DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170347026 A1 (hereinafter Hannuksela)
US 20160260196 A1 (hereinafter Roimela)
US 20160048964 A1 (para 43)
Martens, Geoffrey “Bandwidth management for ODV tiled streaming with MPEG-DASH” Masters thesis, Universiteit Hasselt, 01 January 2015 (hereinafter Martens)
US 20160150212 A1 (360 video with adaptive resolutions; the abstract , Fig.6)
CORBILLON, XAVIER et al., "Viewport-Adaptive Navigable 360-Degree
Video Delivery", Telecom Bretagne, France, September 26, 2016 (The Abstract, Fig.1)
Claim Objection (Allowable Subject Matter)
Claims 38 & 44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for following reason.
Re: § 112(a)
In applicant’s remarks on page 6, applicant indicated
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 25 is claiming “a frequency measure associated with a frequency of the user changing the viewing direction”
Additionally claim 37-38 further claimed that the determination that “the frequency measure is below a threshold” and “the frequency measure is above a threshold” respectively
Therefore, such broad description in the specification does provide adequate support of the “frequency measure” that is claimed in detailed.
Re: Prior art rejection of independent claims
Applicant argued in substance that the prior art does not teach the limitation ““a frequency measure associated with a frequency of the user changing the viewing direction”.”
Among other things applicant argued that Roimela is not teaching angular velocity, it is teaching angular speed. This is not true, Riomela in para 51 teaches angular velocity. Based on Roimela teaching in the following paragraph where angular speed, angular velocity and head orientation and directions are track, it could be concluded that Riomela teaches the argued limitation
[0041] The head-tracking data may be used to predict view motion in the near future. Angular speed of the user' s head and variance thereof may be measured, and then it may be possible to estimate where the user's head will likely be pointing after a short time. For example, if the angular speed of the user's head remains mostly constant, it may be estimated where the user's head will be pointing after a certain time.
[0051] Confidence of the head-tracking data may be considered high if the angular velocity of the user's head remains more or less constant over a certain time interval. If the user's head is moving erratically, i.e. the confidence of the head-tracking data is low, the sub-streams residing in the current field of view may be streamed in reduced resolution. When the head motion is stable enough, i.e. the confidence of the head-tracking data is high, the streaming resolution is adapted and the sub-streams residing in the current field of view may be streamed in high resolution.
[0052] Signal processing of the head orientation signal and angular speed signal may comprise filtering, for example low-pass filtering with different cut-off frequencies. Thus, it may be possible to estimate certain trends in the user's head motion. For example, it may be possible to estimate short-term and medium-term trends for view prediction. These trends may be compared, and the similarity between the short-term and medium-term view predictions may be used to estimate the confidence of the view prediction. When the confidence of the view prediction is high, the predicted field of view may be narrower compared to the situation when the confidence of the view prediction is low. Further, the predicted field of view may be streamed in high resolution when the confidence of the predicted field of view is high, and the predicted field of view may be streamed at low resolution when the confidence of the predicted field of view is low. This way it may be possible to account for the uncertainty of the view prediction.
[0036] Head-tracking data may be used to detect user's viewing direction. Head-tracker may be integrated in to a head-mounted display 116. Head orientation and head movement may be tracked using a combination of 3-axis rotational tracking and 3-axis positional tracking, for example. There may be gyroscopes, accelerometers, and magnetometers integrated in to a head-mounted display 116 which may be used in head-tracking. Alternatively, the head-tracker may be a separate device worn by the user, and the acquired head-tracking data may be sent to the streaming server 124 through a communication connection.
[0054] The head-mounted display may comprise a gaze-tracker, for example a camera to be used to track a gaze direction of the user. Gaze-tracking may be used to enhance the view prediction. For example, the user's gaze may be followed, and it may be noticed if the user is locking one's gaze to a specific part of the video while turning one's head. If the user is locking the gaze to specific part of the field of view, and for some reason, is moving the head erratically, the video may still be streamed in high quality, since the user's focus of interest is known.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive
Re: Prior art rejection of dependent claims
Applicant has presented no additional argument, other than arguments already presented with respect to independent claims. Therefore, the arguments are similarly not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 25-26, 31-32, 37-48 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The independent claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For instance, claim 25 recites “a frequency measure associated with a frequency of the user changing the viewing direction”. This is not supported by applicant’s specification . For instance applicant specification para 126, 130, 146, recites frequency that is unrelated to claimed frequency. Further applicant argued (page 7 of the remarks) and is quoted here “However, an "angular velocity" is merely a speed metric, which is unrelated to measuring the frequency of an event. A speed metric such as angular velocity cannot be said to be the same as a "frequency measure associated with the frequency of the user changing the viewing direction,”
It appears, applicant is trying to claim specific or explicit “frequency …..” that is not supported by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26, 31-32, 37, 39-43, 45-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela in view of Roimela.
