DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In an Amendment filed on 05/05/2026, claims 2, 6, 8-9, 12, 17-19, and 23 were cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1,
3-5, 7, 10-11, 13-16, 20-22, and 24-26 are still pending in this Application.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 8-11, with respect to rejections to claims 1, 3-5, 7 and 10 under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and they are respectfully unpersuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been maintained.
On page 8, the Applicant argues that:
“Even assuming arguendo that the filter condition determination step in
isolation could be characterized as a mental process, the claim as a whole is directed to a method for dispensing liquid in a microelectronic workpiece processing system that integrates any such determination into a series of concrete, physical process steps. Claim 1 recites, inter alia, " "monitoring, using the dispense system, a flow rate for the
liquid during the dispensing, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds," "changing the pressure to change the flow rate," "determining, based on the monitoring of the flow rate, a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure," "determining information about gas bubble content based on the delay," and, critically, "based on the gas bubble content, adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters." This last step is a physical control action-the system adjusts real-world process parameters (pressure, flow rate, or spin rate) to achieve target parameters (coat thickness or coat uniformity). As such, claim 1 does not merely
observe and evaluate data but uses the evaluation to actively control a physical dispense process”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
As stated in the rejection, each of the steps enumerated above represent mere data gathering and/or simply linking the abstract idea to a technological environment. The abstract idea is clearly a determination step that covers steps of observation of data, evaluation, judgment and opinion, which are steps that can be easily performed mentally and belong to the group of mental processes abstract idea. This step can be easily performed mentally by an operator by simply looking at data collected. For instance, collecting and monitoring data to determine a condition of component in this case a filter by comparing data has been found to cover mental processes (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) “…In contrast, claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Examples of claims that recite mental processes include: • a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Also, see MPEP 2106.05(h) “Examples of limitations that the courts have described as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception include: … iv. Specifying that the abstract idea of monitoring audit log data relates to transactions or activities that are executed in a computer environment, because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer, FairWarning v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1094-95, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1295 (Fed. Cir. 2016);…”). After the determination of the condition of the filter (the abstract idea), the claimed invention does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application such as controlling the system to alleviate the condition of the filter or automatically stopping the system to replace the filter when a condition is detected. Just like it is common to detect filter age/condition in an air conditioning, if the user does not change or decides to alleviate the problem, then the monitoring of the condition of an air filter in an AC system does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
On pages 9-10, the Applicant further argues that:
“Even if the filter condition determination step is treated as an abstract idea, claim 1 as a whole integrates it into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d). The Specification describes a concrete technical problem and a concrete technical solution…
Technical solution: As described at paragraphs [0052], [0053], and [0062], the claimed method uses high-frequency pressure and flow rate monitoring to determine timing delays indicative of gas bubble content, and feeds this information into adjustments of the pressure, flow rate, and/ or spin rate to achieve target coating parameters. The Specification explains at paragraph [0052] that for an incompressible fluid with no gas bubbles, flow rate changes nearly instantly in response to pressure, whereas bubbles cause a measurable delay. This timing-based diagnostic approach, combined with the adjustment step, provides a technical improvement to the dispense system's ability to maintain consistent coating quality”.
The Examiner dismisses the adjustment step and the bubble detection/ delay determination steps as tangential limitations" that merely link the abstract idea to a field of use. Office Action at pp. 4 and 5. Applicant respectfully disagrees with this characterization…
Here, the claimed method improves the dispense process by enabling real-time detection of gas bubble content and responsive adjustment of process parameters-a concrete improvement over prior processes and systems that could not detect or respond to such conditions”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
In response to the previous argument, the cited paragraphs [0052], [0053], and [0062] simply teach that the system is able to detect conditions in the filter such as a “differences in flow rate and applied pressure can also be used to determine when the filter has been adequately purged or needs to be replaced (0053)”, “For one embodiment, pressure/flow comparisons are used to determine a condition of the filter 104. These comparisons allow filter performance to be compared, filter lifetime ( e.g., pressure should increase over time) to be better understood…Understanding the flow caused by pressure downstream will show when the filter performance has degraded and predictive maintenance is needed.” (0062). However, none of these paragraphs suggest the control of the system based on a condition on the filter as suggested by the Applicant.
On page 10, the Applicant further argues that:
“Claim 1 is tied to a specific dispense system that receives, filters, pressurizes, and dispenses liquid on a microelectronic workpiece while rotating the workpiece at a spin rate. As such, the dispense system is not a generic computer or general-purpose processor, but a specific processing system for semiconductor manufacturing...Additionally, the monitoring of flow rate at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds is not "insignificant extra-solution activity" as characterized by the Office Action at p. 4. This high-frequency sampling is integral to enabling the timing-based delay determination-without it, the time duration between pressure and flow rate changes cannot be resolved. It is a necessary technical feature of the claimed method, not mere data gathering”. These arguments are unpersuasive.
While the system is specific and has a lot of components, the claim simply links this system to the abstract idea of monitoring/collecting of data and providing a judgment. As stated above, the courts have found a plurality of patent applications for a plurality of complex systems non-compliant for 35 USC 101 when the main idea is the collection, monitoring and judging of the data (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) and 2106.05(h) see cases as described above). Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 11-18, with respect to rejections to claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-11, 13-16, 20-22, and 24-26 under 35 USC § 103(a) have been fully considered and they are respectfully persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims and its dependent claims have been maintained.
On page 13, the Applicant argues that:
“The cited references do not teach or suggest "determining ... a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure, the delay being indicative of a time duration between the changing the pressure and the change in the flow rate.
This limitation recites a specific temporal relationship: the claim defines the "delay" as "a time duration between the changing the pressure and the change in the flow rate." The claim further specifies that the pressure reaches a peak pressure value at "a first time" and the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at "a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration." Thus, the claim unambiguously recites a delay measured in time";
The Office Action repeatedly states that "the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded flowrate and a measured flowrate." See, e.g., Office Action at pp. 10, 12, and 22. Applicant respectfully submits that this interpretation is inconsistent with the claim language. The claim does not recite a magnitude difference between a commanded and measured flow rate. It recites a "time duration" between two temporally separated events-one occurring at "a first time" and the other at "a second time." A magnitude comparison is not the same as a temporal comparison. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
In response to the arguments above, the claims do not define “the delay as a duration of time”, the claims recite the delay indicates of a time duration between the changing the pressure and the change in the flow rate. Thus, the claim clearly recites “determining, based on the monitoring of the flow rate, a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure, the delay being indicative of a time duration between the changing the pressure and the change in the flow rate, wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration”. Also, the claim does not recite collecting or determining a specific time in the signals to determine the delay or calculating timings in the signals to determine the duration of time. The disclosure and the claims do not positively recite or has support for the determination of specific timings to determine a “duration of time”. The word “duration” does not appear in the disclosure.
The original disclosure Figs. 2B, 2C clearly depicts a flow event/flow commanded curve 252 and current measured flow rate 274 or 254 (0056-0057 and [0058]). These paragraphs suggest that the delay in flow rate is determined based on the measured flow 254 and expected commanded flow event curve/flow curve 252, wherein the delay indicates a difference in flow 252 and 254. Thus, this “delay” represents a difference in detected value. It is clear that the flow rate is dependent on controlled pressure. Thus, the Examiner agrees that the determined delay (difference in signal) includes or is indicative of a time duration between the activation of the pressure and the detected flow rate. Also, the delay is more indicative of clogging, bubble, or conditions in the fluid or system based on the magnitude delay detected.
Mizohata teaches a determination of a difference between measured flow rate and predetermined flow rate (see Fig. 14 step S42 a delay/difference between measured and predetermined flowrate is determined). Ryoji teaches the delay being indicative of a time duration (the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded flowrate and a measured flowrate as suggest by the disclosure of this instant invention; see page 10 par. 6 “The liquid processing method according to claim 7, wherein the step of measuring the flow rate of the processing liquid includes a step of detecting bubbles based on a change in flow rate value”, thus, a delay/difference between measured and predetermined flowrate is determined). Also, Ryoji teaches that when bubbles are present, the flow rate change is determined and compared to a threshold duration time (see page 5 par. 1 and 2 “As a method for detecting the above-described change in the flow rate value, there was one or the other change in the flow rate value increase or decrease within a preset time (a time set in advance based on the noise generation time). An example in which the above change (that is, the presence of bubbles) is detected by taking the AND condition that the change width exceeds the threshold value). Therefore, the combination of references reads in the claimed subject matter.
On page 15, the Applicant further argues that:
“Claim 1 recites "determining information about gas bubble content based on the delay." Because the "delay" refers to the time duration defined in the preceding limitation, this step requires determining gas bubble content based on the temporal delay between the pressure change and the flow rate change. As discussed above, no cited reference teaches this temporal delay. Therefore, no cited reference teaches or suggests "determining information about gas bubble content based on the delay," as recited in claim 1. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
Ryoji teaches a method and a liquid processing device comprising determining information about gas bubble content based on a delay of a change in flow rate (see page 5 par. 1 and par. 2). Ryoji teaches the delay being indicative of a time duration (the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded flowrate and a measured flowrate as suggest by the disclosure of this instant invention; see page 10 par. 6 “The liquid processing method according to claim 7, wherein the step of measuring the flow rate of the processing liquid includes a step of detecting bubbles based on a change in flow rate value”, thus, a delay/difference between measured and predetermined flowrate is determined). Thus, Ryoji teaches the limitation argued.
On page 15, the Applicant further argues that:
“Takanobu does not teach or suggest "determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter." Takanobu's Figure 3 is a static relationship plot as it maps a flow rate value to a pressure differential value and compares the result against stored clogging curves, which is a magnitude based comparison. There is no time axis on Takanobu's Figure 3. A such, Takanobu does not compare the "timing" of pressure signals versus flow rate signals-it compares their magnitudes against static reference curves. Claim 1, by contrast, recites "determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter". These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
The claimed limitations as recited are broader than the Applicant ‘s interpretation. This limitation was interpreted as comparing pressure-flow measurements a first timing with a pressure flow measurements at a second timing to determine a condition of the filter as suggested in paragraphs [0061-0062]. In other words, comparing data of different times. Takanobu clearly teaches condition in filter comprising determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter (see page 4 par. 5 clogging is detected in a filter when two measurements are compared at different timings/times of pressure-flow as shown in Fig. 3. Also, see page 7 claim 1 “… The control means compares the fuel flow rate and the differential pressure detected by the differential pressure detector with a clogging characteristic of the filter stored in the storage unit, and warns when the use limit of the characteristic is reached). The Applicant’s interpretation of comparing the timings (specific timings of collected data) against each other to determine a condition of the filter does not have support in the disclosure. What paragraphs [0061-0062] suggest is that the pressure and flow data are collected and compared to a threshold which indicates clogging in the filter. Thus, the arguments are unpersuasive.
On page 16-17, the Applicant argues that:
“Claim 11 recites that the controller is configured to "obtain information about gas bubble content in the liquid by comparing a timing of the change in the first pressure and a timing of the change in the first flow rate.
Yasuda discloses comparing time series data of pressure values and flow rate values to obtain a phase difference, which is used to adjust a differential coefficient in the flow sensor's output formula so that the phase difference becomes zero. Yasuda's entire purpose is to eliminate a time delay in a flow sensor's measurement output-not to use the time delay as diagnostic information about system conditions.
Claim 11 requires the opposite. Rather than eliminating the timing difference, claim 11 uses the timing comparison to "obtain information about gas bubble content." Yasuda teaches that a timing difference is a measurement error to be corrected, not a useful diagnostic signal to be interpreted. One of ordinary skill in the art, reading Yasuda, would be motivated to reduce or eliminate the timing difference-not to use it as an indicator of gas bubbles… This is impermissible hindsight reconstruction.”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
The Applicant’s has not provided any interpretation for “timing comparison to "obtain information about gas bubble content.”. This limitation has been interpreted in the BRI in light of disclosure as comparing times series of data or data collected at different times as suggested in the disclosure [0078].
