DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 23 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Applicant’s original claim 12 states wherein the flat metal layer extends along the bottom side or the top side of the semiconductor wafer. New claim 23 requires wherein the flat metal layer remaining after said removing the resist pattern extends over the continuous side wall of the through- hole but does not cover the first opening and does not cover the second opening. These claims are mutually exclusive.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 23 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wherein the first opening at the top side of the semiconductor wafer and the second opening at the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer are not covered by a layer in claim 1 and 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the through-hole” in the lines 7-8. It is unclear to which one of the “at least one through-hole” introduced in lines 5-6 is being referred back to.
Claims 2-10, 12-21 and 23 are rejected for depending on claim 1.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the through-hole” in the line 7. It is unclear to which one of the “at least one through-hole” introduced in lines 5-6 is being referred back to.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret “the through-hole” as “the at least one through-hole”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12-18, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naber et al (U.S. 2015/0114462), Chary et al (U.S. 2017/0345955), Suarez et al (U.S. 2019/0013429), and Voss et al (U.S. 2015/0349152).
Regarding claim 1. Naber et al discloses a metallization method for a semiconductor wafer, the method comprising:
providing the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1) having a top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) and a bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) and a solar cell (Title), and at least one through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) extending from the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) through the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1) with a continuous side wall (FIG. 1g, item 2 sidewall with item 11 and 12 ) and a circumference ([0016] diameter) that is oval ([0016]) in cross section, the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) having a first opening (FIG. 1g, item A) at the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) and a second opening (FIG. 1g, item B) at the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1), wherein the first opening (FIG. 1g, item 2) at the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1) and the second opening (FIG. 1g, item 2) at the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 2) are not covered by a layer ([0045]; FIG. 1g, item 7 does not cover the first opening at the top side of the semiconductor wafer and the second opening at the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer).
applying a photoresist layer ([0010], i.e. photolithographic masking steps)
applying a metal layer ([0044], i.e. provide a metal-wrap-through (MWT) type solar cell)
Naber et al fails to explicitly disclose:
at least two solar cell stacks, each solar cell stack has a Ge substrate forming the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer, a Ge subcell, and at least two Ill-V subcells,
applying a photoresist layer in certain areas as a resist pattern via a printing method to the top side or to the bottom side or to the top and bottom sides of the semiconductor wafer;
applying a flat metal layer to exposed regions of a surface of the semiconductor wafer, the exposed regions being regions which are coated with the photoresist layer, and to the photoresist layer; and
removing the resist pattern with the flat metal layer located thereon from the semiconductor wafer.
However, Chary et al teaches at least two solar cell stacks (FIG. 35A-C), each solar cell stack (FIG. 1) has a Ge substrate (FIG.11, item 1105; [0112], i.e. Materials used to form the substrate include, for example, germanium) forming the bottom (FIG. 11, items 1105) of the wafer (FIG. 11, items 1104 and 1105),
applying a photoresist layer (FIG, 13, item 1314) in certain areas as a resist pattern via a printing method ([0122]) to the bottom side (FIG. 13, bottom of item 1313) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 13, item 1305, 1313);
applying a metal layer (FIG. 14, items 1418) to exposed regions of the surface of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 14, item 1405, 1413), the exposed regions being regions which are coated with the photoresist layer (FIG. 14, item 1414), and to the photoresist layer (FIG. 14, item 1414); and
removing the resist pattern (FIG. 14, item 1414 is removed from FIG. 15) with the metal layer part (FIG. 14, item 1418 is removed from FIG. 15) located thereon from the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 15, item 1505; [00123], i.e. Sacrificial metal 1418 and metal isolation resist pattern 1414 are then lifted off.. leading to the product shown in FIG. 15).
