DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 6-18, 20-32 and 36-41 are currently pending. Claims 6, 7, 20, 25 and 36-40 have been amended by Applicants’ amendment filed 10-01-2026. Claim 41 has been added by Applicants’ amendment filed 10-01-2026. No claims have been canceled by Applicants’ amendment filed 10-01-2026.
Applicant elected Group II, claims 6-33 drawn to a method for preparing a population functionalized solid support; and the election of Species with traverse as follows:
Species (A): Applicant did not elect a species of method of claim 1 further comprising an additional step (claims 2 and 4);
Species (B): wherein reacting comprises reacting the nucleic acid molecule with a dinucleotide or a trinucleotide (claim 7);
Species (C): surface reactive nucleic acid molecules in sequences of a universal sequence, barcode, a UMI and a capture sequence (claim 9);
Species (D): wherein the nucleic acid molecules comprise one or more of oligonucleotides, nucleotides…surface reactive nucleic acid molecules (claim 25);
Species (E): wherein the solid support comprises a spacer, the spacer having a functional group exposed for reaction (claim 19);
Species (F): wherein the solid support comprises a bead that is a silica bead, a hydrogel bead or a magnetic bead (clam 14);
Species (G): wherein the spacer optionally comprises: (i) a polyethylene glycol polymer (PEG) (claim 21);
Species (H): wherein PEG has a molecular weight range of about 2,0000 to 10,000 Daltons (claim 23);
Species (I): wherein the spacer comprises a photolabile linker, a fluoride ion labile linker, or a cleavable linker (claim 26), in the reply filed on May 3, 2023 was previously acknowledged.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election of invention has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP
§ 818.03(a)).
Claims 1-5, 31 and 32 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 8-18, 20-24 and 26-30 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01-26-2023.
The restriction requirement was deemed proper and was made FINAL.
Please Note: in the response filed May 3, 2023, Applicant elected Group II, claims 6-33. However, the claims filed October 1, 2026 recite an independent claim comprising steps that do not read on elected Group II. Thus, claims 31 and 32 were withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
The claims will be examined insofar as they read on the elected species.
Therefore, claims 6, 7, 25 and 36-41 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The present application filed July 20, 2022 claims the benefit of multiple US Provisional Patent Applications including 62/876,909, filed July 22, 2019.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicants’ amendment and arguments filed October 1, 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or
objection not specifically addressed below are herein withdrawn.
Double Patenting
The provisional rejection of claims 6, 7, 25 and 36-40 is withdrawn on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6-10, 12, 14-16, 19-23, 26, 28, 29, 32, 34-37, 39, 41-46, 48, 49, 51-53 and 57-59 of copending US Patent Application No. 16/758,504, which has been abandoned.
In view of the withdrawn rejection, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 6, 7, 25 and 37-40 is withdrawn under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/102(a2) as being anticipated by Bent et al. (hereinafter “Bent”) (US Patent No. 10745742, issued August 18, 2020; filed December 21, 2018; effective filing date November 15, 2017; of record).
Bent does not specifically exemplify synthesizing oligonucleotides on the second functional group as recited in claim 1.
In view of the withdrawn rejection, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 6, 7, 25 and 36-40 is withdrawn under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bent et al. (hereinafter “Bent”) (US Patent No. 10745742, issued August 18, 2020; filed December 21, 2018; effective filing date November 15, 2017; of record) in view of Stephanie Lopina (hereinafter “Lopina”) (Thesis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1996, 1-167; of record) as evidenced by Biosynthesis (Biosynthesis, 2015, 1-11; of record).
Bent does not specifically exemplify synthesizing oligonucleotides on the second functional group as recited in claim 1.
