DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41, 42, 48, 49, 51, 58, 74, 75, and 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being Anticipated by Gilchrist et al. (US 20030011338 A1).
Regarding Claim 41, Gilchrist discloses:
a substrate transport chamber (26), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (26) connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1); and
a robot (34) connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019], where the robot comprises:
a drive (42A & 46); and
an arm (44A) connected to the drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (60 & 62) connected in series and at least two end effectors (64 & 66) (Fig. 2) [0022], where a first one (60) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0022], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one (62) of the arm links (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area thereon (Fig. 2) [0005],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (120) (Fig. 4) [0028],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (122) (Fig. 4) [0028], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (118) on the end of the another arm link (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0028],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0007 & 0009 & 0024 & 0027 & 0028],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0021],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers attached to the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 42, Gilchrist discloses:
the single stationary location is at least partially offset from a center of the substrate transport chamber, where the drive is connected at the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber near the center of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0021].
Regarding Claim 48, Gilchrist discloses:
the arm comprises a first pulley (71) connected to the drive (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024], a second pulley (73) connected to the another arm link (Fig. 4) [0024 & 0025], and a mechanical transmission band (70) connecting the first pulley to the second pulley (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024 & 0025], where the second pulley is stationarily connected to the another arm link (92) (Fig. 4) [0024 & 0025].
Regarding Claim 49, Gilchrist discloses:
the at least two arm links comprises only two arm links (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 51, Gilchrist discloses:
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019], where the at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers are aligned in the second opposite side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 58, Gilchrist discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
a robot drive (42A & 46); and
a robot arm (44A) connected to the robot drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where the robot arm comprises:
a first arm link (60), where the first arm link comprises a first end configured to be rotatably connected to a robot drive [0022 & 0023 & 0024]
a second arm link (62) rotatably connected to a second end of the first arm link (0024 & 0025);
a first transmission (70 & 71 & 73) in the first arm link (Fig. 4), where the first transmission is configured to rotate the second arm link relative to the first arm link, where the first transmission is configured to be moved by the robot drive (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0027]; and
at least two end effectors (64 & 66) connected to the second arm link (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0022 & 0023 & 0027 & 0028], where the at least two end effectors each comprise at least one respective substrate support area thereon (Fig. 2) [0005],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the second arm link with a first rotary joint (120) (Fig. 4) [0028],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the second arm link with a second rotary joint (122) (Fig. 4) [0028],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the second arm link relative to each other [0007 & 0009 & 0024 & 0027 & 0028], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (118) on the end of the second arm link (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0028],
where the robot drive is configured to be connected to a substrate transport chamber (26) at a single fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0021], the substrate transport chamber having a first side with substrate processing modules connected to the first side (Fig. 1), where robot arm is configured to at least partially enter and exit the substrate processing modules on the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019] with the robot drive being location at the single fixed location (Fig. 1) [0021];
a first distance between the robot drive and the first side (Fig. 1), and
a different second distance between the robot drive and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 74, Gilchrist discloses:
the substrate transport chamber is a vacuum chamber [0038 & 0098].
Regarding Claim 75, Gilchrist discloses:
the substrate transport chamber comprises a third side, between the first and second sides, which comprises at least one load lock (28 & 30) (Fig. 1), and there the arm is configured to move the end effectors into and out of the at least one load lock (Fig. 1) [0019].
Regarding Claim 76, Gilchrist discloses:
the opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber is configured to have at least two additional substrate processing chambers connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the robot is configured to move the at end effectors into and out of the substrate processing chambers at both the first side and the opposite second side (Fig. 1) [0019], and where the drive is mounted at the single stationary location closer to the first side than the opposite second side (Fig. 1) [0021].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 43, 44, 46, 47, 53, 55, 56, 57, 60, 61, 62, 63, 65, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 77, 78, 79, and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gilchrist et al. (US 20030011338 A1) in view of Kitahara et al. (US 20100150688 A1).
Regarding Claim 43, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm comprises a first actuator (78 & 79 & 82 & 94 & 101 & 102 & 104 & 116 & 118 & 119 & 122) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029], and a second actuator (80 & 81 & 84 & 96 & 103 & 105 & 106 & 110 & 112 & 114 & 120) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029],
Gilchrist does not teach:
the first actuator is on the another arm link, and the second actuator is on the another arm link.