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In response to the arguments above, Yasuda teaches a system and method for inspecting a first flow sensor comprising obtaining information about conditions of the system such as delays in the signals by comparing a timing of the change in the pressure and a timing of the change in flow rate (see [0065]). Thus, Yasuda teaches a method to detect a delay by comparing timing of the change in the pressure and a timing of the change in flow rate. The original disclosure states that any delay in the pressure vs flow signals inherently indicates a problem in the fluid dispensing system including bubbles in the system. There are different methods of detecting bubbles in a dispensing system and different methods of detecting pressure-flow signal delays. Yasuda teaches one of such different methods to detect a delay between collected signals. Furthermore, Ryoji teaches monitoring a flow rate and conditions in the system (see the abstract and also see page 8 par. 7), determining information about gas bubble content based on a detected delay of a change in flow rate after applying pressure (see page 5 par. 1 and par. 2). Since Ryoji indicates that a delay in a signal indicates bubbles in a fluid dispensing means, it would have been obvious to use the method of Yasuda to determine a delay in pressure-flow signals to detect a conditions in the signals and use this method of calculation to detect bubbles in a dispensing system of Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji as stated in the rejection. Thus, the arguments are unpersuasive.
On page 17, the Applicant argues that:
“Claim 21 recites a program comprising instructions to “"obtain information about conditions of the system based on comparing the sensed pressures and the sensed flow rates during the portion of the dispense cycle”. This limitation requires comparing pressure data and flow rate data together during a dispense cycle to obtain system condition information. Akihiko monitors pressure and adjusts parameters based on pressure changes, but Akihiko does not have a flow sensor and therefore cannot compare pressure data with flow rate data. Girvin monitors flow rate and compares it to a target, but Girvin does not compare flow rate data with pressure data to extract system condition information-Girvin uses the flow rate alone to determine whether a pressure adjustment is needed… The Office Action does not identify any passage in any of the cited references that discloses comparing sensed pressures and sensed flow rates together during a dispense cycle to obtain information about conditions of the system.”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
In response to the argument above, the Applicant’s interpretation is narrower than the broader recited limitation. The recited limitation do not require “comparing the sensed pressures and the sensed flow rates during the portion of the dispense cycle” together or to each other as argued. The BRI interpretation of the claimed subject matter includes the comparing of sensed pressures (comparing pressures detected at different times against a threshold) and comparing flow rates detected against a thresholds as suggested in [0031] “the controller is configured to determine one or more conditions in the system based upon a comparison of pressure or flow rate or pressure and flow rate over multiple dispenses” and [0056]-[0058]. As admitted by the Applicant, the references teach or suggest that BRI of “obtain information about conditions of the system based on comparing the sensed pressures and the sensed flow rates during the portion of the dispense cycle” independently. Therefore, the arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites in part “…determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter.”
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
The limitations above, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), covers steps of observation of data, evaluation, judgment and opinion, which are steps that can be easily performed mentally and belong to the group of mental processes abstract idea. This step can be easily performed mentally by an operator by simply looking at data.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements such as “monitoring, using the dispense system, a flow rate for the liquid during the dispensing, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds”, recited at high level of generality and are considered insignificant extra solution activities of mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)(3) and 2106.05(d)(ii)). The claim further recites “a dispense system, receiving a liquid to be dispensed with a dispense system; filtering the liquid using a filter, wherein gas bubbles are formed in the liquid during the filtering; applying pressure to the liquid within the dispense system; dispensing the liquid on a microelectronic workpiece; rotating the microelectronic workpiece at a spin rate during the dispensing; changing the pressure to change the flow rate, wherein changing the pressure comprises increasing the pressure to a peak pressure value at a first time; determining, based on the monitoring of the flow rate, a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure, the delay being indicative of a time duration between the changing the pressure and the change in the flow rate, wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration; determining information about gas bubble content based on the delay; based on the gas bubble content, adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters”, which are steps related to a dispense system and this generally links the abstract idea/exception above to a technological environment or field of use such as fluid dispense system ((see MPEP 2106.05(h). The monitoring of flow rate, detection of delay, and control of the system based on the delay are tangential limitations that do not integrate the abstract idea of claim 1.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements such as “monitoring, using the dispense system, a flow rate for the liquid during the dispensing, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds”, recited at high level of generality and are considered insignificant extra solution activities of mere data gathering that have been considered insignificant extra solution that does not amount to significantly more as indicated by the courts since they are well-understood, routine, conventional activities recited at a high level of generality. 134 (see MPEP 2106.05(g) collecting and outputting data are extra solution activities See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015)). (see 16091484). Also, the further limitations enumerated above describe a dispense system and its functioning, which describes a field of use or technological environment, thus, Simply linking the abstract idea to field of use Controlling the dispense system according to the detected delay simply links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use and does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10 depends on claim 1 and thus, recite the limitations and the abstract ideas of their respective parent claim.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10 further recite the additional limitations of “3 applying one or more process models to adjust the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate, wherein the one or more process models are one or more coat simulation models”; “4. wherein the target parameters comprise coat thickness or coat uniformity”, “5 mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing; and adjusting the mixing of the liquid with one or more solvents based upon the process models”, “7. mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing; detecting a change in at least one the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent concentration; and adjusting at least one of the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent mixing based upon the detecting” and “10. wherein the target parameters comprise coat thickness or coat uniformity, and wherein the adjusting comprises adjusting multiple of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve the target parameters”, which are recited at high level of generality and represents tangential limitations of the dispense system, these limitations do not integrate the abstract idea above into a practical application since they do not impose any limits to the judicial exception of claim 1. Also, the further limitations enumerated above describe a dispense system and its functioning, which describes a field of use or technological environment, thus, simply linking the abstract idea to field of use of controlling the dispense system according to the detected delay simply links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use and does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05(h).
The claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10, do not impose any meaningful limits to the judicial exception of claim 1. Therefore, the limitations of claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10 do not integrate the judicial exception/abstract idea of claim 1 into a practical application, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea as clearly pointed out above in claim 1. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) in view of and Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), and TAKANOBU (JP 2009257103 A as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 1, Mizohata teaches a method to dispense liquid for a microelectronic workpiece processing system (see [0002] “The present invention relates to an apparatus and a method for supplying a liquid and preferably, an apparatus for supplying a liquid is used for an apparatus for processing a substrate”; also, see Figs. 1-3, 7-8 and 17 for a dispensing apparatus performing the method steps below), comprising:
receiving a liquid to be dispensed with a dispense system (see Fig. 1 liquid 12 is to be dispensed with dispense system/apparatus 1; also, see [0002], [0034], and [0130]);
filtering the liquid using a filter, wherein gas bubble are formed in the liquid during filtering (see Fig. 1 filter 111 filters the liquid, see [0035] “…The first filter 111 is made of PTFE, for example and removes impurities such as particles and the like from the liquid which is supplied to the pump mechanism 13. …”, thus, bubble can form anywhere in the liquid and can be formed in the filter of Mizohata, which are impurities);
applying pressure to the liquid within the dispense system (see [0034], [0040] “…pressure control”; also, see Fig. 8 “pressure control S133”);
dispensing the liquid on a microelectronic workpiece (see Fig. 1 liquid 12 is to be dispensed with dispense system/apparatus 1; also, see [0002], [0034], and [0130] );
rotating the microelectronic workpiece at a spin rate during the dispensing (see [0128] “…a rotating mechanism 262 for rotating the substrate 9,…”; also, see [0130] “…The substrate 9 is hold by the substrate holding part 26 and is rotated. The processing liquid supplied from the nozzle 27 spreads in all areas of the top of the substrate 9 while moving a top of the substrate 9 toward the outside thereof by the centripetal force…”);
monitoring, using the dispense system, a flow rate for the liquid during the dispensing (see [0071] and [0131] “… In the liquid supply apparatus 1 of the substrate processing apparatus 2, the flowrate of the hydrofluoric acid flowing at a small flowrate is measured by the flowmeter 14 (see FIG. 1) with high accuracy stably,…”; also, see Fig. 14 the flowrate is continuously measured), wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds;
changing the pressure to change the flow rate (see Fig. 14 the pressure is changed in first step (pumping out of liquid) and also in step S43; also, see Fig. 15 pressure ), wherein changing the pressure comprises increasing the pressure to a peak pressure value at a first time (see Fig. 15 pressure and thus flow rate is incremented for a first time); and
determining, based on the monitoring of the flow rate, a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure, the delay being indicative of a (the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded flowrate and a measured flowrate as suggest by the disclosure of this instant invention; see Fig. 14 step S42 a delay/difference between measured and predetermined flowrate is determined), and ;
based on [0071] “In a case where the measured flowrate differs from the predetermined flowrate/target parameter, the feedback controller 151 sends a command value of pressure as an electrical signal to the electro-pneumatic regulator 133 of the pump mechanism 13 on the basis of the measured flowrate and controls pressure applied to the flexible chamber 131 so that the flowrate of the liquid flowing through the conduit 11 is adjusted to the predetermined flowrate (Step S133). In a case where the measured flowrate is equal to the predetermined flowrate, the pressure applied to the flexible chamber 131 is kept”); and
Mizohata does not explicitly teach the delay being indicative of a time duration, wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration, determining information about gas bubble content based on a delay in flow rate and based on the determined gas bubble contentachieve target parameters (the disclosure teaches that the adjusting the parameters is based on flow rate delays/differences and the flow delay is due to any condition such as bubbles, filter, or viscosity. Thus, adjusting parameters based on the flow rate is equivalent to adjust the parameters related to a condition such as bubble in the fluid), wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds, and determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter
However, Ryoji teaches a method and a liquid processing device comprising filtering the liquid using a filter, wherein gas bubble are formed in the liquid during filtering (see page 5 last par. to page 6 second paragraph “The filter unit 16 separates foreign matter and remaining bubbles in the resist, and the separated foreign matter and the like are discharged to the outside by opening the valve 17a of the pipe 17. The resist after removal of foreign matter or the like flows through the pipe 18 and flows into the trap 19 When the bubble sensor 34 in front of the trap 19 detects a bubble, the trap 19 removes the bubble by opening the valve 21a of the deaeration pipe 21 before the resist flows into the pump unit 23…”, thus, the liquid is filtered and bubbles are formed in the filter during the filter), monitoring a flow rate and conditions in the system (see the abstract and also see page 8 par. 7 “resist supply apparatus 10 has been described as an example of the liquid processing apparatus according to the present invention...The present invention can also be applied to processing of a processing liquid and thinner (pre-wetting liquid, stripping liquid) at the time of wafer film formation) comprising determining information about gas bubble content based on a delay of a change in flow rate, (see page 5 par. 1 and par. 2 “when bubbles are mixed into the resist in the ultrasonic flow meter 40 and captured by the detection unit of the ultrasonic flow meter 40, a significant change (noise) as shown in FIG. Seen on the waveform of the data. Actually, it has been found from the experiments so far that bubbles can be detected up to about Φ0.3 mm. …An example in which the above change (that is, the presence of bubbles) is detected by taking the AND condition that the change width exceeds the threshold value….”; thus, the condition is a flow value that exceeds a threshold value, and this condition indicates presence of bubbles; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…”; also, see page 8 par. 7 “related to bubble detection, there is a method of generating an alarm to call attention when a bubble is detected. This alarm may be generated not only for each bubble but also for generating an alarm when a bubble is generated a plurality of specific times”), the delay being indicative of a time duration (the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded flowrate and a measured flowrate as suggest by the disclosure of this instant invention; see page 10 par. 6 “The liquid processing method according to claim 7, wherein the step of measuring the flow rate of the processing liquid includes a step of detecting bubbles based on a change in flow rate value”, thus, a delay/difference between measured and predetermined flowrate is determined), wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration (this is an intended result of having bubbles an/or having a difference between a commanded flow rate and measured flow rate caused by bubbles. The original disclosure of this instant application suggest this is an inherent intended result when bubbles are present and it is not a controlled function) and based on gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters (see page 6 par. 4 “When the ultrasonic flowmeter 40 detects bubbles, the bubble trap 26 removes the bubbles by opening the valve 27a of the deaeration pipe 27. An example of the bubble removal will be described in detail later. The resist is connected from the bubble trap 26 to the nozzle 50 through the pipe 28 and the valve 29. The resist discharge amount onto the wafer W is also adjusted by the control of the valve 29, and the resist discharge onto the wafer W is performed”; also, see page 7 par. 7 “…when the discharge amount from the nozzle is not within the threshold range.. When the resist flow rate is decreasing, the resist flow rate is increased, and when the resist flow rate is increasing, the resist flow rate is decreased. Alternatively, it is possible to detect or prevent product defects by performing soft marking on a wafer to be noted, controlling pump discharge pressure, or stopping subsequent processing”, thus, flow and/or pressure are adjusted and controlled when the flow rate is not with acceptable values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Mizohata’s combination as taught above to include filtering the liquid, wherein gas bubble are formed in the liquid during filtering, determining information about gas bubble content based on a delay, the delay being indicative of a time duration, wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration and based on gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters as taught by Ryoji in order to provide a countermeasure to the condition detection of bubbles in the fluid and provide a system that reduces damaged workpieces (see page 5 par. 4 “The bubble countermeasure program 107 is for degassing the bubble trap 26 using the time series data of the flow rate detection value of the ultrasonic flowmeter 40, and the flow shown in FIG. A set of steps is organized to execute”; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…”).