In view of the withdrawn rejection, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Maintained Objections/Rejections
The term “further comprises a dinucleotide or a trinucleotide” as recited in claim 7 to refer to a solid support comprising one or more oligonucleotides (individually/separately or in series); to refer to an additional sequence comprising dinucleotides and/or trinucleotides; and/or to refer to a reaction involving dinucleotides or trinucleotides (e.g., dNTPs in PCR, sequencing, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claims 6, 7, 25 and 36-40 is maintained, and claim 41 is newly rejected, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) paragraph as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “each solid support” such as recited in claim 6, line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “each solid support” in the claim because claim 6, lines 2 and 9 recites the terms “a surface of solid supports” and “a population of functionalized solid supports”.
Claim 7 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “further comprises a dinucleotide or a trinucleotide” such as recited in claim 7, line 2 because the as-filed Specification and claims as originally filed recite: reacting a solid support comprising surface reactive nucleic acid molecule with another nucleic acid molecule, which comprises “reacting with a dinucleotide or trinucleotide” (See, paragraphs [0006], lines 6-7 and [0129], lines 1-2), such that the as-filed Specification and claims do not recite that the plurality of oligonucleotide comprise a dinucleotide or trinucleotide and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 38 is indefinite for the recitation of the terms “monitoring”; “synthesis quality” and “sequence fidelity” such as recited in claim 38, lines 2 and 5 because the terms “monitoring”; “quality” and “fidelity” are relative terms that render the claim indefinite. The terms “synthesis quality” and “sequence fidelity” are not defined by the claim, and the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite amount/type of monitoring, quality and/or fidelity as compared to some other value (e.g., a reference value) that qualifies as monitoring, and/or indicates the quality or fidelity of a sequence, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention
Claim 38 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “at least a portion” such as recited in claim 38, line 3 because a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claims recite the term “a portion” is the broad recitation, while also reciting “at least a portion” which is a narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 39 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “funtionalized solid support” such as recited in claim 6, lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “funtionalized solid support” in the claim because claim 6, line 9 recites the terms “a population of functionalized solid supports”.
Claim 41 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “a hydroxyl group of a support-bound nucleoside” and “unreacted hydroxyl groups” such as recited in claim 41, lines 2-3 because claim 41 depends from instant claim 6, wherein claim 6 does not recite the presence of a hydroxyl groups, unreacted hydroxyl groups and/or support-bound nucleosides and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claims 25, 36, 37, 39 and 40 are indefinite insofar as they ultimately depend from instant claim 6.
New Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 41 recites (in part): “wherein synthesizing each of the plurality of oligonucleotides…and oxidizing the phosphite triester” in lines 1-4 because claim 41 depends from instant claim 6, wherein claim 6 does not recite the presence of a hydroxyl groups, unreacted hydroxyl groups and/or support-bound nucleosides. Thus, claim 41 is an improper dependent claim for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 7, 25 and 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/102(a2) as being anticipated by Regev et al. (hereinafter “Regev”) (US Patent Application Publication 20180030515, published February 1, 2018; filed March 8, 2017) as evidenced by Carbonell et al. (hereinafter “Carbonell”) (US Patent No. 9162223, issued October 20, 2015); and Hedberg et al. (hereinafter “Hedberg”) (Adsorption, 2019, 25, 1177-1190).
