DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response Applicant communication filed on
12/9/2025. In Applicant’s amendment, claims 1, 8, and 14 were amended.
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-15, and 18-20 are currently pending and have been rejected as follows.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated new grounds of rejection under 35 USC 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's prior art arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive to overcome the rejection.
Applicant argues on p. 8-9 that the combination of Burhanuddin and Batista do not disclose claim 1 because Burhanuddin discloses general information regarding marketing data and Batista discloses adjusting a website to include additional links based on an analysis of the links to the website, stating that the links of Batista and the market data of Burhanuddin are disparate concepts and analysis of one does not suggest analysis of the other.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Burhanuddin is relied on for the marketing data analytics. Batista is relied on for analyzing web page data. A person having ordinary skill in the art would combine Batista’s web page analytics with Burhanuddin’s marketing data analytics to include adjusting content for webpages in an effort to increase web page rankings, which is a goal discussed throughout applicant’s specification. For example, see specification [0007]-[0018].
Applicant argues on p. 10 that the references do not disclose “wherein the adjustment is selected from a set of adjustments including: adjusting mobile image and video media, adjusting product offers, adjusting calls to action, adjusting personalized content, adjusting marketing offers, and adjusting user experiences” because nothing in Burhanuddin suggests that received marketing data are used to adjust content of a webpage and nothing in Burhanuddin suggests that these items are used to adjust content of a webpage in response to processing of marketing data.Examiner respectfully disagrees. Burhanuddin expressly supports the modification and rendering of web content in response to marketing data analytics. See previously cited [0037] “Examples of the assets 182 include, but are not limited to, image, text, document, video, audio, font, and metadata … the content publishing and management engine 182 enables multisite, i.e. multiple websites and mobile content, management workflows, and commerce, i.e. personalized shopping experiences that incorporate video, social, and other dynamic media;” [0041] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes a content personalization engine 196. The content personalization engine 196 enables the user to provide different digital experiences to the customers when different customers visit same webpage or same application of the user” note the personalization of content and user experience. Further note in [0041] the personalization based on A/B testing and analytics data; [0042] “The campaigning and messaging engine 198 customizes the messages” corresponding to the marketing offers; [0073]-[0076] “the recommendation system 410 can be trained to make recommendations based on the current context of a user” note the intent modeling to identify target nodes and make recommendations based on a user’s current context corresponding to the adjustment of calls to action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of
Burhanuddin et al., US 20180330248 A1, hereinafter Burhanuddin, in further view of
Batista Reyes et al., US 20090150372 A1, hereinafter Batista, in view of
De Datta et al, US Patent No. 8949254 B1, hereinafter Datta. As per,
Claims 1, 8
Burhanuddin teaches
A method comprising: /
A system comprising: one or more computer-readable medias configured to store instructions; one or more processors coupled to the one or more computer-readable medias and configured to execute the instructions to cause or direct the system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, at a computing system, one or more types of marketing data that includes one or more of: paid media spend data, paid media performance data, customer platform data, customer relationship management platform data, and account based marketing system data; (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend … showing advertisements on websites, as search results, social advertisements, and other form of advertising … The analytics data 192 includes information on how the marketing content performed. The customer data 186 further indicates … who all among those customers ended up in performing a transaction”)
[…],
wherein the adjustment is selected from a set of adjustments including: adjusting mobile image and video media, adjusting product offers, adjusting calls to action, adjusting personalized content, adjusting marketing offers, and adjusting user experiences; (Burhanuddin [0037] “Examples of the assets 182 include, but are not limited to, image, text, document, video, audio, font, and metadata … the content publishing and management engine 182 enables multisite, i.e. multiple websites and mobile content, management workflows, and commerce, i.e. personalized shopping experiences that incorporate video, social, and other dynamic media;” [0041] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes a content personalization engine 196. The content personalization engine 196 enables the user to provide different digital experiences to the customers when different customers visit same webpage or same application of the user” note the personalization of content and user experience. Further note in [0041] the personalization based on A/B testing and analytics data; [0042] “The campaigning and messaging engine 198 customizes the messages” corresponding to the marketing offers; [0073]-[0076] “the recommendation system 410 can be trained to make recommendations based on the current context of a user” note the intent modeling to identify target nodes and make recommendations based on a user’s current context corresponding to the adjustment of calls to action)
generating, at the computing system, a first set of instructions, configured to implement the adjustment to content for each of the plurality of webpages; (Burhanuddin [0054] “The computer-readable media includes computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors. The instructions may optionally implement one or more components of analytics system 208 and/or recommendation system 210”)
[…];
after determining the adjustment to content configured to be applied to each of the plurality of webpages, […]; (Burhanuddin [0037] “The marketing apparatus 110 includes a content publishing and management engine 182 that enables the user to create websites and other content. The content publishing and management engine 182 provides an end to end workflow to the user … editing and republishing, of content.” Note the republishing of content corresponding to the adjustment to content applied to webpages)
[…].
