DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Final Office Action is in response to the Amendment and Remarks filed 11/03/2025, where:
Claims 28, 36 and 44 are amended;
Claim 30 is cancelled; Claim 48 is new; and
Claims 28, 29 and 31-48 are considered herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 28-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 28 recites, wherein the abstract elements are not emboldened:
An engagement and care support platform ("ECSP") computer system for facilitating user engagement therewith, the ECSP computer system comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device in communication therewith, the at least one processor programmed to: register a user through an application executing on a first client device, wherein the user inputs user data associated with the user including user preferences; collect sensor data relating to the user from at least one of the first client device, a wearable device associated with the user, or a smart device located proximate to the user; generate a user profile for the user including the user data and the sensor data; build a daily interactive user interface including displayable content for display on the first client device, the content displayed on the daily interactive user interface including upcoming activities scheduled for the user and at least one type of media; train at least one machine learning model using training data including data from the user profile; using the at least one trained machine learning model and without prompting the user to input further data, identify media content for display on the daily interactive user interface as the at least one type of media, the at least one machine learning model configured to identify the media content that will cause the user to engage with the application; and cause the first client device to display for the user the daily interactive user interface including the upcoming activities scheduled for the user and the identified media content for causing the user to engage with the application.
Independent claims 36 and 44 recite similar limitations. The claimed invention is broadly directed to the abstract idea of collecting user information, analyzing an interaction with a computer device in communication with a second computer device, and determining whether a user of the computer device has interacted or will interact with the display of a computer device.
The limitations to “register a user, wherein the user inputs user data associated with the user including user preferences; collect data relating to the user … located proximate to the user; generate a user profile for the user including the user data; build a daily interactive user interface including displayable content, the content displayed on the daily interactive user interface including upcoming activities scheduled for the user and at least one type of media; using the user profile and without prompting the user to input further data, identify media content as the at least one type of media, configured to identify media content that will cause the user to engage with the application; and cause the daily interactive user interface including the upcoming activities scheduled for the user and the identified media content for causing the user to engage,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is an abstract idea that covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “computer systems,” a “processor,” a “memory device,” a “wearable device,” training a “machine learning model”, “sensors” and an “application” and interface/display nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the generic computing device language, a system for making a user interface by hand and creating interaction prompts for a user interface and then determining if a user has interacted with the user interface in the context of this claim encompasses one skilled in the pertinent art to manually determine the details of a user’s situation and acknowledging whether a user interacts with some user interface and in what manner. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
In addition, the claim language includes limitations that covers performance of the limitation as organizing human activity including following rules or instructions. The claim recites as a whole a method of organizing human activity because the limitations include a method that allows users to access a user’s data, analyze the data and some indication, and updating engagement by the user based on the analyses. This is a method of managing interactions between people. The mere nominal recitation of a generic display/interface and generic computer devices, sensors and machine learning tools does not take the claims out of the method of organizing human interactions grouping. The limitations seem to monopolize the abstract idea of patient analysis and general diagnostic techniques between a clinician and her patient that are well-established and conventional. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of the “computer systems,” a “processor,” a “memory device,” a “wearable device,” training a “machine learning model”, “sensors” and an “application” and interface/display to perform the claimed increase in user engagement with the application when displayed on the daily interactive user interface, generation of senior profiles, and subsequent determinations and communications. Also, the devices and machine learning in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor/server/storage/display performing a generic computer function of receiving inputs and displaying selected information) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is thus directed to an abstract idea.
Furthermore, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of in response to the user interaction, transmitting a message to a second computer device of the caregiver including indicating whether any user interaction was received at the first client device, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Furthermore, the dependent claims do not remedy the deficiencies of the independent claims with respect to patent eligible subject matter, but merely further limit the abstract idea. Dependent claims 34 and 42 include a verbal interaction which merely adds computer components such as a microphone to the abstract idea and amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. Dependent claims 32, 40 and 47 include a touch interaction received at a client computer device. The verbal acknowledgement and the touch interaction are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component and cannot provide an inventive concept. Even in combination, the implied microphone/speaker and verbal acknowledgement and touch screen interaction do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Claims 34-35 and 42-43 recite a chatbot for audio prompts, which is recited at a high level of generality such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component and cannot provide an inventive concept. Even in combination, the chatbot and prompts do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Claim 48 details a reward system and further limits the abstract idea. The additional limitations in the remaining dependent claims merely detail a type of data input or calculated or displayed, or sending and receiving and storing and retrieving of information. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28, 31, 36, 39, 44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2017/0214758 A1 to Engel, hereinafter “Engel,” in view of U.S. 11,188,840 B1 to Rivera et al., hereinafter “Rivera,” in view of U.S. 2009/0259492 A1 to Cossman, hereinafter “Cossman,” in view of U.S. 2019/0362319 A1 to Yen, hereinafter “Yen” and further in view of U.S. 2020/0126670 A1 to Bender et al., hereinafter “Bender.”