Kitahara teaches:
a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a first side which is configured to have at least a substrate processing chamber (20) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4); and
a robot (1) connected to the transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], where the robot comprises:
a drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b); and
an arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series and at least two end effectors (7 & 7a & 7b) (Fig. 2b) [0043], where a first one (4) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b) [0032 & 0035], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one (6) of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (6c) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (6d) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0043 & 0046],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers connected to the first side of the substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
the arm comprises a first actuator (6a) on the another arm link (Fig. 2a) configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0043 & 0044], and a second actuator (6b) on the first arm link (Fig. 2a) configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0043 & 0044],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises a first actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link, and a second actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least two of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, the arm comprises a first actuator on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link, and a second actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system with a shortened end effector drive system to reduce system motion backlash and effector misalignment due to a drive system relying on a single, shortened, belt and pulley system.
Regarding Claim 44, Gilchrist teaches:
the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor [0049 & 0097 & 0098].
Regarding Claim 46, Gilchrist does not teach:
at least two arm links comprise at least three arm links.
Kitahara teaches:
a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a first side which is configured to have at least a substrate processing chamber (20) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4); and
a robot (1) connected to the transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], where the robot comprises:
a drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b); and
an arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series and at least two end effectors (7 & 7a & 7b) (Fig. 2b) [0043], where a first one (4) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b) [0032 & 0035], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one (6) of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (6c) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (6d) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0043 & 0046],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers connected to the first side of the substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
at least two arm links comprise at least three arm links (3 & 4 & 5 & 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least two arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least three arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased range without increasing the footprint of the robot in a retracted configuration thereby maintaining the maneuverability of the transfer robot.
Regarding Claim 47, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], where the at least two substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1).
Gilchrist does not teach:
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber.
Kitahara teaches:
a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a first side which is configured to have at least a substrate processing chamber (20) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4); and
a robot (1) connected to the transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], where the robot comprises:
a drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b); and
an arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series and at least two end effectors (7 & 7a & 7b) (Fig. 2b) [0043], where a first one (4) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b) [0032 & 0035], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one (6) of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (6c) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (6d) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0043 & 0046],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers connected to the first side of the substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased throughput providing increased productivity in the system.
Regarding Claim 53, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], where the at least two substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1).
Gilchrist does not teach:
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber.
Kitahara teaches:
a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a first side which is configured to have at least a substrate processing chamber (20) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4); and
a robot (1) connected to the transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], where the robot comprises:
a drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b); and
an arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series and at least two end effectors (7 & 7a & 7b) (Fig. 2b) [0043], where a first one (4) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b) [0032 & 0035], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one (6) of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (6c) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (6d) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0043 & 0046],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers connected to the first side of the substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased throughput providing increased productivity in the system.
Regarding Claim 55, Gilchrist teaches:
a method comprising:
providing a substrate transport chamber (26) configured to have process modules (36) and at least one load lock (28 & 30) connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the substrate transport chamber has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1), where opposite lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber are configured to have at least two of the process modules attached to each of the lateral sides (Fig. 1);
connecting a robot drive (42A & 46) to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the singular fixed location is located between a first one of the lateral sides and an opposite second one of the lateral sides with a first distance between the robot drive and the first lateral side and a different second distance between the robot drive and the opposite second lateral side (Fig. 1) [0021];
connecting a robot arm (44A) to the robot drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where a first end of the robot arm is connected to the robot drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), and where the robot arm comprises at least two arm links (60 & 62) connected in series (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4); and
connecting at least two end effectors (64 & 66) to a second end of the robot arm (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0022], where the end effectors comprise at least one respective substrate support area thereon (Fig. 2) [0005],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the second end of the robot arm with a first rotary joint (120) (Fig. 4) [0028],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the second end of the robot arm with a second rotary joint (122) (Fig. 4) [0028]
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the second end of the robot arm relative to each other [0007 & 0009 & 0024 & 0027 & 0028], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (118) on the second end of the robot arm (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0028],
where the robot arm is configured to move the end effectors into and out of the at least three process modules attached to the lateral sides with the robot drive at the singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019].
Gilchrist does not teach:
at least three process modules attached to each of the lateral sides,
the robot arm is configured to move the end effectors into and out of the at least three process modules attached to each of the lateral sides with the robot drive at the singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber.