Burhanuddin does not explicitly teach, Batista however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
processing, via the computing system, the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for each of a plurality of ecommerce webpages of an ecommerce website, the plurality of webpages being configured to present product information in a persistent manner independent of a user query and, the adjustment configured to adjust content presented by each of the plurality of webpages when each of the plurality of webpages are rendered by adjusting executable computer instruction code of each of the plurality of webpages, the executable computer instruction code for each of the plurality of webpages configured to render individual ones of the plurality of webpages in response to navigation to individual ones of the plurality of webpages and the adjustment configured for each of the plurality of webpages, and selected based on the marketing data for application to each of the plurality of webpages; (Batista [0020] “The present invention provides a tool, that using log files for hyperlink analysis in a SEO tool of the SEO suite, extracts a larger number of incoming links for the user website, because it extracts that information from the website's log file. The tool does this for every single page on the website automatically. The tool uses the extracted hyperlink information, to identify link rich and link poor pages. Pages in the site, that doesn't get many links and pages on the site that get a lot of links. The idea is that the user can optimize the site by linking the link rich pages to the link poor ones. ” Note the processing of the SEO data to determine an adjustment to pages of a website corresponding to the processing of the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for webpages of an ecommerce website; [0054] “the pages are optimized by the user, following the metrics that the present invention has calculated based on the selected competitors feature. The final result is the user's optimized pages” noting the optimized pages corresponding to the adjustments to content for each of the webpages and the optimizations/adjustments made based on the calculated metrics/marketing data)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization to include adjusting content for webpages independent of a user query in view of Batista in an effort to increase web page rankings (Batista [0053] & MPEP 2143G).
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
[…] adjusting […]; (Datta 3:45-47 “Modifications may be identified at 104 for the main body of content of a page as well as for content comprising other parts of a page such as metadata, titles, section headings, captions, tags”)
organizing, at the computing system, the first set of instructions into executable computer instruction code, the executable computer instruction code configured to be executed by a web browser to cause the adjustment to content for each of the plurality of webpages; and (Datta col. 3, ln. 67-col. 4, ln. 1-5 “ modifications are integrated in a manner or format that allows the resulting content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML (HyperText Markup Language) of a page. In various embodiments, added content may be presented in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one more dedicated widgets”)
[…] selecting one or more of the plurality of webpages as target webpages in which the adjustment to content is to be implemented, the selection of the target webpages based on web analytics of the plurality of webpages and the target webpages selected as being the only webpages of the plurality of webpages for implementation of the adjustment; (Datta in figs. 2-3 noting the identification of pages to include content based on matching technique; col. 3, ln. 60-66 “At 304, the set of pages is optionally categorized based on one or more metrics. In various embodiments, pages may be categorized based on metrics such as crawl frequency, frequency of page views, user browsing behavior, number of inlinks to a page, number of external links from a page, etc., and prescribed thresholds associated with such metrics;” col. 3, ln. 29-42 “Such content that should appear may be compared to existing content to identify potential modifications at 104. In various embodiments, the potential modifications identified at 104 may include altering existing content (e.g., reorganizing, replacing, or otherwise adjusting existing content and/or the presentation of content), adding new content (e.g., synonyms or other interchangeable expressions for important terms, links to other pages or resources, etc.), smearing content from any appropriate source (e.g., adding content to a page that is extracted from a related and/or relevant source), surfacing content that was previously not static and hence not searchable or crawlable, moving content (e.g., from one portion of a page to another portion of the page or from one page of a website to another page of the website);” col. 4, ln. 46-56 “the expanded content is optionally matched against a set of content using a relaxed matching technique to obtain a mapping of the page to a subset of relevant content. The set of content may include any queries, terms, keywords, phrases, expressions, or other identifiers used to index and/or locate a resource such as a web page. In various embodiments, a set of queries employed at 206 may be populated, for example, using any applicable reverse search engine and/or from any other appropriate sources such as search engine logs, search logs from websites, search terms extracted from traffic logs”)
injecting an instruction directly into the target webpages without injecting the instruction into the remaining webpages of the plurality of webpages not selected as target webpages, the instruction directing a web browser to request at least a part of the executable computer instruction code when executing code of the target webpages to cause the adjustment to content to be applied only to the target webpages of the plurality of webpages. (Datta fig. 1 noting the step of applying at least a subset of the identified potential modifications and associated text; col. 8, ln. 59-61 “a content optimization tool or module of code (e.g., that is provided by the third party provider) may be directly integrated into a website and may be invoked each time a page is requested)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization and Batista’s web page optimizations to include directly injecting code into a web browser to request the code when executing the webpage in view of Datta in an effort to improve discoverability of a website (Datta col. 2, ln. 16-17 & MPEP 2143G).
