DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 6,406,074 to Mahaney.
Mahaney discloses an apparatus for securing an electricity meter to a meter socket box, the apparatus comprising: a ring (18) comprising an annular body portion having a split forming first and second ends (20, 22) of the annular body portion; wherein a first tab member (20) is disposed on the first ring end, and a second tab member (22) is disposed on the second ring end; a connective member (26) disposed on the first tab member, the connective member comprising a fastening member comprising a fastener body portion forming a head section (44) and a shaft section (46), the shaft section forming an open end, and wherein the fastener body portion comprises a fastener interior surface (60, 62) defining a cavity extending axially from the open end and into at least the shaft section, and wherein the exterior surface of the shaft section forms a thread member (50); and a receiver member (24) disposed on the second tab member, wherein the receiver member comprises an interior surface (28) defining a receiving groove (32) adapted to threadably receive the thread member of the shaft section (via 34), the first and second tab members being securable by the connective member and receiver member, and wherein the interior surface of the receiver member is configured for receiving a locking member (70) , the fastener interior surface being configured for interconnection with the locking member (figure 11), as in claim 1.
Mahaney also discloses a locking member (70) comprising a head member (74) and a shaft member (intermediate portion between 72 and 74), and wherein the interior surface of the receiver member further defines a cylindrical bore (30) therethrough being adapted to receive the shaft member, wherein the fastener interior surface is configured for interconnecting the shaft member (figure 11), as in claim 2, wherein the shaft member of the locking member comprises at least one locking element (72), the shaft member of the locking member being insertable through the open end of the shaft section and into the cavity of the fastener body portion, the fastener interior surface being configured for interconnecting with the at least one locking element (figure 11), as in claim 3, as well as the cavity of the fastener body portion extends axially from the open end and completely through the shaft section and into at least a portion of the head section (figures 3 and 4), as in claim 4.
Mahaney further discloses the interior surface of the head section forms at least one recess adapted to receive the at least one locking element (figures 3 and 4), as in claim 5, and the interior surface of the head section forms at least two recesses (64) each being adapted to receive the at least one locking element (figures 3 and 4), as in claim 6, wherein the at least two recesses (64) are adapted to incrementally receive the at least one locking element, the at least two recesses being formed in succession, wherein the shaft member may be incrementally inserted into the head section so as to draw together the first and second tab members to foster adjustably securing an electricity meter to a meter socket box (figures 3 and 4), as in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 19, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s arguments as best understood that Mahaney does not disclose the interior surface of the receiver member is configured for receiving a locking member, the fastener interior surface being configured for interconnection with the locking member, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Mahaney discloses the interior cavity of the receiver member is constructed such that an element can be placed therein, where the element and the interior cavity interconnect to change the lock status of the apparatus.
In regard to the applicant’s argument as best understood that Mahaney does not disclose the exterior surface of the shaft section forms a thread member, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The thread member Mahaney is threaded (passed through an aperture) into the interior surface and retained therein with the retaining groove and snap ring. Its additionally stated the claims are absent of threads, and what is meant by thread member, specifically if the thread is to be screw type, spiral threads or an object to pass through another.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
September 4, 2026