DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 6,684,670 to Agbay et al.
Agbay et al. discloses an apparatus (10) that secures first (28) and second ends (26) of a meter-sealing ring (22), the meter sealing ring for use in installing a meter (meter enclosed within cover 12) to a watt-hour meter box (14), the apparatus comprising a lock (34) having a head member (36) and a shank portion (38) comprising moveable locking members (44), the movable locking members comprising a fully retracted configuration (figures 5 and 6 show the locking members in a retracted position, where there is a void between the locking members and plunger to be capable of retracting more then what is shown), the shank portion being inserted through an aperture (60) formed in the first end of the sealing ring, and a retaining sleeve (32) capturing the shank portion, wherein the lock is permanently retained on just the first end of the sealing ring (figures 5 and 7; column 3, line 43-column 4, line 36) even when the movable locking members are in the fully retracted configuration (as best shown in figures 5 and 6), and wherein the retaining sleeve is disposed generally between the first and second ring ends (the retaining sleeve is axially aligned with the first and second ring ends), as in claim 1.
Agbay et al. also discloses the shank portion further comprises a shaft (38) member with an outer surface defining a cylindrical groove (groove defined between the head member and the locking members), and wherein the retaining sleeve has an axial bore (axial bore in the sleeve; figures 5 and 7) adapted to receive at least a portion of the shaft member, the retaining sleeve adapted in surrounding relation with at least a portion of a cylindrical groove so as to slidably capture the shaft member (figures 5 and 7), as in claim 2.
Agbay et al. further discloses a method for securing first (28) and second ends (26) of a meter-sealing ring (22), the meter sealing ring for use in installing a meter (meter enclosed within cover 12) to a watt-hour meter box (14), the method comprising mounting a lock (34) to the first end of the sealing ring, the lock having a shank portion (38) comprising movable locking members (44), and a head member (36), the movable locking members comprising a fully retracted configuration (figures 5 and 6 show the locking members in a retracted position, where there is a void between the locking members and plunger to be capable of retracting more then what is shown); retaining the lock with a retaining sleeve (32), wherein the lock is permanently retained on just the first end of the sealing ring (figure 5; column 3, line 43-column 4, line 36) even when the movable locking members are in the fully retracted configuration (as best shown in figures 5 and 6), and securing the lock portion to a receiving member (30) with the first and second ends held between the receiving member and head member (figure 7), and wherein the retaining sleeve is disposed generally between the first and second ring ends (the retaining sleeve is axially aligned with the first and second ring ends), as in claim 7.
Agbay et al. additionally discloses the step of slidably capturing a part of the lock portion within the retaining sleeve (as shown in figures 5 and 7), wherein the lock portion is selectively guidable when securing the lock portion to the receiving member in a locked position (via the distal end of the sleeve), as in claim 8, and the step of preloading a part of the lock portion within the retaining sleeve to facilitate securing the lock portion to the receiving member without the use of a key (column 4, lines 7-10), as in claim 9, as well as the step of releasably securing the lock portion to the receiving member (locking members engaging the circumferential groove in the receiving member), as in claim 10, wherein the lock portion may be removed from the receiving member in an unlocked position, and wherein the lock portion remains retained by the retaining sleeve (figure 5), as in claim 11, and the step of releasably retaining the lock portion to the receiving member (locking members engaging the circumferential groove in the receiving member), as in claim 12, as well as the step of interengaging the lock, first and second ring ends, retaining sleeve, and receiving member as a combination (figure 7), wherein at least a portion is separable but still interengaged in the combination (figure 5), as in claim 13.
Agbay et al. also discloses a system (10) for securing first (28) and second ends (26) of a meter-sealing ring (22), the meter sealing ring for use in installing a meter (meter enclosed within cover 12) to a watt-hour meter box (14), the system comprising means for mounting a lock (34) to the first end of the sealing ring, the lock having a lock portion (38) comprising movable locking members (44), and a head member (36), the movable locking members comprising a fully retracted configuration (figures 5 and 6 show the locking members in a retracted position, where there is a void between the locking members and plunger to be capable of retracting more then what is shown); and means for retaining the lock with a retaining sleeve (32), wherein the lock is permanently retained on just the first end of the sealing ring (figure 5; column 3, line 43-column 4, line 36) even when the movable locking members are in the fully retracted configuration (as best shown in figures 5 and 6), and means for securing the lock portion to a receiving member (30) with the first and second ends held between the receiving member and head member (figure 7), and wherein the retaining sleeve is disposed generally between the first and second ring ends (the retaining sleeve is axially aligned with the first and second ring ends), as in claim 14.
Agbay et al. further discloses comprising means for slidably capturing a part of the lock portion within the retaining sleeve (as shown in figures 5 and 7), wherein the lock portion is selectively guidable when securing the lock portion to the receiving member in a locked position (via the distal end of the sleeve), as in claim 15, and means for preloading a part of the lock portion within the retaining sleeve to facilitate securing the lock portion to the receiving member without the use of a key (column 4, lines 7-10), as in claim 16, as well as means for releasably securing the lock portion to the receiving member (locking members engaging the circumferential groove in the receiving member), as in claim 17, wherein the lock portion may be removed from the receiving member in an unlocked position, and wherein the lock portion remains retained by the retaining sleeve (figure 5), as in claim 18, and means for releasably retaining the lock portion to the receiving member (locking members engaging the circumferential groove in the receiving member), as in claim 19, as well as means for interengaging the lock, first and second ring ends, retaining sleeve, and receiving member as a combination (figure 7), wherein at least a portion is separable but still interengaged in the combination (figure 5), as in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that Agbay does not disclose the retaining sleeve is disposed generally between the first and second ring ends, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims recite the term “generally”, which is a broad term that does not specifically limit the arrangement amongst the retaining sleeve and the first and second ring ends. Accordingly, Agbay discloses the retaining sleeve is axially aligned with the first and second ring ends, and within the extents of the ring ends, thus the retaining sleeve is disposed generally at the first and second ring ends.
In regards to the argument that Agbay et al. do not disclose the lock is permanently retained, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Agbay et al. disclose the arrangement of the recess within the wall of the sealing ring is selected such that the externally applied axial force necessary to extract the lock will exceed the force required to advance the lock from its unlocked position to its locked position, preferably, the removal force would be between about 200 to 400% of the locking force (column 3, line 43-column 4, line 36). Thus, with such a substantial force require for removal of the lock from the sealing ring it is considered to be permanently fixed to the sealing ring.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
May 1, 2026