DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed February 2nd 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 13-16, 18, 20-24 and 31 are amended. Claims 1-31 are pending.
Applicant’s remarks in view of the newly presented amendments have been considered and found to be persuasive, however a new rejection is presented in view the primary refence to Xu and a new secondary reference of USPN 2019/0325243 to Sikka et al. to teach foreground and background image region labels. The newly presented claim limitations are also accordingly addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 19-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Publication titled “Missing Labels in Object Detection” to Xu et al. and USPN 2019/0325243 to Sikka et al.
With regard to claim 1, Xu discloses one or more processors (See abstract, object detection in computer vision. A processor is present in the operations presented in the publication) comprising:
circuitry to:
receive one or more images and two or more annotations associated with one or more objects in the one or more images (section 1.Introduction and section 3.1, Missing Label Datasets, and section 3.3 More Adaptations to Missing Label Training; A dataset of images is collected that includes images with both instance level annotations and image level annotations for objects in the images. Bounding boxes are also considered part of the annotations);
generate, using the two or more annotations, two or more pseudolabels indicating, for at least a portion of the one or more images, [an estimated foreground and background] (See Sections 2.3 and 3.3 and Figure 2, and reference the online version of the publication for the color image. Pseudolabels are generated in an ongoing basis and are refined and updated in order to better train the model. In the example given, pseudolabels include several different annotations including image-level labels and partial instance-level labels. Bounding boxes are also considered part of the annotations. Each of the pseudolabels are updated in accordance with the ground truth annotations. From section 2.3, “Apply this method on the hybrid supervised learning domain, our innovation is to generate pseudo labels from different levels of annotations and update the generator in every training cycle”);
modify the two or more pseudolabels by comparing information corresponding to the two or more pseudolabels with information indicated by one or more pseudolabels associated with different annotation types (See Figure 2 and the description: “When the detection network is ready, it takes the place of the teacher models and generates more accurate pseudo label (e.g. blue bounding boxes in the bottom image) , the updated instance-level pseudo bounding boxes are utilized to retrain the model.” Updated pseudolabels are used to refine the training model after the pseudo labels are compared to ground truth labels and refined to generate more accurate pseudo labels. The annotation types in this case are the image level annotations and instance level annotations); and
use one or more neural networks to label the one or more objects within the one or more images based, at least in part, on one or more updates to the modified two or more pseudolabels (section 2.3, “Apply this method on the hybrid supervised learning domain, our innovation is to generate pseudo labels from different levels of annotations and update the generator in every training cycle.” The pseudolabels are enhanced with each iterations of the training cycle and is generated based on a combination of the predicted bounding boxes or prediction maps as shown in Fig. 2. The objects such as the sheep in Fig. 2 are labeled with pseudolabels and are iteratively refined).
Regarding foreground and background, See Section 3.1. Xu mentions that training examples are used which will make the detector bias to the background which indicates that foreground and background are considerations when attempting to label images. In the example shown in Fig. 2, the detected objects such as sheep are clearly attempted to be recognized from the background of the image.
However Xu does not explicitly disclose generating pseudolabels an estimated foreground and background. Sikka discloses neural network object detection similar to that of Xu and further explicitly teaches that foreground and background bounding boxes are determined as predicted object labels (paragraph [0011] and [0079]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the foreground and background predicted bounding box label generation taught by Sikka in combination with the pseudolabel bounding box object detection of Xu in order to identify foreground and background sections of the image for effectively detection and labeling.
