DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new rejection has been made in view of Burris (US 20140271328 A1) in view of Hu (US 20120045169 A1) and Deckard (US 5155324 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-31 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burris (US 20140271328 A1) in view of Hu (US 20120045169 A1) and Deckard (US 5155324 A).
Regarding claim 30, Burris (US 20140271328 A1) teaches an additive manufacturing method comprising controlling a laser beam scanner to scan a plurality of laser spots across a powder bed,
the laser beam scanner comprising:
a laser beams positioning optic (Figure 1, mirror 130);
a plurality of optical fibres for delivering a plurality of laser beams (Paragraph 64, each laser output optic corresponds to a laser diode via a fiber optic) from the output to the laser beams positioning optic to the laser beam positioning optics (Figure 3A Paragraph 40, plurality of diodes to which the fiber optic cables deliver the lasers to and then to the mirror 130); and
the laser beams positioning optic movable relative to the fibre termination optic to scan the plurality of laser beams across a working surface of the powder bed (Paragraphs 37-39, apparatus is configured to output an energy beam toward a rotating mirror which is used to reflect the beams onto the surface of the layer of powdered material; Paragraph 62, apparatus can include any number of mirrors, lenses, and laser diodes arranged in any way such as to project the energy beams onto the layers of powdered material), wherein:
all of the output ends joined to the fibre termination optic are arranged in a pattern that is rotationally symmetric about an optical axis of the laser beam scanner with an order of rotational symmetry greater than two (Figures 9-10, laser diodes are arranged such as to form laser spots consisting of a hexagonal shape with six lasers surrounding one in the middle; Paragraph 83, laser beam diodes are positioned in a close pack array such that the mirror reflects the energy beam in a substantially constant corresponding pattern); and
when all the plurality of laser beams are simultaneously generated (Paragraph 67, apparatus 100 includes multiple laser diodes configure to simultaneously project multiple energy beams directly or indirectly), the laser beams form a pattern of laser spots on the working surface corresponding to the pattern of output ends (Paragraph 83, laser beam diodes are positioned in a close pack array such that the mirror reflects the energy beam in a substantially constant corresponding pattern), the laser spots being spaced apart so as not to overlap (Paragraph 91, laser spots are disjointed or nonintersecting), and
the method comprising:
each scanning direction resulting in equally spaced parallel tracks formed on the working surface and a spacing between the equally spaced parallel tracks being the same for the different scanning directions (Figures 9-10, moving the laser spots in directions along one of six the outer laser spots would result in equally spaced parallel tracks with spacing between the equally spaced tracks being the same for the different scanning directions)
simultaneously generating the plurality of laser beams to form the pattern of the laser spots on the working surface (Paragraph 67, apparatus 100 includes multiple laser diodes configure to simultaneously project multiple energy beams which are projected onto layer of powdered material which form a pattern of laser spots); and
controlling the laser beam scanner to scan the pattern of laser spots across the working surface in the scanning direction selected from the plurality of different, non-parallel scanning directions (Figures 9-10 Paragraph 79, laser diodes are arranged such as to form laser spots consisting of a hexagonal shape with six lasers surrounding one in the middle with all the laser spots being controlled simultaneously).
Burris fails to teach:
a fibre termination optic, output ends of the plurality of optical fibres being joined to the fibre termination optic to direct the laser beams from output ends of the plurality of optical fibres to the laser beams positioning optic
selecting a scanning direction from a plurality of different, non-parallel scanning directions, each scanning direction resulting in equally spaced parallel tracks formed on the working surface and a spacing between the equally spaced parallel tracks being the same for the different scanning directions
Hu (US 20120045169 A1) teaches an optical system for delivering a laser output (Paragraph 71), wherein:
a fibre termination optic (base plate), output ends of the plurality of optical fibres being joined to the fibre termination optic to direct the laser beams from the output ends of the plurality of optical fibres (Paragraph 72, plurality of optical fibers which are attached to a first surface 111 of base plate 130; Figures 3C1-3D Paragraph 103, plurality of lenslets 350 which are used to collimate or focus the individual laser beams).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burris with Hu and have the laser beam scanner comprise a contoured surface forming a plurality of lenses. This would have been done to shape the plurality of output beams according to the desired laser beam spots (Hu Paragraph 72).
Burris modified with Hu fails to teach:
selecting a scanning direction from a plurality of different, non-parallel scanning directions, each scanning direction resulting in equally spaced parallel tracks formed on the working surface and a spacing between the equally spaced parallel tracks being the same for the different scanning directions
Deckard (US 5155324 A) teaches a method for selective laser sintering, comprising:
selecting a scanning direction from a plurality of different, non-parallel scanning directions (Column 12 Lines 10-25, change the scan direction from layer to layer by 60 degrees which would result in different non-parallel scanning directions), each scanning direction resulting in equally spaced parallel tracks formed on the working surface and a spacing between the equally spaced parallel tracks being the same for the different scanning directions (Burris Figures 9-10, moving the laser spots in directions along one of six the outer laser spots which are 60 degrees from each other would result in equally spaced parallel tracks with spacing between the equally spaced tracks being the same for the different scanning directions)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burris with Deckard and changes the scan direction from layer to layer by 60 degrees. This would have been done such as to provide additional strength and avoid torsional weakness that could be present for apart produced by a smaller angle of scan rotation (Deckard Column 12 Lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 31, Burris as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1.