Kitahara teaches:
a method comprising:
providing a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) configured to have holding modules (C1 & C2 & C3 & C4) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport area and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where a lateral side of the substrate transport area is configured to have at least three of the holding modules attached to at least one of the lateral sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4);
connecting a robot drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b) to the substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the robot drive is mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037], where the singular fixed location is located between a first one of the lateral sides and an opposite second one of the lateral sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037];
connecting a robot arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) to the robot drive (Fig. 2b), where a first end of the robot arm is connected to the robot drive (Fig. 2b), and where the robot arm comprises at least two arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series (Fig. 2b); and
connecting at least two end effectors (7 & 7a & 7b) to a second end of the robot arm (Fig. 2b) [0043], where the end effectors comprise at least one respective substrate support area (7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the second end of the robot arm with a first rotary joint (6c) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the second end of the robot arm with a second rotary joint (6d) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the second end of the robot arm relative to each other [0043 & 0046],
where the robot arm is configured to move the end effectors into and out of the at least three holding modules attached to at least one of the lateral sides with the robot drive at the singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between at least two process modules attached to each of the lateral sides taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along at least one of the substantially straight linear sides of the substrate transport chamber taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased throughput providing increased productivity in the system.
Regarding Claim 56, Gilchrist teaches:
connecting the process modules to the substrate transport chamber, where the connecting of the process modules to the substrate transport chamber comprises connecting at least two of the process modules to a first one of the lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber, and connecting at least two of the process modules to an opposite second one of the lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1).
Gilchrist does not teach:
connecting at least three of the process modules to a first one of the lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber, and connecting at least three of the process modules to an opposite second one of the lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber.
Kitahara teaches:
connecting the holding modules to the substrate transport chamber, where the connecting of the holding modules to the substrate transport chamber comprises connecting at least three of the holding modules to at least one of the lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between at least two process modules attached to each of the lateral sides taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber, connecting at least three of the holding modules to at least one of the lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber, taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased throughput providing increased productivity in the system.
Regarding Claim 57, Gilchrist teaches:
connecting at least one of the process modules to a first side end of the substrate transport chamber and connecting at least one load lock (28 & 30) to a second opposite side end of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 60, Gilchrist teaches:
an apparatus comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (26), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (36) connected thereto (Fig. 1); and
a robot (34) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019], where the robot comprises:
a drive (42A & 46); and
an arm (44A) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (60 & 62) connected in series and at least one end effector, where a first one of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0022], and where the at least one end effector is connected to an end of another one (62) of the arm links (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where the at least one end effector comprises at least two substrate support areas thereon (Fig. 2),
where the at least one effector is rotatably connected (120 & 122) to the end of the another arm link (Fig. 4) [0028],
where the drive is mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a single location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0021],
where the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two substrate processing chambers (Fig. 1) [0019], where the single location is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1).
where a first one (64) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (120), where a second one (66) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (122), where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0007 & 0009 & 0024 & 0027 & 0028], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (118) on the end of the another arm link (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0028].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the at least two arm links comprises at least three arm links,
Kitahara teaches:
an apparatus comprising:
a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a first side which is configured to have at least a substrate processing chamber (20) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4); and
a robot (1) connected to the transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], where the robot comprises:
a drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b); and
an arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the arm comprises at least three arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series and at least one end effector (7 & 7a & 7b) (Fig. 2b) [0043], where a first one (4) of the at least three arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b) [0032 & 0035], and where the at least one end effector is connected to an end of another one (6) of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the end effectors comprise at least two substrate support areas(7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where the at least one effector is rotatably connected (6c & 6d) to the end of the another arm link (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
where the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047], single location is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037].
where a first one (7a) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (6c), where a second one (7b) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (6d), where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0043 & 0046], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (Fig. 2b) on the end of the another arm link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least two arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least three arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased range without increasing the footprint of the robot in a retracted configuration thereby maintaining the maneuverability of the transfer robot.
Regarding Claim 61, Gilchrist teaches:
the single location is located at least partially offset from a center of the substrate transport chamber near the center of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0021].
Regarding Claim 62, Gilchrist teaches:
the at least two substrate support areas are located at opposite ends of the at least one end effector (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 63, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm comprises a first actuator (78 & 79 & 82 & 94 & 101 & 102 & 104 & 116 & 118 & 119 & 122) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the at least one first end effector [0026 & 0027 & 0029], where the first actuator comprises an electric motor [0026 & 0027 & 0029].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the arm comprises a first actuator on the another arm link.
