DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The 4/3/2026 and 7/20/2026 IDS documents have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
Regarding claims objected to for minor informalities:
Applicant’s amendment is considered to have overcome the applied objection. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Regarding claims rejected under 35 USC 112(b):
Applicant’s amendment is considered to have overcome the applied rejection. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding claims rejected under 35 USC 103:
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Petersen-Doppke-Roturier combination does not disclose the amended claim limitation “enabling the third party to gather artifacts concerning an object within the inspection window, the artifacts including one or more of raw data, screen shots, graphics, notes authored by the third party, annotations made by the third party, audio recordings, and video recordings.” In response, it is noted that at least FIG. 19 and 27 of Petersen concern a form of the claimed “inspection window.” As per Col. 25, Ll. 26-40 and Col. 30, Ll. 59-Col. 31, Ll. 8 of Petersen, a popup window is presented responsive to clicking events / alarms from the GUI. Each respective popup window includes log data and its own graphical interface. As per at least Col. 29, Ll. 8-16 of Petersen, users can utilize the GUI to drill down into raw log data. The popup window 444 of FIG. 23 includes such raw log messages (i.e., Col. 31, Ll. 2-3 of Petersen). The popup of FIG. 19 likewise includes log data and log data – user fields.
It is additionally noted that “raw data” is claimed at a high level of generality, and is otherwise unspecified. Therefore, data such as the IP addresses in FIG. 19 of Petersen may be considered “raw data.” Likewise, essentially any graphic within the GUI may be considered as “graphics.”
It is also noted that the popup window of at least FIG. 19 of Petersen includes functionality for the user to add and remove information that can be interpreted as the claimed “notes authored by the third party” (e.g., “New” / “Unassociate” in “Knowledge Base Web References”).
Finally, it is noted that the claim is drawn to “enabling the third party to gather artifacts concerning an object within the inspection window,” which is different from actually performing the gathering inside the inspection window exclusively. Instead, this language merely requires that the third party is enabled to gather objects that are associated with the object. This can include any action taken outside of the inspection window so long as it relates to the object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-14, 16, 19-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Independent claim 1 recites “enabling the third party to gather artifacts concerning an object within the inspection window,” which renders the claim as failing to comply with the enablement requirement because the instant specification does not disclose all ways of “enabling” a user “to gather artifacts concerning an object” as per the claimed level of generality. In this case, the claim language is drawn to essentially any and all ways of “enabling” and “gather[ing].” This could include the user merely taking a mental note and gathering information in memory, gathering information from APIs and databases, gathering information by means of interpersonal communication or physical mail, and so forth. Additionally, “enabling” can include merely presenting the information, providing a means of machine interaction, and could even refer to post-solution activity since it is not clear whether the gathering actually takes place within the scope of the claim. While one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize multiple common solutions for gathering and presenting data (e.g., the APIs and displaying gathered data using a trivial GUI), they would not have a ready solution for all ways of “enabling… to gather” as claimed. Instead, this would require undue experimentation beyond the disclosure of the instant specification.
Independent claims 10 and 19 recite substantially similar claim language and are therefore rejected under the same analysis as above.
The dependent claims do not rectify the above-identified issues and are therefore likewise rejected with their respective parent claims.
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-14, 16, 19-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. recites “enabling the third party to gather artifacts concerning an object within the inspection window,” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear whether this refers to post-solution activity outside of the scope of the claim. It is not clear whether this limitation is merely intended as an intended use of the “inspection window” further displaying certain artifacts, or if it is referring to a positive gathering step. In the case of the latter, it is noted that the gathering may take place outside of the claim scope (e.g., at a future date and time without otherwise making use of the claimed invention) since it merely requires gathering artifacts “concerning an object within the inspection window” rather than performing any actions within the inspection window as part of the claim steps. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement.
Independent claims 10 and 19 recite substantially similar claim language and are therefore rejected under the same analysis as above.
The dependent claims do not rectify the above-identified issues and are therefore likewise rejected with their respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 19-20, 22-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen (US 9,384,112 B2) in view of Doppke (US 10,567,415 B2) and Roturier (US 10,418,036 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Petersen discloses: A computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising:
monitoring, by one or more security-relevant subsystems, respective activity of the one or more security-relevant subsystems with respect to a computing platform to identify suspect activity within the computing platform, wherein the one or more security-relevant subsystems include one or more of CDN (Content Delivery Network) systems; DAM (Database Activity Monitoring) systems; UBA (User Behavior Analytics) systems; MDM (Mobile Device Management) systems; IAM (Identity and Access Management) systems; DNS (Domain Name Server) systems, antivirus systems, operating systems, data lakes; data logs; security-relevant software applications; security-relevant hardware systems; and resources external to the computing platform; detecting the security event within the computing platform based upon the identified suspect activity;
Refer to at least Col. 1, Ll. 64-Col. 2, Ll. 5, Col. 9, Ll. 61-67, and Col. 13, Ll. 19-27 of Petersen with respect to sources such as firewalls, intrusion detection systems, security devices, and so forth.
detecting the security event within the computing platform based upon the identified suspect activity;
Refer to at least Col. 25, Ll. 1-14 and Ll. 54-67 of Petersen with respect to identifying suspect activity as security events.
rendering a threat mitigation user interface that identifies objects within a computing platform in response to the security event,
Refer to at least Col. 10, Ll. 1-41 of Petersen with respect to log messages and events. At least Ll. 31-41 discuss examples such as improper logins, attacks, errors, and so forth.