Regarding claims 6 and 41, Regev teaches that the invention provides a high-throughput single-cell RNA-Seq and/or targeted nucleic acid profiling (e.g., sequencing, quantitative reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction, and the like) where the RNAs from different cells are tagged individually, allowing a single library to be created while retaining the cell identity of each read, wherein a combination of molecular barcoding and emulsion-based microfluidics to isolate, lyse, barcode, and prepare nucleic acids from individual cells in high-throughput is used (paragraph [0012], lines 1-10). Regev teaches a method for preparing uniquely barcoded mRNA capture microbeads, which has a unique barcode and diameter suitable for microfluidic devices comprising: (1) performing reverse phosphoramidite synthesis on the surface of the bead in a pool-and-split fashion, such that in each cycle of synthesis the beads are split into four reactions with one of the four canonical nucleotides (T, C, G, or A) or unique oligonucleotides of length two or more bases; and (2) repeating this process a large number of times, at least two, and optimally more than twelve, such that, in the latter, there are more than 16 million unique barcodes on the surface of each bead in the pool (interpreting treating a bead with a nucleotide as activating the surface of the bead, claim 1a) (paragraph [0014]). Regev teaches that Toyopearl HW-65S resin comprising surface hydroxyls were reacted with a PEG derivative to generate an 18-carbon long, flexible chain linker, wherein the derivatized bead was then used as a solid support for reverse 5'->3' phosphoramidite synthesis on an Expedite 8909 DNA/RNA synthesizer using DNA Synthesis 10 µmo! cycle scale and a coupling time of 3 minutes, and the amidites used were: N6-benzoyl-3'-O-DMT-2'-deoxyadenosine-5'-cyanoethyI-N,N-diisopropy-1-phosphoramidite (dA-N-Bz); N4-acetyl-3'-O-DMT-2'-deoxy-cytidine-5'-cyanoethy 1-N,N-diisopropy 1-phosphoramidite (dC-N-Ac); N2-DMF-3'-O-DMT-2'-deoxyguanosine-5'-cyanoethyl-N,N-diisopropyl-phosphoramidite (dG-N-DMF); 3'-O-DMT-2'-deoxy-thymidine-5'-cyanoethyl-N,N-diisopropylphosphor-amidite; and 3'-O-DMT-2'-deoxyuridine-5'-cyanoethyl-N,N-diisopropyl-phosphoramidite, wherein acetic anhydride and N-methylimidazole were used in the capping step; ethylthiotetrazole was used in the activation step; iodine was used in the oxidation step, and dichloroacetic acid was used in the deblocking step (interpreting the solid support to be a bead; interpreting treatment with ethylthiotetrazole as activating the resin surface; interpreting PEG as a heterobifunctional spacer; interpreting phosphoramidite chemistry as synthesizing a plurality of oligonucleotides on the second functional group; hydroxyl surface groups; capping unreacted hydroxyl groups; and oxidizing the phosphite triester, claims 1b and 1c; and 41) (paragraph [0161], lines 1-20), wherein it is known that Toyopearl resins can also be activated using activating agents such as cyanogen bromide, N-hydroxy succinimide ester, carbonyl diimidazole, organic sulfonyl chlorides, epichlorohydrin, divinylsulfone, cyanuric chloride, or maleimide as evidenced by Carbonell (col 6, lines 40-43); or by treatment with tresyl chloride, which enhances levels of protein immobilization by reacting to form amine or thio-ether linkages with proteins as evidenced by Hedberg (Abstract). Regev teaches that the oligonucleotide sequence generated on the bead surface is shown in Figure 2A, where the oligonucleotide comprises: a constant sequence ("SMT A” in figure) for use as a PCR handle (interpreted as a universal sequence), is synthesized, then 12 cycles of pool-and-split phosphoramidite synthesis are performed (the cell barcode or "CBC" in Figure 2A) (interpreted as being configured as a cell-specific barcode), such that during these cycles, beads were removed from the synthesis column, pooled, and aliquoted into four equal portions by mass; these bead aliquots were then placed in a separate synthesis column and reacted with either dG, dC, dT, or dA phosphoramidite; and upon completion of these cycles, 8 cycles of degenerate oligonucleotide synthesis were performed on all the beads, (the molecular barcode "MBC" in Figure 2A) (interpreted as a UMI) followed by 30 cycles of dT addition (interpreted as a capture sequence) (interpreted as producing an oligonucleotide comprising a universal sequence, an origin-specific barcode configured as a cell-specific barcode, a UMI, and an oligo-dT capture sequence, claim 1c) (paragraph [0161], lines 20-34; and Figure 2A). Figure 2A is shown below:
Regev teaches in Figure 7B, a barcoded primer bead comprising a PCR handle, cell barcode, UMI and polyT sequence (interpreted as the oligonucleotide of claim 6, claim 6) (Figure 7B). Figure 7B is shown below:
Regev teaches that the invention provides a nucleotide- or oligonucleotide-adorned bead wherein said bead comprises: a linker; an identical sequence for use as a sequencing priming site; a uniform or near-uniform nucleotide or oligonucleotide sequence; a Unique Molecular Identifier which differs for each priming site; optionally an oligonucleotide redundant sequence for capturing polyadenylated mRNAs and priming reverse transcription; and optionally at least one other oligonucleotide barcode which provides an additional substrate for identification (interpreted as the oligonucleotide of claim 6, claim 6) (paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Regev teaches that the split-and-pool can occur after each cycle, or after any specified number of cycles, such that each barcode of information can range from a single nucleotide, to a dinucleotide or trinucleotide, etc. (interpreted as oligonucleotide comprising a dinucleotide or trinucleotide, claim 7) (paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 25, Regev teaches that the nucleotide- or oligonucleotide-adorned bead comprises: a linker; an identical sequence for use as a sequencing priming site; a uniform or near-uniform nucleotide or oligonucleotide sequence; a Unique Molecular Identifier which differs for each priming site; optionally an oligonucleotide redundant sequence for capturing polyadenylated mRNAs and priming reverse transcription; and optionally at least one other oligonucleotide barcode which provides an additional substrate for identification; and optionally at least one additional oligonucleotide sequences, which provide substrates for downstream molecular-biological reactions; wherein the uniform or near uniform nucleotide or oligonucleotide sequence is the same across all the priming sites on any one bead, but varies among the oligonucleotides on an individual bead (interpreted as the oligonucleotide sequence further comprises an amplification primer, claim 25) (paragraphs [0043]; and [0046]). Regev teaches that the additional oligonucleotide sequence comprises an oligo-dT sequence, primer sequence and/or an oligo-dT sequence and a primer sequence (interpreted as the oligonucleotide sequence further comprises a primer; and the capture sequence is an oligo-dT, claim 25) (paragraph [0048]). Regev teaches that the invention contemplates a method for profiling host-pathogen cells (interpreted as pathogen-specific sequence, claim 25) (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 36 (in part), Regev teaches that Toyopearl HW-65S resin comprising surface hydroxyls were reacted with a PEG derivative to generate an 18-carbon long, flexible chain linker, wherein the derivatized bead was then used as a solid support for reverse 5'->3' phosphoramidite synthesis on an Expedite 8909 DNA/RNA synthesizer using DNA Synthesis, wherein ethylthio-tetrazole was used in the activation step (interpreting reactive groups to be activated surface hydroxyls, claim 36) (paragraph [0161], lines 1-6 and 16-17), wherein it is known that Toyopearl resins can also be activated using activating agents such as cyanogen bromide, N-hydroxy succinimide ester, carbonyl diimidazole, organic sulfonyl chlorides, epichlorohydrin, divinylsulfone, cyanuric chloride, or maleimide as evidenced by Carbonell (col 6, lines 40-43); or by treatment with tresyl chloride, which enhances levels of protein immobilization by reacting to form amine or thio-ether linkages with proteins as evidenced by Hedberg (Abstract).
Regarding claim 37, Regev teaches that Toyopearl HW-65S resin comprising surface hydroxyls were reacted with a PEG derivative to generate an 18-carbon long, flexible chain linker, wherein the derivatized bead was then used as a solid support for reverse 5'->3' phosphoramidite synthesis on an Expedite 8909 DNA/RNA synthesizer using DNA Synthesis, wherein ethylthio-tetrazole was used in the activation step; and the amidites used were: N6-Benzoyl-3'-O-DMT-2'-deoxy adenosine-5'-cyanoethyl-N,N-diisopropy-1-phosphoramidite (dA-N6 -Bz-CEP); N4-Acety 1-3 '-O-DMT-2'-deoxy-cytidine-5'-cyanoethyl-N,N-diisopropyl-phosphor-amidite (dC-N4 -Ac-CEP); N2-DMF-3'-O-DMT-2'deoxyguanosine-5'-cyanoethyl-N,N-diisopropyl-phosphoramidite (dG-N2-DMF-CEP); and 3'-O-DMT-2'deoxythymidine-5'-cyanoethyl-N,N- diisopropyl-phosphoramidite (T-CEP) (interpreting the bifunctional spacer to be PEG; which when bound comprises a different first functional group from the second functional group; hydroxyls activated with ethylthiotetrazole; the first and second functional group bind the activated hydroxyl, and the amidite group; and the first and second functional group is an amine, hydroxyl, thiol, and/or a methoxy, claim 37) (paragraph [0254], lines 1-19) , wherein it is known that Toyopearl resins can also be activated using activating agents such as cyanogen bromide, N-hydroxy succinimide ester, carbonyl diimidazole, organic sulfonyl chlorides, epichlorohydrin, divinylsulfone, cyanuric chloride, or maleimide as evidenced by Carbonell (col 6, lines 40-43); or by treatment with tresyl chloride, which enhances levels of protein immobilization by reacting to form amine or thio-ether linkages with proteins as evidenced by Hedberg (Abstract).