Kitahara teaches:
the arm comprises a first actuator (6a) on the another arm link (Fig. 2b) configured to rotate the first end effector , where the first actuator comprises an electric motor (6a & 6b) [0041 & 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises a first actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link, and a second actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least two of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, the arm comprises a first actuator on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link, and a second actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system with a shortened end effector drive system to reduce system motion backlash and effector misalignment due to a drive system relying on a single, shortened, belt and pulley system.
Regarding Claim 65, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm comprises a first pulley (71) connected to the drive (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024], a second pulley (73), and a mechanical transmission band (70) connecting the first pulley to the second pulley (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024].
Regarding Claim 67, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm is configured to move the first and second end effectors into and out of at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019], where the at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers are aligned in a substantially straight second linear row along the second-opposite side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 69, Gilchrist teaches:
an apparatus comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (26), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (36) connected thereto (Fig. 1); and
a robot (34) comprising:
a drive (42A & 46); and
an arm (44A) connected to the drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (60 & 62) connected in series (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) and at least one end effector (64 & 66) (Fig. 2) [0022], where a first one (60) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0022], and where the at least one end effector is connected to an end of another one (62) of the arm links (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where the at least one end effector comprises at least two substrate support areas thereon (Fig. 2) [0005],
where the at least one effector is rotatably connected (120 & 122) to the end of the another arm link (Fig. 4) [0028],
where the drive is fixedly mounted at a single location of a substrate transport chamber, where the single location is located at least partially offset from a center of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0021],
where the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber at the first side (Fig. 1) [0019], where the single location is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side, where the single location is closer to the first side than the second side (Fig. 1).
where a first one (64) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (120) (Fig. 4) [0028], where a second one (66) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (122) (Fig. 4) [0028], where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0007 & 0009 & 0024 & 0027 & 0028], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) on the end of the another arm link (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0028].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the at least two arm links comprises at least three arm links
Kitahara teaches:
an apparatus comprising:
a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a first side which is configured to have at least a substrate processing chamber (20) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4); and
a robot (1) connected to the transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], where the robot comprises:
a drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b); and
an arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the arm comprises at least three arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series and at least one end effector (7 & 7a & 7b) (Fig. 2b) [0043], where a first one (4) of the at least three arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b) [0032 & 0035], and where the at least one end effector is connected to an end of another one (6) of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the end effectors comprise at least two substrate support areas(7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where the at least one effector is rotatably connected (6c & 6d) to the end of the another arm link (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
where the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047], single location is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037].
where a first one (7a) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (6c), where a second one (7b) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (6d), where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0043 & 0046], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (Fig. 2b) on the end of the another arm link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of transferring a substrate using a transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least two arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the method of transferring a substrate using a transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least three arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased range without increasing the footprint of the robot in a retracted configuration thereby maintaining the maneuverability of the transfer robot.
Regarding Claim 70, Gilchrist teaches:
A method comprising:
providing a substrate transport chamber (26) configured to have process modules (36) and at least one load lock (28 & 30) connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the substrate transport chamber has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1), where opposite lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber are configured to have at least two of the process modules (36) attached to each of the lateral sides (Fig. 1);
connecting a robot drive (42A & 46) to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the robot drive is mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0021], where the singular fixed location is located closer to a first one of the lateral sides than an opposite second one of the lateral sides (Fig. 1) [0021];
connecting a robot arm (44A) to the robot drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), where a first end of the robot arm is connected to the robot drive (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4), and where the robot arm comprises at least two arm links (60 & 62) connected in series (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4); and
connecting at least one end effector (64 & 66) to a second end of the robot arm (Fig. 2) [0022], where the at least one end effector comprises at least two substrate support areas thereon (Fig. 2),
where a first one (64) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (120) (Fig. 4) [0028], where a second one (66) of the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (122) (Fig. 4) [0028], where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0007 & 0009 & 0024 & 0027 & 0028], where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) on the second end of the robot arm (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4) [0028],
where the robot arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two process modules attached to each of the lateral sides with the robot drive at the singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the at least two arm links comprise at least three arm links.