Claim 2
wherein the computing system comprises at least one of marketing data sources, optimization engines, publishers, compilers, or injection modules. (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend optimization engine 199”)
Claims 6, 12
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
further comprising directing, by the computing system, the web browser, in response to the web browser executing the instruction, the web browser to the at least a part of the executable computer instruction code. (Datta col. 8, ln. 38-39 “added content may be loaded directly into the HTML of a page”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista with Datta persists.
Claims 7, 13
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
further comprising injecting a second instruction directly into the target webpages, the second instruction directing a web browser to render the Page 3 of 8Application No. 16/950,432Attorney Docket Number B1074.10036US02Responsive to Office Action dated December 17, 2021target webpages, the rendered webpages including the adjustment. (Datta col. 8, ln. 15-21 “content (including links) may be published on a page in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one or more dedicated widgets;” ln. 36-40 “added content is integrated in a manner or format that allows the content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML of a page”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista with Datta persists.
Claim 14
Burhanuddin teaches
A method comprising:
receiving one or more types of marketing data, the marketing data including one or more: paid media spend data, paid media performance data, customer platform data, customer relationship management platform data, and account based marketing system data; (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend … showing advertisements on websites, as search results, social advertisements, and other form of advertising … The analytics data 192 includes information on how the marketing content performed. The customer data 186 further indicates … who all among those customers ended up in performing a transaction”)
[…], wherein the adjustment is selected from a set of adjustments including: adjusting mobile image and video media, adjusting product offers, adjusting calls to action, adjusting personalized content, adjusting marketing offers, and adjusting user experiences; (Burhanuddin [0037] “Examples of the assets 182 include, but are not limited to, image, text, document, video, audio, font, and metadata … the content publishing and management engine 182 enables multisite, i.e. multiple websites and mobile content, management workflows, and commerce, i.e. personalized shopping experiences that incorporate video, social, and other dynamic media;” [0041] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes a content personalization engine 196. The content personalization engine 196 enables the user to provide different digital experiences to the customers when different customers visit same webpage or same application of the user” note the personalization of content and user experience. Further note in [0041] the personalization based on A/B testing and analytics data; [0042] “The campaigning and messaging engine 198 customizes the messages” corresponding to the marketing offers; [0073]-[0076] “the recommendation system 410 can be trained to make recommendations based on the current context of a user” note the intent modeling to identify target nodes and make recommendations based on a user’s current context corresponding to the adjustment of calls to action);
generating a first set of instructions configured to implement the adjustment to content for each of the plurality of webpages; (Burhanuddin [0054] “The computer-readable media includes computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors. The instructions may optionally implement one or more components of analytics system 208 and/or recommendation system 210”)
[…];
after determining the adjustment to content configured to be applied to each of the plurality of webpages, […]; (Burhanuddin [0037] “The marketing apparatus 110 includes a content publishing and management engine 182 that enables the user to create websites and other content. The content publishing and management engine 182 provides an end to end workflow to the user … editing and republishing, of content.” Note the republishing of content corresponding to the adjustment to content applied to webpages)
[…].