Regarding Claims 25, 31. Hannuksela teaches an apparatus/method comprising: a processor [(para 6-8, 19)] configured to: receive a media presentation description (MPD) file comprising a plurality of representations associated with a 360 degree video [(para 341, 343, 231)] , the plurality of representations comprising a first representation and a second representation, wherein the first representation is associated with a first set of spatial regions of the 360 degree video at a first quality level and wherein the second representation is associated with a second spatial regions of the 360 degree video at a second quality level [(para 6-8 and 13; para 314; the second representation is the primary viewport {para 314} or the current view{para 6} which is subset of entire 360 video. The second representation is the rest of the video with lower quality )]
request first subset of spatial regions from a media server [(Hannuksela para 6; para 341, 344)]
Hannuksela, does not explicitly show monitor over a time period, at least one user parameter associated with a user changing viewing direction
determine, based on a monitored at least one user parameter, a frequency measure associated with a user changing a viewing direction
identify a viewport of a user that is expected to be viewed based on the frequency measure associated with the user changing the viewing direction;
select a first subset of spatial regions from the second set of spatial regions based on the frequency measure, wherein the first subset of spatial regions is associated with viewport,
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Roimela teaches monitor over a time period, at least one user parameter associated with a user changing viewing direction [(“angular velocity of the user's head remains more or less constant over a certain time interval”, para 51)]
determine, based on a monitored at least one user parameter, a frequency measure associated with a user changing a viewing direction [(Roimela para 51-52; angular velocity of head-tracking indicate trends in the user’s head motion {para 52})] ;
identify a viewport of a user that is expected to be viewed based on the frequency measure associated with the user changing the viewing direction; [(Roimela para 52, 54)]
select a first subset of spatial regions from the second set of spatial regions based on the frequency measure, wherein the first subset of spatial regions is associated with viewport, [(based on gaze tracking the view/focus region is selected in high quality {para 54-55}; the viewport/ROI or viewing region includes subset of region {Hannuksela para 6}, such as tiles or blocks {Hannuksela para 5, 80}; this is determined by Hannuksela additionally teaches the client apparatus determines that the viewport suitable for displaying by tracking the viewer head orientation/direction {para 277, 278, 51})] ;
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts to enhance user experience by reducing delay [(Roimela para 42)] .
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claims 26, 32. The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the first subset of spatial regions is selected to cover a first portion of an enhanced spatial area of the 360-degree video based on the determination that the frequency measure is above a threshold and second portion of an enhanced spatial are of the 360-degree video based on the determination that the frequency measure is below the threshold, wherein the first position covers a larger enhanced area than the second portion [(Roimela teaches “When the confidence of the view prediction is high, the predicted field of view may be narrower compared to the situation when the confidence of the view prediction is low.” {para 52}; please note confidence is high when motion is low {para 51} )] .
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claims 37, 43. (New) The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the processor is further configured to: select the first subset of spatial regions to represent a single enhanced viewport of the user based on a determination that the frequency measure is below a threshold [(high confidence low motion {Roimela para 51} & Hannuksela para 6)]
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 39, 45. (New) The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the frequency measure characterizes the viewing habits of the user. [(Roimela para 52)]
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 40, 46. (New) The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the processor is configured to request a second subset of spatial regions, wherein the second subset comprises spatial regions independent from the first subset of spatial regions [(Roimela para 51, 55 )]
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 41, 47. (New) The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one user parameter is determined based on at least one sensor comprises one or more of a gyroscope, an accelerometer, or a magnetometer. [(Roimela para 36)]
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 42, 48. (New) The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the second quality level is higher than the first quality level [(Roimela para 51, 55 )]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426