Kitahara teaches:
a method comprising:
providing a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) configured to have holding modules (C1 & C2 & C3 & C4) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport area and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where a lateral side of the substrate transport area is configured to have at least two of the holding modules attached to at least one of the lateral sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4);
connecting a robot drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b) to the substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the robot drive is mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037], where the singular fixed location is located closer to a first one of the lateral sides than an opposite second one of the lateral sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037];
connecting a robot arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) to the robot drive (Fig. 2b), where a first end of the robot arm is connected to the robot drive (Fig. 2b), and where the robot arm comprises at least three arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series (Fig. 2b); and
connecting at least one end effector (7 & 7a & 7b) to a second end of the robot arm (Fig. 2b) [0043], where the end effector comprises at least two substrate support areas thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the second end of the robot arm with a first rotary joint (6c & 6d) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the second end of the robot arm relative to each other [0043 & 0046],
where the robot arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two holding modules attached to at least one of the lateral sides with the robot drive at the singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of transferring a substrate using a transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least two arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the method of transferring a substrate using a transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least three arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased range without increasing the footprint of the robot in a retracted configuration thereby maintaining the maneuverability of the transfer robot.
Regarding Claim 71, Gilchrist discloses:
the at least two substrate support areas are located at opposite ends of the at least one end effector (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 72, Gilchrist discloses:
the arm comprises at least one actuator (78 & 79 & 82 & 94 & 101 & 102 & 104 & 116 & 118 & 119 & 122) on the arm configured to rotate the at least one first end effector [0026 & 0027 & 0029], where the at least one actuator comprises at least one electric motor [0026 & 0027 & 0029].
Regarding Claim 77, Gilchrist discloses:
the second opposite side of the substrate transport chamber is configured to have at least two additional substrate processing chambers connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the robot is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the substrate processing chambers at both the first side and the second opposite side, and where the drive is mounted at the single location closer to the first side than the second opposite side (Fig. 1) [0019].
Regarding Claim 78, Gilchrist discloses:
the substrate transport chamber is a vacuum chamber [0019], where the substrate transport chamber comprises a third side (Fig. 1), between the first and second sides (Fig. 1), which comprises at least one load lock (28 & 30), and where the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least one load lock (Fig. 1) [0019 & 0021].
Regarding Claim 79, Gilchrist does not teach:
the process modules comprise at least three of the process modules attached to each of the lateral sides.
Kitahara teaches:
the process modules comprise at least three of the holding modules (C1 & C2 & C3 & C4) attached to at least one of the lateral sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between at least two process modules attached to each of the lateral sides taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along at least one of the substantially straight linear sides of the substrate transport chamber taught by Kitahara in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which is capable of increased throughput providing increased productivity in the system.
Regarding Claim 80, Gilchrist discloses:
the substrate transport chamber is a vacuum chamber [0019], where the substrate transport chamber comprises a third side (Fig. 1), between the opposite lateral sides (Fig. 1), which comprises at least one load lock (28 & 30), and where the robot drive is connected to the substrate transport chamber such that the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least one load lock (Fig. 1) [0019 & 0021].
Claims 45, 64, 68, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gilchrist et al. (US 20030011338 A1) in view of Kitahara et al. (US 20100150688 A1), as applied to Claims 44, 60, 67, and 72 above, further in view of Hiroiki (US 20050005847 A1).
Regarding Claim 45, Gilchrist teaches:
the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0026 & 0027].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel.
Hiroiki teaches:
a substrate transport chamber (16), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (20A & 20B) connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1); and
a robot (26) connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the robot comprises:
an arm (28) connected to the transport chamber [0039], where the arm comprises at least two arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) connected in series and at least two end effectors (32A & 32B) [0039 & 0042 & 0044 & 0045], where a first one of the at least two arm links is connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (33A & 33B) thereon (Fig. 3) [0045],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a rotary joint (Fig. 3) [0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a rotary joint (Fig. 3) [0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently movable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045],
where the arm is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers attached to the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
the arm comprises a first actuator (39C) on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042], the arm comprises a second actuator (39A) on the another arm link configured to move the first end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042], and a third actuator (39B) on the another arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042];
the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor [0042];
the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel (38A & 38B & 38C) [0040 & 0042 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors wherein the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel taught by Hiroki in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which isolates complex moving parts from the sterile processing atmosphere to prevent contamination from particulates created by wear in the complex moving parts.
Regarding Claim 64, Gilchrist teaches:
the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0026 & 0027].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the electric motor is located inside at least one airtight vessel.
Hiroiki teaches:
an apparatus comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (16), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (20A & 20B) connected thereto (Fig. 1); and
a robot (26) connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the robot comprises:
an arm (28) connected to the transport chamber [0039], where the arm comprises at least two arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) connected in series and at least one end effector (32A & 32B) [0039 & 0042 & 0044 & 0045], where a first one of the at least two arm links is connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039], and where the at least one end effectors are connected to an end of another one of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the at least one end effector comprise a respective substrate support area (33A & 33B) thereon (Fig. 3) [0045],
where the at least one effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link (Fig. 3) [0046],
where the arm is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039],
where the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two substrate processing chambers (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], where the single location is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
the electric motor is located inside at least one airtight vessel (38A & 38B & 38C) [0040 & 0042 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors wherein the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel taught by Hiroki in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which isolates complex moving parts from the sterile processing atmosphere to prevent contamination from particulates created by wear in the complex moving parts..