Since Naber et al and Chary et al teach solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the a metallization method for a semiconductor wafer as disclosed to modify Naber et al with the teachings of at least two solar cell stacks, each solar cell stack has a Ge substrate forming the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer, applying a photoresist layer in certain areas as a resist pattern via a printing method to the top side or to the bottom side or to the top and bottom sides of the semiconductor wafer applying a flat metal layer to exposed regions of a surface of the semiconductor wafer, the exposed regions being regions which are coated with the photoresist layer, and to the photoresist layer; and removing the resist pattern with the flat metal layer located thereon from the semiconductor wafer as disclosed by Chary et al. The use of sacrificial metal and metal isolation resist pattern are then lifted off leading to the product shown in Chary et al provides for making the photovoltaic cells lighter and appropriate for space applications, simplifies fabrication of the TWV, and improves thermal properties (Chary et al, [0091]).
Naber et al and Chary et al fails to explicitly disclose:
each solar cell has a Ge subcell, and at least two Ill-V subcells, applying a flat metal layer, and removing the resist layer with the flat metal layer.
However Suarez et al teaches each solar cell (FIG. 2, item 4J) has a Ge sub-cell (FIG. 2, item Ge (active junction)), at least two III-V sub-cells (FIG. 2, item GaInNAsSB, item InGaAs,; [0046], i.e. In a 4J or higher-junction solar cell, an active germanium subcell lies underneath the GaInNAsSb subcell).
Since Naber et al, Chary et al and Suarez et al teach methods of manufacturing solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method as disclosed to modify Naber et al with the teaching of each solar cell has a Ge sub-cell, at least two III-V sub-cells as disclosed by Suarez et al. The use of an active germanium subcell lies underneath the GaInNAsSb subcell in Suarez et al to absorb lower energy of light (Suarez et al [0046]).
Suarez et al teaches each solar cell (FIG. 2, item 4J) has a Ge sub-cell (FIG. 2, item Ge (active junction)), at least two III-V sub-cells (FIG. 2, item GaInNAsSB, item InGaAs,; [0046], i.e. In a 4J or higher-junction solar cell, an active germanium subcell lies underneath the GaInNAsSb subcell).
Since Naber et al, Chary et al and Suarez et al teach methods of manufacturing solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method as disclosed to modify Naber et al and Chary et al with the teaching of each solar cell has a Ge sub-cell, at least two III-V sub-cells as disclosed by Suarez et al. The use of an active germanium subcell lies underneath the GaInNAsSb subcell in Suarez et al to absorb lower energy of light (Suarez et al [0046]).
Naber et al, Chary et al, and Suarez et al fails to explicitly disclose applying a flat metal layer, and removing the resist layer with the flat metal layer.
However, Voss et al teaches applying a flat metal layer (FIG. 2d, item 206; [0101], i.e. [0101] Since also the patterned first resist layer (203) is covered by the conductive seed layer (205), electroplating of the first metal or metal alloy layer (206) is also on this layer. The thickness of the first metal or metal alloy layer (206) should preferably not exceed 10 pm and more preferably not exceed 6 pm on top of the patterned first resist layer (203)),
and removing ([0102], i.e. In step (v) of the method according to the present invention, those parts of the first metal or metal alloy layer (206) which are plated on top of the patterned first resist layer (203) are etched away. At the same time, a similar amount (in terms of thickness of this layer) of the first metal and metal alloy layer (206) plated into the first openings (204) is also etched away. Step (v) of the method according to the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 2e.) the resist layer (FIG. 2b-d, item 203) with the flat metal layer (FIG. 2d-g, item 206)
Since Naber et al, Chary et al, Saurez et al, and Voss et al teach methods of manufacturing solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method as disclosed to modify Naber et al, Chary et al, and Saurez et al with applying a flat metal layer, and removing the resist layer with the flat metal layer as disclosed by Voss et al. The use of the patterned first resist layer is covered by the conductive seed layer, electroplating of the first metal or metal alloy layer is also on this layer in Voss et al to provide a homogeneous thickness distribution of plated conducting lines, contact pads and solder pads (Voss et al [0046])
Regarding claim 2. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further discloses wherein after the application of the photoresist layer and before the application of the metal layer (FIG. 13), the photoresist layer is finely patterned by a photolithographic method ([0122], i.e. In FIG. 13, TWV metal isolation resist pattern 1314 can be formed with a photosensitive polymer This patterning is carried out, for example, by photolithography techniques).
Voss et al discloses the flat metal layer (FIG. 2d, item 206).
