DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 8 January 2026. By this amendment, claims 1, 8 and 9 are amended; claims 2-3 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 4-16 are currently pending; claims 9-16 stand withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1 as amended, Applicant references Figs. 10-11 and paragraph [0056] of the instant specification, arguing a “first scribe-lane through-silicon-via 230 be formed on the first wafer body 300 to expose the interfacial surface of the second wafer 400 . . . [t]he first scribe-lane through-silicon-vias 230 is filled with a protective material. Then a second scribe-lane through-silicon-via 240 is formed on the surface of the second wafer body” and that the first scribe-lane TSVs and the second scribe-lane TSVs are formed step by step. (Remarks, pp. 8-9.)
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the first scribe-lane through-silicon-vias are filled with protective material before the second scribe-lane through-silicon-vias are formed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is noted that claim 1 does not require the above sequencing of steps as currently drafted.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a” at the end of line 2 should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0069609 A1 to Farooq et al. (hereinafter “Farooq”).
Regarding claim 1, Farooq (Figs. 1-7) discloses a wafer manufacturing method, comprising:
providing a first wafer 102C (Fig. 1; ¶ 0022) and a second wafer stacking together 102B (Fig. 1, ¶ 0022), the first wafer has a first scribe lane 115 (Fig. 1; ¶ 0022) for die cutting, the second wafer has a second scribe lane 115 (Fig. 1; ¶ 0022) for die cutting;
forming a plurality of first scribe-lane through-silicon-vias (TSVs) 424 (Fig. 4; ¶ 0025) at the first scribe lane, wherein each of the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs passes through the first wafer 402C (Fig. 4; labeled 102C in Fig. 1) and exposes the surface of the second wafer 402B (Fig. 4; labeled 102B in Fig. 1), each of the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs is filled with a protective material 628 (Fig. 6; ¶ 0027),
forming a plurality of second scribe-lane TSVs 424 (Fig. 4; ¶ 0025) at the second scribe lane, wherein each of the plurality of second scribe-lane TSVs passes through the second wafer 402B (labeled 102B in Fig. 1) and exposes the surface of one of the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs (424 in 402C); and
where each of the plurality of second scribe-lane TSVs is filled with the protective material 628 (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Farooq (Figs. 1-7) discloses the wafer manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs (728 disposed therein) comprises continuously distributed or separately distributed scribe-lane TSVs (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A for top-down view - no interruptions in structure 828 along dicing channel 815, thus “continuously distributed”; ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 5, Farooq (Fig. 7) discloses the wafer manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs (728 disposed therein) is distributed in multiple rows at the scribe lane (Fig. 7- row of 728 on each side of 715: left, right).
Regarding claim 7, Farooq discloses the wafer manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the protective material 628 comprises one or more of copper, tungsten, aluminum, tantalum, titanium, tantalum nitride, titanium nitride, silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, carbide silicon, silicon carbonitride, polyimide and tetraethyl orthosilicate (¶ 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooq.
Regarding claim 6, Farooq discloses the wafer manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein a width of each of the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs is in the range from 2 microns to 50 microns (¶ 0026 - disclosing about 7-30 microns), and a depth of each of the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs is in the range from 15 microns to 150 microns (¶ 0026 - disclosing 30-1000 microns). In the case where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooq as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 2011/0204488 A1 to Itou et al. (hereinafter “Itou”).
Regarding claim 8, Farooq discloses the wafer manufacturing method according to claim 7, however fails to expressly disclose: wherein an air gap is provided in one of the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs and one of the plurality of second scribe-lane TSVs. In the same field of endeavor, Itou (Fig. 17) discloses a wafer manufacturing method including an air gap 101 provided in a scribe-lane TSV 100 (¶ 0076; see Fig. 12 for labelled scribe-lane: 100 located on either side at scribe-lane 300, ¶ 0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an air gap as disclosed by Itou in each wafer of the method of Farooq, i.e., in one of the plurality of first scribe-lane TSVs and one of the plurality of second scribe-lane TSVs, for the purpose of decreasing the likelihood of damage to the blade while performing dicing (Itou, ¶ 0081).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
5 May 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813