Regarding claim 28, Engel discloses An engagement and care support platform ("ECSP") computer system for facilitating senior user engagement, the ECSP computer system including at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device in communication therewith (See Engel at Figs. 1-8), the at least one processor is programmed to: collect sensor data relating to the user from at least one of the first client device, a wearable device associated with the user, or a smart device located proximate to the user (See id. at least at Paras. [0024], [0080], [0107], [0111]-[0112]; Figs. 1-8); generate a user profile for the user including the user data and the sensor data (See id. at least at Paras. [0027]-[0037], [0054]-[0069] (“[A] particular user interaction record 402 includes a user ID 404 (e.g., an identifier for a particular user of the server system (e.g., the server system 120 in FIG. 1), an origin value 406 (e.g., a identifier of the service through which the interaction was received), a time 408, an interaction type 410 (e.g., details of the interaction), an interaction family 412 (e.g., the general category into which the interaction falls), a device 414 (e.g., an identifier for the particular device from which the interaction record was received)”); Claims 6-10; Figs. 1-8); build a daily interactive user interface including displayable content for display on the first client device, the content displayed on the daily interactive user interface (See id. at least at Paras. [0069]-[0074]; Figs. 1-8).
Engel may not specifically describe but Rivera teaches to train at least one machine learning model using training data including data from the user profile; using the at least one trained machine learning model and the user profile, identify media content for display on the daily interactive user interface as the at least one type of media, the at least one machine learning model configured to identify the media content that will cause the user to engage with the application (See Rivera at least at Abstract; Col. 1, ln. 46 – Col. 2, ln. 53 (machine learning tools and user interaction); Col. 4, ln. 15-20 (“After a user provides input through a first page of the web application 132, successive pages may dynamically generate content displayed to the user based on the input from the first page. The sequence of pages shown to a user may vary depending on the information the user provides.”); Col. 7, ln. 4-51 (“At regular intervals during the interaction session, the retention module 134 may also predict the next action a user will take and customize the page(s) and/or content presented to the user based on the prediction [media content]. The retention module 134 may predict the next action via a fourth machine-learning model (as described in greater detail in FIG. 2) based on the retention-prediction value, the reason (if the retention-prediction value meets the threshold retention-prediction value), and input features based on the composite information set.”); Col. 11, ln. 50 – Col. 12, ln. 33 (An “action for increasing the probability that the user will complete the target action.”); Col. 13, ln. 39-53; Claims 1, 5; Figs. 2-4); and cause the first client device to display for the user the daily interactive user interface including the identified media content for causing the user to engage with the application (See id. at least at Col. 1, ln. 46 – Col. 2, ln. 53 (“[S]ending one or more pages for display to a user via a network during an interaction session between the user and an application, wherein the one or more web pages include elements for collecting response data from the user; receiving, via the pages, the response data from the user; collecting, via the application, additional data that characterizes user behavior during the interaction session.”); Col. 4, ln. 15-20; Col. 7, ln. 30-51; Col. 11, ln. 50 – Col. 12, ln. 33; Col. 13, ln. 39-53; Claims 1, 5; Figs. 2-4).
