DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 9-10, and 12-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “the light exit window has a predetermined Young's moduli that is different than the peripheral region” (line 10-12) which should be replaced with “the light exit window has a predetermined Young's modulus that is different than that of the peripheral region” to improve claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0351056 to Huang in view of Nakamura et al. (US Patent No. 8,674,038, cited in IDS of 11/04/2025, hereinafter Nakamura) and Leatherdale et al. (US 2006/0105483, hereinafter Leatherdale).
With respect to claim 9, Huang discloses a method of sealing a device (e.g., a package of a light emitting device) (Huang, Figs. 1A-1H, ¶0002, ¶0004, ¶0042-¶0071) comprising a housing (e.g., a carrier structure 130 on a substrate 110 including a circuit layer 120) (Huang, Figs. 1A-1D, ¶0043- ¶0055) including a light engine (e.g., an LED or micro LED 150) (Huang, Figs. 1F-1H, ¶0058-¶0059), the housing contacting a part (e.g., a circuit layer 120 exposed in the grooves 131b) of the device, the method comprising:
providing an encapsulating layer (170/175) (Huang, Figs. 1G-1H, ¶0060- ¶0062) over the housing (130), wherein the encapsulating layer (170/175) includes a central region (e.g., 170) and a peripheral region (e.g., the encapsulating layer 175 in the grooves 133b),
wherein the central region (e.g., 170) is configured to act as a light exit window for light emitted by the light engine (150) and perform an optical function, wherein the optical function includes one (e.g., a light guide) (Huang, Figs. 1G-1H, ¶0060) of a lens, diffuser and light guide;
wherein the peripheral region (e.g., the encapsulating layer 175 in the grooves 133b) (Huang, Fig. 1H, ¶0062) surrounds the central region (170) and is in contact with the part (e.g., a circuit layer 120 in the grooves 131b) and acting as a seal; and
forming the light exit window (e.g., disposing the encapsulating layer 170) such that the light exit window (170) has a predetermined Young's moduli (e.g., Young's modulus of the encapsulating layer 175 is smaller than that of the light exit window 170 to enhance the bending and flexing) (Huang, Fig. 1H, ¶0062) that is different than the peripheral region (e.g., 240).
Further, Huang does not specifically disclose an elastomer molding; and tuning the light exit window such that the light exit window is more resistant to the incorporation of particles and/or scratch-resistant than the peripheral region.
However, Nakamura teaches forming a curable resin for molded bodies (Nakamura, Col. 3, lines 8-20; Col. 4, lines 1-50; Col. 5, lines 13-57; Col. 57; lines 12-32; Col. 58, lines 54-67; Col. 59, lines 13-25; Col. 67, lines 13-26) to provide high strength, transparency, heat resistance, and excellent demoldability, wherein the curable resin comprises thermocurable resin including silicon compound (e.g., polydimethylsiloxane) (Nakamura, Col. 4, lines 15-26; Col. 58, lines 54-67; Col. 59, lines 13-25; Col. 67, lines 13-26) that is cured by irradiation of UV light in a range between 180 nm and 500 nm; and the cured product has a specific hardness high enough to maintain its shape when being demolded.