Regarding claim 38, Regev teaches that the linker is a non-cleavable; straight-chain polymer, the linker is a chemically-cleavable, straight-chain polymer; the linker is a non-cleavable linker, optionally substituted hydrocarbon polymer; the linker is a photolabile linker optionally substituted hydrocarbon polymer including a polyethylene glycol linker such as PEG-C3 to PEG-C24 (interpreted as PEG bifunctional spacer; and a photolabile linkage, claim 38) (paragraph [0045]). Regev teaches that the bead which is 1 cm in diameter can accommodate millions of primers then deliver the primers to a 96-well titer plate, where then the linker is cleaved to release and deliver the primers to these wells, wherein cleavable linkers can include a variety of polymers (or other types of "flexible" strain-chain compound) which hydrolyze under aqueous acidic or basic conditions, undergo photolysis, cleave under hydrogenation, or any method known to one of skill in the art to release the bead from the mRNA or nucleotide sequence (interpreted as releasing at least a portion of oligonucleotides via the photolabile linkage, claim 38) (paragraph [0197], lines 11-20). Regev teaches an estimation of Drop-Seq capture rates using the correction method of Islam et al. (to try to avoid double-counting UMIs due to PCR or sequencing errors), generated a capture-rate estimate of 47% for Drop-Seq; however, sequencing errors were identified that can still inflate UMI counts, even when that correction method is used (Extended Experimental Procedures), so the 8 bp UMI in Drop-Seq was utilized to derive a more conservative estimate (12.8%, Figure 9G) based on a novel approach of collapsing similar UMI sequences into a single count (interpreting capture rate as determining yield; and interpreting error rate as determining sequence fidelity, claim 38) (paragraph [0211], lines 12-22; and Figure 9G).
Regarding claim 39, Regev teaches that the droplets can be individually analyzed and detected using any methods known in the art, such as detecting for the presence or amount of a reporter, wherein the detection module is in communication with one or more detection apparatuses, such that the detection apparatuses can be optical or electrical detectors or combinations thereof including, for example, suitable detection apparatuses include optical waveguides, microscopes, diodes, light stimulating devices (e.g., lasers), photo multiplier tubes, and processors (e.g., computers and software), and combinations thereof, which cooperate to detect a signal representative of a characteristic, marker, or reporter, and to determine and direct the measurement or the sorting action at a sorting module, wherein detection modules and methods of detecting amplification products in droplets are shown in Link et al. (U.S. patent application numbers 2008/0014589, 2008/0003142, and 2010/0137163) and European publication number EP2047910 to Raindance Technologies Inc. (interpreted as detecting fluorescent signals, claim 39) (paragraph [0153]). Regev teaches that labeling substances which can be employed include: labeling substances known to those skilled in the art, such as fluorescent dyes, enzymes, coenzymes, chemiluminescent substances, and radioactive substances, wherein specific examples include radioisotopes (e.g., 32P, 14C, 125I, 3H, and 131I), fluorescein, rhodamine, dansyl chloride, umbelliferon, luciferase, peroxidase, alkaline phosphatase, b-galactosidase, b-glucosidase, horseradish peroxidase, glucoamylase, lysozyme, saccharide oxidase, microperoxidase, biotin, and ruthenium. In the case where biotin is employed as a labeling substance (interpreted as including a fluorescent signal, claim 39) (paragraph [0071]). Regev teaches that fluorescent labels include, but are not limited to, atta dyes, 4-acetamido-4'-isothiocyanatostilbene-2,2'-disulfonic acid; acridine and derivatives: acridine, acridine isothiocyanate; 5-(2'-aminoethyl)aminonaphthalene-1-sulfonic acid (EDANS); 4-amino-N-[3-vinyl sulfonyl)phenyl]-naphthalimide-3,5 disulfonate; N-(4-anilino-1-naphthyl)maleimide; anthranilamide; BODIPY; Brilliant Yellow…Cy3; Cy5; Cy5.5; Cy7; IRD 700; IRD 800 (paragraph [072]). Regev teaches in Figure 7D, millions of the same cell barcode per bead and 48 different molecular barcodes (UMIs) per bead (interpreted as density of oligonucleotides, claim 39) (Figure 7D).