Engels and Rivera may not specifically describe but Cossman teaches to register a user through an application executing on a first client device, wherein the user inputs user data associated with the user including user preferences (See Cossman at least at Abstract; Paras. [0026]-[0030] (patient registered and doctor registered), [0033]-[0037] (Predetermined schedule. “[S]tored consultation information is accessed, viewed, and/or downloaded by a doctor from the service, and/or a report is sent by the service to the doctor or retrieved by the doctor from the service […] The same or similar information, groupings, summaries, and the like can be provided for viewing and/or downloading by the patient, such as via an interactive secure web site [application on first client device] provided by the service.”), [0045]-[0050] (“The web server can interact with a doctor and/or a patient to register them to use the remote consultation service. The web server can also authorize users to access consultation information stored in data storage device 470, and can present, group, summarize, and/or otherwise manipulate the stored information for viewing [interactive user interface with preferences] and/or downloading by authorized users.”); Claims 21, 23; Figs. 3-6).
The references may not specifically describe but Yen teaches including upcoming activities scheduled for the user and at least one type of media; and to display the upcoming activities scheduled for the user (See Yen at least at Abstract; Paras. [0001]-[0004], [0018], [0037], [0046]-[0052]; Claim 1; Fig. 7).
The references may not specifically describe but Bender teaches using a machine learning model and applying without prompting the user to input further user data (See Bender at least at Paras. [0107] (“Embodiments herein can provide enhanced user interface functionality so that actions of a first user can be automatically sensed by a second user and, further, so that inputs can be provided by a computer system without manual input on behalf of the user […] Various decision data structures can be used to drive artificial intelligence (AI) decision making, such as decision data structure that cognitively maps stress levels to haptic feedback selections. Decision data structures as set forth herein can be updated by machine learning so that accuracy and reliability is iteratively improved over time.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel to incorporate the teachings of Rivera, Cossman, Yen and Bender and provide machine learning tools, registering devices and clients, and displaying pertinent results. Rivera is directed to machine learning models to facilitate user retention. Cossman relates to a remote consultation system. Yen is for a smart calendar system of managing tasks and schedules. Bender is directed to machine learning and using biometric signals of a patient. Incorporating the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender with the smart calendar system of Yen with the machine learning models of Rivera, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Regarding claim 31, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen and Bender teaches the limitations of claim 28 and Rivera further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to identify an article of interest to the user as the media content for display on the daily interactive user interface, and wherein the article is displayed along with a visual prompt requesting that the user interact with the article (See Rivera at least at Abstract; Col. 1, ln. 46 – Col. 2, ln. 53 (machine learning tools and user interaction); Co. 3, ln. 15-20 (“Specifically, embodiments disclosed herein describe a machine-learning system for predicting behavior of application users and selecting intervention actions for the application to perform to facilitate user retention.”); Col. 4, ln. 15-20 (“After a user provides input through a first page of the web application 132, successive pages may dynamically generate content displayed to the user based on the input from the first page. The sequence of pages shown to a user may vary depending on the information the user provides.”); Col. 7, ln. 4-51 (“At regular intervals during the interaction session, the retention module 134 may also predict the next action a user will take and customize the page(s) and/or content presented to the user based on the prediction [media content]. The retention module 134 may predict the next action via a fourth machine-learning model (as described in greater detail in FIG. 2) based on the retention-prediction value, the reason (if the retention-prediction value meets the threshold retention-prediction value), and input features based on the composite information set.”); Col. 11, ln. 50 – Col. 12, ln. 33 (An “action for increasing the probability that the user will complete the target action.”); Col. 12, ln. 40-50 (“[A]ltering at least one aspect of the one or more web pages to facilitate user performance of the next action. For example, if the next action is that the user will enter text in a field, the application may dynamically increase the display size of a label of the field and/or the field itself, highlight the field, or display a pop-up balloon with instructions near the field to explain a format in which text should be entered into the field.”); Col. 13, ln. 39-53; Claims 1, 5; Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claims 36, 39, 44 and 46, (claims 36 and 44) and (claims 39 and 46) recite substantially the same limitations as included in claims 28 and 31, respectively. Thus, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection and same reasoning as applied to claims 28 and 31, above.
Claims 29, 37-38 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel, in view of Rivera, in view of Cossman, in view of Yen, in view of Bender and further in view of U.S. 2016/0342767 A1 to Narasimhan et al., hereinafter “Narasimhan.”
