DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is made in view of Shirakawa et al. (DE Patent Publication No. 102018117520B3 equivalent to US patent publication No. 2021/0143793).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-18 is/are stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellas et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0067126) in view of Shirakawa et al. (DE Patent Publication No. 102018117520B3 equivalent to US patent publication No. 2021/0143793) and further in view of Hurwitz (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0278227).
Referring to figures 1-2, Dellas et al. teaches a resonator, comprising:
a substrate (110);
a first acoustic reflector (112) over the substrate;
a first electrode (130) over the first acoustic reflector (112);
a piezoelectric film (140) over the first electrode;
a second electrode (150) over the piezoelectric film; and
a second acoustic reflector (160) over the second electrode (see figure 1a).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the first acoustic reflector comprises first layers with a first acoustic impedance and second layers with second acoustic impedance, wherein the first layers and the second layer are alternated; both the first layers with the first acoustic impedance and the second layers with the second acoustic impedance of the first acoustic reflector extend laterally beyond outermost sides of the first electrode, and wherein the first electrode has a bottommost surface above an uppermost surface of the first acoustic reflector; a piezoelectric film over the first electrode, wherein the piezoelectric film has a bottommost surface above an uppermost surface of the first electrode.
Shirakawa et al. teaches the first acoustic reflector (AM)comprises first layers (M2) with a first acoustic impedance and second layers (M1) with second acoustic impedance, wherein the first layers and the second layer are alternated; both the first layers with the first acoustic impedance and the second layers with the second acoustic impedance of the first acoustic reflector extend laterally beyond outermost sides of the first electrode(BE), and wherein the first electrode has a bottommost surface above an uppermost surface of the first acoustic reflector (M2); a piezoelectric film (PM) over the first electrode(BE), wherein the piezoelectric film (PM) has a bottommost surface above an uppermost surface of the first electrode (BE, see figures 2-3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the first acoustic reflector comprises first layers with a first acoustic impedance and second layers with second acoustic impedance, wherein the first layers and the second layer are alternated; both the first layers with the first acoustic impedance and the second layers with the second acoustic impedance of the first acoustic reflector extend laterally beyond outermost sides of the first electrode and wherein the first electrode has a bottommost surface above an uppermost surface of the first acoustic reflector, a piezoelectric film over the first electrode, wherein the piezoelectric film has a bottommost surface above an uppermost surface of the first electrode in Dellas et al. as taught by Shirakawa et al. because it is known in the art to improve the quality factor at resonance frequency (see paragraph# 12).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the piezoelectric film is single crystalline and has a thickness that is 0.5um or less, an isolation trench through and enclosing a portion of the piezoelectric film, the isolation trench defines a resonating portion of the piezoelectric film within the portion enclosed by the isolation trench and a static portion of the piezoelectric film outside the enclosure.
Hurwitz teaches a resonator having the piezoelectric film (18) is single crystalline and has a thickness that is 0.5um or less (see paragraph# 144, meeting claim 11), an isolation trench (54) through and enclosing a portion of the piezoelectric film (18, meeting claim 16), the isolation trench (54) defines a resonating portion of the piezoelectric film within the portion enclosed by the isolation trench and a static portion of the piezoelectric film outside the enclosure (see figure 1, 12, paragraph# 144), meeting claim 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form piezoelectric film is single crystalline and has a thickness that is 0.5um or less, an isolation trench through and enclosing a portion of the piezoelectric film, the isolation trench defines a resonating portion of the piezoelectric film within the portion enclosed by the isolation trench and a static portion of the piezoelectric film outside the enclosure in Dellas et al. as taught by Hurwitz because forming single crystal piezoelectric would minimize the lost energy and forming the isolation trench would separate the resonator that art connected in series (see paragraphs# 127, 134).
Regarding to claim 12, the piezoelectric film comprises AIN, ScAlN, PZT, LiNbO3, or LiTaO3 (see paragraph# 18).
Regarding to claim 13, further comprising: a dielectric layer (130) surrounding the first electrode, the piezoelectric film, and the second electrode (see figure 1a).
Regarding to claim 14, the first acoustic reflector (112) and the second acoustic reflector (160) comprise: first layers with a first acoustic impedance; and second layers with a second acoustic impedance, wherein the first layers and the second layers are alternated (114/116/118/120; 162/164/166/168; see figure 1a, paragraphs# 16-30).
Regarding to claim 15, the first layers comprise W, and wherein the second layers comprise SiO2(see figure 1a, paragraphs# 16-17)
Regarding to claim 18, further comprising: a plurality of conductive vias through the static portion of the piezoelectric film, wherein the plurality of conductive vias (150a) are electrically coupled to the first electrode (150, see figure 1a).
Claim(s) 19 is/are stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellas et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0067126) in view of Shirakawa et al. (DE Patent Publication No. 102018117520B3 equivalent to US patent publication No. 2021/0143793) and Hurwitz (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0278227) as applied to claim 11-18 above, further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0232361).
Referring to figures 1-2, Dellas et al. teaches a resonator, comprising: a substrate (110);
a first acoustic reflector (112) over the substrate; a first electrode (130) over the first acoustic reflector (112); a piezoelectric film (140) over the first electrode; a second electrode (150) over the piezoelectric film; and a second acoustic reflector (160) over the second electrode (see figure 1a).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a silicon layer between the piezoelectric film and the second electrode.
Wang et al. teaches resonator having having a piezoelectric (213) and a silicon layer (250, see paragraphs# 54-55) and forming a second electrode (222/226, see figure5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form it would form a silicon layer between the piezoelectric film and the second electrode in Dellas et al. as taught by Wang et al. because choosing an optimum material for a layer only involve routine skill in the art to form an optimum
device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893