Regarding Claim 68, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm comprises a first pulley (71) connected to a rotatable shaft of the drive (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024], a second pulley (73), and a mechanical transmission band (70) connecting the first pulley to the second pulley (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024 & 0025],
where the arm comprises a first actuator (78 & 79 & 82 & 94 & 101 & 102 & 104 & 116 & 118 & 119 & 122) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029], and a second actuator (80 & 81 & 84 & 96 & 103 & 105 & 106 & 110 & 112 & 114 & 120) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029],
where the arm is configured to move the first and second end effectors into and out of the at least three of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019],
where the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor [0026 & 0027 & 0029],
the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0026 & 0027].
Gilchrist does not teach:
where the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel.
Hiroki teaches:
an apparatus comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (16), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (20A & 20B) connected thereto (Fig. 1); and
a robot (26) connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the robot comprises:
an arm (28) connected to the transport chamber [0039], where the arm comprises at least two arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) connected in series and at least one end effector (32A & 32B) [0039 & 0042 & 0044 & 0045], where a first one of the at least two arm links is connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039], and where the at least one end effectors are connected to an end of another one of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the at least one end effector comprise a respective substrate support area (33A & 33B) thereon (Fig. 3) [0045],
where the at least one effector is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link (Fig. 3) [0046],
where the arm is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039],
where the arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two substrate processing chambers (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], where the single location is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
the electric motor is located inside at least one airtight vessel (38A & 38B & 38C) [0040 & 0042 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors wherein the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel taught by Hiroki in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which isolates complex moving parts from the sterile processing atmosphere to prevent contamination from particulates created by wear in the complex moving parts..
Regarding Claim 73, Gilchrist teaches:
the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0026 & 0027].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the at least one electric motor is located inside at least one airtight vessel.
Hiroki teaches:
A method comprising:
providing a substrate transport chamber (16) configured to have process modules (20A & 20B) and at least one load lock (22A & 22B) connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the substrate transport chamber has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1), where opposite lateral sides of the substrate transport chamber are configured to have at least two of the process modules attached to each of the lateral sides (Fig. 1);
connecting a robot (26) to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the robot drive is mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the singular fixed location is located closer to a first one of the lateral sides than an opposite second one of the lateral sides (Fig. 1);
connecting a robot arm (28) to the transport chamber [0039], where a first end of the robot arm is connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1), and where the robot arm comprises at least two arm links connected in series (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); and
connecting at least one end effector (32A & 32B) [0039 & 0042 & 0044 & 0045] to a second end of the robot arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the at least one end effector comprises at least two substrate support areas (33A & 33B) thereon (Fig. 3) [0045],
where the at least one end effector is rotatably connected to the second end of the robot arm with a first rotary joint (Fig. 3) [0046],
where the robot arm is configured to move the at least one end effector into and out of the at least two process modules (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049] attached to each of the lateral sides with the robot drive at the singular fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
the arm comprises at least one actuator (39C) on the arm configured to rotate the at least one first end effector [0042 & 0046 & 0057], where the at least one actuator comprises at least one electric motor [0042 & 0046 & 0057],
the at least one electric motor is located inside at least one airtight vessel (38C) [0040 & 0042 & 0046 & 0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors wherein the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel taught by Hiroki in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which isolates complex moving parts from the sterile processing atmosphere to prevent contamination from particulates created by wear in the complex moving parts.
Claims 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gilchrist et al. (US 20030011338 A1) in view of Maeda (US 20050079042 A1) and Hiroiki (US 20050005847 A1).
Regarding Claim 52, Gilchrist teaches:
the at least two arm links comprises only two arm links (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4),
the arm comprises a first pulley (71) connected to the drive (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024], a second pulley (73) connected to the another arm link (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024], and a mechanical transmission band (70) connecting the first pulley to the second pulley (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024 & 0025], where the second pulley is stationarily connected to the another arm link (92) (Fig. 4) [0024 & 0025],
where the arm comprises a first actuator (78 & 79 & 82 & 94 & 101 & 102 & 104 & 116 & 118 & 119 & 122) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029], and a second actuator (80 & 81 & 84 & 96 & 103 & 105 & 106 & 110 & 112 & 114 & 120) on the first arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029],
where the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor [0026 & 0027 & 0029], and
the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4).
