ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 2/26/2026.
The Examiner notes claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-17, 19-20, 22-24, & 26 are currently pending and have been examined; claim(s) 25 is/are canceled without prejudice, claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 20, 22, & 24 is/are currently amended; claim(s) 26 are newly added; all other claims are original or previously presented.
Please see the Response to Amendments and Response to Arguments sections below for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, 23-24, & 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crevasse et al. (EP 1175964 A2) in view of KANDA SATOKI et al. (EP 1894675 B1), hereinafter Crevasse & Kanda, respectively.
In reference to claims 1 & 12 (Claim Statuses are listed above in the Status of Claims section), Crevasse teaches a method of polishing a semiconductor wafer with a wafer polishing system, the wafer polishing system (100) including a preheating system (110) and a … polishing head[[s]], (150), the preheating system including a heater, (125), … the polishing heads including a plate (170) attached to the … polishing pad (160), the method comprising:
heating a preheating fluid to a first predetermined temperature with the heater, (Fig 2; ¶16; 125 heats 116 to target temperature);
channeling the preheating fluid through a fluid distribution tube (Fig 2; ¶16; 116/117 is channeled to 161 through a fluid distribution tube)…;
applying the preheating fluid to the …polishing pad for a predetermined period of time (¶4 & ¶16; fluid is applied to 161 for predetermined pre-heating time until the temperature is at a desired level),
wherein applying the preheating fluid includes:
rotating the… polishing pad such that the preheating fluid covers the… polishing pad (Fig 2; ¶16-¶17 & ¶19; the entire 161 is heated by heated 116 and 117, a slurry, can be applied to 161 which would be rotating during use; therefore 160 is rotated such that 116/117 covers 160/161), and
varying… a flow rate of the preheating fluid to the… polishing pad based on a measured temperature of the… polishing pad to increase a temperature of the …polishing pad to a second predetermined temperature, the second predetermined temperature being based on a thermal steady state temperature that is achieved when the wafer is polished to a targeted shape and flatness (Fig 1-2, ¶16-¶17 & ¶19; temperature sensor (140) detect a temperature of 161 to be a first temperature then controls a flow rate of 116 from 114 until the temperature of 161 is raised to a second target temperature which is the temperature that is maintained during the polishing (i.e. the temperature when the wafer achieves the target shape and flatness); it is noted that a flow rate of zero before 114 is activated to a given flow rate after 114 is activated is a varying flow rate);
…
placing, after applying the preheating fluid to the …polishing pad, the wafer in the wafer polishing system with the… polishing pad at the second predetermined temperature (Fig 1-2; ¶17 & ¶19; 180 is polished by 100 after the second temperature is achieved);
channeling a polishing fluid through the fluid distribution tube and applying the polishing fluid to the first polishing pad (Fig 1-2; ¶16-¶17; 117 can be channeled through fluid distribution tube onto 161)…; and
polishing the wafer with the first polishing pad, … and the polishing fluid (Fig 1-2; ¶16-¶17), wherein the polishing maintains the temperature of the first polishing pad at the second predetermined temperature (Fig 1-2; ¶16-¶17).
Crevasse is silent in regards to a pair of polishing heads, the pair of polishing heads including a first polishing pad and a second polishing pad defining a gap therebetween for receiving the wafer, each of the polishing heads including a plate attached to the respective polishing pad, or channeling the fluid through a fluid distribution tube defined in the plate; or varying, while applying the preheating fluid to the polishing pad, a flow rate of the preheating fluid to the polishing pad based on a measured temperature of the polishing pad, or applying the preheating fluid to the second polishing pad by causing at least a portion of the preheating fluid applied to the first polishing pad to fall under gravity across the gap from the first polishing pad to the second polishing pad; or channeling a polishing fluid through the fluid distribution tube and applying the polishing fluid to the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad; and polishing the wafer with the first polishing pad, the second polishing pad, and the polishing fluid.