Regarding claim 40, Regev teaches that the invention provides a nucleotide- or oligonucleotide-adorned bead wherein said bead comprises: a linker; an identical sequence for use as a sequencing priming site; a uniform or near-uniform nucleotide or oligonucleotide sequence; a Unique Molecular Identifier which differs for each priming site; optionally an oligonucleotide redundant sequence for capturing polyadenylated mRNAs and priming reverse transcription; and optionally at least one other oligonucleotide barcode which provides an additional substrate for identification (interpreted as a uniform density of oligonucleotides, claim 40) (paragraph [0043]).
Regev does not specifically exemplify activating agent selected from the group consisting of CDI, cyanogen bromide, tresyl chloride, or divinyl sulfone (claim 36, in part).
Regev meets all the limitations of the claims and, therefore, anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for
the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 6, 7, 25 and 36-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regev et al. (hereinafter “Regev”) (US Patent Application Publication 20180030515, published February 1, 2018; filed March 8, 2017) in view of Stephanie Lopina (hereinafter “Lopina”) (Thesis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1996, 1-167) as evidenced by Carbonell et al. (hereinafter “Carbonell”) (US Patent No. 9162223, issued October 20, 2015); and Hedberg et al. (hereinafter “Hedberg”) (Adsorption, 2019, 25, 1177-1190).
The teachings of Regev as applied to claims 6, 7, 25, 36 (in part) and 37-41 are described supra.
Regev does not specifically exemplify the activating reagents are selected from selected from the group consisting of cyanogen bromide, carbonyl diimidazole, tresyl chloride, or divinylsulfone (claim 36, in part).
Regarding claim 36 (in part), Carbonell teaches a method of preparing an alkaline-stable functionalized solid support which comprises: (a) contacting a solid support comprising hydroxyl groups and additional nucleophilic groups under suitable conditions with an alkaline-stable protected (i) biomonomer or (ii) biopolymer so as to form a coupled solid support; (b) reacting the coupled solid support under suitable conditions so as to cleave any alkaline-labile bonds formed between any hydroxyl groups and the alkaline-stable protected (i) biomonomer or (ii) biopolymer; (c) acylating the hydroxyl groups in the coupled solid support to form an acylated coupled solid support; (d) removing the alkaline-stable protecting group from the biomonomer or biopolymer to yield a deprotected biomonomer or biopolymer on the acylated coupled solid support; (e) contacting the acylated coupled solid support with suitable reagents so as to link at least one additional protected biomonomer or biopolymer to the deprotected biomonomer or biopolymer on the acylated coupled solid support; and (f) deacylating the acylated coupled solid support so as to form the alkaline-stable functionalized solid support (col 4, lines 20-40). Carbonell teaches that the activating agent can be cyanogen bromide, N-hydroxy succinimide ester, carbonyl diimidazole, organic sulfonyl chlorides, epichlorohydrin, divinylsulfone, cyanuric chloride, or maleimide (interpreted as activating reagents of claim 36, claim 36) (col 6, lines 40-43).