With regard to claim 2, Xu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
one or more partial labels are generated based, at least in part, on the different annotation types (sections 2.2 and 2.3 and Fig. 2 description: Partial pseudo labels are shown in the block where GT and pseudo labels are merged);
one or more prediction maps about the one or more objects are determined by the one or more neural networks (Section 2.3, “In object detection domain, people use high scoring predicted bounding boxes generated by a weakly supervised detector as pseudo labels.” The bounding boxes are predicted using weakly supervised neural networks);
one or more feature maps are generated based, at least in part, on [[the]] one or more partial labels and the one or more prediction maps (Section 2.3, “Pseudo label method has been recently used in a fully-supervised setup to compensate for the absence of all instance-level box annotations. The cascade detector in Diba’s work [11] and OICR [35] both use pseudo object labels to train Fast-RCNN and achieve eminent WSOD performance.” The feature maps or bounding boxes are updated to compensate for instance-level box annotations),
wherein information contained in the one or more pseudolabels is adjusted about objects contained in the one or more prediction maps (Section 2.3, “Mining pseudo labels can also increase the success of fully-supervised detectors. Zhang et al. [41] determine the most accurate bounding box using pseudo ground-truth excavation (PGE) and pseudo groundtruth adaption (PGA) algorithm from predictions.” The most accurate bounding boxes are determined by using psedo ground truth excavation to improve the bounding boxes); and
the modified two or more pseudolabels for the one or more objects within the one or more images are generated based, at least in part, on a combination of the one or more feature maps (section 2.3, “Apply this method on the hybrid supervised learning domain, our innovation is to generate pseudo labels from different levels of annotations and update the generator in every training cycle.” The pseudolabels are enhanced with each iterations of the training cycle and is generated based on a combination of the predicted bounding boxes or prediction maps as shown in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 3, Xu discloses the one or more processors of claim 2, wherein the two one or more pseudolabels are generated by performing a weak supervision technique on the different annotation types (See section 1 at top of page 2, “After analyzing the limitations of these existing FSOD detectors and realizing that state-of the-art WSOD (Weakly Supervised Object Detection) methods register much lower detection performance, we propose a hybrid supervised learning framework for missing label object detection. This framework firstly uses a WSOD detector[41] as a teacher model to generate pseudo labels. Then these labels are merged with existing annotations to train a novel object detector.”).
With regard to claim 4, Xu discloses the one or more processors of claim 2, wherein the modified two or more pseudolabels for the one or more objects within the one or more images is generated by concatenating the one or more feature maps into a combined feature map and determining, using a fusion neural network, the two or more pseudolabels from the combined feature map (Fig. 2 displays a fusion neural network. The training images with ground truth are merged or fused with the updated pseudo labels as shown to generate a concatenated feature maps to generate a fused image with the best and most accurate labels).
With regard to claim 5, Xu discloses the one or more processors of claim 2, wherein the one or more neural networks are trained to determine the one or more objects in the one or more images based, at least in part, on the one or more prediction maps and the two or more pseudolabels (See Figure 2 and the description: “When the detection network is ready, it takes the place of the teacher models and generates more accurate pseudo label (e.g. blue bounding boxes in the bottom image) , the updated instance-level pseudo bounding boxes are utilized to retrain the model.” Updated pseudolabels are used to refine the training model after the pseudo labels are compared to ground truth labels and refined to generate more accurate pseudo labels for the bounding boxes/prediction maps).
With regard to claim 6, Xu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more neural networks to determine the one or more objects in a training image is a convolutional neural network (See Fig. 2 and discussion, The CNN portions are shown in blue with CNN+loss shown in green).
With regard to claim 7, the discussion of claim 1 applies. The method disclosed by Xu requires a system comprising one or more processors (See section 1, computer vision, and published by the Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences).
With regard to claim 8, the discussion of claim 2 applies.
With regard to claim 10, Xu discloses the system of claim 8, wherein a contextual loss is calculated based, at least in part, on the one or more prediction maps and the one or more neural networks are neural network is trained based, at least in part, on the contextual loss (See Fig. 2 and description, CNN+loss is displayed in green. The loss is considered taken in context of the training data and the pseudolabeled images).