However Kanda teaches a polishing system (Fig 1 & 5; 30) for controlling polishing temperature of a pair of polishing heads (Fig 5; 32 & 36 are a pair of polishing heads), the pair of polishing heads including a first polishing pad and a second polishing pad defining a gap therebetween for receiving the wafer (Fig 5; 36 is the first polishing pad and 32 is the second polishing pad; a gap is defined between 32 & 36 for receiving a wafer), each of the polishing heads including a plate attached to the respective polishing pad (Since Crevasse teaches a plate and a pad Kanda is relied on to teach there being two polishing pads which would have the plate and pad from Crevasse); there are fluid distribution channels (76) in the polishing plate (Fig 1 & 4) applying the fluid to the polishing pad (¶29); varying, while applying the preheating fluid to the polishing pad, a flow rate of the preheating fluid to the polishing pad based on a measured temperature of the polishing pad (¶35 & ¶39-¶42; the fluid flow is controlled by valves, which can be set anywhere between fully closed to fully open, while the wafer is being polished based on temperature), and applying the preheating fluid to the second polishing pad by causing at least a portion of the preheating fluid applied to the first polishing pad to fall under gravity across the gap from the first polishing pad to the second polishing pad (Fig 1 & 5; ¶11 & ¶29); channeling a polishing fluid through the fluid distribution tube and applying the polishing fluid to the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad (¶11); and polishing the wafer with the first polishing pad, the second polishing pad, and the polishing fluid (¶11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified polishing system as disclosed by Crevasse to have a pair of polishing heads, the pair of polishing heads including a first polishing pad and a second polishing pad defining a gap therebetween for receiving the wafer, each of the polishing heads including a plate attached to the respective polishing pad, the fluid channeled through the a fluid distribution tube defined in the plate, and varying, while applying the preheating fluid to the polishing pad, a flow rate of the preheating fluid to the polishing pad based on a measured temperature of the polishing pad, and applying the preheating fluid to the second polishing pad by causing at least a portion of the preheating fluid applied to the first polishing pad to fall under gravity across the gap from the first polishing pad to the second polishing pad as taught by Kanda for the purpose of polishing two sides of a wafer simultaneously while controlling the temperature of the polishing pad through fluid flow rate control (Kanda: ¶11-¶12, ¶14, & ¶42).
In reference to claims 5, further comprising varying the predetermined time based on a measured temperature of the first polishing pad, (Crevasse: Fig 2; ¶16; The heated fluid is applied until the predetermined temperature has been reached, therefore the predetermined time is varied by monitoring the temperature; and the temperature sensor can be in a polishing pad (first or second)).
In reference to claim 6, wherein the fluid includes deionized water. (Crevasse: ¶17; 116 can be deionized water).
In reference to claim 7, wherein the fluid is substantially free of silicon dioxide, (Crevasse: ¶17; deionized water is used instead of slurry therefore it would be free of silicon dioxide).
In reference to claim 8, Crevasse as modified teaches wherein varying the flow rate of the preheating fluid includes controlling the flow rate of the preheating fluid with a flow controller (Fig 1A; ¶28; the controller (150) controls the flow rate by controlling the valves, 122 & 132).
In reference to claim 9, further comprising using a heater to heat the fluid to the preheating predetermined temperature, (Crevasse: ¶16; 125 heats 116).
In reference to claim 11, further comprising varying a temperature of the fluid based on a measured temperature of the polishing pad, (Crevasse: ¶16-¶17; 130 controls 125 to heat 116 based on the temperature of 161).
In reference to claim 14, wherein the polishing fluid comprises a slurry. (Crevasse: ¶16-¶17; 117 is a slurry).
In reference to claim 15, wherein friction between the first polishing pad, the wafer, and the slurry maintains the temperature of the first polishing pad at the second predetermined temperature, (Crevasse: ¶16-¶17 & ¶19; the wafer temperature is maintained by the polishing process of the wafer contact with the polishing pad and slurry fluids on the pad (or the first and second pads with the double sided polishing system taught by Kanda))
In reference to claim 23, wherein the second predetermined temperature is approximately equal to the thermal steady state temperature (Crevasse: ¶16-¶17 & ¶19; 160/161 is raised to the second temperature which is the steady state temperature that the wafer will be polished at; It is noted that "approximately equal" per Applicant's Specification ¶34 as being +/- 0.5 Degrees C).
In reference to claim 24, wherein the wafer polishing system includes a first reservoir containing the preheating fluid and a second reservoir containing the polishing fluid, the preheating fluid being channeled from the first reservoir to the first polishing pad and the polishing fluid being channeled from the second reservoir to the first polishing pad (Crevasse: Fig 1-2; 111 contains 116 while 112 contains 117 and both 116 & 117 are channeled from their respective reservoirs to 160/161).
In reference to claim 26, wherein varying the flow rate of the preheating fluid includes increasing the flow rate of the preheating fluid from a first non-zero flow rate to a second non-zero flow rate (Crevasse: ¶16; if the temperature during preheating is below the desired temperature the temperature controller can increase the heat or increase the preheating fluid flow rate by adjusting the valves taught by Kanda to increase the heating rate of the polishing pads).
Claims 2-3, 16-17, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crevasse in view of Kanda further in view of Maruyama et al. (US 20170239778), hereinafter Maruyama.
In reference to claims 2 and 17, Crevasse as modified is silent in regards to wherein the first predetermined temperature is calculated based on the second predetermined temperature and the polishing pad temperature.