Mizohata-Ryoji still does not explicitly teach wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds.
However, Pedreiro teaches a monitoring method comprising a sensor monitoring a flow rate, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds (see [0118] “A typical residential water meter will read maximum flow rates from between 20 to 50 gallons per minute, which results in a bandwidth of interest and therefore the required sample rate from 100 to 500 Hz”, a sample rate of 100 is equal to a sampling rate of 10 milliseconds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Mizohata-Ryoji’s combination as taught above to include monitoring a flow rate, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds as taught by Pedreiro in order to monitor the flow rate at a higher accuracy sufficient to detect a threshold flow rate (see [0118] “A typical residential water meter will read maximum flow rates from between 20 to 50 gallons per minute, which results in a bandwidth of interest and therefore the required sample rate from 100 to 500 Hz. In some embodiments the sensor unit uses a 1,000 Hz sampling rate. For commercial, agricultural and industrial applications higher rates are required and can be accounted for based on operational parameters in each individual case”). Furthermore, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a sampling rate of 10 ms for monitoring flow rate, since applicant has not disclosed that 50 ms, 20ms, or 10 ms solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any other value between 1-100 ms and as suggested by Pedreiro the sampling rate depend on the different Applications/environments.
While Mizohata and Ryoji clearly teach a Filter for filtering the fluid, and wherein bubble detection can be tied to any place in the system, Mizohata-Ryoji-Pedreiro still does not explicitly teach determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter.
However, TAKANOBU teaches a system for detecting condition in filter comprising determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter (see page 4 par. 5 “In FIG. 3, the horizontal axis represents the fuel flow rate passing through the fuel filter 2, and the vertical axis represents the pressure loss (differential pressure) generated at the inlet and outlet of the fuel filter. A curve αindicates a clogging characteristic at the use limit of the fuel filter 2, and a curve β indicates a clogging characteristic when the fuel filter 2 is in a new state. In FIG. 3, the differential pressure p <b> 1 is a differential pressure at the limit of use of the fuel filter 2, and corresponds to the fuel flow rate when the fuel flow rate f <b> 1 is the full load state of the engine 1 and the rated rotational speed…”; also, see page 7 claim 1 “… The control means compares the fuel flow rate and the differential pressure detected by the differential pressure detector with a clogging characteristic of the filter stored in the storage unit, and warns when the use limit of the characteristic is reached. A fuel filter clogging monitoring apparatus for construction machinery, further comprising executing a fourth procedure of outputting…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Mizohata-Ryoji-Pedreiro’s combination as taught above to include a step of detecting condition of the filter comprising determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter as taught by TAKANOBU in order to detect the condition of the filter such as clogging and sending a warning or alarm to advise of such condition (see page 7 par. 1 and last par. “clogging characteristic of the filter stored in the storage unit, and warns when the use limit of the characteristic is reached. A fuel filter clogging monitoring apparatus for construction machinery, further comprising executing a fourth procedure of outputting …The fuel filter clogging monitoring apparatus for construction machines according to any one of claims 1 to 3, further comprising an alarm device for outputting the alarm”).
As per claim 4, Mizohata-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU teaches the method of claim 1, Mizohata further teaches wherein the target parameters comprise coat thickness or coat uniformity (see [0131] “…to improve uniformity of etching quality in a whole upper surface of the substrate 9.”).
As per claim 7, Mizohata-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Mizohata further teaches mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing (see Fig. 17 and see [0125] “As shown in FIG. 17, the substrate processing apparatus 2 includes a first conduit 21 through which pure water/solvent flows and a second conduit 22 through which hydrofluoric acid flows. The first conduit 21 and the second conduit 22 are connected at a downstream of both conduits. At a connected point of the first conduit 21 and the second conduit 22 a mixing valve 241 is installed, the pure water from the first conduit 21 and the hydrofluoric acid from the second conduit 22 are mixed in the mixing valve 241 and a processing liquid is generated.);
detecting a change in at least one the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent concentration (see Fig. 14 flow rate is changed and measured and change is detected in S42); and
adjusting at least one of the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent mixing based upon the detecting (see Fog. 14 flow rate is changed in S43 based on change detected in S42).
As per claim 10, Mizohata-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU teaches the method of claim 1, Mizohata further teaches wherein the target parameters comprise coat thickness or coat uniformity (see [0131] “…to improve uniformity of etching quality in a whole upper surface of the substrate 9.”) wherein the adjusting comprises adjusting multiple of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve the target parameters (see Fig. 14 the pressure and flowrate is adjusted multiple times based on the delay/difference in flow rate; also, see [0071] “the feedback controller 151 sends a command value of pressure as an electrical signal to the electro-pneumatic regulator 133 of the pump mechanism 13 on the basis of the measured flowrate and controls pressure applied to the flexible chamber 131 so that the flowrate of the liquid flowing through the conduit 11 is adjusted to the predetermined flowrate (Step S133…”).
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), and TAKANOBU (JP 2009257103 A as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 1, AKIHIKO teaches a method to dispense liquid for a microelectronic workpiece processing system (see page 1 “The present invention relates to a substrate processing apparatus for performing processing such as coating by discharging a processing liquid such as a resist onto a substrate, and more particularly to supplying a processing liquid onto the substrate. The present invention relates to an improvement in a processing liquid supply system…”), comprising:
receiving a liquid to be dispensed with a dispense system (see Fig. 1 liquid reservoir to be dispensed/discharged; see page 8 par. 1 “…The discharge nozzle 18 is connected to the liquid reservoir 20 in which the resist is stored via the liquid supply pipe 22 in a flow path…”);
filtering the liquid using filter, wherein gas bubble are formed in the liquid during filtering (see Fig. 1 filter 28, if bubbles appear in the liquid they will be present in the filter 28; also, see page 9 lies 3-4 “A filter 28 is provided downstream of the electric pump 26”, thus, bubbles can form anywhere in the liquid and can be formed in the filter or system of Akihiko; also, see page 3 par. 2 “…if the pressure loss in the liquid sending pipe or filter downstream of the pressurizing unit (sealed container or pump) changes, the flow velocity of the resist flowing in the liquid sending pipe changes”);
applying pressure to the liquid within the dispense system (see Fig. 1 pump 26 is controlled for applying pressure; also, see page 8 par. 1 “…An electric pump 26 driven by a motor 24 is inserted in the middle of the liquid sending pipe 22…”; also, see page 8 par. 3 “…The memory 42 has two types of operation sequences of the electric pump 26, namely, a normal operation sequence for stabilizing the total discharge amount, and feedback control of the electric motor 26 based on the pressure detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30…”; also, see page 9 par. 3 “…That is, the CPU 40 outputs a control signal to the motor 24 based on the detection signal detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30 and input
to the CPU 40, and performs feedback control of the electric pump 26 so that the pressure downstream of the filter 28 becomes constant”);
dispensing the liquid on a microelectronic workpiece (see Fig. 1 liquid reservoir to be dispensed/discharged; also, see page 7 last par. and see page 9 par. 2; also, see page 10 last par. “the control operation is selected according to the type of the processing liquid and the like, so that the discharge nozzle discharges the processing liquid onto the substrate”);
rotating the microelectronic workpiece at a spin rate during the dispensing (see page 7 last par. “…The drive of the spin motor 14 is controlled by a motor controller 16 …”; also, see page 9 last par. “The CPU 40 controls the motor controller 16 to correct one or more of the parameters such as
the rotation speed of the spin motor 14…”);
changing the pressure to change the flow rate (see page 10 par. 3 “That is, the CPU 40 outputs a control signal to the motor 24 based on the detection signal detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30 and input to the CPU 40, and performs feedback control of the electric pump 26 so that the pressure downstream of the filter 28 becomes constant”, thus, the pressure is changed to be maintained constant), wherein changing the pressure comprises increasing the pressure to a peak pressure value at a first time (see page 5 par. 3 “…the control means controls the pressure of the processing liquid sent to the discharge nozzle through the liquid sending pipe to be kept constant”, thus, pressure is increased from 0 until the constant value is achieved which takes time to achieve a constant pressure; also, see page 8 par. 2 “…The operation timing is controlled, and
the pre-pressure of the processing liquid is adjusted.”; also, see page 9 last par. “The memory 42 has two types of operation sequences of the electric pump 26, namely, a normal operation sequence for stabilizing the total discharge amount, and feedback control of the electric motor 26 based on the pressure detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30”, thus, the normal operation sequence for stabilizing indicates that the pressure is controlled until a constant value/peak value is achieved during a first time duration) ; and
(the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded flowrate and a measured flowrate as suggest by the disclosure of this instant invention), and ;
(see page 2 last two pars and see page 6 par. 1; also, see page 9 par. 2, and last par. to page 10 first paragraph. ); and
While Akihiko clearly teaches or suggest control of flow rate/total discharge amount of liquid over a period of time is stabilized and controlled, Akihiko does not explicitly teach monitoring, using the dispense system, a flow rate for the liquid during the dispensing, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds; determining, based on the monitoring of the flow rate, a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure, the delay being indicative of a time duration between the changing the pressure to the change in the flow rate, and wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration; determining information about gas bubble content based on the delay and based on the delay gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters, and determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter.
However, Girvin teaches a system and method for coating a substrate comprising monitoring, using the dispense system, a flow rate for the liquid during the dispensing (see [0053] “At step 208, an operating flow rate of the material may be determined…”; also, see Fig. 2 step 208), and determining, based on the monitoring of the flow rate, a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure (the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded/setpoint flowrate and a measured flowrate after pressure is applied based on the target flow rate as suggested by the disclosure of this instant invention. Also, flow rate is inherently changed based on a pressure change in the pipe. Girvin teaches in Fig. 2 step 210 a delay/difference determination. Also, see [0037] “When a difference between a determined operating flow rate and the received target flow rate is outside of a predetermined control range (e.g., ±a predetermined percentage of the target flow rate), the process 200 may adjust the operating pressure of the coating system 10 to a second operating pressure prior to coating one or more additional substrates 12”, thus, a negative error is a delay; also, see [0055]), the delay being indicative of a time duration between the changing the pressure to the change in the flow rate (this is intended result of detecting an error/delay in flow rate. For instance, Flow rate increase/change is caused by an increase/change in pressure. See [0005] “…determining an operating flow rate of the material at the first operating pressure of the coating system comparing the operating flow rate to the target flow rate, and adjusting, subsequent to the comparing of the operating flow rate to the target flow rate, the operating pressure of the coating system to a second operating pressure”, thus, the comparison detects a delay/difference in the flow rate target and flow rate measured which indicates a time duration between the changing the pressure (flow rate event or target) to the change in the flow rate. This is the same step performed in the instant invention/disclosure and shown in Fig. 2A and 2C of this instant application disclosure), based on the delay, adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters (see [0053], [0055], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s invention to include monitoring, using the dispense system, a flow rate for the liquid during the dispensing, determining, based on the monitoring of the flow rate, a delay of the change of the flow rate in response to the changing of the pressure, the delay being indicative of a time duration between the changing the pressure to the change in the flow rate as taught by Girvin in order to adjust parameters of the system to achieve target parameters such a desired surface thickness (see [0004] and [0056]).
Akihiko-Girvin still does not explicitly teach the delay being indicative of a time duration, wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration, determining information about gas bubble content based on the delay and based on gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters (the disclosure teaches that the adjusting the parameters is based on flow rate delays/differences and the flow delay is due to any condition such as bubbles, filter, or viscosity. Thus, adjusting parameters based on the flow rate is equivalent to adjust the parameters related to a condition such as bubble in the fluid), wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 50 milliseconds.