Further, Leatherdale teaches forming an LED package (Leatherdale, Figs. 1A-1D, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0015-¶0019, ¶0044-¶0050) having an encapsulant (5) that is self-cured by energizing the LED die (1) configured to produce radiation in a range from the UV to the infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum to activate polymerization of the photopolymerizable encapsulant (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0048). In Leatherdale, the central region above the LED (1) is cured (e.g., the polymerization of the encapsulant 5 occurred around the LED such that highest degree of cure being achieved closest to the die) (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0048, ¶0006) and the peripheral region is not cured or cured to a lesser degree than the central region, to limit/reduce the mechanically generated stress within the encapsulant.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that forming the encapsulating structure of Huang including a central region above the LED having higher Young’s modulus and hardness than the peripheral region to have a specific curable resin for molded bodies as taught by Nakamura, wherein the curable resin is cured by irradiation of UV, and wherein the central region is self-cured by energizing the LED as taught by Leatherdale, would provide an elastomer molding with the central region having higher Young’s modulus and hardness that is tuned by curing such that the light exit window is more scratch-resistant than the peripheral region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Huang by forming the encapsulating layer of Huang having different Young’s moduli to include a specific curable resin for molded bodies as taught by Nakamura, wherein the central region of the encapsulating layer including a specific curable resin is curable by self-cured technique by energizing the LED as taught by Leatherdale to have an elastomer molding; and tuning the light exit window such that the light exit window is more resistant to the incorporation of particles and/or scratch-resistant than the peripheral region, in order to provide a curable resin for molded bodies having high strength, transparency, heat resistance, and excellent demoldability; and to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanically generated stress within the encapsulant (Nakamura, Col. 3, lines 8-20; Col. 4, lines 1-50; Col. 5, lines 13-57; Col. 57; lines 12-32; Col. 58, lines 54-67; Leatherdale, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0044-¶0048).
Regarding claim 2, Huang in view of Nakamura and Leatherdale discloses the method of claim 9. Further, Huang does not specifically disclose the method, wherein at least part of the light emitted by the light engine has a wavelength capable of curing the central portion.
However, Leatherdale teaches forming the LED package (Leatherdale, Figs. 1A-1D, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0015-¶0019, ¶0044-¶0050) having an encapsulant (5) that is self-cured by energizing the LED die (1) configured to produce radiation in a range from the UV to the infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum to activate polymerization of the photopolymerizable encapsulant (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0048), to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanical stress within the encapsulant.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Huang/Nakamura/Leatherdale by providing the LED having wavelength for self-cured technique as taught by Leatherdale to have the method, wherein at least part of the light emitted by the light engine has a wavelength capable of curing the central portion, in order to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanically generated stress within the encapsulant (Leatherdale, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0044-¶0048).
Regarding claim 4, Huang in view of Nakamura and Leatherdale discloses the method of claim 9. Further, Huang discloses the method, wherein the housing comprises a further light engine (e.g., another LED 150) (Huang, Figs. 1G-1H, ¶0059), but does not specifically disclose a further light engine capable of emitting visible light.
However, Leatherdale teaches forming one or more LEDs (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0050), wherein the LEDs have an emission light in a range between from the UV to the infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum (e.g., from 400 nm to about 550 nm) (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0044-¶0045) to activate polymerization of the photopolymerizable encapsulant (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0048, ¶0006), to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanically generated stress within the encapsulant.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the method of Huang/Nakamura/Leatherdale by providing more than one LED having wavelength for self-cured technique as taught by Leatherdale to have the method, wherein the housing comprises a further light engine capable of emitting visible light, in order to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanically generated stress within the encapsulant by self-cured technique (Leatherdale, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0044-¶0048).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Huang in view of Nakamura and Leatherdale discloses the method of claim 9. Further, Huang does not specifically disclose the method, wherein the elastomer molding is a silicone (as claimed in claim 13); wherein the silicone is polydimethylsiloxane (as claimed in claim 14).
However, Nakamura teaches forming a curable resin for molded bodies (Nakamura, Col. 15, lines 23-32; Col. 16, lines 19-40; Col. 67, lines 13-26), wherein the curable resin comprises polysiloxane compound including polydimethylsiloxane (Nakamura, Col. 67, lines 13-26), to provide high strength, transparency, heat resistance, and excellent demoldability.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Huang/Nakamura/Leatherdale by forming the encapsulating layer of Huang having different Young’s moduli to include a specific curable resin for molded bodies as taught by Nakamura, wherein the curable resin comprises polysiloxane compound to have the method, wherein the elastomer molding is a silicone (as claimed in claim 13); wherein the silicone is polydimethylsiloxane (as claimed in claim 14), in order to provide a curable resin for molded bodies having high strength, transparency, heat resistance, and excellent demoldability (Nakamura, Col. 3, lines 8-20; Col. 4, lines 1-50; Col. 5, lines 13-57; Col. 15, lines 23-32; Col. 16, lines 19-40; Col. 67, lines 13-26).
