Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-127 and 131-137 are canceled. Claim 138 is new. Claims 1, 128-130 and 138 are pending and under consideration in this action.
The instant claims are entitled to an effective filing date of 01/05/2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 128-130, and 138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The scope of claim 1 is unclear because claim 1 recites both the close-ended transitional phrase “consisting of” in lines 2-3, followed by a negative limitation reciting the open-ended term “comprise” in line 9. Consequently, there are multiple reasonable claim interpretations. In the first interpretation, claim 1 requires a composition consisting of (a) Bacteroides ovatus, Parabacteroides merdae, and/or Bacteroides thetaiotaomicron; (b) a taurine precursor and/or a 5AV precursor; (c) PEG; and wherein the composition is encapsulated in a pH-sensitive coating. This interpretation excludes any additional element that is not recited in the claim, such as Eisenbergiela tayi. In the second interpretation, the composition of claim 1 encompasses additional unrecited elements because the claim recites “wherein the composition does not comprise Eisenbergiela tayi” in line 9, which indicates that the composition may include additional elements as long as those elements are not E. tayi. Claims 128-130 and 138 depend from claim 1 and are rejected for the reason set forth above.
Claim 128 recites “[t]he composition of claim 1, consisting of the taurine precursor and the 5 AV precursor”, which is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim 128 is further limiting component (b) of claim 1, or the entire composition of claim 1, to the two recited ingredients. To obviate this rejection, claim 128 can be amended to replace “claim 1, consisting of” with “claim 1, wherein b) consists of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 130, and 138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hsiao (US2016/0120920) in view of Anselmo (US2017/0165201).
Regarding claim 1, Hsiao teaches a composition that is substantially free of bacteria other than Enterococcus faecalis, Bacteroides fragilis, B. thetaiotaomicron, and B. vulgatus. See claims 19-20 of Hsiao. Hsiao teaches treating MIA mice offspring with B. thetaiotaomicron, B. vulgatus, or E. faecalis and then assaying for autism spectrum disorder (ASD)-related gastrointestinal and behavioral symptoms. The treatment with B. thetaiotaomicron or B. vulgatus corrects deficits in intestinal barrier integrity, whereas E. faecalis has no significant effect. See [0032]. Hsiao teaches physiologically acceptable carriers that may comprise amino acids, and polyethylene glycol (PEG). See [0025]. Hsiao teaches probiotics that may be available in, for example, capsules. See [0027]. Hsiao does not teach or suggest Eisenbergiela tayi; therefore Hsiao meets the instant limitation that requires the composition to not comprise E. tayi.
Hsiao does not teach a taurine precursor and/or a 5-Aminovaleric acid precursor.
Hsiao does not teach a composition that is encapsulated in a pH-sensitive coating.
Anselmo teaches a formulation of mucoadhesive polymeric encapsulated microorganisms or antigenic components thereof. See claim 1 of Anselmo. The one or more mucoadhesive polymers comprise an outer layer of pH-responsive polymers. See claim 2 of Anselmo. Some pH-responsive polymers include poly(L-lysine) (i.e. the 5AV precursor lysine). See [0132]. The one or more mucoadhesive polymers are applied sequentially layer-by-layer onto the microorganism (i.e. a coating). See claim 4 of Anselmo. Anselmo teaches lubricants and binders including polyethylene glycol (PEG). See [0173]. Furthermore, Anselmo suggests that PEGylation is a preferred chemical modification for pharmaceutical usage. See [0191]. Anselmo further teaches pH-responsive (i.e. pH-sensitive) polymers that are polymethacrylate polymers. See claim 7 of Anselmo.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to combine the B. thetaiotaomicron of Hsiao with the PEG carrier of Hsiao in view of Anselmo, and to further add the poly(L-lysine), and pH-responsive polymethacrylate polymer of Anselmo. First, one would be motivated to select the B. thetaiotaomicron of Hsiao as the only bacterium in the composition because Hsiao teaches that B. thetaiotaomicron corrects deficits in intestinal barrier integrity. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Hsiao indicates that the MIA mice offspring are treated with the B. thetaiotaomicron alone. Second, one would be motivated to select PEG from the list of carriers taught by Hsiao because Anselmo suggests that PEG can act as a lubricant, a binder, and it can be used for PEGylation in pharmaceuticals. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Hsiao teaches PEG amongst a finite list of three surfactant carriers, and Hsiao further suggests using lubricants and binders ([0025] of Hsiao). Third, one would be motivated to add the poly(L-lysine) of Anselmo because Anselmo suggests that protein-based probiotic encapsulates may enhance survival of probiotics ([0004] of Anselmo). There would be a reasonable expectation of success because in paragraph [0132] Anselmo teaches the poly(L-lysine) amongst a finite list of other pH-responsive polymers to choose from. Fifth, one would be motivated to further add an additional pH-responsive polymer including the polymethacrylate polymer of Anselmo because Anselmo explicitly teaches formulations in which the pH-responsive polymers are polymethacrylate polymers (claim 7 of Anselmo). There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Anselmo teaches sequentially layering polymers onto a microorganism (claim 3 of Anselmo).
Regarding claim 130, Anselmo teaches pH-responsive polymers including poly(L-lysine) (i.e. a 5AV precursor). See [0132].
Regarding claim 138, Hsiao teaches that B. thetaiotaomicron improves anxiety-like repetitive and communication behavior in MIA mice. See [0032]. Hsiao teaches improving an anxiety behavior. See [0037] and [0046]. Hsiao teaches improving anxiety and/or repetitive behavior. See [0050] and [0052].
Claims 128 and 129 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hsiao (US2016/0120920) and Anselmo (US2017/0165201), as applied to claims 1, 130 and 138 above, and further in view of Kern (J Am Nutraceut Assoc, 2008, 11, 36-41), with evidence from Matsuda (Nutrients. 2024 May 25;16(11):1622).