However, Ryoji teaches a method and a liquid processing device comprising filtering the liquid, wherein gas bubble are formed in the liquid during filtering (see page 5 last par. to page 6 second paragraph “The filter unit 16 separates foreign matter and remaining bubbles in the resist, and the separated foreign matter and the like are discharged to the outside by opening the valve 17a of the pipe 17. The resist after removal of foreign matter or the like flows through the pipe 18 and flows into the trap 19 When the bubble sensor 34 in front of the trap 19 detects a bubble, the trap 19 removes the bubble by opening the valve 21a of the deaeration pipe 21 before the resist flows into the pump unit 23…”, thus, the liquid is filtered and bubbles are formed in the filter during the filter), monitoring a flow rate and conditions in the system (see the abstract and also see page 8 par. 7 “resist supply apparatus 10 has been described as an example of the liquid processing apparatus according to the present invention...The present invention can also be applied to processing of a processing liquid and thinner (pre-wetting liquid, stripping liquid) at the time of wafer film formation) comprising determining information about gas bubble content based on a delay of a change in flow rate, (see page 5 par. 1 and par. 2 “when bubbles are mixed into the resist in the ultrasonic flow meter 40 and captured by the detection unit of the ultrasonic flow meter 40, a significant change (noise) as shown in FIG. Seen on the waveform of the data. Actually, it has been found from the experiments so far that bubbles can be detected up to about Φ0.3 mm. …An example in which the above change (that is, the presence of bubbles) is detected by taking the AND condition that the change width exceeds the threshold value….”; thus, the condition is a flow value that exceeds a threshold value, and this condition indicates presence of bubbles; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…”; also, see page 8 par. 7 “related to bubble detection, there is a method of generating an alarm to call attention when a bubble is detected. This alarm may be generated not only for each bubble but also for generating an alarm when a bubble is generated a plurality of specific times”), the delay being indicative of a time duration ((the delay has been broadly interpreted as a difference between a commanded flowrate and a measured flowrate as suggest by the disclosure of this instant invention; see page 10 par. 6 “The liquid processing method according to claim 7, wherein the step of measuring the flow rate of the processing liquid includes a step of detecting bubbles based on a change in flow rate value”, thus, a delay/difference between measured and predetermined flowrate is determined), wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration (this is an intended result of having bubbles or having a difference between a commanded flow rate and measured flow rate caused by bubbles. The original disclosure of this instant application suggest this is an inherent intended result when bubbles are present and it is not a controlled function) and based on gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters (see page 6 par. 4 “When the ultrasonic flowmeter 40 detects bubbles, the bubble trap 26 removes the bubbles by opening the valve 27a of the deaeration pipe 27. An example of the bubble removal will be described in detail later. The resist is connected from the bubble trap 26 to the nozzle 50 through the pipe 28 and the valve 29. The resist discharge amount onto the wafer W is also adjusted by the control of the valve 29, and the resist discharge onto the wafer W is performed”; also, see page 7 par. 7 “…when the discharge amount from the nozzle is not within the threshold range.. When the resist flow rate is decreasing, the resist flow rate is increased, and when the resist flow rate is increasing, the resist flow rate is decreased. Alternatively, it is possible to detect or prevent product defects by performing soft marking on a wafer to be noted, controlling pump discharge pressure, or stopping subsequent processing”, thus, flow and/or pressure are adjusted and controlled when the flow rate is not with acceptable values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin’s combination as taught above to include filtering the liquid, wherein gas bubble are formed in the liquid during filtering, determining information about gas bubble content based on the delay, the delay being indicative of a time duration, wherein the flow rate reaches a peak flow rate value at a second time that is greater than the first time by the time duration and based on gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters as taught by Ryoji in order to provide a countermeasure to the condition detection of bubbles in the fluid and provide a system that reduces damaged workpieces (see page 5 par. 4 “The bubble countermeasure program 107 is for degassing the bubble trap 26 using the time series data of the flow rate detection value of the ultrasonic flowmeter 40, and the flow shown in FIG. A set of steps is organized to execute”; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…”).
Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji still does not explicitly teach wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds.
However, Pedreiro teaches a monitoring method comprising a sensor monitoring a flow rate, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds (see [0118] “A typical residential water meter will read maximum flow rates from between 20 to 50 gallons per minute, which results in a bandwidth of interest and therefore the required sample rate from 100 to 500 Hz”, a sample rate of 100 is equal to a sampling rate of 10 milliseconds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji’s combination as taught above to include monitoring a flow rate, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds as taught by Pedreiro in order to monitor the flow rate at a higher accuracy sufficient to detect a threshold flow rate (see [0118] “A typical residential water meter will read maximum flow rates from between 20 to 50 gallons per minute, which results in a bandwidth of interest and therefore the required sample rate from 100 to 500 Hz. In some embodiments the sensor unit uses a 1,000 Hz sampling rate. For commercial, agricultural and industrial applications higher rates are required and can be accounted for based on operational parameters in each individual case”). Furthermore, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a sampling rate of 10 ms for monitoring flow rate, since applicant has not disclosed that 50 ms, 20ms, or 10 ms solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any other value between 1-100 ms and as suggested by Pedreiro the sampling rate depend on the different Applications/environments.
While Mizohata and Ryoji clearly teach a Filter for filtering the fluid, and wherein bubble detection can be tied to any place in the system, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro still does not explicitly teach determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter.
However, TAKANOBU teaches a system for detecting condition in filter comprising determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter (see page 4 par. 5 “In FIG. 3, the horizontal axis represents the fuel flow rate passing through the fuel filter 2, and the vertical axis represents the pressure loss (differential pressure) generated at the inlet and outlet of the fuel filter. A curve αindicates a clogging characteristic at the use limit of the fuel filter 2, and a curve β indicates a clogging characteristic when the fuel filter 2 is in a new state. In FIG. 3, the differential pressure p <b> 1 is a differential pressure at the limit of use of the fuel filter 2, and corresponds to the fuel flow rate when the fuel flow rate f <b> 1 is the full load state of the engine 1 and the rated rotational speed…”; also, see page 7 claim 1 “… The control means compares the fuel flow rate and the differential pressure detected by the differential pressure detector with a clogging characteristic of the filter stored in the storage unit, and warns when the use limit of the characteristic is reached. A fuel filter clogging monitoring apparatus for construction machinery, further comprising executing a fourth procedure of outputting…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro’s combination as taught above to include a step of detecting condition of the filter comprising determining a condition of the filter based on comparing timing of pressure versus flow rate signals across the filter as taught by TAKANOBU in order to detect the condition of the filter such as clogging and sending a warning or alarm to advise of such condition (see page 7 par. 1 and last par. “clogging characteristic of the filter stored in the storage unit, and warns when the use limit of the characteristic is reached. A fuel filter clogging monitoring apparatus for construction machinery, further comprising executing a fourth procedure of outputting …The fuel filter clogging monitoring apparatus for construction machines according to any one of claims 1 to 3, further comprising an alarm device for outputting the alarm”).
As per claim 4, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU teaches the method of claim 1, Akihiko further teaches wherein the target parameters comprise coat thickness or coat uniformity (see page 10 par. 1 “…As described above, by correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30, the thickness of the coating film formed on the surface of the wafer W after the coating process is completed… For this reason, it is possible to prevent the generation of the wafer W in which the processing has failed, and to avoid wasting the wafer W”; also, see page 3 par. 1; Thus, the system of Akihiko if for correcting and controlling parameters to achieve optimal and desired film thicknesses).
As per claim 10, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU teaches the method of claim 1, Akihiko further teaches wherein the target parameters comprise coat thickness or coat uniformity (see page 10 par. 1 “…As described above, by correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30, the thickness of the coating film formed on the surface of the wafer W after the coating process is completed… For this reason, it is possible to prevent the generation of the wafer W in which the processing has failed, and to avoid wasting the wafer W”; also, see page 3 par. 1; Thus, the system of Akihiko if for correcting and controlling parameters to achieve optimal and desired film thicknesses), and wherein the adjusting comprises adjusting multiple of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve the target parameters (see claim 1 above; also, see That is, the CPU 40 outputs a control signal to the motor 24 based on the detection signal detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30 and input to the CPU 40, and performs feedback control of the electric pump 26 so that the pressure downstream of the filter 28 becomes constant”; see page 2- last two pars. And page 3 first par. and see page 6 par. 1 “…Since the liquid is discharged onto the substrate, it is possible to perform program control so that the total discharge amount of the processing liquid within a certain period of time is stabilized. Further, the pressure of the processing liquid sent to the discharge nozzle through the liquid supply pipe is detected by the liquid pressure detection means inserted in the middle of the liquid supply pipe, and the control means based on the detected pressure, for example, the discharge nozzle It is possible to form a desired liquid film on the substrate surface by controlling the pressure of the processing liquid sent to the substrate to be constant.”; also, see page 9 par. 2; also, see page 9 last par. to page 10 first par. “The CPU 40 controls the motor controller 16 to correct one or more of the parameters such as the rotation speed of the spin motor 14… As described above, by correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30, the thickness of the coating film formed on the surface of the wafer W after the coating process is completed is actually measured by the film thickness meter”…; also, see page 11 last par. “a good liquid film is formed on the surface of the substrate by controlling the number of revolutions of the substrate rotating means based on the pressure detected by the liquid pressure detecting means”, thus, spin rate is adjusted and controlled to achieve good and target thickness).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 3976167B2) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), and TAKANOBU (JP 2009257103 A as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kataoka et al (US 8055372).
As per claim 3, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro- TAKANOBU teaches the method of claim 1, but it does not explicitly teach further comprising applying one or more process models to adjust the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate, wherein the one or more process models are one or more coat simulation models.
Kataoka further teaches a method and system comprising applying one or more process models to adjust the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate (see the Abstract “…The control unit 50 calculates the flow rate of the processing gas based on a process result obtained by processing the semiconductor wafers W under the processing conditions as well as on the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model, so as to process the semiconductor wafers W, while controlling the respective flow rate control units 21 to 25, such that the flow rate of the processing gas will be changed into the calculated flow rate of the processing gas…”; also, see Col 2 lines 41-54; see Col 9 lines 15-35 “In the model storage unit 51, a flow rate-process result-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of the processing gas and the process result is stored. In this embodiment, in the model storage unit 51, a film thickness-flow rate-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of each gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20 and the film thickness provided on each semiconductor wafer W is stored. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model is prepared based on the process result (or film thickness result), under two or more different conditions, with respect to the temperature, pressure, gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, these elements or factors being respectively constituting the processing conditions. Therefore, the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model can be adapted (or interpolated) relative to changes of the processing conditions, and can be used for calculating the flow rate of the gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20, based on the processing conditions, such as the temperature, pressure and gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, as well as on the film thickness required. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model will be detailed later”), wherein the one or more process models are one or more coat simulation models (see Col 14 lines 26-37 “…to address this problem, in this embodiment, a case, in which the film-thickness difference between the dummy wafer and the manufactured wafer is calculated from data obtained by a simulator so as to estimate the loading effect under various processing conditions, will be discussed…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include applying one or more process models to adjust the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate, wherein the one or more process models are one or more coat simulation models as taught by Kataoka in order to estimate data using simulation to reduce costs and time (see Col 14 lines 26-37 “film thickness data of the dummy wafers and that of the manufactured wafers are required. However, since the manufactured wafers are relatively expensive, and the pattern of each wafer will be collapsed if the same manufactured wafer is used many times for the estimation, it is difficult to obtain a great number of experimental data from such estimation. To address this problem, in this embodiment, a case, in which the film-thickness difference between the dummy wafer and the manufactured wafer is calculated from data obtained by a simulator…”).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 3976167B2) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), TAKANOBU (JP 2009257103 A as supported by the machine translation provided), and Kataoka et al (US 8055372) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Yoshihara et al (US 20050053874).
As per claim 5, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU-Kataoka teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising: while Akihiko teaches a processing liquid such as resist being applied to the substrate, wherein resists are well known as being mixed solutions containing solvents, However, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU-Kataoka does not explicitly teach mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing and adjusting the mixing of the liquid with one or more solvents based upon the process models.