Claims 3, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0351056 to Huang in view of Nakamura (US Patent No. 8,674,038) and Leatherdale (US 2006/0105483) as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Kondo (US 2007/0194337).
Regarding claim 10, Huang in view of Nakamura and Leatherdale discloses the method of claim 9. Further, Huang does not specifically disclose the method, wherein the step of tuning includes curing the central region by selectively irradiating the central region with a light source external to the device through a mask.
However, Leatherdale teaches additional illumination by an external light source to complete the cure of the encapsulant (5) (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0048). Further, Kondo teaches a lens mold forming method comprising selectively curing the central region of the elastomer molding (e.g., resin 63) (Kondo, Figs. 18A-18B, ¶0009-¶0012, ¶0071, ¶0134-¶0143, ¶0146) by using a mask (62) such that the central portion is cured by ultraviolet beam and the peripheral regions blocked by the mask (62) are uncured to provide reliable lens element having the desired shape (e.g., the circler shape). In Kondo, the step of selectively curing comprises selectively irradiating the central region with a light source external to the device through a mask (62) (Kondo, Figs. 18A-18B, ¶0142-¶0143).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Huang/Nakamura/Leatherdale by forming the central region having the desired shape by using a mask as taught by Kondo, wherein an additional curing is carried out by using an external light source as taught by Leatherdale to have the method, wherein the step of tuning includes curing the central region by selectively irradiating the central region with a light source external to the device through a mask, in order to provide reliable lens element having the desired shape; and to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanically generated stress within the encapsulant (Kondo, ¶0009-¶0012, ¶0071, ¶0142-¶0143, ¶0146; Leatherdale, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0044-¶0048).
Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Nakamura, Leatherdale, and Kondo discloses the method of claim 10. Further, Huang does not specifically disclose the method, wherein step of irradiating the central region comprises selectively irradiating the central region with UV radiation.
However, Kondo teaches a lens mold forming method comprising selectively curing the central region of the elastomer molding (e.g., resin 63) (Kondo, Figs. 18A-18B, ¶0009-¶0012, ¶0071, ¶0134-¶0143, ¶0146) by using a mask (62) such that the central portion is cured by ultraviolet beam and the peripheral regions blocked by the mask (62) are uncured to provide reliable lens element having the desired shape (e.g., the circler shape). In Kondo, the step of selectively curing comprises selectively irradiating the central region with a light source external to the device through a mask (62) (Kondo, Figs. 18A-18B, ¶0142-¶0143).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Huang/Nakamura/Leatherdale/Kondo by forming the central region having the desired shape by using a mask as taught by Kondo to have the method, wherein step of irradiating the central region comprises selectively irradiating the central region with UV radiation, in order to provide reliable lens element having the desired shape (Kondo, ¶0009-¶0012, ¶0071, ¶0142-¶0143, ¶0146).
Regarding claim 3, Huang in view of Nakamura, Leatherdale, and Kondo discloses the method of claim 12. Further, Huang does not specifically disclose the method, wherein the light engine comprises a light emitting diode capable of emitting UV radiation.
However, Leatherdale teaches forming the LED package (Leatherdale, Figs. 1A-1D, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0015-¶0019, ¶0044-¶0050) having an encapsulant (5) that is self-cured by energizing the LED die (1) configured to produce radiation in a range from the UV to the infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum to activate polymerization of the photopolymerizable encapsulant (Leatherdale, Figs. 1B-1D, ¶0048), to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanical stress within the encapsulant.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Huang/Nakamura/Leatherdale/Kondo by providing the LED having wavelength for self-cured technique as taught by Leatherdale to have the method, wherein the light engine comprises a light emitting diode capable of emitting UV radiation, in order to provide encapsulant with controlled mechanically generated stress within the encapsulant (Leatherdale, ¶0006-¶0009, ¶0044-¶0048).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-4, 9-10, and 12-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891