With regard to claim 11, Xu discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more feature maps are generated by using the one or more predictions maps to determine information in the one or more pseudolabels indicating the one or more objects in the one or more images (See Fig. 2, the bounding boxes shown in the merged ground truth and pseudo labels are considered prediction maps mapping the predicted location of the detected objects. The prediction map bounding boxes shown are used as the pseudo labels are updated to be more accurate/refined for the detected objects).
With regard to claim 12, Xu discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more feature maps are combined by concatenating the one or more feature maps into a concatenated feature map and using a convolutional neural network to determine the label one or more pseudolabels (Fig. 2 displays a CNN. The training images with ground truth are merged or fused with the updated pseudo labels as shown to generate a concatenated feature maps to generate a fused image with the best and most accurate labels).
With regard to claim 13, Xu discloses the system of claim 12, wherein one or more loss values for the one or more neural networks is calculated based, at least in part, on the modified two or more pseudolabels, and the one or more loss values are used to train the one or more neural networks (See Fig. 2 and description, CNN+loss is displayed in green. The loss is considered taken in context of the training data and the pseudolabeled images).
With regard to claim 14, Xu discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the different annotation types comprise indications approximating boundaries or locations of the one or more objects in the one or more images (Fig. 2, annotations are shown in the ground truth training images in red).
With regard to claim 15, the discussions of claims 1 and 7 apply. Xu discloses a computer program for computer vision in the operation of the steps discussed with regard to claim 1 (See section 1, computer vision, and published by the Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences).
With regard to claim 16, Xu discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the set of instructions, if performed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to:
generate the two or more pseudolabels using one or more weak supervision techniques based, at least in part, on the different annotation types and the one or more images (Section 2.3, “In object detection domain, people use high scoring predicted bounding boxes generated by a weakly supervised detector as pseudo labels.” The bounding boxes are predicted using weakly supervised neural networks), the two or more pseudolabels indicating the estimated foreground and the background in the one or more images (Section 3.1, Xu mentions that training examples are used which will make the detector bias to the background which indicates that foreground and background are considerations when attempting to label images. In the example shown in Fig. 2, the detected objects such as sheep are clearly attempted to be recognized from the background of the image. However Xu does not explicitly disclose generating pseudolabels an estimated foreground and background. Sikka discloses neural network object detection similar to that of Xu and further explicitly teaches that foreground and background bounding boxes are determined as predicted object labels (paragraph [0011] and [0079]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the foreground and background predicted bounding box label generation taught by Sikka in combination with the pseudolabel bounding box object detection of Xu in order to identify foreground and background sections of the image for effectively detection and labeling);
generate one or more prediction maps using the one or more neural networks based, at least in part, on the one or more images wherein information contained in the one or more pseudolabels is adjusted about objects contained in the one or more prediction map (Section 2.3, “In object detection domain, people use high scoring predicted bounding boxes generated by a weakly supervised detector as pseudo labels.” The bounding boxes are predicted using weakly supervised neural networks);
update the one or more pseudolabels using the one or more prediction maps into one or more feature maps (See Figure 2 and reference the online version of the publication for the color image. Pseudolabels are generated in an ongoing basis and are refined and updated in order to better train the model. In the example given, pseudolabels include several different annotations including image-level labels and partial instance-level labels. Bounding boxes are also considered part of the annotations and are shown as the prediction maps that are refined as the system is trained. Each of the pseudolabels are updated in accordance with the ground truth annotations); and
combine the one or more feature maps into a label for the one or more objects within the one or more images (Fig. 2 displays a fusion neural network. The training images with ground truth are merged or fused with the updated pseudo labels as shown to generate a concatenated feature maps to generate a fused image with the best and most accurate labels).
With regard to claim 17, Xu discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more neural networks comprise neural network is a convolutional neural network (See Fig. 2 and discussion, The CNN portions are shown in blue with CNN+loss shown in green) and the one or more prediction maps comprise information indicating an estimation of the one or more objects in the one or more images (See Figs. 2 and 5 and discussions. The prediction maps or bounding boxes are considered estimates of the objects and their locations that are refined as the system is trained. See also Section 3.2, top right of page 3: “Our teacher detector is a decent object detection model that forward-passes an image and gives pseudo label for object categories and localization predictions…”).