Burhanuddin does not explicitly teach, Batista however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
processing the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for each of a plurality of ecommerce webpages of an ecommerce website, the plurality of webpages being configured to present product information in a persistent manner independent of a user query and the adjustment configured to adjust content presented by each of the plurality of webpages when each of the plurality of webpages are rendered by adjusting executable computer instruction code of each of the plurality of webpages, the executable computer instruction code for each of the plurality of webpages configured to render individual ones of the plurality of webpages in response to navigation to individual ones of the plurality of webpages and the adjustment configured for each of the plurality of webpages and selected based on the marketing data for application to each of the plurality of webpages, […]; (Batista [0020] “The present invention provides a tool, that using log files for hyperlink analysis in a SEO tool of the SEO suite, extracts a larger number of incoming links for the user website, because it extracts that information from the website's log file. The tool does this for every single page on the website automatically. The tool uses the extracted hyperlink information, to identify link rich and link poor pages. Pages in the site, that doesn't get many links and pages on the site that get a lot of links. The idea is that the user can optimize the site by linking the link rich pages to the link poor ones. ” Note the processing of the SEO data to determine an adjustment to pages of a website corresponding to the processing of the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for webpages of an ecommerce website; [0054] “the pages are optimized by the user, following the metrics that the present invention has calculated based on the selected competitors feature. The final result is the user's optimized pages” noting the optimized pages corresponding to the adjustments to content for each of the webpages and the optimizations/adjustments made based on the calculated metrics/marketing data)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization to include adjusting content for webpages independent of a user query in view of Batista in an effort to increase web page rankings (Batista [0053] & MPEP 2143G).
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
generating executable computer instruction code configured to be executed by a web browser using the first set of instructions; (Datta col. 3, ln. 67-col. 4, ln. 1-5 “modifications are integrated in a manner or format that allows the resulting content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML (HyperText Markup Language) of a page. In various embodiments, added content may be presented in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one more dedicated widgets”)
[…] selecting one or more of the plurality of webpages as target webpages in which the adjustment to content is to be implemented, the selection of the target webpages based on web analytics of the plurality of webpages and the target webpages selected as being the only webpages of the plurality of webpages for implementation of the adjustment; (Datta figs. 2-3 noting the identification of pages to include content based on matching technique; col. 3, ln. 60-66 “At 304, the set of pages is optionally categorized based on one or more metrics. In various embodiments, pages may be categorized based on metrics such as crawl frequency, frequency of page views, user browsing behavior, number of inlinks to a page, number of external links from a page, etc., and prescribed thresholds associated with such metrics;” col. 3, ln. 29-42 “Such content that should appear may be compared to existing content to identify potential modifications at 104. In various embodiments, the potential modifications identified at 104 may include altering existing content (e.g., reorganizing, replacing, or otherwise adjusting existing content and/or the presentation of content), adding new content (e.g., synonyms or other interchangeable expressions for important terms, links to other pages or resources, etc.), smearing content from any appropriate source (e.g., adding content to a page that is extracted from a related and/or relevant source), surfacing content that was previously not static and hence not searchable or crawlable, moving content (e.g., from one portion of a page to another portion of the page or from one page of a website to another page of the website);” col. 4, ln. 46-56 “the expanded content is optionally matched against a set of content using a relaxed matching technique to obtain a mapping of the page to a subset of relevant content. The set of content may include any queries, terms, keywords, phrases, expressions, or other identifiers used to index and/or locate a resource such as a web page. In various embodiments, a set of queries employed at 206 may be populated, for example, using any applicable reverse search engine and/or from any other appropriate sources such as search engine logs, search logs from websites, search terms extracted from traffic logs”)
injecting an instruction directly into the target webpages without injecting the instruction into the remaining webpages of the plurality of webpages not selected as target webpages, the instruction directing a web browser to request at least a part of the executable computer instruction code when executing code of the target webpages to cause the adjustment to content to be applied only to the target webpages of the plurality of webpages. (Datta fig. 1 noting the step of applying at least a subset of the identified potential modifications and associated text; col. 8, ln. 59-61 “a content optimization tool or module of code (e.g., that is provided by the third party provider) may be directly integrated into a website and may be invoked each time a page is requested)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization and Batista’s web page optimizations to include determining adjustments for a subset of webpages and directly injecting code into a web browser to request the code when executing the webpage in view of Datta in an effort to improve discoverability of a website (Datta col. 2, ln. 16-17 & MPEP 2143G).