Regarding claim 3. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further discloses wherein the photoresist layer is formed as a negative resist layer or as a positive resist layer, and wherein the resist pattern is formed in each case as an inverse of a trace diagram ([0122], i.e. In FIG. 13, TWV metal isolation resist pattern 1314 can be formed with a photosensitive polymer This patterning is carried out, for example, by photolithography techniques).
Regarding claim 4. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further discloses wherein the photoresist layer recesses an area around the through-holes (FIG. 13 shows item 1314 on each side of item 1310 and that item 1314 is higher than area around the TWV and therefore recesses an area around the through-hole).
Regarding claim 6. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further discloses wherein the through-holes of the semiconductor wafer provided have a first diameter ([0125]) of at most 1 mm ([0125]) and at least 300 um ([0125]) or at least 400 um ([0125]) or at least 450 um ([0125]) at an edge adjacent to the top side ([0125]) of the semiconductor wafer, and have a second diameter ([0125]) of at most 500 um ([0125]) and of at least 50 um ([0125]) or at least 100 um ([0125]) at an edge adjacent to the bottom side ([0125]) of the semiconductor wafer,
[0125] A TWV can be, for example, from 20 μm to 50 μm deep, or from 10 μm to 200 μm deep. A TWV can have a width, for example, from about 10 μm to 500 μm, from 10 μm to 400 μm, from 100 μm to 400 μm, or from 100 μm to 250 μm. A TWV can be characterized, for example, by an aspect ratio from 0.5 to 1.5 from 0.8 to 1.2, or from 0.9 to 1.1.
and wherein the semiconductor wafer provided has a total thickness of at most 300 um ([0060]) and of at least 90 um ([0060]) or of at least 150 um or of at least 200 um ([0060], i.e. Using through-wafer-vias, the coverglass can be applied to the front surface of the photovoltaic cells at the wafer-level. The coverglass can be used as a carrier to thin the semiconductor substrate. For example, the epitaxial layers of a multijunction solar cell can be grown on a thick substrate such as a 140 μm thick Ge substrate as is usually the case for conventional three junction space cells. The thickness of the substrate can be reduced, for example, from 140 μm to 50 μm for Ge, and down to as thin as 10 μm for GaAs substrates. As an example, a SMCC with a solar cell on a GaAs substrate thinned-down to 50 μm, results in a 43% reduction in the mass of the photovoltaic cell, relative to a conventional cell on a 140 μm-thick Ge substrate).
Regarding claim 7. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further discloses wherein the resist pattern has at least one auxiliary section (FIG. 14, item 1414) extending to an edge of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 14, item 1405), wherein the removal of the resist layer is started with the auxiliary section ([00123], i.e. Sacrificial metal 1418 and metal isolation resist pattern 1414 are then lifted off.. leading to the product shown in FIG. 15).
Regarding claim 9. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further discloses wherein the photoresist layer is finely patterned by a photolithographic method (FIG. 13, item 1414) before the metal layer (FIG. 14, item 1418) is applied ([0122], i.e. In FIG. 13, TWV metal isolation resist pattern 1314 can be formed with a photosensitive polymer This patterning is carried out, for example, by photolithography techniques).
Voss et al discloses the flat metal layer (FIG. 2d, item 206)
Regarding claim 10. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Naber et al further discloses wherein the semiconductor wafer provided has a dielectric insulation layer (FIG. 1g, item 7) covering the side wall (FIG. 1g, item 11 and 12) of the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) and a region adjacent (FIG. 1g, item 3) to the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) on the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1203) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 2) and a region (FIG. 1g, item 5), adjacent to the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) on the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1).
Regarding claim 12. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further wherein the metal layer (FIG. 14, items 1418, or 1401) extends along the bottom side (FIG. 14, item 1405) or the top side (FIG. 14, item 1404) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 14, item 1404 and 1405).
Voss et al discloses the flat metal layer (FIG. 2d, item 206)
Regarding claim 13. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al discloses the solar cell stack (FIG. 35A-C; [0039] FIGS. 35A-35C show solar cell panel utilization using full wafers (35A), half wafers (35B), and SMCCs provided by the present disclosure (35C)).