Deckard further teaches:
controlling the laser beam scanner to scan the pattern of laser spots in a different one of the different, non-parallel scanning directions for successive layers (Column 12 Lines 10-25, change the scan direction from layer to layer by 60 degrees which would result in different non-parallel scanning directions)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 34, Burris (US 20140271328 A1) teaches an additive manufacturing comprising:
a plurality of lasers for generating a plurality of laser beams (Paragraph 67, apparatus 100 includes multiple laser diodes configure to simultaneously project multiple energy beams directly or indirectly);
a build chamber for containing a powder bed (Paragraph 16, build chamber 110 including a build platform 112); and
a laser beam scanner comprising:
a laser beams positioning optic (Figure 1 Paragraph 39, mirror 130);
a plurality of optical fibres for delivering the plurality of laser beams (Paragraph 64, each laser output optic corresponds to a laser diode via a fiber optic) from the output to the laser beams positioning optic to the laser beam positioning optics (Figure 3A Paragraph 40, plurality of diodes to which the fiber optic cables deliver the lasers to and then to the mirror 130); and
the laser beams positioning optic being movable relative to the fibre termination optic to scan the plurality of laser beams across a working surface of the powder bed (Paragraph 49, mirror 130 is used to scan an energy beam over the build platform 112 on which the powder is placed), wherein:
all of the output ends joined to the fibre termination optic are arranged in a pattern that is rotationally symmetric about an optical axis of the laser beam scanner with an order of rotational symmetry greater than two (Figures 9-10, laser diodes are arranged such as to form laser spots consisting of a hexagonal shape with six lasers surrounding one in the middle; Paragraph 83, laser beam diodes are positioned in a close pack array such that the mirror reflects the energy beam in a substantially constant corresponding pattern);
when all the plurality of laser beams are simultaneously generated (Paragraph 67, apparatus 100 includes multiple laser diodes configure to simultaneously project multiple energy beams directly or indirectly), the laser beams form a pattern of laser spots on the working surface corresponding to the pattern of output ends (Paragraph 83, laser beam diodes are positioned in a close pack array such that the mirror reflects the energy beam in a substantially constant corresponding pattern), the laser spots being spaced apart so as not to overlap (Paragraph 91, laser spots are disjointed or nonintersecting),
the apparatus further comprises a controller configured to carry out the additive manufacturing method according to claim 30 (see rejection of claim 30 above; Paragraph 68, processor 190 configured to selectively power laser diodes and move the actuators to adjust the focus position of the laser beam).
Burris fails to explicitly teach:
a fibre termination optic, output ends of the plurality of optical fibres being joined to the fibre termination optic to direct the plurality of laser beams from output ends of the plurality of optical fibres to the laser beams positioning optic
Hu (US 20120045169 A1) teaches an optical system for delivering a laser output (Paragraph 71), wherein:
a fibre termination optic (base plate), output ends of the plurality of optical fibres being joined to the fibre termination optic to direct the plurality of laser beams from output ends of the plurality of optical fibres to the laser beams positioning optic (Paragraph 72, plurality of optical fibers which are attached to a first surface 111 of base plate 130; Figures 3C1-3D Paragraph 103, plurality of lenslets 350 which are used to collimate or focus the individual laser beams).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burris with Hu and have the laser beam scanner comprise a contoured surface forming a plurality of lenses. This would have been done to shape the plurality of output beams according to the desired laser beam spots (Hu Paragraph 72).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burris (US 20140271328 A1) in view of Hu (US 20120045169 A1) and Deckard (US 5155324 A) as applied to claim 30, and further in view of Domrose (US 20160279706 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Burris as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 30.
Burris as modified fails to teach:
the different, non-parallel scanning directions are opposed to a gas flow across the powder bed.
Domrose (US 20160279706 A1) teaches a device for producing a three-dimensional object, wherein:
the different, non-parallel scanning directions are opposed to a gas flow across the powder bed (Paragraphs 28-30, the main flow direction of the gas flow G and the scanning direction RL of the laser beam are not independently from one another but such that they are matched to one another wherein the scanning direction RL runs counter to the main flow direction RG; Paragraph 49, main flow direction RG of the gas flow matches the scanning direction RL such that it is exposed counter to the intended scanning direction).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burris with Hoebel and have a controller control the additive manufacturing apparatus to scan the laser beams along different scanning directions for successive layers and to vary directions within each layer. This would have been done to manufacture a hybrid component with optimized properties (Hoebel Paragraph 18).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burris (US 20140271328 A1) in view of Hu (US 20120045169 A1) and Deckard (US 5155324 A) as applied to claim 30, and further in view of DALLAROSA (US 20170021455 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Burris as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 30.
Burris as modified fails to teach:
controlling the laser beam scanner to scan the pattern of laser spots across the working surface to form a set of first tracks with a first pass of the pattern of laser spots over the working surface and a set of second tracks with a second pass of the pattern of laser spots over the working surface, wherein ones of the second tracks are interspersed between ones of the first tracks
DALLAROSA (US 20170021455 A1) teaches the multiple beam additive manufacturing, wherein:
controlling the laser beam scanner to scan the pattern of laser spots across the working surface to form a set of first tracks with a first pass of the pattern of laser spots over the working surface and a set of second tracks with a second pass of the pattern of laser spots over the working surface, wherein ones of the second tracks are interspersed between ones of the first tracks (Figures 7A-7E, the controller moves the laser beams to form a first set of tracks and a second set of tracks with at least some of the second set of tracks being interposed between the first tracks).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burris as modified with DALLAROSA and form multiple sets of tracks with one set of tracks between the first set of tracks. This would be done to cover an entire powder layer and form a complete build layer (DALLAROSA Paragraph 89).
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761