Refer to at least FIG. 17-18, FIG. 23, and Col. 24, Ll. 50-65 of Petersen with respect to an exemplary dashboard / GUI for viewing the logs / events.
including gathering objects within the computing platform in response to the security event from a plurality of sources associated with the computing platform, thus defining objects within the computing platform,
Refer to at least Col. 13, Ll. 19-24, Col. 25, Ll. 56-67, Col. 26, Ll. 44-67, and Col. 33, Ll. 28-35 of Petersen with respect to collecting logs from one or more log sources as they concern alarms.
enabling a third-party (the instant specification, e.g., [00113] and [00153] defines a third party as comprising a user / owner / operator) to select one or more objects within the threat mitigation user interface when conducting an investigation of the security event, thus defining one or more selected objects;
Refer to at least Col. 28, Ll. 67-Col. 29, Ll. 4 and Col. 25, Ll. 28-36 of Petersen with respect to a user being able to “drill down” information by, e.g., clicking on the information within the GUI.
rendering an inspection window that defines object information concerning the one or more selected objects, this defining one or more objects reviewed by the third party; and
Refer to at least FIG. 19, FIG. 27-31, Col. 25, Ll. 26-40, and Col. 30, Ll. 27-Col. 31, Ll. 67 of Petersen with respect to, e.g., launching a pop-up window with more information responsive to the drilling down.
rendering an action list that defines targeted actions based, at least in part, upon the object information;
Refer to at least FIG. 28, Col. 7, Ll. 51-53, Col. 30, Ll. 55-59, and Col. 31, Ll. 21-67 of Petersen with respect to a drop-down menu presenting a number of actions that may be taken to the user.
enabling the third party to gather artifacts concerning an object within the inspection window, the artifacts including one or more of raw data, screen shots, graphics, notes authored by the third party, annotations made by the third party, audio recordings, and video recordings;
Refer to at least FIG. 19, 27, Col. 25, Ll. 26-40, and Col. 30, Ll. 59-Col. 31, LL. 8 of Petersen with respect to, e.g., log data (including raw log data), user interface graphics, and notes (e.g., adding or unassociating knowledge base web references).
monitoring the one or more objects reviewed by the third party when conducting the investigation of the security event.
Refer to at least Col. 33, Ll. 16-Col. 34, Ll. 4 of Petersen with respect to allowing an administrator to monitor for, e.g., specific data transfers and to automatically collect associated information. The administrator can use any user interfaces or dashboards for monitoring.
Although Petersen discloses presenting a number of actions that might be taken, it is not clear whether it discloses: suggesting additional actions to be taken by the third party concerning the investigation of the security event, the additional actions including one or more of additional objects to be reviewed by the third party when conducting the investigation of the security event and additional artifacts to be gathered by the third party when investigating the security event. Petersen further does not fully specify: wherein the object information includes one or more of: total quantity of data provided to a destination IP address; and a list of all devices within the computing platform that have provided data to the destination IP address; wherein gathering objects includes: receiving a unified query concerning a plurality of the one or more security-relevant subsystems and distributing at least a portion of the unified query to each of the plurality of the one or more security-relevant subsystems, resulting in distribution of a plurality of queries to the one or more security-relevant subsystems. However, Petersen in view of Doppke discloses: wherein the object information includes one or more of:
total quantity of data provided to a destination IP address; and
Refer to at least FIG. 3-4A, Col. 4, Ll. 51-54, Col. 5, Ll. 10-17, Col. 7, Ll. 16-46, Col. 8, Ll. 14-32, and Col. 9, Ll. 7-34 of Doppke with respect to traffic volume metrics and user selections for the threat monitoring GUI, where the user selections can include “destination IP address; one or more traffic characteristics, such as volume or other metrics; and one or more policy characteristics.” Further, “[t]he graphic display is based on the user selections that were received, such as to display data associated with a selected time window, a selected protected host 104 or external host 106 or group of hosts.” Finally, the “volumetric data can be associated with total traffic flow in either direction, inbound or outbound, to or from the protected network 108, or can be associated with particular protected hosts 104 or external hosts 114 or groups of such hosts.”
a list of all devices within the computing platform that have provided data to the destination IP address;
suggesting additional actions to be taken by the third party concerning the investigation of the security event, the additional actions including one or more of additional objects to be reviewed by the third party when conducting the investigation of the security event and additional artifacts to be gathered by the third party when investigating the security event.