However, Yoshihara teaches a system comprising mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing and adjusting the mixing of the liquid with one or more solvents (see Fig. 7 mixer 83; also, see [0044] and [0109] “As shown in the drawing, it is possible to supply the developing solution adjusted at a prescribed concentration from the developing solution supply section 79a into the developing solution spurting nozzle 86. To be more specific, a pure water is supplied from a pure water storing source (not shown) into the mixer 83 through a flow rate control means such as an electromagnetic valve 81a. Further, a TMAH developing solution having a prescribed concentration, e.g., 2.38%, is also supplied from a developing solution storing source (not shown) into the mixer 83 through an electromagnetic valve 81b. These pure water and the developing solution are uniformly mixed within the mixer 83, and the mixed solution is supplied into the developing solution spurting nozzle 86”; also, see [0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing and adjusting the mixing (of) the liquid with one or more solvents as taught by Yoshihara in order to provide liquid solution with a uniform and target concentration (see [0109] “these pure water and the developing solution are uniformly mixed within the mixer 83, and the mixed solution is supplied into the developing solution spurting nozzle 86”; also, see [0127]).
However, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro-TAKANOBU-Yoshihara does not explicitly teach the mixing the liquid based upon process models.
However, Kataoka further teaches adjusting the mixing the liquid with one or more solvents based upon the process models (see the Abstract “…The control unit 50 calculates the flow rate of the processing gas based on a process result obtained by processing the semiconductor wafers W under the processing conditions as well as on the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model, so as to process the semiconductor wafers W, while controlling the respective flow rate control units 21 to 25, such that the flow rate of the processing gas will be changed into the calculated flow rate of the processing gas…”; also, see Col 2 lines 41-54; see Col 9 lines 15-35 “In the model storage unit 51, a flow rate-process result-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of the processing gas and the process result is stored. In this embodiment, in the model storage unit 51, a film thickness-flow rate-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of each gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20 and the film thickness provided on each semiconductor wafer W is stored. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model is prepared based on the process result (or film thickness result), under two or more different conditions, with respect to the temperature, pressure, gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, these elements or factors being respectively constituting the processing conditions. Therefore, the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model can be adapted (or interpolated) relative to changes of the processing conditions, and can be used for calculating the flow rate of the gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20, based on the processing conditions, such as the temperature, pressure and gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, as well as on the film thickness required. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model will be detailed later”, thus, the models are used to detect or calculated the right amount of flow rate and control the valves or pumps to achieve such calculated flow rates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include adjusting the mixing the liquid with one or more solvents based upon the process models as taught by Kataoka in order to calculate the optimal or appropriate conditions such as flow rate based on the model and control the system with calculated values (see Col 10-13) and obtain improved uniform thickness during a semiconductor process (see Col 2 lines 2-12 and Col 17 lines 1-5).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), and TAKANOBU (JP 2009257103 A as supported by the machine translation provided), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshihara et al (US 20050053874).
As per claim 7, Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Girvin further teaches detecting a change in at least one the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent concentration (see [0053] “At step 208, an operating flow rate of the material may be determined…”; also, see Fig. 2 step 208…”; also, see [0060] “…whereby the controller 18 may adjust the operating pressure of the coating system 10 to the second operating pressure in response to the rate of change between the first and second operating flow rates; also, see [0061]) and adjusting at least one of the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent mixing based upon the detecting (see [0060]-[0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include detecting a change in at least one the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent concentration and adjusting at least one of the flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent mixing based upon the detecting as taught by Girvin in order to adjust parameters of the system to achieve target parameters such a desired surface thickness (see [0004] and [0056]).
Akihiko-Girvin-Ryoji-Pedreiro-Takanobu does not explicitly teach mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing.
However, Yoshihara teaches a system comprising mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing (see Fig. 7 mixer 83; also, see [0044] and [0109] “As shown in the drawing, it is possible to supply the developing solution adjusted at a prescribed concentration from the developing solution supply section 79a into the developing solution spurting nozzle 86. To be more specific, a pure water is supplied from a pure water storing source (not shown) into the mixer 83 through a flow rate control means such as an electromagnetic valve 81a. Further, a TMAH developing solution having a prescribed concentration, e.g., 2.38%, is also supplied from a developing solution storing source (not shown) into the mixer 83 through an electromagnetic valve 81b. These pure water and the developing solution are uniformly mixed within the mixer 83, and the mixed solution is supplied into the developing solution spurting nozzle 86”; also, see [0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include mixing the liquid with one or more solvents to produce a solvent concentration in the liquid prior to the dispensing taught by Yoshihara in order to provide liquid solution with a uniform and target concentration (see [0109] “these pure water and the developing solution are uniformly mixed within the mixer 83, and the mixed solution is supplied into the developing solution spurting nozzle 86”; also, see [0127]).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Yasuda et al (US 20150331430), Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Nakakuki et al (US 20170110380), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606 A, as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 11, Akihiko teaches a system to dispense liquid for a microelectronic workpiece processing system (see page 1 “The present invention relates to a substrate processing apparatus for performing processing such as coating by discharging a processing liquid such as a resist onto a substrate, and more particularly to supplying a processing liquid onto the substrate. The present invention relates to an improvement in a processing liquid supply system…”), comprising:
a pump coupled to receive a liquid to be dispensed from a supply tank (see Fig. 1 pump 26 and supply tank 20; also, see page 9 lines 1-2 “liquid reservoirs 20…electric pump 26”);
a nozzle coupled to receive the liquid from the pump and to dispense the liquid on a microelectronic workpiece (see Fig. 1 nozzle 18);
a first pressure sensor directly coupled to the pump to sense a pressure in the liquid within the pump (see Fig. 1 first pressure sensor 30 senses a pressure in the liquid that flows within the filter 28 or pump 26; also see page 10; The original disclosure does not recite the term “pressure sensor directly coupled to the pump or filter”. The disclosure suggests that the pressure sensors are located across the filter and the pump respectively to sense the fluid therein. Thus, the directly coupled has been interpreted as the sensors coupled to the pump of filter via the liquid. The liquid passes through the pump and filter and pressure sensors detect the pressure of this liquid, thus, the sensors, respectively, are coupled to the pump and/or filter);
a filter coupled between (see Filter 28 is located between a pressure sensor and pump 26. if bubbles appear in the liquid they will be present in the filter 28; also, see page 3 par. 2 “…if the pressure loss in the liquid sending pipe or filter downstream of the pressurizing unit (sealed container or pump) changes, the flow velocity of the resist flowing in the liquid sending pipe changes”);
a substrate holder for the microelectronic workpiece (see Fig. 1 spin chuck 10);
a spin motor coupled to rotate the substrate holder at a spin rate (see Fig. 1 spin motor 12);
a controller coupled to receive pressure information from the first pressure sensor, (see Fig. 1 controller 40 receives pressure and spin rate; also, see also, see page 11 last par. “a good liquid film is formed on the surface of the substrate by controlling the number of revolutions of the substrate rotating means based on the pressure detected by the liquid pressure detecting means”, thus, spin rate is adjusted and controlled to achieve good and target thickness);
wherein the controller is further configured to
detect a change in the first pressure (see page 11 par. 1 “…correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid
pressure sensor 30…”)
based on (see page 2- last two pars. And page 3 first par. and see page 6 par. 1 “…Since the liquid is discharged onto the substrate, it is possible to perform program control so that the total discharge amount of the processing liquid within a certain period of time is stabilized. Further, the pressure of the processing liquid sent to the discharge nozzle through the liquid supply pipe is detected by the liquid pressure detection means inserted in the middle of the liquid supply pipe, and the control means based on the detected pressure, for example, the discharge nozzle It is possible to form a desired liquid film on the substrate surface by controlling the pressure of the processing liquid sent to the substrate to be constant.”; also, see page 9 par. 2; also, see page 9 last par. to page 10 first par. “The CPU 40 controls the motor controller 16 to correct one or more of the parameters such as the rotation speed of the spin motor 14… As described above, by correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30, the thickness of the coating film formed on the surface of the wafer W after the coating process is completed is actually measured by the film thickness meter”…; also, see page 11 last par. “a good liquid film is formed on the surface of the substrate by controlling the number of revolutions of the substrate rotating means based on the pressure detected by the liquid pressure detecting means”, thus, spin rate is adjusted and controlled to achieve good and target thickness ).
Akihiko does not explicitly teach:
a first flow sensor and a second flow sensor coupled to sense a first flow rate and a second flow rate for the liquid, wherein the first flow sensor is coupled between the pump and the nozzle, and wherein the second flow sensor is coupled between the supply tank and the pump, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds;
a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter;
a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents;
the controller coupled to receive flow rate information from the first flow sensor and configured to: detect a change in the first flow rate; and obtain information about gas bubble content in the liquid by comparing a timing of the change in the pressure and a timing of the change in the first flow rate, and based on the information (about gas bubble content) adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters, and the filter is located between the second flow sensor and the pressure sensor; and
first pressure sensor directly mechanically coupled to a pump and second sensor directly mechanically coupled to the filter.
However, Girvin teaches a system comprising a first flow sensor sensing a first flow rate (see Fig. 1 flow meter 52) for the liquid during the dispensing, wherein the first flow sensor is coupled between a pump and nozzle (see Fig. 1 flow sensor 52 is located between nozzle 31 and pump 50 or 38; see [0023] “pressurized liquid supply 38 may include a diaphragm or piston pump that siphons amounts of liquid coating material from a reservoir and then pumps the stream of liquid coating material under pressure from the reservoir through a fluid path to the applicator 16…”; also, see [0026] and [0027]) and a controller for receiving the sensed information and detect a change in the first flow rate (see Fig 1 and controller 18; also, see [0053] “At step 208, an operating flow rate of the material may be determined…”; also, see Fig. 2 step 208. The flow rate detected is changed is determined when there is a difference detected as show in step 210; also, see [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s invention to include a first flow sensor sensing a first flow rate for the liquid during the dispensing, wherein the first flow sensor is coupled between the pump and the nozzle and a controller for receiving the sensed information and detect a change in the first flow rate as taught by Girvin in order to control and adjust the first flow rate or pressure to achieve desired target parameters (see [0004], [0056], and [0058]; also, see Fig. 2 steps) and also because the arrangement flow sensor between pump and nozzle was also conventional an well known in the art (see the original disclosure of this instant invention Fig. 1A flow sensor 118 between nozzle and pump).
However, Akihiko-Girvin still does not explicitly teach a second flow sensor coupled to sense a second flow rate for the liquid, wherein the second flow sensor is coupled between the supply tank and the pump, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds, and obtain information about gas bubble content in the liquid by comparing a timing of the change in the pressure and a timing of the change in the first flow rate, and based on the information (about gas bubble content) adjusting at least one of the pressure, the first flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters, and the filter is located between the second flow sensor and the pressure sensor, and a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter; a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents. However, Yasuda teaches a system and method for inspecting a first flow sensor comprising obtaining information about conditions of the system such as delays in the signals by comparing a timing of the change in the pressure and a timing of the change in flow rate (see [0065] “…to use a pressure sensor as a fluid sensor and compare the time series data of the pressure value thereof and the time series data of the measurement flow rate value outputted from the inspection target flow sensor to thereby perform an adjustment related to a time delay. The reason why the subjects having different units like this can be compared is because it is sufficient to understand a waveforms indicating the respective time series data and the time delay can be adjusted so long as even the phase difference can be accurately obtained”, thus a condition such as delay or phase difference in the system is obtained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin’s invention as taught above to include obtaining information about conditions of the system such as delays in the signals by comparing a timing of the change in the pressure and a timing of the change in flow rate as taught by Yasuda in order to detect errors or delays in the signals/commands and correct it by controlling variables or components pertinent to the detected flow and/or pressure signals (see [0053]), and to have a more robust and complete system to achieve desired target parameters as taught by Girvin (it was very well known in the art of spin coating that the minimum offset error in flow, pressure, spinning, or phase difference/timing delays will cause the uniformity and/or coating thickness to deviated from desired target values).
While Yasuda teaches that the obtained information is a delay based comparing a timing of the change in the pressure and a timing of the flow rate, Yasuda does not explicitly teach the obtained information such as the error/delay is about gas bubble content and based on the information (about gas bubble content) adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters, and the filter is located between the flow sensor and the pressure sensor, a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter;
a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents.