Regarding claim 29, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen and Bender teaches the limitations of claim 28. The references may not specifically describe but Narasimhan teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to identify a digital photograph associated with the user as the media content for display on the daily interactive user interface, and wherein the digital photograph is displayed along with a visual prompt requesting that the user acknowledge the digital photograph (See Narasimhan at least at Paras. [0009] (identify image associated with user medication), [0012] (acknowledgement), [0026], [0062]-[0064], [0080] (acknowledgement from patient and prompt providing further instructions), [0083], [0087], [0145]; Claims 4-6; Figs. 3-6, 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel, Rivera, Cossman, Bender and Yen to incorporate the teachings of Narasimhan and provide image and prompting/acknowledgement. Narasimhan is directed to medication adherence and care platform. Incorporating the adherence and care platform of Narasimhan with the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender, the smart calendar system of Yen, the machine learning models of Rivera, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Regarding claims 37 and 45, claims 37 and 45 recite substantially the same limitations as included in claim 29. Thus, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection and same reasoning as applied to claim 29, above.
Regarding claim 38, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen, Bender and Narasimhan teaches the limitations of claim 37 and Narasimhan further teaches wherein the digital photograph is received from a second client device associated with a registered caregiver of a circle of caregivers for the user (See id. at least at Paras. [0009]-[0015], [0021]-[0030], [0047], [0071]-[0072], [0084]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel, Rivera, Cossman, Bender and Yen to incorporate the teachings of Narasimhan and provide caregiver sending and receiving media and information. Narasimhan is directed to medication adherence and care platform. Incorporating the adherence and care platform of Narasimhan with the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender, the smart calendar system of Yen, the machine learning models of Rivera, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Claims 32-33, 40-41 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel, in view of Rivera, in view of Cossman, in view of Yen, in view of Bender and further in view of U.S. 2013/0147899 A1 to Labhard, hereinafter “Labhard.”
Regarding claim 32, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen and Bender teaches the limitations of claim 28. The references may not specifically describe but Labhard teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to determine whether a user interaction was received via the daily interactive user interface at the first client device by determining (i) whether any touch interaction was received at the first client device via the daily interactive user interface, and (ii) whether any audible interaction was received via the first client device (See Labhard at least at Abstract; Paras. [0006]-[0007], [0020]-[0022]; Claims 5, 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel, Rivera, Cossman, Bender and Yen to incorporate the teachings of Labhard and provide interactions. Labhard is directed to an Alzheimer’s support system. Incorporating the support system as in Labhard with the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender the smart calendar system of Yen, the machine learning models of Rivera, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Regarding claim 33, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen, Bender and Labhard teaches the limitations of claim 32 and Labhard further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: receive an indication of touch interaction from the first client device; generate a daily update message including data representing the indication of the touch interaction; and transmit the daily update message to at least one second client device each being associated with at least one caregiver of a circle of caregivers for the user (See id.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel, Rivera, Cossman, Bender and Yen to incorporate the teachings of Labhard and provide interactions. Labhard is directed to an Alzheimer’s support system. Incorporating the support system as in Labhard with the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender, the smart calendar system of Yen, the machine learning models of Rivera, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Regarding claims 40-41 and 47, (claims 40 and 47) and (claim 41) recite substantially the same limitations as included in claims 32 and 33, respectively. Thus, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection and same reasoning as applied to claims 32 and 33, above.
Claims 34 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel, in view of Rivera, in view of Cossman, in view of Yen, in view of Bender, in view of Narasimhan, in view of U.S. 2022/0031239 A1 to Curtis, hereinafter “Curtis” and further in view of U.S. 2019/0362858 A1 to Valentino et al., hereinafter “Valentino.”
