DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Application Status
The Amendments and Remarks filed 24 November 2025 in response to the Office Action dated 30 June 2025 are acknowledged and have been entered. Claims 1, 3-31 and 34 are pending and being examined on the merits.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of application 14/319,693 filed 06/30/2014 which claims priority to application 61/906,188 filed 11/19/2013.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, 17-21, 24-29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gratz (Gratz et al. Genetics, 2013, 194:1029-1035; published August 2013, of record) in view of Giles (Giles et al. Fly, 7:4, 249-255. 2013).
Regarding claim 1, 4-6, 17, 19-21, and 28-29, Gratz teaches the ability to replace a gene with a sequence that enables site-specific integration of engineered genes into the targeted locus [pg. 1030, col. 2, para 5). Gratz teaches a method comprised of introducing to a drosophila cell (1) nucleic acids encoding for two guide RNA sequences that are complementary to two different target sequences and (2) nucleic acids encoding for Cas9 (i.e., RNA guided DNA binding protein), wherein the Cas9 protein interacts with the guide RNA sequences to induce two double stranded breaks to excise a 4.6kb intervening nucleic acid sequences [pg. 1030, see “Engineered defined deletions”; pg.1032, left column, para2; Table S1] and (3) exogenous single stranded nucleic acid sequence comprising a attP docking site that is inserted into the break sites through homologous recombination [page 1030, see "Cas9-mediated homologous recombination"; Figure 1-2]. Gratz further demonstrates in drosophila cells that the expressions of two guide RNAs and Cas9 are effective at excising unwanted nucleic acid sequences, follow by insertion of an exogenous nucleic acid sequence via homologous recombination into the cleaved DNA, and transmitting the gene modification to progenies [page 1033, right column, last paragraph; table 1].
Gratz does not teach that the exogenous sequence to be inserted is greater that 1000 base pairs in length.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 12 and 17-18 Giles teaches that while ssODN donors such as the one we utilized to integrate an attP docking site are useful for small modifications, larger insertions and the incorporation of visible markers for screening will require double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) donors [pg. 252, col. 1, para 2]. Giles teaches that injected dsDNA donor templates have been successfully utilized in Drosophila to incorporate up to 13 kb of exogenous sequence in both P element and ZFN-induced HR [pg. 252, col. 1, para 2]. Giles teaches that based on a comprehensive analysis of ZFN-induced HR, dsDNA donors containing flanking homology arms of at least 1 kb in length serve as effective donors [pg. 252, col. 1, para 2]. Giles teaches that dsDNA donors have been employed in mammalian cells as templates for CRISPR/Cas9-induced HR and there is every reason to expect they will work as effectively in flies [pg. 252, col. 1, para 2]. Giles teaches that while this strategy requires generating a donor template, it will facilitate simple screening while enabling a broad range of modifications, from gene deletion and replacement to the incorporation of fluorescent tags [pg. 252, col. 1, para 2].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Gratz by using an dsDNA donor exogenous sequence of 1kb or more which is flanked by homology arms of at least 1 kb in length. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make the modification for the advantage of facilitating simple screening while enabling a broad range of modifications, to include the incorporation of fluorescent tags. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success since Giles teaches that dsDNA donors greater than 1kb in length have been successfully incorporated into DNA using ZFN induced HR and that dsDNA donors have been employed in mammalian cells as templates for CRISPR/Cas9-induced HR.
Regarding claims 7-8, Gratz teaches that efficient target recognition by the CRISPR RNA/Cas9 system requires 20 nucleotides (nt) of homology between the chiRNA and its genomic target, thereby teaches wherein the chiRNA has at least 20 nucleotides [pg. 1030, col. 1, para 2].
Regarding claims 9-10, 24-25 and 34, Gratz teaches that the chimeric RNA (chiRNA) comprises the crRNA and tracrRNA (i.e., a sgRNA) from Streptococcus pyogenes [pg. 1029, col. 2, para 2].
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Gratz teaches that the genome editing occurred on the X chromosome of Drosophila [pg. 1030, col. 1, para 2].
Regarding claim 13, Gratz teaches Cas9-generated DSBs are repaired by NHEJ and HR [Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 27, Gratz teaches cells comprising the CRISPR system with targeted deletion [pg. 1030, col. 2, para 1-4].
Claims 15-16, 22-23, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gratz (Gratz et al. Genetics, 2013, 194:1029-1035; published August 2013, of record) in view of Giles (Giles et al. Fly, 7:4, 249-255. 2013), as applied to claims 1, 17, and 27 and further in view of Frendewey (US 2013/0309670 A1).
The teachings of Gratz and Giles are discussed above as applied to claims 1, 17, and 27 and similarly apply to claims 15-16, 22-23, and 30-31.
Gratz and Giles do not teach wherein the cell is a human induced pluripotent stem cell.
Frendewey teaches a method of modifying human pluripotent stem cell comprised of cleaving genomic DNA to cause a double stranded break using a nuclease and providing a large targeting vector comprising exogenous nucleic acid sequences that is inserted into the cleaved genomic DNA [entire document, specifically 0005 and 0022; Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the eukaryotic cell of Gratz for the pluripotent stem cell of Frendewey. This modification would amount to a simple substitution of one cell for another, wherein both cells are known to be modified using CRISPR Cas systems. Additionally, the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results supports can support a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP 2143(I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success since both Gratz, Giles and Frendewey each teach the use of CRISPR Cas Systems to modify cells comprised using a nuclease to cleave genomic DNA to cause a double stranded break and providing a large targeting vector comprising exogenous nucleic acid sequences that is inserted into the cleaved genomic DNA.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered and were persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gratz and Giles.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/TIFFANY NICOLE GROOMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637