Refer to at least 446 in FIG. 4C and Col. 13, Ll. 16-32 of Doppke with respect to a menu bar with interactive display elements that can be activated to perform a variety of tasks. The tasks include viewing additional alerts and events.
The teachings of Doppke likewise concern graphical user interfaces for network security monitoring and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Petersen to further implement additional visualizations and GUI elements (e.g., a visualization of total traffic for a selectable destination IP address) for at least the purpose discussed in Col. 1, Ll. 51-63 of Doppke (i.e., helping analysts with improved tools to better present information conducive to recognition of relationships and associations concerning network traffic).
Petersen-Doppke does not disclose: wherein gathering objects includes: receiving a unified query concerning a plurality of the one or more security-relevant subsystems and distributing at least a portion of the unified query to each of the plurality of the one or more security-relevant subsystems, resulting in distribution of a plurality of queries to the one or more security-relevant subsystems. However, Petersen-Doppke in view of Roturier discloses: wherein gathering objects includes: receiving a unified query concerning a plurality of the one or more security-relevant subsystems and distributing at least a portion of the unified query to each of the plurality of the one or more security-relevant subsystems, resulting in distribution of a plurality of queries to the one or more security-relevant subsystems.
Refer to at least the abstract, FIG. 3, Col. 5, Ll. 30-34, Col. 5, Ll. 47-Col. 6, Ll. 2, and Col. 9, Ll. 23-34 of Roturier with respect to a unified conversational agent query by a client being used to generate search queries to a plurality of incident analysis systems.
The teachings of Roturier likewise concern graphical user interfaces for computer security monitoring, and are considered to be within the same the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Petersen-Doppke to further implement unified conversational agent functionality for user queries for at least the reasons specified in Col. 1, Ll. 37-59 and Col. 4, Ll. 54-Col. 5, Ll. 8 of Roturier (i.e., making it easier for users to look up information from disparate security incident analysis systems having different APIs and syntax, thereby improving an analyst’s security workflow).
Regarding claim 2, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (i.e., the citations concerning a pop-up window).
Regarding claim 4, Petersen-Doppke-Roturier discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1 further comprising: enabling the third-party to select a portion of the object information rendered within the inspection window, thus defining a selected portion.
Refer to at least FIG. 19, FIG. 27, FIG. 29-30, and Col. 25, Ll. 26-40, and Col. 30, Ll. 27-Col. 31, Ll. 67 of Petersen with respect to GUI elements within the pop-up windows and additionally being able to drill down within the pop-up windows; with respect to a second pop-up window responsive to edits within the first.
Regarding claim 5, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 4 above (i.e., the citations).
Regarding claim 7, Petersen-Doppke-Roturier discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 6 wherein detecting the security event within the computing platform based upon identified suspect activity includes: monitoring a plurality of sources to identify suspect activity within the computing platform.
Refer to at least Col. 12, Ll. 67-Col. 13, Ll. 27 with respect to collecting log data from a variety of sources.
Regarding independent claim 10, it is substantially similar to independent claim 1 above, and is therefore likewise rejected (i.e., the citations).
Regarding claims 11, 13-14, and 16, they are substantially similar to claims 2 and 4-7 above, and are therefore likewise rejected.
Regarding independent claim 19, it is substantially similar to independent claim 1 above, and is therefore likewise rejected (i.e., the citations).
Regarding claims 20, 22-23, and 25, they are substantially similar to claims 2 and 4-7 above, and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 3, 12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen-Doppke-Roturier as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 19-20, 22-23, and 25 above, and further in view of Van Brink (US 2015/0207804 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Petersen-Doppke-Roturier does not specify: wherein the inspection window is a slide out inspection window. However, Petersen-Doppke-Roturier in view of Van Brink discloses: wherein the inspection window is a slide out inspection window.
Refer to at least FIG. 2, [0036], and [0057] of Van Brink with respect to a slide-out window element.
The teachings of Petersen-Doppke-Roturier and the relied-upon teachings of Van Brink concern graphical user interfaces for security and are considered to be combinable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Petersen-Doppke-Roturier such that its pop-up windows may be implemented via a slide-out element because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time (i.e., see [0057] of Van Brink stating the equivalence between use of a pop-up window or a slide-out element). Further, an advantage of using a slide-out element may have been to more efficiently utilize screen space (e.g., the user would not have to deal with finding, opening, and closing pop-ups).
Regarding claims 12 and 21, they are substantially similar to claim 3 above, and are therefore likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/V.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2432