However, Ryoji teaches a system comprising liquid processing device monitoring a flow rate and conditions in the system (see the abstract and also see page 8 par. 7 “resist supply apparatus 10 has been described as an example of the liquid processing apparatus according to the present invention...The present invention can also be applied to processing of a processing liquid and thinner (pre-wetting liquid, stripping liquid) at the time of wafer film formation) comprising a filter, wherein gas bubbles are formed in the liquid while passing through the filter (see Fig. 1 filter 16; also, see page 5 last par. to page 6 second paragraph “The filter unit 16 separates foreign matter and remaining bubbles in the resist, and the separated foreign matter and the like are discharged to the outside by opening the valve 17a of the pipe 17. The resist after removal of foreign matter or the like flows through the pipe 18 and flows into the trap 19. When the bubble sensor 34 in front of the trap 19 detects a bubble, the trap 19 removes the bubble by opening the valve 21a of the deaeration pipe 21 before the resist flows into the pump unit 23. The degassed resist passes through the pipe 22 and is conveyed to the pump unit 23”), determining information about gas bubble content based on a detected delay of a change in flow rate after applying pressure (see page 5 par. 1 and par. 2 “when bubbles are mixed into the resist in the ultrasonic flow meter 40 and captured by the detection unit of the ultrasonic flow meter 40, a significant change (noise) as shown in FIG. Seen on the waveform of the data. Actually, it has been found from the experiments so far that bubbles can be detected up to about Φ0.3 mm. …An example in which the above change (that is, the presence of bubbles) is detected by taking the AND condition that the change width exceeds the threshold value….”; thus, the condition is a flow value that exceeds a threshold value, and this condition indicates presence of bubbles; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…”; also, see page 8 par. 7 “related to bubble detection, there is a method of generating an alarm to call attention when a bubble is detected. This alarm may be generated not only for each bubble but also for generating an alarm when a bubble is generated a plurality of specific times” ) and based on gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters (see page 6 par. 4 “When the ultrasonic flowmeter 40 detects bubbles, the bubble trap 26 removes the bubbles by opening the valve 27a of the deaeration pipe 27. An example of the bubble removal will be described in detail later. The resist is connected from the bubble trap 26 to the nozzle 50 through the pipe 28 and the valve 29. The resist discharge amount onto the wafer W is also adjusted by the control of the valve 29, and the resist discharge onto the wafer W is performed”; also, see page 7 par. 7 “…when the discharge amount from the nozzle is not within the threshold range.. When the resist flow rate is decreasing, the resist flow rate is increased, and when the resist flow rate is increasing, the resist flow rate is decreased. Alternatively, it is possible to detect or prevent product defects by performing soft marking on a wafer to be noted, controlling pump discharge pressure, or stopping subsequent processing”, thus, flow and/or pressure are adjusted and controlled when the flow rate is not with acceptable values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda’s combination as taught above to include a filter, wherein gas bubbles are formed in the liquid while passing through the filter, determining information about gas bubble content based on a delay and based on gas bubble content adjusting at least one of the pressure, the flow rate, or the spin rate to achieve target parameters as taught by Ryoji and correlate the delay of Yasuda to bubble detection information in order to provide a countermeasure to the condition detection of bubbles in the fluid and provide a system that reduces damaged workpieces (see page 5 par. 4 “The bubble countermeasure program 107 is for degassing the bubble trap 26 using the time series data of the flow rate detection value of the ultrasonic flowmeter 40, and the flow shown in FIG. A set of steps is organized to execute”; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…”).
While Akihiko, Girvin and Ryoji teach a filter, respectively, and also a flow sensor and a pressure sensor, Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji does not explicitly teach second flow sensor coupled to sense a second flow rate for the liquid, wherein the second flow sensor is coupled between the supply tank and the pump, and the filter is located between the second flow sensor and the pressure sensor, and a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter; a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents.
However, Furusho teaches a liquid supply system comprising a second flow sensor coupled to sense a second flow rate for the liquid, wherein the second flow sensor is coupled between a supply tank and a pump (see Fig. 6 supply tank 71, pump 75, and flow meter in pipe 72, see [0045] also, see [0080] “…install a flowmeter in the pipe 72, 721, or 722 so that the flow rate of the chemical solution flowing through the pipe can be measured…”, thus a flow meter in pipe 72 is a flowmeter coupled between supply tank 71 and pump 75 ) and a filter coupled between the second flow sensor and a pressure sensor (see Fig. 6 filter 74 and see [0079] “…to install pressure sensors upstream and downstream of the filter 74 or the like. By monitoring the differential pressure across the filter 74, the proper replacement timing of the filter 74 or the like can be known with ease”; also, see [0080] “…install a flowmeter in the pipe 72, 721, or 722 so that the flow rate of the chemical solution flowing through the pipe can be measured), a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter (the original disclosure of this invention does not explicitly teach “directly mechanically coupled” and suggests that the pressure sensors are located across the filter and the pump to sense the fluid therein. Thus, the directly coupled has been interpreted in the BRI as the sensors coupled to the pump of filter via the liquid. The liquid passes through the pump and filter and pressure sensors detect the pressure of this liquid, thus, the sensors, respectively, are coupled to the pump and/or filter; see Furusho [0079] “…to install pressure sensors upstream and downstream of the filter 74 or the like. By monitoring the differential pressure across the filter 74, the proper replacement timing of the filter 74 or the like can be known with ease”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the combination of Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji as taught above to include a second flow sensor coupled to sense a second flow rate for the liquid, wherein the second flow sensor is coupled between the supply tank and the pump, a filter coupled between the second flow sensor and a pressure sensor, and a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter as taught by Furusho in order to detect conditions in the filter (see [0079]) and to better control the fluid dispensed (see [0081 pressure sensors, flow meters, and flow rate control pumps such as the ones described above can be used in combination so that the solution flow in any of the chemical supply systems 57, 57A, and 57B can be controlled more properly. This in turn allows the supply of a clean solution with little dissolved gas to any coating unit 50”).
Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho still does not explicitly teach wherein the first flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds, and a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents.
However, Nakakuki teaches a monitoring method comprising monitoring a flow rate, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds (see [0038] “GSS denotes a flow-rate detection signal output from the flow sensor GSN…”; also, see Fig. 10 step S20 and see [0070] the first computer FEPC samples…the flow-rate detection signal GSS,… at 100 Hz”, 100 HZ is equivalent to 10 ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho’s combination as taught above to include monitoring a flow rate, wherein the flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 10 milliseconds as taught by Nakakuki in order to monitor the flow rate at higher accuracy than less than that value, and which provides a signal for flow rate that allows a higher identification of bubbles or deviations in the signal (10 milliseconds/100Hz sampling rate provides 100 points of data in a second which provides a better accuracy flow rate detection compared to 20 HZ/50 ms).
Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki still does not explicitly teach a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents.
However, Mizohata teaches a system and method for dispensing a liquid comprising a flow sensor (see [0071] and [0131] “… In the liquid supply apparatus 1 of the substrate processing apparatus 2, the flowrate of the hydrofluoric acid flowing at a small flowrate is measured by the flowmeter 14 (see FIG. 1) with high accuracy stably,…”; also, see Fig. 14 the flowrate is continuously measured), a nozzle (see Fig. 17 nozzle 27 and see [0130] “…nozzle 27…”), and a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents (see Fig. 27 mixer 241 between flow sensor in apparatus 1 and nozzle 27; see Fig. 1 dispensing apparatus and flow sensor 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki’s combination to include a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents as taught by Mizohata in order to provide a desired fluid mixture (see [0129], [0130], and [0131]; see [0134-0135]).
While Akihiko teaches a first pressure sensor directly coupled to a pump and Furusho teaches a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter, they do not teach first pressure sensor directly mechanically coupled to a pump and second sensor directly mechanically coupled to the filter (the instant invention does not explicitly recite or define the term directly mechanically coupled, and simply shows a sensor with screw shape for a pressure sensor 504 in Fig. 5. It is to note that the disclosure or applicants admit that the prior art/state of the art knew about this pressure sensors to be mechanically coupled as shown in Fig. 1 was conventional).
However, Sato teaches an apparatus comprising a device to mechanically couple a pressure sensor to a second device, wherein the pressure sensor is directly mechanically coupled to a second device such as a pump (see Fig. 3 and see page 4 par. 4” .. The pressure Detector 5 includes a piston 41 slidably inserted in the detection hole 33 of the pump body 6, a plug 42 screwed and attached to the pump body 6, and a portion between the piston 41 and the plug 42. And a detection rod 45 protruding from the piston 41 and penetrating the plug 41. The detection rod 45 is a piston 41…”; also, see [0017] “…A detection hole 33 is formed in the pump body 6 in the middle of the drain through hole 32. The pump body 6 is screwed into the pressure detector 5 so as to face the detection hole 33. The pressure between the reservoir tank 3 and the first and second check valves 23 and 24 is guided to the pressure detector 5 from the detection hole 33”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include a device to mechanically couple a pressure sensor, wherein the pressure sensor is directly mechanically coupled to a second device such as a pump as taught by Sato and to use the same mechanically coupling to attach the second pressure sensor to the filter as taught by Furusho in order to provide a coupling that allows attachment and avoids the sensor to be loose and the signal to give erroneous values (it is common sense and obvious to provide such couplings for sensors because sensor devices cannot be unattached when measuring pressure because the pressure is a force that will cause the sensor device to move).
As per claim 20, Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 11, Akihiko further teaches wherein the target parameters comprise coat thickness or coat uniformity (see page 10 par. 1 and also, see page 3 par. 1; also, see claim 4 same rationales applies herein).
Claim(s) 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Yasuda et al (US 20150331430), Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Nakakuki et al (US 20170110380), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606 A, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kataoka et al (US 8055372).
As per claim 13, Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 11, but it does not explicitly wherein the controller is further configured to apply one or more process models to adjust the pressure, the first flow rate, or the spin rate.
However, Kataoka teaches a method and system comprising a controller applying one or more process models to adjust a pressure, a first flow rate, or a spin rate (see the Abstract “…The control unit 50 calculates the flow rate of the processing gas based on a process result obtained by processing the semiconductor wafers W under the processing conditions as well as on the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model, so as to process the semiconductor wafers W, while controlling the respective flow rate control units 21 to 25, such that the flow rate of the processing gas will be changed into the calculated flow rate of the processing gas…”; also, see Col 2 lines 41-54; see Col 9 lines 15-35 “In the model storage unit 51, a flow rate-process result-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of the processing gas and the process result is stored. In this embodiment, in the model storage unit 51, a film thickness-flow rate-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of each gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20 and the film thickness provided on each semiconductor wafer W is stored. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model is prepared based on the process result (or film thickness result), under two or more different conditions, with respect to the temperature, pressure, gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, these elements or factors being respectively constituting the processing conditions. Therefore, the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model can be adapted (or interpolated) relative to changes of the processing conditions, and can be used for calculating the flow rate of the gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20, based on the processing conditions, such as the temperature, pressure and gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, as well as on the film thickness required. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model will be detailed later”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include a controller applying one or more process models to adjust the pressure, the first flow rate, or the spin rate as taught by Kataoka in order to calculate the optimal or appropriate conditions such as flow rate based on the model and control the system with calculated values (see Col 10-13) and obtain improved uniform thickness during a semiconductor process (see Col 2 lines 2-12 and Col 17 lines 1-5).
As to claim 15, Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 11, while Akihiko teaches a processing liquid such as resist being applied to the substrate, wherein resists are well known as being mixed solutions containing solvents, However, this combination of references does not explicitly teach further comprising wherein the controller is configured to adjust a solvent mixing by the mixer based upon one or more process models.