Claim 15
wherein the method is performed by a computing system that includes one or more of: optimization engines, publishers, compilers, and injection modules. (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend optimization engine 199”)
Claim 19
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
wherein the web analytics includes conversion events associated with the plurality of webpage. (Datta fig. 2 noting the identification of pages to include content based on matching technique; col. 3, ln. 29-42 “Such content that should appear may be compared to existing content to identify potential modifications at 104. In various embodiments, the potential modifications identified at 104 may include altering existing content (e.g., reorganizing, replacing, or otherwise adjusting existing content and/or the presentation of content), adding new content (e.g., synonyms or other interchangeable expressions for important terms, links to other pages or resources, etc.), smearing content from any appropriate source (e.g., adding content to a page that is extracted from a related and/or relevant source), surfacing content that was previously not static and hence not searchable or crawlable, moving content (e.g., from one portion of a page to another portion of the page or from one page of a website to another page of the website);” col. 4, ln. 46-56 “the expanded content is optionally matched against a set of content using a relaxed matching technique to obtain a mapping of the page to a subset of relevant content. The set of content may include any queries, terms, keywords, phrases, expressions, or other identifiers used to index and/or locate a resource such as a web page. In various embodiments, a set of queries employed at 206 may be populated, for example, using any applicable reverse search engine and/or from any other appropriate sources such as search engine logs, search logs from websites, search terms extracted from traffic logs”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista with Datta persists.
Claim 20
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
further comprising injecting a second instruction directly into the target webpages, the second instruction directing a web browser to render the target webpages, the rendered webpage including the adjustment. (Datta col. 8, ln. 15-21 “content (including links) may be published on a page in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one or more dedicated widgets;” ln. 36-40 “added content is integrated in a manner or format that allows the content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML of a page”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista with Datta persists.
Claims 5, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of
Burhanuddin in view of Batista in view of Datta in further view of
Drai et al, US Publication No. 2012/0284252 A1, hereinafter Drai. As per
Claims 5, 11
Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta do not explicitly teach, Drai however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
wherein the target webpages are selected in response to the target webpages having higher web traffic. (Drai [0016] “the system and method optionally transfers the relevant web crawler logs to the site for analysis. Information provided by the logs includes but not limited to the average time for fetching a page by the crawler, the average number of the site's pages read by the crawler, the number of sessions per day, the overall time that the crawler spends on the site per day, the trends of these statistics along time, and the like. According to this embodiment, the system and method can optionally provide statistical information regarding other sites and compare the site's statistical information to the other sites. Such statistical information preferably enables the site owner to improve the web site with regard to interactions with the web crawler of the search engine, hence providing improved SEO characteristics. The system can optionally provide statistical information about the number of accesses to the sites in order to monitor the optimization process;” [0045] “The CDN server 130 preferably saves statistical information regarding the search engine 110. Such information can be, for example, information regarding the number of visits of the search engine 110 in these sites, the page fetching time and the like. This information is available for the site manager in order to optimize the search engine results.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization, Batista’s web page optimizations, and Datta’s code injection to include selecting higher traffic web pages as target webpages in view of Drai in an effort to optimize a website’s coverage (Drai [0011] & MPEP 2143G).
Claim 18
Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta do not explicitly teach, Drai however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
wherein the target webpages are selected in response to the target webpages having higher web traffic. (Drai [0016] “the system and method optionally transfers the relevant web crawler logs to the site for analysis. Information provided by the logs includes but not limited to the average time for fetching a page by the crawler, the average number of the site's pages read by the crawler, the number of sessions per day, the overall time that the crawler spends on the site per day, the trends of these statistics along time, and the like. According to this embodiment, the system and method can optionally provide statistical information regarding other sites and compare the site's statistical information to the other sites. Such statistical information preferably enables the site owner to improve the web site with regard to interactions with the web crawler of the search engine, hence providing improved SEO characteristics. The system can optionally provide statistical information about the number of accesses to the sites in order to monitor the optimization process;” [0045] “The CDN server 130 preferably saves statistical information regarding the search engine 110. Such information can be, for example, information regarding the number of visits of the search engine 110 in these sites, the page fetching time and the like. This information is available for the site manager in order to optimize the search engine results.”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta with Drai persists.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20070112617 A1; WO 2017192321 A1; Singal et al., Web analytics: State-of-art & literature assessment, 2014.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED N EL-BATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624