Voss et al further discloses wherein the photoresist layer (FIG. 2b, item 203) extends to edges of each solar cell (FIG. 2a-b, item 201)
Regarding claim 14. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al discloses the solar cell stacks (FIG. 35A-C; [0039] FIGS. 35A-35C show solar cell panel utilization using full wafers (35A), half wafers (35B), and SMCCs provided by the present disclosure (35C)).
Voss et al further discloses wherein the photoresist layer is connected across all of the solar cell ([0011] (ii) forming a first resist layer (203) on at least one side of the solar cell substrate (201)).
Regarding claim 15. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Voss et al further discloses wherein the photoresist layer (FIG. 2b, item 203) is a flat layer extending to an edge ([0011] (ii) forming a first resist layer (203) on at least one side of the solar cell substrate (201)) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 2a-b, item 201)
Regarding claim 16. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al further wherein said removing the resist pattern comprises continuously removing an entirety of the resist pattern (FIG. 15 shows all resist , item 1414, is removed).
Regarding claim 17. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Naber et al further wherein a top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) of the at least one through- hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) has a first diameter (FIG. 1g, item A) and a bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the at least one through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) has a second diameter (FIG. 1g, item B) and the first diameter (FIG. 1g, item A) is larger ([0046]) than the second diameter (FIG. 1g, item B)
Regarding claim 18. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Naber et al further discloses comprising coating a sidewall (FIG. 1g, item 11 and 12) of the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item g) and a region adjacent (FIG. 1g, item 3) to the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) on the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) and a region (FIG. 1g, item 5) adjacent to the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) on the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) with a dielectric insulation layer (FIG. 1g, item 7).
Regarding claim 20. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 18 above.
Chary et al further discloses wherein, on the bottom side (FIG. 13, item 1309), the photoresist layer (FIG. 13, item 1314) extends over the dielectric insulation layer (FIG. 13, item 1313).
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Naber et al (U.S. 2015/0114462), Chary et al (U.S. 2017/0345955), Suarez et al (U.S. 2019/0013429), and Voss et al (U.S. 2015/0349152) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schultz-Wittman et al (U.S. 2011/0132443).
Regarding claim 5. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Chary et al discloses wherein the printing method ([0122])
Chary et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the printing method is an inkjet method.
However, Schultz-Wittman et al teaches wherein the printing method is an inkjet method ([0025],i.e. inexpensive technologies for the deposition of a structured resist can be used, such as inkjet).
Since Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, Voss et al and Schultz-Wittman et al teach photovoltaic devices, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the a metallization method for a semiconductor wafer as disclosed to modify Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al with the teachings of the wherein the printing method is an inkjet method as disclosed by Schultz-Wittman et al. The use of inexpensive technologies for the deposition of a structured resist can be used, such as inkjet in Schultz-Wittman et al provides for avoiding the high cost and process complexity of a photo-lithographically defined resist (Schultz-Wittman et al, [0025]).
Claims 19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naber et al (U.S. 2015/0114462), Chary et al (U.S. 2017/0345955), Suarez et al (U.S. 2019/0013429), and Voss et al (U.S. 2015/0349152) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Von Malm et al (U.S. 2017/0062351)
Regarding claim 19. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 18 above.
Naber et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein, on the top side, the dielectric insulation layer is spaced apart from the photoresist layer.
However, Von Malm et la teaches wherein, on the top side, the dielectric insulation layer (FIG. 1I, item 73) is spaced apart (FIG. 1I, the photoresist on the top side, item 8, is spaced apart from the dielectric insulation layer, item 73, [0075], i.e. [0075] a masking layer 8, for example a photo resist layer is subsequently applied to the semiconductor layer sequence 2. The masking layer is designed in such a way that openings 81 are formed in the masking layer, wherein the cut-outs 29 are completely arranged within the openings 81 in a top view of the semiconductor layer sequence 2. [0076], i.e. material of the separating layer 73 is removed by means of another directionally selective method.) from the photoresist layer (FIG. 1I, item 8).