Carbonell teaches that the binding capacity of the absorbent is determined by several parameters, such as ligand density, spacer arm, support material and surface chemistry, wherein ligand density has significant influence on the interactions between ligand and target protein, such that if the binding is attributed to monovalent interactions, the capacity increases with the increase in ligand density, while the association constant (strength of binding) can remain unaltered at lower ligand density and decrease at high ligand density due to steric effects, such that when the ligand density exceeds a limit level, most of the ligands remain buried beneath the bound molecules without playing any role in binding; and therefore, there is an optimal density at which the ligands are efficiently acting as binders and the absorbent shows the highest binding capacity (interpreted as oligonucleotide density) (col 12, lines 38-51). Carbonell teaches that in case of high ligand density, the above-mentioned effect of steric hindrance exerted by target molecules on superficial binders can be reduced by the use of a spacer arm, which will enhance the ligand utilization even at high density, thus allowing the achievement of superior levels of binding capacity (col 13, lines 13-18). Carbonell teaches that the first step involves the activation of a hydrophilic base resin, such as Toyopearl HW65 or Sepharose 6B, in order to obtain high density of reactive groups, wherein preliminary studies indicate that, among the known chemistries for resin activation, the protocols based on carbonyl diimidazole, epichlorohydrin, and tosyl chloride, gave the highest functional density, such that the activated groups formed with these chemistries are ultimately converted to amino groups by reacting with ammonium hydroxide (interpreted as activating reagents, claim 36) (col 13, lines 35-44). Carbonell teaches that commercially available activated matrixes have a low functional density, being primarily meant for protein immobilization. See also, Immobilized Affinity Ligand Techniques, Greg T. Hermanson, A Krishna Mallia, Paul K. Smith Academic Press New York 1992, the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference in its entirety; e.g., Sepharose® epoxy 6B (epoxide density=0.07-0.14 meq/g), POROS® EP 20 μm (0.02-0.03 meq/g); Profinity Epoxide (0.05-0.13 meq/g), wherein for some commercial applications the functional density of these supports is insufficient to provide 30 small ligand-based absorbents with appreciable binding capacity, where in order to achieve high binding capacity, relatively high ligand density is necessary (col 13, lines 23-33).
It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the court held that, "…a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950)”. Therefore, in view of the benefits of using chromatographic resins such as Toyopearl HW-65 to prepare functionalized solid supports as exemplified by Carbonell, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined method of molecular barcoding and emulsion-based microfluidics for the generation of single-cell sequencing libraries using beads comprising oligonucleotide spacers, such that each read in the sequencing library retains the identity of the cell from which it originated as disclosed by Regev to include the method of making, using and/or preparing chromatographic resins including synthesizing resins comprising a spacer arm, and/or treating porous beads with an activating agent such as CDI, epichlorohydrin, divinylsulfone, and/or cyanuric chloride as taught by Carbonell with a reasonable expectation of success in modifying resin beads having improved ligand density, reduced steric hinderance, and high binding capacity; and/or in using activated resins to produce functionalized solid supports comprising biomonomers and/or biopolymers including uniquely barcoded mRNA capture microbeads that are suitable for microfluidic devices. Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the ethylthiotetrazole activating agent used to activate HW-65 resin beads as taught by Regev with activating agents such as cyanogen bromide, N-hydroxy succinimide ester, carbonyl diimidazole, organic sulfonyl chlorides, epichlorohydrin, divinylsulfone, cyanuric chloride, or maleimide as disclosed by Carbonell, with a reasonable expectation of success in activating the surface of a bead depending upon one or more bead and/or reaction characteristics including: the reaction conditions, the size and/or structure of the beads used, the structure of reactants (e.g., a heterobifunctional spacer), desired functional group modifications, ligand binding capacity, etc.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC §103 as obvious over the art.
Conclusion
Claims 6, 7, 25 and 36-41 are rejected.
/AMY M BUNKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684