However, Kataoka further teaches a processing system comprising a controller configure to adjust to adjust a solvent mixing by the mixer based upon one or more process models (see the Abstract “…The control unit 50 calculates the flow rate of the processing gas based on a process result obtained by processing the semiconductor wafers W under the processing conditions as well as on the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model, so as to process the semiconductor wafers W, while controlling the respective flow rate control units 21 to 25, such that the flow rate of the processing gas will be changed into the calculated flow rate of the processing gas…”; also, see Col 2 lines 41-54; see Col 9 lines 15-35 “In the model storage unit 51, a flow rate-process result-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of the processing gas and the process result is stored. In this embodiment, in the model storage unit 51, a film thickness-flow rate-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of each gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20 and the film thickness provided on each semiconductor wafer W is stored. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model is prepared based on the process result (or film thickness result), under two or more different conditions, with respect to the temperature, pressure, gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, these elements or factors being respectively constituting the processing conditions. Therefore, the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model can be adapted (or interpolated) relative to changes of the processing conditions, and can be used for calculating the flow rate of the gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20, based on the processing conditions, such as the temperature, pressure and gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, as well as on the film thickness required. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model will be detailed later”, thus, the models are used to detect or calculated the right amount of flow rate and control the valves or pumps to achieve such calculated flow rates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to adjusting the mixing the liquid with one or more solvents based upon the process models as taught by Kataoka in order to calculate the optimal or appropriate conditions such as flow rate based on the model and control the system with calculated values (see Col 10-13) and obtain improved uniform thickness during a semiconductor process (see Col 2 lines 2-12 and Col 17 lines 1-5).
As per claim 16, Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki-Mizohata-Sato-Kataoka’s teaches the system of claim 15, Akihiko further teaches wherein the controller is configured to adjust at least one of the first flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent mixing based upon a detected change in at least one of the other of the first flow rate, the spin rate, or the solvent mixing (see page 2- last two pars. And page 3 first par. and see page 6 par. 1 “…Since the liquid is discharged onto the substrate, it is possible to perform program control so that the total discharge amount of the processing liquid within a certain period of time is stabilized. Further, the pressure of the processing liquid sent to the discharge nozzle through the liquid supply pipe is detected by the liquid pressure detection means inserted in the middle of the liquid supply pipe, and the control means based on the detected pressure, for example, the discharge nozzle It is possible to form a desired liquid film on the substrate surface by controlling the pressure of the processing liquid sent to the substrate to be constant.”; also, see page 9 par. 2; also, see page 9 last par. to page 10 first par. “The CPU 40 controls the motor controller 16 to correct one or more of the parameters such as the rotation speed of the spin motor 14… As described above, by correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30, the thickness of the coating film formed on the surface of the wafer W after the coating process is completed is actually measured by the film thickness meter”…; also, see page 9 last par. “The CPU 40 controls the motor controller 16 (spin rate) to correct one or more of the parameters such as the rotation speed of the spin motor 14, the opening / closing timing of the opening / closing control valve 32/flow rate, the flow velocity/also flow rate…”; also, se see page 11 last par. “a good liquid film is formed on the surface of the substrate by controlling the number of revolutions of the substrate rotating means based on the pressure detected by the liquid pressure detecting means”, thus, spin rate is adjusted and controlled to achieve good and target thickness).
Girvin also teaches adjusting a flow rate based on change of at least one other of the flow rate (see [0053], [0055], [0056]; also, see claim 11 above).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 3976167B2) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Yasuda et al (US 20150331430), Ryoji (JP 2013229501 as supported by the machine translation document provided), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Nakakuki et al (US 20170110380), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606 A, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Chou (US 20150078920).
As per claim 14, Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 11, while Akihiko teaches a pump and a hydraulic sensor, Akihiko does not explicitly teach wherein the pump comprises a hydraulic pump having a piston controlled by the controller, and wherein a displacement reading from the hydraulic pump comprises the pressure information (these limitations in a system are interpreted as “a displacement reading/sensor” is used in the system for controlling the system”).
However, Girvin further teaches a pump which comprises a hydraulic pump having a piston controlled by the controller (see 0023 “…piston pump that siphons amounts of liquid coating material from a reservoir and then pumps the stream of liquid coating material under pressure from the reservoir through a fluid path to the applicator 16…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include the pump comprises a hydraulic pump having a piston controlled by the controller as taught by Girvin in order to control the pressure of the fluid by controlling the pump (see [0047]).
Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki-Mizohata-Sato does not explicitly teach wherein a displacement reading from the hydraulic pump comprises the pressure information.
However, Chou teaches a dispense system and method comprising the step of wherein a displacement reading from a piston comprises the pressure information (see [0021] and [0029] “ can perform a linear movement similar to the movement of a piston of a pump moving in the cylinder…” also, see page 4 claim 1 “…the pressure gauge measures and indicates a change of a current pressure value by a linear movement of the piston, …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include a the step of wherein a displacement reading from a piston comprises the pressure information as taught by Chou in order to detect the pressure (see [0021] and [0029]) of the system of Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki-Mizohata and provide a more complete system and reliable system (having different type of pressure measurements will provide a more robust system. This sensor could work along the other pressure sensor or alone and provide a very reliable measurement of pressure in the system since pressure and piston displacements are two very related variables widely used in in flow and/or pressure control).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Hasimoto et al (US 20180211832), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606A, as supported by the machine translation provided). .
As pe claim 21, Akihiko teaches a system to dispense liquid for a microelectronic workpiece processing system (see page 1), comprising:
a pump coupled to receive a liquid to be dispensed from a supply tank (s see Fig. 1 pump 26 and supply tank 20; also, see page 9 lines 1-2 “liquid reservoirs 20…electric pump 26”);
a filter coupled between the supply tank(see Filter 28 is located between a tank 20 and other components such as valve 32 )
a nozzle coupled to receive the liquid from the pump and to dispense the liquid on a microelectronic workpiece (see Fig. 1 nozzle 18);
a first pressure sensor directly coupled to the pump to sense a first pressure in the liquid within the pump (see Fig. 1 first pressure sensor 30 senses a pressure in the liquid that flows across filter 28 or pump 26; The original disclosure does not recite the term “pressure sensor directly coupled to the pump or filter”. The disclosure suggests that the pressure sensors are located across the filter and the pump respectively to sense the fluid therein. Thus, the directly coupled has been interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as the sensors coupled to the pump of filter via the liquid. The liquid passes through the pump and filter and pressure sensors detect the pressure of this liquid, thus, the sensors, respectively, are coupled to the pump and/or filter);
a substrate holder for the microelectronic workpiece (see Fig. 1 spin chuck 10);
a spin motor coupled to rotate the substrate holder at a spin rate (see Fig. 1 spin motor 12);
a controller coupled to the first pressure sensor, see page 11 par. 1 “…correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30…”);
a microprocessor in the controller (see CPU 40); and a non-transitory memory storing a program to be executed in the microprocessor (see page 9 par. 3 “…further, a memory 42 is connected to the CPU 40. The memory 42 has two types of operation sequences of the electric pump 26, namely, a normal operation sequence for stabilizing the total discharge amount, and feedback control of the electric motor 26 based on the pressure detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30…”), the program comprising instructions to
monitor the sensed first pressure and see page 11 par. 1 “…correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30…”),
obtain information about conditions comparing the sensed pressures (see page 5 par. 2 “…liquid pressure detection unit for detecting a pressure of the processing liquid sent to the discharge nozzle through the liquid supply pipe is inserted. And a control means for controlling a state of a liquid film formed on the substrate surface by discharging the processing liquid from the discharge nozzle onto the substrate based on the pressure detected by the liquid pressure detecting means”, thus the pressures are compared; also, see page 10 last par. “the database stored in the memory 42 is stored in correspondence with the change in the pressure detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30. The CPU 40 controls the motor controller 16 to correct one or more of the parameters such as the rotation speed of the spin motor 14…”)
based on the information, feed forward corrections to the spin motor to adjust the spin rate of the spin motor for later process steps that are applied to the microelectronic workpiece (see page 10 last par. to page 11 first paragraph “the database stored in the memory 42 is stored in correspondence with the change in the pressure detected by the hydraulic pressure sensor 30. The CPU 40 controls the motor controller 16 to correct one or more of the parameters such as the rotation speed of the spin motor 14… As described above, by correcting various parameters in accordance with the pressure change detected by the liquid pressure sensor 30, the thickness of the coating film formed on the surface of the wafer W after the coating process is completed is actually measured by the film thickness meter. Even if this is not done, it is possible to adjust the resist coating state while performing the resist coating process on the wafer W. For this reason, it is possible to prevent the generation of the wafer W in which the processing has failed, and to avoid wasting the wafer W.” thus, obtained information so as changed pressure causes the spin motor to be corrected for steps performed on the same wafer) .
Akihiko does not explicitly teach:
the filter is coupled between the supply tank and the pump;
a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter;
a flow sensor coupled to sense a flow rate for the liquid,
a mixer coupled between the pump and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents;
the controller coupled to the flow sensor to receive flow rate information from the flow sensor, monitoring the sensed flow rate during a portion of a dispense cycle, wherein the sensed flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 50 milliseconds, obtain information about conditions of the system based on comparing the sensed flow rates during the portion of the dispense cycle; and based on the information (flow rate), feed forward corrections to the spin motor, and a mixer coupled between the pump and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents, and
the first pressure sensor directly mechanically coupled to the pump and second sensor directly mechanically coupled to the filter.
However, Girvin teaches a system comprising a flow sensor sensing a flow rate (see Fig. 1 flow meter 52), and a controller coupled to the flow sensor to receive flow rate information from the flow sensor, and monitoring the sensed flow rate during a portion of a dispense cycle (see Fig 1 and controller 18; also, see Fig. 2 steps 210, 212, 214 teach or suggest that the flow rate is monitored during a dispensing cycle of a liquid for coating a substrate, and [0037] “[0053] “At step 208, an operating flow rate of the material may be determined…”; also, see Fig. 2 step 208 and 210. The flow rate detected is changed and it is determined when there is a difference detected as shown in step 210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s invention to include a flow sensor sensing a flow rate (see Fig. 1 flow meter 52), and a controller coupled to the flow sensor to receive flow rate information from the flow sensor, and monitoring the sensed flow rate during a portion of a dispense cycle as taught by Girvin in order to control the flow rate to achieve desired target parameters (see Figs. 18-19; and see [0014] “The flow rate from the coating liquid feed portion to the nozzle portion is adjusted in accordance with the flow rate of the coating liquid measured by the flowmeter”; also, see [0068] “The discharge flow rate of resist liquid at nozzle portion 5 is different in accordance with a target film thickness…”; also, see [0077] , [0091], [0093], and [0111] “According to the present invention, therefore, in forming of a coating film on the surface of a substrate by feeding coating liquid to the substrate while a nozzle portion is moved from side to side, discharge of the coating liquid can be stabilized and a coating film having a high inner uniformity in the film thickness can be formed”).
However, Akihiko-Girvin still does not explicitly teach based on the information of flow rate, feed forward corrections to the spin motor,
the filter is coupled between the supply tank and the pump;
a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter, a mixer coupled between the pump and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents,
wherein the sensed flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 50 milliseconds.
However, Hasimoto teaches a dispensing system for coating a substrate comprising obtain information about conditions based on comparing sensed flow rates during a portion of the dispense cycle, based on the information of flow rate, feed forward corrections to the spin motor to adjust the spin rate of the spin motor for later process steps that are applied to the microelectronic workpiece (see [0049] “…forming process… in a state in which the wafer W is rotated, a coating liquid (in this example, a resist liquid) is discharged from the coating liquid nozzle 41 onto the central portion of the wafer W”; also, see [0063] “liquid is discharged from the removal liquid nozzle 3 at a flow rate of 20 to 60 ml/min in a state in which the wafer W is rotated at the first rotation speed of 2,300 rpm or more…”; also, see [0072] and [0073] “…the maximum rotation speed varies depending on the discharge flow rate…”, Thus, the rotation speed of the substrate is changed according to the flow rate detected and/or controlled. This suggest that a flow rate is measured and compared and the speed rotation of the wafer is determined based on comprising the flow rate, as clearly suggested in the database of Fig. 8; also, see [0074] “adjusting the discharge flow rate or the angle Z, and further that when the angle Z is within 20 degrees or less, even if the maximum rotation speed is 2,300 rpm or more, liquid splash can be reduced by adjusting the discharge flow rate or the angle θ. Thus, Hasimoto clearly suggests that the spin rate is adjusted and the workpiece/wafer continues being processed after the adjustment, thus, this indicates later process steps performed on the wafer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin’s combination as taught above to include obtain information about conditions based on comparing sensed flow rates during a portion of the dispense cycle, based on the information of flow rate, feed forward corrections to the spin motor to adjust the spin rate of the spin motor for later process steps that are applied to the microelectronic workpiece as taught by Hasimoto in order to form a coated film on a substrate (see [0049]) with reduced the defects in the wafer by avoiding a splash phenomenon caused when flow rate and spin rate are controlled (see [0060]).