Since Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, Voss et al and Von Malm et al teach Solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method for a semiconductor wafer as disclosed to modify Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al with the wherein, on the top side, the dielectric insulation layer is spaced apart from the photoresist layer as disclosed by Von Malm et al. The use of masking layer is designed in such a way that openings are formed in the masking layer, wherein the cut-outs are completely arranged within the openings in a top view of the semiconductor layer sequence in Von Malm et al provides for with increasing distance from the semiconductor layer sequence, the cross-section of the openings decreases, such that an undercut area is created (Von Malm, [0075]).
Regarding claim 21. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 18 above.
Chary et al further discloses on the bottom side (FIG. 13, item 1309), the photoresist layer (FIG. 13, item 1314) extends over the dielectric insulation layer (FIG. 13, item 1313).
Chary et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein, on the top side, the dielectric insulation layer is spaced apart from the photoresist layer.
However, Von Malm et la teaches wherein, on the top side, the dielectric insulation layer (FIG. 1I, item 73) is spaced apart (FIG. 1I, the photoresist on the top side, item 8, is spaced apart from the dielectric insulation layer, item 73, [0075], i.e. [0075] a masking layer 8, for example a photo resist layer is subsequently applied to the semiconductor layer sequence 2. The masking layer is designed in such a way that openings 81 are formed in the masking layer, wherein the cut-outs 29 are completely arranged within the openings 81 in a top view of the semiconductor layer sequence 2. [0076], i.e. material of the separating layer 73 is removed by means of another directionally selective method.) from the photoresist layer (FIG. 1I, item 8).
Since Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, Voss et al, and Von Malm et al teach Solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method for a semiconductor wafer as disclosed in Chary et al with the wherein, on the top side, the dielectric insulation layer is spaced apart from the photoresist layer as disclosed by Von Malm et al. The use of masking layer is designed in such a way that openings are formed in the masking layer, wherein the cut-outs are completely arranged within the openings in a top view of the semiconductor layer sequence in Von Malm et al provides for with increasing distance from the semiconductor layer sequence, the cross-section of the openings decreases, such that an undercut area is created (Von Malm, [0075]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naber et al (U.S. 2015/0114462), Chary et al (U.S. 2017/0345955), Suarez et al (U.S. 2019/0013429), and Voss et al (U.S. 2015/0349152) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hua et al (U.S. 2006/0273430)
Regarding claim 23. Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1 above.
Naber et al disclose the photoresist pattern ([0010], i.e. photolithographic masking steps) and the metal layer ([0044], i.e. provide a metal-wrap-through (MWT) type solar cell)
Voss et al discloses the flat metal layer (FIG. 2d, item 206)
Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the metal layer remaining after said removing the resist pattern extends over the continuous side wall of the through-hole but does not cover the first opening and does not cover the second opening
Hau et al teaches wherein the metal layer (FIG. 5, item 51, 53; [0073]) remaining after said removing the resist pattern ([0075]) extends over the continuous side wall of the through-hole but does not cover the first opening and does not cover the second opening ([0083])
Since Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, Voss et al, and Hua et al teach wafer interconnects, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method for a semiconductor wafer as disclosed to modify Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al and Voss et al with the teachings of the wherein the metal layer remaining after said removing the resist pattern extends over the continuous side wall of the through-hole but does not cover the first opening and does not cover the second opening as disclosed by Hua et al. The use of the isometric view of a through-wafer hole, low aspect ratio electrical interconnection, the fashioned through-wafer hole interconnections include a vertical or substantially vertical portion and a low-aspect ratio side-wall portion, the through-wafer holes consist of, from the surface of the silicon substrate, successive layers of silicon dioxide, UBM, and metal/solder material in Hua et al provides for Electrical interconnections on the front surface of the base wafer are electrically-coupled to electrical interconnections on the front surface of the cap wafer using through-wafer electrical interconnections (Hua et al, [0015]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naber et al (U.S. 2015/0114462), Chary et al (U.S. 2017/0345955), Suarez et al (U.S. 2019/0013429), Voss et al (U.S. 2015/0349152), and Hua et al (U.S. 2006/0273430).