Gilchrist does not teach:
the first actuator is on the another arm link, and the second actuator is on the another arm link,
where the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel.
Maeda teaches:
a substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate chambers connected thereto (8 & 9), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 3); and
a robot connected to the transport chamber, where the robot comprises:
a drive (11); and
an arm (14) connected to the drive, where the arm comprises at least two arm links (14a & 14b) connected in series and at least two end effectors, where a first one (14a) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive, and where the at least two end effectors (16a & 16b) are connected to an end of another one (14b) of the arm links, where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (26) thereon,
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (25c),
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (25c),
where the first and second rotary joints comprise a coaxial axis of rotation on the end of the another arm link (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4),
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0040 & 0043 & 0053 & 0054],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 3) [0040],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate chambers attached to the first side of the substrate transport chamber, where the at least two substrate chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 3) [0039 & 0042].
where the arm comprises a first actuator (17c & 18c & 19c) on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0097), and a second actuator (17c’ & 18c’ & 19c’) on the another arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0097],
where the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor (17c & 17c’) [0054 & 0055 & 0057], and
where the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 4).
Hiroki teaches:
a substrate transport chamber (16), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (20A & 20B) connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1); and
a robot (26) connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the robot comprises:
an arm (28) connected to the transport chamber [0039], where the arm comprises at least two arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) connected in series and at least two end effectors (32A & 32B) [0039 & 0042 & 0044 & 0045], where a first one of the at least two arm links is connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (33A & 33B) thereon (Fig. 3) [0045],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a rotary joint (Fig. 3) [0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a rotary joint (Fig. 3) [0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently movable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045],
where the arm is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers attached to the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers are aligned in the second opposite side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
the at least two arm links comprises only two arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3),
where the arm comprises a first pulley connected to the drive, a second pulley connected to the another arm link, and a mechanical transmission band connecting the first pulley to the second pulley [0040],
the arm comprises a first actuator (39C) on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042], the arm comprises a second actuator (39A) on the another arm link configured to move the first end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042], and a third actuator (39B) on the another arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042];
the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor [0042], and
where the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel (38A & 38B & 38C) [0040 & 0042 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between holding chambers where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least two of the substrate holding chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, the arm comprises a first actuator on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link, and a second actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link taught Maeda with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors wherein the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel taught by Hiroki in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which has a shortened end effector drive system to reduce system motion backlash and effector misalignment due to a drive system relying on a single, shortened, belt and pulley system and which isolates complex moving parts from the sterile processing atmosphere to prevent contamination from particulates created by wear in the complex moving parts.
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gilchrist et al. (US 20030011338 A1) in view of Kitahara et al. (US 20100150688 A1) and Hiroiki (US 20050005847 A1).
Regarding Claim 54, Gilchrist teaches:
the at least two arm links comprises two arm links (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4),
where the arm comprises a first pulley (71) connected to a rotatable shaft of the drive (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024], a second pulley (73), and a mechanical transmission band (70) connecting the first pulley to the second pulley (Fig. 4) [0023 & 0024 & 0025],
the arm comprises a first actuator (78 & 79 & 82 & 94 & 101 & 102 & 104 & 116 & 118 & 119 & 122) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029], and a second actuator (80 & 81 & 84 & 96 & 103 & 105 & 106 & 110 & 112 & 114 & 120) on the first arm link (Fig. 4) configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0026 & 0027 & 0029],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0019], where the at least two substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
where the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor [0026 & 0027 & 0029], and
the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4).
Gilchrist does not teach:
the at least two arm links comprises at least three arm links,
the first actuator is on the another arm link, and the second actuator is on the another arm link,
the at least three substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber;
the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel.
Kitahara teaches:
a substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the substrate transport area has a first side which is configured to have at least a substrate processing chamber (20) connected thereto (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4); and
a robot (1) connected to the transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], where the robot comprises:
a drive (2 & 8 & 8a & 8b); and
an arm (3 & 4 & 5 & 6) connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the arm comprises at least two arm links (4 & 5 & 6) connected in series and at least two end effectors (7 & 7a & 7b) (Fig. 2b) [0043], where a first one (4) of the at least two arm links is connected to the drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b) [0032 & 0035], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one (6) of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (7a & 7b) thereon (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4) [0043 & 0046 & 0047 & 0049],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a first rotary joint (6c) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a second rotary joint (6d) (Fig. 2b) [0043 & 0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently rotatable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0043 & 0046],
where the drive is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers connected to the first side of the substrate transport area (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber with a first distance between the drive and the first side and a different second distance between the drive and the second opposite side (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0035 & 0036 & 0037].