With regard to claim 19, Xu discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more feature maps are combined by concatenating the one or more feature maps into a combined feature map and determining a label for the one or more objects within the one or more images based, at least in part, on the combined feature map (section 2.3, “Apply this method on the hybrid supervised learning domain, our innovation is to generate pseudo labels from different levels of annotations and update the generator in every training cycle.” The pseudolabels are enhanced with each iterations of the training cycle and is generated based on a combination of the predicted bounding boxes or prediction maps as shown in Fig. 2. Fig. 2 displays a fusion neural network. The training images with ground truth are merged or fused with the updated pseudo labels as shown to generate a concatenated feature maps to generate a fused image with the best and most accurate labels).
With regard to claim 20, Xu discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the modified two or more pseudolabels are determined using a convolutional neural network, the convolutional neural network trained based, at least in part, on shared information between the one or more feature maps (See Fig. 2 and discussion, The CNN portions are shown in blue with CNN+loss shown in green. The CNN is continually trained using training images, ground truth images and the updating pseudolabels).
With regard to claim 21, Xu discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the labeled one or more objects within the one or more images each comprise a label determined based, at least in part, on the one or more images and the different annotation types, and the one or more neural networks are trained based, at least in part, on information contained in the label modified two or more pseudolabels (See Fig. 2 and discussion, The CNN portions are shown in blue with CNN+loss shown in green. The CNN is continually trained using training images, ground truth images and the updating pseudolabels. Pseudo labels are determined for annotations of both image level and instance level annotation types).
With regard to claim 22, the discussion of claim 1 applies.
With regard to claim 23, Xu discloses the method of claim 22, further comprising: generating one or more feature maps about the one or more images using the one or more neural networks, the one or more feature maps generated based, at least in part, on the one or more images and two or more pseudolabels determined from the different annotation types (Section 2.3, “Pseudo label method has been recently used in a fully-supervised setup to compensate for the absence of all instance-level box annotations. The cascade detector in Diba’s work [11] and OICR [35] both use pseudo object labels to train Fast-RCNN and achieve eminent WSOD performance.” The feature maps or bounding boxes are updated to compensate for instance-level box annotations); and
combining the one or more feature maps into a label for the one or more objects within the one or more images (Fig. 2 displays a fusion neural network. The training images with ground truth are merged or fused with the updated pseudo labels as shown to generate a concatenated feature maps to generate a fused image with the best and most accurate labels and feature maps).
With regard to claim 24, Xu discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the two or more pseudolabels are determined from the different annotation types using one or more weak supervision techniques (See section 1 at top of page 2, “After analyzing the limitations of these existing FSOD detectors and realizing that state-of the-art WSOD (Weakly Supervised Object Detection) methods register much lower detection performance, we propose a hybrid supervised learning framework for missing label object detection. This framework firstly uses a WSOD detector[41] as a teacher model to generate pseudo labels. Then these labels are merged with existing annotations to train a novel object detector.”), wherein the two or more pseudolabels comprising information to indicate the estimated foreground and the estimated background in the one or more images (Section 3.1, Xu mentions that training examples are used which will make the detector bias to the background which indicates that foreground and background are considerations when attempting to label images. In the example shown in Fig. 2, the detected objects such as sheep are clearly attempted to be recognized from the background of the image. However Xu does not explicitly disclose generating pseudolabels an estimated foreground and background. Sikka discloses neural network object detection similar to that of Xu and further explicitly teaches that foreground and background bounding boxes are determined as predicted object labels (paragraph [0011] and [0079]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the foreground and background predicted bounding box label generation taught by Sikka in combination with the pseudolabel bounding box object detection of Xu in order to identify foreground and background sections of the image for effectively detection and labeling).