Regarding claim 22. Naber et al discloses a metallization method for a semiconductor wafer, the method comprising:
providing the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1) having a top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) and a bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) and a solar cell (Title) and at least one through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) extending from the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) through the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1), the through-hole (FIG. 1g, item 2) having a first opening (FIG. 1g, item A) at the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) and a second opening (FIG. 1g, item B) at the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1), wherein the first opening (FIG. 1g, item 2) at the top side (FIG. 1g, item 1a) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 1) and the second opening (FIG. 1g, item 2) at the bottom side (FIG. 1g, item 1b) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 1g, item 2) are not covered by a layer ([0045]; FIG. 1g, item 7 does not cover the first opening at the top side of the semiconductor wafer and the second opening at the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer).
applying a photoresist layer ([0010], i.e. photolithographic masking steps)
applying a metal layer ([0044], i.e. provide a metal-wrap-through (MWT) type solar cell)
Naber et al fails to explicitly disclose:
at least two solar cell stacks, each solar cell stack has a Ge substrate forming the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer, a Ge subcell, and at least two Ill-V subcells,
applying a photoresist layer as a resist pattern via a printing method to the top side and bottom side of the semiconductor wafer;
applying a flat metal layer to exposed regions of the top side and the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer, the exposed regions being regions which are coated with the photoresist layer, and to the photoresist layer; and
removing the resist pattern with the flat metal layer located thereon from the semiconductor wafer.
However, Chary et al teaches at least two solar cell stacks (FIG. 35A-C), each solar cell stack (FIG. 1) has a Ge substrate (FIG.11, item 1105; [0112], i.e. Materials used to form the substrate include, for example, germanium) forming the bottom (FIG. 11, items 1105) of the wafer (FIG. 11, items 1104 and 1105),
applying a photoresist layer (FIG, 13, item 1314) as a resist pattern via a printing method ([0122]) to the bottom side (FIG. 13, bottom of item 1313) of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 13, item 1305, 1313);
applying a metal layer (FIG. 14, items 1418) to exposed regions of the surface of the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 14, item 1405, 1413), the exposed regions being regions which are coated with the photoresist layer (FIG. 14, item 1414), and to the photoresist layer (FIG. 14, item 1414); and
removing the resist pattern (FIG. 14, item 1414 is removed from FIG. 15) with the metal layer part (FIG. 14, item 1418 is removed from FIG. 15) located thereon from the semiconductor wafer (FIG. 15, item 1505; [00123], i.e. Sacrificial metal 1418 and metal isolation resist pattern 1414 are then lifted off.. leading to the product shown in FIG. 15).
Since Naber et al and Chary et al teach Solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the a metallization method for a semiconductor wafer as disclosed to modify Naber et al with the teachings of at least two solar cell stacks, each solar cell stack has a Ge substrate forming the bottom side of the semiconductor wafer, applying a photoresist layer in certain areas as a resist pattern via a printing method to the top side or to the bottom side or to the top and bottom sides of the semiconductor wafer applying a flat metal layer to exposed regions of a surface of the semiconductor wafer, the exposed regions being regions which are coated with the photoresist layer, and to the photoresist layer; and removing the resist pattern with the flat metal layer located thereon from the semiconductor wafer as disclosed by Chary et al. The use of sacrificial metal and metal isolation resist pattern are then lifted off leading to the product shown in Chary et al provides for making the photovoltaic cells lighter and appropriate for space applications, simplifies fabrication of the TWV, and improves thermal properties (Chary et al, [0091]).
Naber et al and Chary et al fails to explicitly disclose:
each solar cell has a Ge subcell, and at least two Ill-V subcells, applying a flat metal layer, and removing the resist layer with the flat metal layer, photoresist and metal layer on the top side of the semiconductor wafer.
However Suarez et al teaches each solar cell (FIG. 2, item 4J) has a Ge sub-cell (FIG. 2, item Ge (active junction)), at least two III-V sub-cells (FIG. 2, item GaInNAsSB, item InGaAs,; [0046], i.e. In a 4J or higher-junction solar cell, an active germanium subcell lies underneath the GaInNAsSb subcell).