However Maruyama teaches a preheating method and system wherein the first predetermined temperature is calculated based on the second predetermined temperature and the polishing pad temperature, (¶63, ¶80-¶82 & ¶84; The fluid is heated to a given temperature based on the type of fluid and the higher the fluid temperature the faster the temperature of the polishing pad can be raised).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the preheating method as taught by Crevasse as modified to have the first predetermined temperature is calculated based on the second predetermined temperature and the polishing pad temperature as taught by Maruyama for the purpose of being able to heat different fluids used for cooling/heating to different temperatures based on the type of fluid and the higher the fluid temperature the faster the temperature of the polishing pad can be raised (Maruyama: ¶63, ¶80-¶82 & ¶84).
The rejection of claim 16 which 17 depends from is below.
In reference to claims 3, Crevasse as modified is silent in regards to wherein the polishing pad temperature is maintained between 42 °C and 43 °C.
However Maruyama further teaches wherein the polishing pad temperature is maintained between 42 °C and 43 °C (Maruyama: Fig 15-17 & 21; ¶80-¶82 & ¶85-¶86; the polishing pad temperature can be varied and maintained between 40 to 60 Degree C).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the preheating method as taught by Crevasse to have the polishing pad temperature be maintained between 42 °C and 43 °C as taught by Maruyama for the purpose of being able to heat different fluids used for cooling/heating to different temperatures based on the type of fluid and the higher the fluid temperature the faster the temperature of the polishing pad can be raised (Maruyama: ¶63, ¶80-¶82 & ¶84).
In reference to claim 16, it is rejected for the same structure that is referenced in claims 1 & 12. The difference in claim 16 is "a controller (Maruyama: ¶59; 40) that controls the preheating system and the polishing head, wherein the controller is programmed to" execute the method as described in claims 1 & 12.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing system as taught by Crevasse as modified to have a controller (Maruyama: ¶59; 40) that controls the preheating system and the polishing head as taught by Maruyama for the purpose of having an overall controller which controls heating/cooling system and the polishing system to maintain a desired temperature for polishing a wafer (Maruyama: Abstract & ¶59-¶60)
Therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 & 12.
In reference to claim 19, wherein the preheating system further comprises a polishing pad temperature sensor (Crevasse: 240) for measuring a polishing pad temperature, (Crevasse: ¶15-¶16).
In reference to claim 20, Claim(s) 20 recite(s) the same, similar limitations as those addressed for claim(s) 8. Claim(s) 20 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons set forth for claim(s) 8. .
Claims 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crevasse in view of Kanda further in view of Maruyama further in view of YI JAE HWAN et al. (KR 101229972), hereinafter Yi.
In reference to claim 22, Crevasse as modified is silent in regards to wherein the second plate further includes an additional fluid distribution tube for channeling the preheating fluid from the preheating system to the second polishing pad, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the preheating system to apply the preheating fluid to the second polishing to raise a temperature of the second polishing pad to the second predetermined temperature.
However Yi teaches a double pad polishing device which further comprising wherein the second plate further includes an additional fluid distribution tube for channeling the preheating fluid from the preheating system to the second polishing pad (Fig 7; both polishing pads have fluid distribution tubes from the same fluid sources and combined with Crevasse would have the preheating or polishing fluid supplied to the second polishing pad), wherein the controller is further configured to cause the preheating system to apply the preheating fluid to the second polishing to raise a temperature of the second polishing pad to the second predetermined temperature. (The combined polishing device with Maruyama as modified per ¶60 of Maruyama would have 40 direct 42 & 56 to direct temperature controlling liquid to channels in a single or double polishing pad).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing system as taught by Crevasse as modified to have wherein the second plate further includes an additional fluid distribution tube for channeling the preheating fluid from the preheating system to the second polishing pad, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the preheating system to apply the preheating fluid to the second polishing to raise a temperature of the second polishing pad to the second predetermined temperature as taught by Yi for the purpose of uniformly distributing slurry on a surface between a polishing pad and a wafer (Yi: Pg4:¶8 of the translation).
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 8-11, filed 2/26/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant claims that Crevasse nor Kanda teach “varying, while applying the preheating fluid to the first polishing pad, a flow rate of the preheating fluid.” Specifically that the pump of Crevasse can only be in an active or inactive state and the valve of Kanda is used for controlling the amount of slurry that is supplied to the pads by being only open or closed.However the Examiner disagrees with the interpretation of how the valve of Kanda functions. As valves by their broadest reasonable interpretation can vary a flow rate when being moved from fully closed to fully open. Therefore the valve of Kanda can vary the flow rate of a preheating fluid when modifying the preheating system of Crevasse. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723