediction model selection unit determines whether to use the time series model or the regression model based on the result of the feature analysis and is fed back. By selecting the
energy optimum prediction model which is the minimum value of the prediction evaluation value of
the prediction evaluation value type, the energy prediction model according to the energy demand
performance can be derived from its feature analysis (for example, periodicity).”)…
However, modified Kobayashi does not disclose …before the finite capacity of the power source
reaches a depletion threshold.
Clifton teaches …before the finite capacity of the power source reaches a depletion threshold
(See at least Para [0257], “In such instances, where energy monitor 204 is communicably present, it send one or more data signals to energy storage unit 208 that additional energy is being taken in. Energy storage unit 208 compares the amount of energy it is discharging (in this instance 1.8 kW) with the amount of energy being taken in at energy monitor 204 (0.2 kW); if this amount is over a
predetermined threshold (in this instance 1.8 kW), then energy storage unit tells its GFC to cease
discharging energy, and go into off-grid mode…the smart storage unit will not discharge energy above
that limit”).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kobayashi to include features to track power source
depletion reaching a threshold for better power management on the marine vessel.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP2016068892A) in view of Huang et al. (CN110794671B) (Hereinafter Huang), Hakimi-Boushehri et al. (US 20210192630 A1) (Hereinafter Hakimi-Boushehri), Rasanen et al. (US 20110320073 A1) (Hereinafter Rasanen), and further in view of Bhattacharyya et al. (US 2020/0273268 A1) (Hereinafter Bhattacharyya).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Kobayashi teaches all the elements of claim 1. Kobayashi further
teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the usage plan is received from the user (See at least Page 3 Para 13 “The "user power consumption plan" here refers to the time period of the home user's various electrical equipment to work in a day, and the power consumption plan is set for the household user according to their own power consumption needs.”, Page 3 Para 14 “When a home user uses the home energy energy management system applying the home energy energy management method of this application, he uploads the user's electricity consumption plan to the home energy energy management system according to his own wishes”, Page 3 Para 17 “The home energy energy management system divides a day (24 hours) into several electricity consumption periods. For example, a day is divided into 24 power consumption periods, and a power consumption period is divided every hour. Then, according to the user's power consumption plan, it is determined which power consuming devices work in each power consumption time period.”, Page 6 Para 11 “Step S43, obtaining a plurality of predicted output power ranges of the energy storage system in each power consumption period.”)…
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out … via at least one input device at a helm of the marine vessel.
Bhattacharyya teaches … via at least one input device at a helm of the marine vessel (See at
least Para [0016] “The helm computer 308 is connected to a display, such as an LCD, for communication with the operator.”, Para [0015] “Modern marine engines are equipped with a variety of sensors that can be used for the purpose of diagnostics in order to monitor and detect existing or future problems. These sensors can provide valuable information on the state of the health of fuel injectors, spark plugs, lubrication systems, temperature, water and oil pressure, vibration, voltage, electrical power consumption, and many other parameters that can be monitored for the purpose of predicting the onset of a future component failure. The data may be provided by the various sensors and conversion of the data via a serial bus integrated into a display unit placed at the helm of the vessel.”, [0011] “…Other input devices capable of providing a signal that is representative of a monitored parameter can also be connected to the communication bus…”).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Bhattacharyya and include feature of via at least one input device at a helm of the marine vessel, thereby providing easy access for user/operator to provide usage plan inputs.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP2016068892A) in view of Huang et al. (CN110794671B) (Hereinafter Huang), Hakimi-Boushehri et al. (US 20210192630 A1) (Hereinafter Hakimi-Boushehri), Rasanen et al. (US 20110320073 A1) (Hereinafter Rasanen), and further in view of Cha et al. (KR-20210120325-A, attached English translated copy is used for claim mapping) (Hereinafter Cha).
Regarding Claim 24, modified Kobayashi teaches all the elements of claim 2. Kobayashi further
teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the devices comprise a propulsion device operable to propel the marine vessel in the water, wherein the route … for operating the propulsion device are unchanged by the recommendation for operating the at least the non-propulsion device among the devices and/or automatically modified operation of at least the non-propulsion device among the devices (See at least Para [0007] “… a voyage management tool for planning a route for the marine vessel … estimating energy consumption for each user group based on the route; an energy management tool for predicting energy consumption for each user group … a control tool for managing an energy balance between the user groups during the route.”).
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly spell out … and a speed for operating the propulsion device are unchanged …
Cha teaches … and a speed for operating the propulsion device are unchanged (See at
least Para [0043] “The energy usage comparison information 90 may compare and display the current energy usage and the target usage in real time in the form of a gauge. The ship operation and energy use information 92 , 94 , and 96 for each time period may include information such as the operating speed of the ship for each time period, the energy use for each time period such as thrusters, and the target energy use for each time period.”, discloses each time period may include information such as the operating speed of the ship for each time period which is construed as the speed for operating propulsion device are unchanged)…
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobayashi with the teachings of Cha and include the feature of unchanged speed for operating the propulsion device, thereby provide better power management on the marine vessel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
• US2015149136A1 (Tervo Kalevi) teaches method for evaluation of ship performance
SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658