Since Naber et al, Chary et al and Suarez et al teach methods of manufacturing solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method as disclosed to modify Naber et al with the teaching of each solar cell has a Ge sub-cell, at least two III-V sub-cells as disclosed by Suarez et al. The use of an active germanium subcell lies underneath the GaInNAsSb subcell in Suarez et al to absorb lower energy of light (Suarez et al [0046]).
Naber et al, Chary et al, and Suarez et al fails to explicitly disclose applying a flat metal layer, and removing the resist layer with the flat metal layer, photoresist and metal layer on the top side of the semiconductor wafer.
However, Voss et al teaches applying a flat metal layer (FIG. 2d, item 206; [0101], i.e. [0101] Since also the patterned first resist layer (203) is covered by the conductive seed layer (205), electroplating of the first metal or metal alloy layer (206) is also on this layer. The thickness of the first metal or metal alloy layer (206) should preferably not exceed 10 pm and more preferably not exceed 6 pm on top of the patterned first resist layer (203)),
and removing ([0102], i.e. In step (v) of the method according to the present invention, those parts of the first metal or metal alloy layer (206) which are plated on top of the patterned first resist layer (203) are etched away. At the same time, a similar amount (in terms of thickness of this layer) of the first metal and metal alloy layer (206) plated into the first openings (204) is also etched away. Step (v) of the method according to the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 2e.) the resist layer (FIG. 2b-d, item 203) with the flat metal layer (FIG. 2d-g, item 206)
Since Naber et al, Chary et al, Saurez et al, and Voss et al teach methods of manufacturing solar cells, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method as disclosed to modify Naber et al, Chary et al, and Saurez et al with applying a flat metal layer, and removing the resist layer with the flat metal layer as disclosed by Voss et al. The use of the patterned first resist layer is covered by the conductive seed layer, electroplating of the first metal or metal alloy layer is also on this layer in Voss et al to provide a homogeneous thickness distribution of plated conducting lines, contact pads and solder pads (Voss et al [0046])
Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, and Voss et al fails to explicitly disclose a photoresist and metal layer on the top side of the semiconductor wafer.
However, Hua et al teaches a photoresist and metal layer on the top side of the semiconductor wafer ([0073], As shown in FIG. 3G, the metal/solder mixture will also be deposited to cover or adhere to the exposed, in the electrical contact region 48 between photo-resist portions 45 and 46 on the front surface 33, and in the electrical insulation region 59 between photo-resist portions 44 and 45 on the front surface 33).
Since Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al, Voss et al, and Hua et al teach wafer interconnects, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the metallization method for a semiconductor wafer as disclosed to modify Naber et al, Chary et al, Suarez et al and Voss et al with the teachings of the photoresist and metal layer on the top and bottom side of the semiconductor wafer as disclosed by Hua et al. The use of the metal/solder mixture will also be deposited to cover or adhere to the exposed, in the electrical contact region 48 between photo-resist portions 45 and 46 on the front surface 33, and in the electrical insulation region 59 between photo-resist portions 44 and 45 on the front surface 33 in Hua et al provides for Electrical interconnections on the front surface of the base wafer are electrically-coupled to electrical interconnections on the front surface of the cap wafer using through-wafer electrical interconnections (Hua et al, [0015]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to argue Chary et al does not disclose applicant’s amended limitation of the first opening at the top side of the semiconductor wafer and the second opening at the bottom side of the semiconductor water are not covered by a layer.
Examiner respectfully points out that Naber et al teaches applicant’s amended limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lopatin et al (U.S. 2008/0121276) discloses selective electroless deposition for solar cells
Baker-O’Neal et al (2017/0309760) disclose surface preparation and uniform plating on through wafer vias and interconnects for photovoltaics..
Naber et al (U.S. 2015/0114462) disclose method of manufacturing a solar cell and solar cell this obtained.
Sharps (U.S. 2008/0185038) discloses inverted metamorphic solar cells with via for backside contacts.
Gee et al (U.S. 2005/0176164) disclose Back contact solar cells and methods of fabrication.
Moon et al (U.S. 2012/0288980) discloses method for manufacturing a back contact solar cell.
/S.E.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2815 /JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815