Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, line 17, 02 October 2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 9, 13-14, 16-22, and 24-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kravchenko et al. (2011), Optical Interference Lithography Using Azobenzene-Functionalized Polymers for Micro- and Nanopatterning of Silicon. Adv. Mater., 23: 4174-4177, hereinafter Kravchenko, and in view of Deng et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0041466 A1), hereinafter Deng, and in view of Nishimaki et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0227850 A1), hereinafter Nishimaki, and in view of Ober et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0370442 A1), hereinafter Ober; have been fully considered and, in light of the claim amendments made, are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0122456 A1), hereinafter Li.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 9, 13-14, 16-22, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0122456 A1), hereinafter Li, and in view of Deng et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0041466 A1), hereinafter Deng, and in view of Nishimaki et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0227850 A1), hereinafter Nishimaki, and in view of Ober et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0370442 A1), hereinafter Ober.
5. Regarding Claims 9, 13-14, 16-22, 24-25, and 27-34, Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) covering the substrate with a mixture of 2-5 wt% of a photochromic compound dispersed in a solvent to form a photoresist. Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) the photoresist is substantially free from any additives selected from the group consisting of photoactive generators, cross-linking agents, quenchers, surfactants and sensitizers. Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) the photochromic compound comprises a photochromic moiety of azobenzene. Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) the photochromic compound is a polymer having pendant groups comprising an azobenzene moiety. Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) the mixture consists of 2 wt% of the photochromic compound dispersed in the solvent. Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) the photochromic compound is a photochromic polymer having photochromic pendant groups. Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) the photoresist is substantially free from quenchers, surfactants and sensitizers.
6. While Li teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0017]) the polymer is a pendent azobenzene photochromic group, Li fails to explicitly teach the polymer is poly(Disperse Red 1 methacrylate), a poly[1-[4-(3-carboxy-4-hydroxyphenylazo)- benzenesulfonamido]-1,2-ethanediyl], and a poly(N-acryloyl-phenyl-alanine benzyl- ester-co-acryloyloxyethyl-dimethylamino) quaternized with 4-chloromethylphenyl- carbamoyloxymethylstilbene, wherein poly(Disperse Red 1 methacrylate) has an further substituents to the azobenzene pendent group not explicitly taught by Li. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach the contacting of the developing solvent with the photoresist i) dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist while not dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist, or ii) dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist while not dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach exposing the photoresist with an electron beam or extreme ultraviolet light. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach the lithographic pattern comprises a feature having a size of 50 nm or less. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach defining an exposed portion and unexposed portion of the photoresist and thereby altering a solubility of the exposed portion towards a developing solvent. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach developing a patterned photoresist by contacting the developing solvent with the photoresist. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist or dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist while not dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist. Furthermore, Li fails to explicitly teach the photochromic compound has a molecular mass ranging from 300 to 15000 Da.
7. Deng teaches (Paragraphs [0022-0028]) the polymer is a poly(Disperse Red 1 methacrylate). Deng teaches (Paragraph [0068]) defining an exposed portion and unexposed portion of the photoresist and thereby altering a solubility of the exposed portion towards a developing solvent. Deng teaches (Paragraph [0068]) developing a patterned photoresist by contacting the developing solvent with the photoresist. Deng teaches (Paragraph [0068]) dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist while not dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist. Deng teaches (Paragraph [0068]) the contacting of the developing solvent with the photoresist dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist while not dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist. Deng teaches (Paragraphs [0028-0034]) the photochromic compound has a molecular mass ranging from 300 to 15000 Da. Deng teaches (Paragraph [0021]) the invention therein allows the fabrication of a photoresist with reduced flooding.
8. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kravchenko to incorporate the teachings of Deng wherein the polymer is a poly(Disperse Red 1 methacrylate); to defining an exposed portion and unexposed portion of the photoresist and thereby altering a solubility of the exposed portion towards a developing solvent; developing a patterned photoresist by contacting the developing solvent with the photoresist; dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist while not dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist; the contacting of the developing solvent with the photoresist dissolving the exposed portion of the photoresist while not dissolving the unexposed portion of the photoresist; and the photochromic compound has a molecular mass ranging from 300 to 15000 Da. Doing so would allow the fabrication of a photoresist with reduced flooding, as recognized by Deng.
9. Nishimaki teaches (Paragraphs [0095-0098]) the photochromic compound absorbs light by an electron beam or extreme ultraviolet light. Nishimaki teaches (Paragraph [0103]) the photochromic compound has large light absorption performance of irradiation by an electron beam or extreme ultraviolet light.
10. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kravchenko to incorporate the teachings of Nishimaki wherein the photochromic compound is irradiated by an electron beam or extreme ultraviolet light. Doing so would result in large light absorption performance of irradiation by an electron beam or extreme ultraviolet light, as recognized by Nishimaki.
11. Ober teaches (Paragraph [0026]) the lithographic pattern comprises a feature having a size of 50 nm or less. Ober teaches (Paragraph [0003]) the lithographic pattern comprises a feature having a size of 50 nm or less are needed for emerging fabricated devices.
12. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kravchenko to incorporate the teachings of Ober to comprise a lithographic pattern which comprises a feature having a size of 50 nm or less. Doing so would allow for the fabrication of emerging devices, as recognized by Ober.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737