While Akihiko teaches a the filter and the pump, Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto still does not explicitly teach the filter is coupled between the supply tank and the pump;
a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter, a mixer coupled between the pump and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents, wherein the sensed flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 50 milliseconds.
However, Furusho teaches a liquid supply system comprising a filter coupled between the supply tank and the pump (see Fig. 6 filter 74 between supply tank 71 and pump 75; also, see [0047] “The resist solution filtered by the filter 74 is then suctioned by the second pump 75…”; also, the instant application states that a filter between a supply tank and a pump was also conventional or known in the state of the art as shown in Fig. 1.) a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter (see [0079] “…to install pressure sensors upstream and downstream of the filter 74 or the like. By monitoring the differential pressure across the filter 74, the proper replacement timing of the filter 74 or the like can be known with ease”, directly coupled has been interpreted in the BRI as stated above as being connected via the fluid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto’s combination as taught above to include the filter coupled between the supply tank and the pump and a second pressure sensor coupled to sense a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter to sense a second pressure in the liquid within the filter as taught by Furusho in order to detect condition in the filter (see [0079]) and to better control the fluid dispensed (see [0081 pressure sensors, flow meters, and flow rate control pumps such as the ones described above can be used in combination so that the solution flow in any of the chemical supply systems 57, 57A, and 57B can be controlled more properly. This in turn allows the supply of a clean solution with little dissolved gas to any coating unit 50”).
Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho still does not explicitly teach wherein the sensed flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 50 milliseconds, a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents.
However, Pedreiro teaches a monitoring method comprising a sensor monitoring a flow rate, wherein the sensed flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 50 milliseconds (see [0139] “…the sensor is programmed to a sample data rate of 20 Hz (low power, enough to detect threshold crossing at any flow rate), where the radio is shut down”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho’s combination as taught above to include monitoring a flow rate, wherein the sensed flow rate is sampled at a sample rate of at least one sample every 50 milliseconds as taught by Pedreiro in order to monitor the flow rate at an accuracy sufficient to detect a threshold flow rate and also to save energy (see [01389] “…the sensor is programmed to a sample data rate of 20 Hz (low power, enough to detect threshold crossing at any flow rate), where the radio is shut down.”, low power is consumed because at 20 Hz/50 ms only 20 data samples are taken in a second which is a low value). Furthermore, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a sampling rate of 50 ms for monitoring flow rate, since applicant has not disclosed that 50 ms or 10 ms solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any other value between 1-100 ms.
Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho-Pedreiro still does not explicitly teach a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents.
However, Mizohata teaches a system and method for dispensing a liquid comprising a flow sensor (see [0071] and [0131] “… In the liquid supply apparatus 1 of the substrate processing apparatus 2, the flowrate of the hydrofluoric acid flowing at a small flowrate is measured by the flowmeter 14 (see FIG. 1) with high accuracy stably,…”; also, see Fig. 14 the flowrate is continuously measured), a nozzle (see Fig. 17 nozzle 27 and see [0130] “…nozzle 27…”), and a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents (see Fig. 27 mixer 241 between flow sensor in apparatus 1 and nozzle 27; see Fig. 1 dispensing apparatus and flow sensor 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko-Girvin-Yasuda-Ryoji-Furusho-Nakakuki’s combination to include a mixer coupled between the flow sensor and the nozzle and configured to mix the liquid with one or more solvents as taught by Mizohata in order to provide a desired fluid mixture (see [0129], [0130], and [0131]; se [0134-0135]).
While Akihiko teaches a first pressure sensor directly coupled to a pump and Furusho teaches a second pressure sensor directly coupled to the filter, they do not teach first pressure sensor directly mechanically coupled to a pump and second sensor directly mechanically coupled to the filter (the instant invention does not explicitly recite or define the term directly mechanically coupled, and simply shows a sensor with screw shape for a pressure sensor 504 in Fig. 5. It is to note that the disclosure or applicants admit that the prior art/state of the art knew about this pressure sensors to be mechanically coupled as shown in Fig. 1 was conventional).
However, Sato teaches an apparatus comprising a device to mechanically couple a pressure sensor to a second device, wherein the pressure sensor is directly mechanically coupled to a second device such as a pump (see Fig. 3 and see page 4 par. 4” .. The pressure Detector 5 includes a piston 41 slidably inserted in the detection hole 33 of the pump body 6, a plug 42 screwed and attached to the pump body 6, and a portion between the piston 41 and the plug 42. And a detection rod 45 protruding from the piston 41 and penetrating the plug 41. The detection rod 45 is a piston 41…”; also, see [0017] “…A detection hole 33 is formed in the pump body 6 in the middle of the drain through hole 32. The pump body 6 is screwed into the pressure detector 5 so as to face the detection hole 33. The pressure between the reservoir tank 3 and the first and second check valves 23 and 24 is guided to the pressure detector 5 from the detection hole 33”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include a device to mechanically couple a pressure sensor, wherein the pressure sensor is directly mechanically coupled to a second device such as a pump as taught by Sato and to use the same mechanically coupling to attach the second pressure sensor to the filter as taught by Furusho in order to provide a coupling that allows attachment and avoids the sensor to be loose and the signal to give erroneous values (it is common sense and obvious to provide such couplings for sensors because sensor devices cannot be unattached when measuring pressure because the pressure is a force that will cause the sensor device to move).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Hasimoto et al (US 20180211832), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606A, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Contini et al (US 8352200).
As per claim 22, Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho-Pedreiro-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 21, However, Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho-Pedreiro-Mizohata does not explicitly teach wherein the information about conditions of the system is further indicative of a condition of the filter.
However, Contini teaches a system for monitoring a system comprising obtaining information about conditions of the system, wherein the information about conditions of the system is further indicative of a condition of the filter (see Col 5 lines 24-35 “…the pressure difference, measured directly, gives information on the clogging condition of the filter 3. It nevertheless depends on state parameters of the fluid 5 in particular, the viscosity (depending on temperature) and on conditions of use of the fluid 5 during the measurement, in particular the flow rate. Thus, the viscosity and flow rate give information on the conditions for exploiting the fluid 5...”; also, see Col 9 lines 1-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include obtaining information about conditions of the system, wherein the information about conditions of the system is further indicative of a condition of the filter as taught by Contini in order to identify a problem in a filter (see Col 9 lines 22-23 “…clogging in the filter…”; also, see Col 2 lines 46-58; also, see col 4 lines 47-49).
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Hasimoto et al (US 20180211832), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606A, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ryoji (JP 2013229501).
As per claim 24, Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho-Pedreiro-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 21, However, this combination of references does not explicitly teach based on the information about conditions of the system, detect a defect of the system.
However, Ryoji further teaches wherein the program comprises a further instruction to, based on information about conditions of the system, detect a defect of the system (see page 1 abstract “The liquid processing device is configured to be able to monitor bubbles in the processing liquid, a discharge state of the processing liquid and the like on the basis of change in waveform of the flow rate observed by the flowmeter; also, see page 4 last paragraph and see page 5 par. 1 and par. 2 “…An example in which the above change (that is, the presence of bubbles) is detected by taking the AND condition that the change width exceeds the threshold value….”; thus, the condition is a value that exceeds a threshold value, and this condition indicates presence of bubbles; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…”; the defect is bubbles in the system; also, see page 8 par. 8 “As another embodiment related to bubble detection, there is a method of generating an alarm to call attention when a bubble is detected. This alarm may be generated not only for each bubble but also for generating an alarm when a bubble is generated a plurality of specific times”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include wherein the program comprises a further instruction to, based on the information about conditions of the system, detect a defect of the system as taught by Ryoji in order to provide a countermeasure to the condition and provide a system that reduces damaged workpieces (see page 5 par. 4 “The bubble countermeasure program 107 is for degassing the bubble trap 26 using the time series data of the flow rate detection value of the ultrasonic flowmeter 40, and the flow shown in FIG. A set of steps is organized to execute”; also, see page 6 “par. 12 “As an embodiment when the bubbles are detected, there is a procedure in which the bubbles are trapped in the bubble trap 26 of FIG. 1 and then the resist is purged into the bubble trap 26 to discharge the…” also, see page 8 par. 8 “wherein the program comprises a further instruction to, based on the information about conditions of the system, detect a defect of the system).
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Hasimoto et al (US 20180211832), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606A, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kamakura et al (US 10211110).
As per claim 25, Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho-Pedreiro-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 21, Girvin further teaches wherein the program comprises a further instruction to: repeat dispensing the liquid from the nozzle to the microelectronic workpiece (see Girvin [0059] “For second, third, fourth, . . . n iterations of steps 208 and 210, respective second, third, fourth, . . . n operating flow rate(s) may be determined, compared to the received target flow rate, and stored in the memory 44 of the controller 18…”. It is to note that Akihiko systems also performs this dispensing step several times); but Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho-Pedreiro-Mizohata does not explicitly teach compare the information about conditions of the system obtained from one of the dispensing with the information about conditions of the system obtained from another of the dispensing (this has been in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure, as comparing flow rate or pressure with respect to a reference data obtained in a previous dispense cycle which is a known step).
However, Kamakura teaches a system comparing information about conditions of a system obtained from one of the dispensing with the information about conditions of the system obtained from another of the dispensing (see Fig. 7 pressure and flow rate during different times is collected and a curve/line is formed at a first time (first data references data), then another curve/line of pressure and flow rate at a different time (second data or another dispensing), then they are compared).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to include comparing information about conditions of a system obtained from one of the dispensing with the information about conditions of the system obtained from another of the dispensing as taught by Kamakura in order to detect variations/delays/differences in the information about conditions of the dispensing of the machine of Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto and controlling components in the system to reduce or eliminate the variations/delays/differences (see Col 23 lines 15-27).
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko et al (JP 2003053244 A) in view of Girvin et al (US 20190240689), Hasimoto et al (US 20180211832), Furusho et al (US 20150279702), Pedreiro et al (US 20170184417), Mizohata et al (US 20060137419) and Sato et al (JP 2002276606A, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of and Kataoka et al (US 8055372).
As per claim 26, Akihiko-Girvin-Hasimoto-Furusho-Pedreiro-Mizohata-Sato teaches the system of claim 21, but this combination does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to adjust a solvent mixing by the mixer based upon one or more process models.
However, Kataoka further teaches adjusting the mixing the liquid with one or more solvents based upon the process models (see the Abstract “…The control unit 50 calculates the flow rate of the processing gas based on a process result obtained by processing the semiconductor wafers W under the processing conditions as well as on the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model, so as to process the semiconductor wafers W, while controlling the respective flow rate control units 21 to 25, such that the flow rate of the processing gas will be changed into the calculated flow rate of the processing gas…”; also, see Col 2 lines 41-54; see Col 9 lines 15-35 “In the model storage unit 51, a flow rate-process result-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of the processing gas and the process result is stored. In this embodiment, in the model storage unit 51, a film thickness-flow rate-relationship model indicative of the flow rate of each gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20 and the film thickness provided on each semiconductor wafer W is stored. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model is prepared based on the process result (or film thickness result), under two or more different conditions, with respect to the temperature, pressure, gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, these elements or factors being respectively constituting the processing conditions. Therefore, the film thickness-flow rate-relationship model can be adapted (or interpolated) relative to changes of the processing conditions, and can be used for calculating the flow rate of the gas supplied from each gas supply pipe 16 to 20, based on the processing conditions, such as the temperature, pressure and gas total flow rate and the like, in the reaction vessel 2, as well as on the film thickness required. The film thickness-flow rate-relationship model will be detailed later”, thus, the models are used to detect or calculated the right amount of flow rate and control the valves or pumps to achieve such calculated flow rates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Akihiko’s combination as taught above to adjusting the mixing the liquid with one or more solvents based upon the process models as taught by Kataoka in order to calculate the optimal or appropriate conditions such as flow rate based on the model and control the system with calculated values (see Col 10-13) and obtain improved uniform thickness during a semiconductor process (see Col 2 lines 2-12 and Col 17 lines 1-5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117