Regarding claim 34, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen and Bender teaches the limitations of claim 28. The references may not specifically describe but Narasimhan teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to use the machine learning tools to identify a digital photograph associated with the user as the media content for display on the daily interactive user interface, and wherein the digital photograph is displayed (See Narasimhan at least at Paras. [0009] (identify image associated with user medication), [0012] (acknowledgement), [0026], [0062]-[0064], [0080] (acknowledgement from patient and prompt providing further instructions), [0083], [0087], [0145]; Claims 4-6; Figs. 3-6, 9). The references may not specifically describe but Curtis teaches wherein the at least one processor is in further communication with a chatbot (See Curtis at least at Paras. [0011], [0021] (chatbot and audio interactions), [0059] (prompt), [0069]-[0072] (“The tracking module 218 is integrated with one or more messaging platforms and one or more voice platforms of the computing device corresponding to the users to monitor textual interactions and audio interactions of the users.) and an audio prompt generated by the chatbot (See id.). The references may not specifically describe but Valentino teaches the audio prompt requesting that the user verbally acknowledge the digital photograph (See Valentino at least at Paras. [0059]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel, Rivera, Cossman, Bender and Yen to incorporate the teachings of Narasimhan, Curtis and Valentino and provide chatbots and verbal acknowledgement. Narasimhan is directed to medication adherence and care platform. Curtis relates to analyzing and sharing information over a communication network including AI based agent modules (chatbots). Valentino is directed to monitoring remotely located individuals. Incorporating the adherence and care platform of Narasimhan with the chatbots of Curtis, the remote monitoring of Valentino, the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender, the smart calendar system of Yen, the machine learning models of Rivera, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 recites substantially the same limitations as included in claim 34. Thus, claim 42 is rejected under the same grounds of rejection and same reasoning as applied to claim 34, above.
Claims 35 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel, in view of Rivera, in view of Cossman, in view of Yen, in view of Bender, in view of Narasimhan and further in view of Curtis.
Regarding claim 35, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen and Bender teaches the limitations of claim 28. The references may not specifically describe but Curtis teaches wherein the at least one processor is in further communication with a chatbot, and wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: cause the chatbot to generate an audio prompt relating to one of a previously scheduled activity (See Curtis at least at Paras. [0011], [0021] (chatbot and audio interactions), [0059] (prompt), [0069]-[0072] (“The tracking module 218 is integrated with one or more messaging platforms and one or more voice platforms of the computing device corresponding to the users to monitor textual interactions and audio interactions of the users.); cause the first client device to audibly present the audio prompt to the user requesting an audio response to the audio prompt (See id.). Rivera further teaches to transmit an indication that the audio response was received to at least one second client device (See Rivera at least at Col. 13, ln. 26-53 (“The application 416 receives the response data from the user (e.g., via I/O device interface 404 or network interface 406) in response to the sending. The application 416 also collects additional data that characterizes user behavior during the interaction session.”); Col. 5, ln. 55-65 (data include “linguistic or paralinguistic features of audio input received through a microphone associated with the computing device 120 (which may indicate whether the user is frustrated).”); Col. 6, ln. 57-65 (“Once the retention module 134 has determined the intervention action, the retention module 134 signals the web application 132 to perform the intervention action. For example, if the intervention action is to connect the user with a live support agent, the web application 132 can open a messaging interface (e.g., a chat window or a two-way audio connection) via the browser”)). While Narasimhan further teaches being associated with at least one caregiver of a circle of caregivers for the user (See Narasimhan at least at Paras. [0009]-[0015], [0021]-[0030], [0047], [0071]-[0072], [0084]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel, Cossman and Yen to incorporate the teachings of Narasimhan and Curtis and provide audio prompts and interactions with caregivers. Narasimhan is directed to medication adherence and care platform. Curtis relates to analyzing and sharing information over a communication network including AI based agent modules (chatbots). Rivera is directed to machine learning models to facilitate user retention for applications. Incorporating the adherence and care platform of Narasimhan with the chatbots of Curtis, the machine learning retention models of Rivera, the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender, the smart calendar system of Yen, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 recites substantially the same limitations as included in claim 35. Thus, claim 43 is rejected under the same grounds of rejection and same reasoning as applied to claim 35, above.
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel, in view of Rivera, in view of Cossman, in view of Yen, in view of Bender, in view of U.S. 2016/0106627 A1 to Geman et al., hereinafter “Geman” and further in view of U.S. 11,436,549 B1 to Hull et al., hereinafter “Hull.”