Regarding claim 128, Hsiao teaches physiologically acceptable carriers that may comprise amino acids, and polyethylene glycol (PEG). See [0025].
Anselmo teaches using whey proteins to encapsulate microorganism. See [0096] and [0083].
Hsiao and Anselmo do not teach a composition that consists of the taurine precursor and the 5AV precursor.
Kern teaches supplementing children with autism or autism spectrum disorder with non-denatured whey protein isolate (NWPI) (i.e. a taurine precursor). See the abstract. Kern suggests that glutathione (GSH) is lower in children with autism. Cysteine is the rate-limiting substrate for GSH production. See the first and third paragraphs of the introduction. NWPI is cysteine rich. See the second paragraph on page 37. Kern suggests that children with autism do not have problems tolerating cysteine in this form. See the left column on page 39.
Evidentiary reference Matsuda states that whey protein intake may elevate taurine. See the second paragraph of section 4.2 on page 9.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to add the NWPI of Kern to the composition of Hsiao and Anselmo discussed above. One would be motivated to do so because Kern suggests that children with autism tolerate cysteine in this form. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Anselmo suggests that whey protein can be added encapsulate microorganisms, and Kern demonstrates administering the NWPI to children with autism.
Regarding claim 129, Kern teaches that NWPI is cysteine rich. See the second paragraph on page 37.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 02/03/2026, concerning the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they do not apply to the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 119-123, and 128-135 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,224,624 B2 to Needham, hereinafter Needham ‘624 (priority to Feb. 14, 2017), in view of Anselmo (US 2017/0165201), and Kern (J Am Nutraceut Assoc, 2008, 11, 36-41), with evidence from Matsuda (Nutrients. 2024 May 25;16(11):1622).
Claim 1 of Needham ‘624 recites a composition or product combination comprising a genetically engineered Bacteroides ovatus comprising a loss-of-function mutation in a gene encoding BO1194, and a genetically engineered Lactobacillus plantarum comprising a loss-of function mutation in a gene encoding phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD).
Claim 4 of Needham ‘624 recites a method of reducing or inhibiting production of 4-ethylphenol (4EP) and/or 4-ethylphenyl sulfate (4EPS) in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising:
a) administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition or product combination comprising a genetically engineered Bacteroides ovatus comprising a lose-of-function mutation in a gene encoding BO 1194, and a genetically engineered Lactobacillus plantarum comprising a loss-of-function mutation in a gene encoding phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD); and
b) permitting the genetically engineered Bacteroides ovatus and the genetically engineered Lactobacillus plantarum to proliferate in a gastrointestinal tract of the subject, whereby production of 4EP and/or 4EPS in the subject is reduced or inhibited.
Claim 5 of Needham ‘624 recites the method of claim 4, wherein reducing the levels of 4EP and/or 4EPS ameliorates, delays the onset of, or decreases the likelihood of a symptom associated with anxiety and/or autism spectrum disorder (ASD) in the subject.
Claim 18 of Needham ‘624 recites the composition or product combination of claim 1, further comprising Bacteroides fragilis or Bacteroides thetaiotaomicron.
Claim 19 of Needham ‘624 recites the composition or product combination of claim 1, wherein the probiotic composition or product combination is present in a food product.
Claim 20 of Needham ‘624 recites the composition or product combination of claim 1, further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient.
The patent claims of Needham ‘624 are silent regarding a composition that comprises E. tayi, which meets the limitation of instant claim 1.
The patent claims of Needham ‘624 lack: a composition “consisting of” a) one or more types of isolated bacteria selected from Bacteroides ovatus, Parabacteroides merdae, and Bacteroides thetaiotaomicron; b) a taurine precursor and/or a 5AV precursor; c) PEG and d) wherein the composition is encapsulated in a pH-sensitive coating (relevant to instant claim 1); the composition consisting of the taurine and 5AV precursors (relevant to instant claim 128); a taurine precursor that is cysteine , cysteine sulfinic acid, homocysteine, cystathionine, hypotaurine or a mixture thereof (relevant to instant claim 129); a 5AV precursor that is lysine, cadaverine, 1-piperdeine or a mixture thereof (relevant to instant claim 130); and one or more symptoms associated with ASD that comprises a sociability disorder, anxiety, and/or a repetitive behavior (relevant to instant claim 138).
However, Anselmo teaches a formulation of mucoadhesive polymeric encapsulated microorganisms, wherein the one or more mucoadhesive polymers comprise an outer layer of pH-responsive polymers. See claims 1-2 of Anselmo. Anselmo teaches pH-responsive polymers including poly(L-lysine) (i.e. the 5AV precursor lysine) and polymethacrylate polymers. See [0132] and claim 7 of Anselmo. Anselmo teaches lubricants and binders including polyethylene glycol (PEG). See [0173]. Furthermore, Anselmo suggests that PEGylation is a preferred chemical modification for pharmaceutical usage. See [0191]. Kern teaches supplementing children with autism or autism spectrum disorder with non-denatured whey protein isolate (NWPI), which is cysteine rich. See the abstract and the second paragraph on page 37. Evidentiary reference Matsuda states that whey protein intake may elevate taurine. See the second paragraph of section 4.2 on page 9.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to combine only the B. ovatus and/or B. thetaiotaomicron of Needham ‘624 with the PEG, poly(L-lysine) and pH-responsive polymethacrylate polymer of Anselmo, and to further add the NDWPI of Kern in order to reduce one or more symptoms or conditions associated with autism spectrum disorder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 02/03/2026, concerning the previous double patenting rejection over the patent claims of Needham ‘624 have been fully considered but they do not apply to the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/K.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1657