With regard to claim 25, Xu discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the one or more feature maps are further generated based, at least in part, on updating the one or more pseudolabels based on one or more prediction maps determined by the one or more neural networks, the one or more prediction maps indicating an estimation of the one or more objects in the one or more images (See Fig. 2, the bounding boxes shown in the merged ground truth and pseudo labels are considered prediction maps mapping the predicted location of the detected objects. The prediction map bounding boxes shown are used as the pseudo labels are updated to be more accurate/refined for the detected objects. The predicted bounding box maps are refined through training and use of the pseudo labels in an iterative process until the bounding boxes are the final prediction maps or feature maps correctly identifying image objects with the updated pseudolabels).
With regard to claim 26, Xu discloses the method of claim 25, wherein one or more context loss values are calculated based, at least in part, on the one or more prediction maps and the one or more context loss values are used to train the one or more neural networks (See Fig. 2 and description, CNN+loss is displayed in green. The loss is considered taken in context of the training data and the pseudolabeled images).
With regard to claim 27, Xu discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the one or more feature maps are combined into the label by concatenating the one or more feature maps into a concatenated feature map and using a fusion neural network to determine the label from the concatenated feature map (Fig. 2 displays a fusion neural network. The training images with ground truth are merged or fused with the updated pseudo labels as shown to generate a concatenated feature maps to generate a fused image with the best and most accurate labels).
With regard to claim 28, Xu discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the fusion neural network is a convolutional neural network (Fig. 2, CNN).
With regard to claim 29, Xu discloses the method of claim 27, wherein one or more loss values are calculated based, at least in part, on the one or more feature maps and the one or more loss values are utilized to train the fusion neural network (See Fig. 2 and description, CNN+loss is displayed in green. The loss is considered taken in context of the training data and the pseudolabeled images).
With regard to claim 31, Xu discloses one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more neural networks are to combine different annotation types associated with an object within one or more images, and to label the objects based, at least in part, on the combined different annotation types, wherein the combined different annotation types comprise one or more updates to the two or more pseudolabels (See Figure 2 and reference the online version of the publication for the color image. Pseudolabels are generated in an ongoing basis and are refined and updated in order to better train the model. In the example given, pseudolabels include several different annotations including image-level labels and partial instance-level labels (See Abstract, section 1 (2). See section 3.3 for a description of combining the instance level and image level pseudo labels. Bounding boxes are also considered part of the annotations. Each of the pseudolabels are updated in accordance with the ground truth annotations as the neural network repeats the recognition steps).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Publication titled “Missing Labels in Object Detection” to Xu et al. and USPN 2020/0226748 to Kaufman et al.
With regard to claim 9, Xu discloses the system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more weak supervision techniques comprise a random walk operation and a region grow operation to determine the two or more pseudolabels indicating at least a foreground and a background for the one or more images.
Kaufman discloses a system for training convolution neural networks to perform image segmentation and classification (paragraphs [0069]-[0078]) similar to the recognition and classification of He. Kaufman further discloses that combination of region growing and random walker procedures are used to perform segmentation of medical images and designate objects from the background (paragraphs [0080]-[0086]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the random walk and region growing procedures of Kaufman in combination with the image segmentation and recognition of Xu in order to determine specific objects of interest in the image and to further train the image recognition neural network.
With regard to claim 18, the discussion of claim 9 applies.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Publication titled “Missing Labels in Object Detection” to Xu et al. and USPN 2019/0102878 to Zhang et al.
With regard to claim 30, Xu discloses the method of claim 22, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one or more neural networks is a 3D U-Net neural network. 3D U-Net neural networks are well known in the art as useful type of neural network. Zhang teaches the use of a 3D U-Net neural network and lists several types of neural networks that can be used in processing image object identification (paragraph [0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use a 3D u-Net neural network as taught by Zhang in combination with the object identification of Xu.
Contact Information
/WESLEY J TUCKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661