Regarding claim 48, Engel as modified by Rivera, Cossman, Yen and Bender teaches the limitations of claim 28 and Rivera further teaches to re-train the at least one machine learning model using the reward signal such that subsequent generated assignment data more accurately predicts the level of satisfaction (See Rivera at least at Abstract; Col. 1, ln. 46 – Col. 2, ln. 53 (machine learning tools and user interaction); Col. 4, ln. 15-20 (“After a user provides input through a first page of the web application 132, successive pages may dynamically generate content displayed to the user based on the input from the first page. The sequence of pages shown to a user may vary depending on the information the user provides.”); Col. 7, ln. 4-51 (“At regular intervals during the interaction session, the retention module 134 may also predict the next action a user will take and customize the page(s) and/or content presented to the user based on the prediction [media content]. The retention module 134 may predict the next action via a fourth machine-learning model (as described in greater detail in FIG. 2) based on the retention-prediction value, the reason (if the retention-prediction value meets the threshold retention-prediction value), and input features based on the composite information set.”); Col. 11, ln. 50 – Col. 12, ln. 33 (An “action for increasing the probability that the user will complete the target action.”); Col. 13, ln. 39-53; Claims 1, 5; Figs. 2-4).
The references may not specifically describe rewards system but Geman teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: generate assignment data based upon task data associated with a plurality of caregivers; (See Geman at least at Abstract; Paras. [0005]-[0013], [0047], [0061]; Claims 16, 19).
While Hull teaches generate a reward signal by comparing the assignment data to user-satisfaction data indicative of a level of satisfaction experienced by the user and at least one of the plurality of caregivers (See Hull at least at Abstract; Col. 1, ln 55-67; Col. 9, ln. 29 – Col. 10, ln 20; Fig. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Engel, Cossman and Yen to incorporate the teachings of Geman and Hull and provide reward system and caregiver satisfaction. Geman is directed to methods for medication adherence. Hull relates to machine learning and caregivers. Incorporating the rewards of Geman with the caregiver satisfaction of Hull, the machine learning retention models of Rivera, the machine learning without further user prompts as in Bender, the smart calendar system of Yen, the remote consultation system as in Cossman and the tracking and encouraging of user interactions as in Engel would thereby improve the applicability, efficacy, and accuracy of the claimed living engagement and care support platforms.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed November 3, 2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The following explains why:
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to prior art rejections are not persuasive/moot in light of at least new reference Bender. See rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to subject matter eligibility are not persuasive. The basis for the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101 is still operative, as is the precedential case law used in support of the rejection. Notwithstanding, the claims have been addressed with regard to the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection discussed above, and considered under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG). The arguments at pages 10-14 of Applicant’s Response are not persuasive. At pages 10-11 the Examiner disagrees that there is not a judicial exception. Here the machine learning is just a computer tool used to employ the abstract idea. Specifically, without the machine learning, the claims appear to be targeted advertising of finding content with which a user is more likely to interact. The “machine learning” in the claims are high level, and amount to applying the exception using a generic computer (see e.g. Updated PEG Example 47, claim 2, where the “detecting” and “analyzing” were mental processes, and “using the trained ANN” amounted to generic computer implementation). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
At pages 12-13 it is argued that there is a technological improvement overall that overcomes the abstract idea and there is a practical application. The Examiner disagrees, as stated above as the limitations do not appear to impose meaningful limits on monopolizing an abstract idea of determining if a user interacts with a particular catered prompt. In the pending application, there doesn’t appear to be any demonstrable improvement in technology per se. Furthermore, MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP 2106.05(a) indicates that a practical application may be present where the claimed invention provides a technical solution to a technical problem. See, e.g., DDR Holdings, LLC. v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1259 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (finding that claiming a website that retained the “look and feel” of a host webpage provided a technological solution to the problem of retention of website visitors by utilizing a website descriptor that emulated the “look and feel” of the host webpage, where the problem arose out of the internet and was thus a technical problem). Here, the Examiner cannot find, nor has the Applicant identified in the claims, any technological problem that was caused by the technological environment to which the claims are confined. There is no clear improvement to the existing computer technology when looking at the claims as a whole.
At pages 13-14 the Examiner disagrees there is not significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional limitations are only limiting the abstract idea and acting as mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using computer components. The claims do not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea since the additional non-abstract limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a computer component and cannot provide an inventive concept. It appears in the limitations general-purpose technology is merely being leveraged as a tool to link the process to a technological environment to communicate results or filtered data from multiple user data sources (photos, schedule and profile). For example, there is no explanation or any claimed details on how the machine learning tools are “applied” to calculate a daily interactive user interface based on the various images and data that are obtained, or how there will be any greater likelihood of user interaction. For at least the reasons stated above, the claims are not patent eligible.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM T. MONTICELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 3681
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3681