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least two other ones of the substrate chambers connected to the substrate transport area, where the at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers are aligned in the second opposite side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4) [0046 & 0047],
the at least two arm links comprises at least three arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2b & Fig. 4),
where the arm comprises a first pulley (4a) connected to a rotatable shaft of the drive (Fig. 2a & Fig. 2b) [0041], a second pulley (4b), and a mechanical transmission band (4c) connecting the first pulley to the second pulley (Fig. 2a & Fig. 2b) [0041],
the arm comprises a first actuator (6a) on the another arm link (Fig. 2b) configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0043 & 0044], and a second actuator (6b) on the first arm link (Fig. 2b) configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0043 & 0044],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate chambers connected to the substrate transport area (Fig. 1) [0046 & 0047], where the at least two substrate chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport area (Fig. 1),
where the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor (6a & 6b) [0041 & 0044], and
the electric motors are located inside at least one vessel (Fig. 2b).
Hiroki teaches:
a substrate transport chamber (16), where the substrate transport chamber has a first side which is configured to have at least two substrate processing chambers (20A & 20B) connected thereto (Fig. 1), where the first side is a substantially straight linear side (Fig. 1); and
a robot (26) connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the robot comprises:
an arm (28) connected to the transport chamber [0039], where the arm comprises at least two arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) connected in series and at least two end effectors (32A & 32B) [0039 & 0042 & 0044 & 0045], where a first one of the at least two arm links is connected to the transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039], and where the at least two end effectors are connected to an end of another one of the arm links (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the end effectors comprise a respective substrate support area (33A & 33B) thereon (Fig. 3) [0045],
where a first one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a rotary joint (Fig. 3) [0046],
where a second one of the at least two end effectors is rotatably connected to the end of the another arm link with a rotary joint (Fig. 3) [0046],
where the first and second end effectors are independently movable on the end of the another arm link relative to each other [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045],
where the arm is connected at a single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039],
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of the at least two substrate holding chambers attached to the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1) [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], where the at least two substrate holding chambers are aligned in a substantially straight linear row along the first side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the single stationary location of the substrate transport chamber is located between the first side and an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least two other ones of the substrate processing chambers are aligned in the second opposite side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1),
where the arm comprises a first pulley connected to a rotatable shaft of the drive, a second pulley, and a mechanical transmission band connecting the first pulley to the second pulley [0040],
the arm comprises a first actuator (39C) on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042], the arm comprises a second actuator (39A) on the another arm link configured to move the first end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042], and a third actuator (39B) on the another arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link [0040 & 0042];
where the arm is configured to move the at least two end effectors into and out of at least three of the substrate processing chambers attached to the substrate transport chamber, where the at least three substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 22B),
where the first and second actuators each comprises an electric motor [0042], and
where the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel (38A & 38B & 38C) [0040 & 0042 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules driven by electric motors taught by Gilchrist the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between processing modules, the arm comprises at least three arm links having a first arm link connected to a drive and an another arm link rotatably supported by the first arm link and a first end effector is rotatably supported on the another arm link, and a second end effector rotatably supported on the another arm link, the first and second end effectors driven to rotate by electric motors the arm comprises a first actuator on the another arm link configured to rotate the first end effector on the another arm link, and a second actuator on the first arm link configured to rotate the second end effector on the another arm link, and where the at least three substrate holding chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber taught by Kitahara with the transfer robot with multi-joint arm supporting end effectors which support substrates for transfer between at least three substrate processing chambers the at least three substrate processing chambers are aligned in the substantially straight linear row along the substantially straight linear side of the substrate transport chamber driven by electric motors wherein the electric motors are located inside at least one airtight vessel taught by Hiroki in order to provide a transfer robot for transfer of substrates in a processing system which has a shortened end effector drive system to reduce system motion backlash and effector misalignment due to a drive system relying on a single, shortened, belt and pulley system and which isolates complex moving parts from the sterile processing atmosphere to prevent contamination from particulates created by wear in the complex moving parts in a processing system which is capable of increased throughput providing increased productivity in the system
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652