DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaacs [Synthesis of Tetraoctylammonium-protected gold nanoparticles with improved stability] in view of Kunitake [JP2007069270], Suh [US 20160266104], Kim [US 20150174613], Joseph [US 20090162946], Anders [US 20030157325] and Eitan [US 20190153121] and Cho [US 20190279782].
Claim 17: Isaacs teaches a method for preparing metal nanoparticles (gold nanoparticles) [title], by mixing a solution of tetraoctylammonium bromide (TOABr) in a non-polar solvent ((Oct)4NBr in toluene) with a solution of a metal precursor in a polar solvent (HAuCl4 in H2O) to prepare a mixture [pg 5689, col 2, Exp. Sect.]; adding a thiosulfate salt (Na2S2O3) to the mixture [pg 5689, col 2, Exp. Sect.] and separating the non-polar solvent layer (removal of the aqueous layer) [pg 5690, col 1] and adding a reducing agent thereto (addition of NaBH4) [pg 5690, col 1]. Isaacs further teaches the ToABr to gold precursor is in a range of 2:1 (2mmol of (Oct)4NBr to 1.mmol of HAuCl4)[ [pg 5689, col 2, Exp. Sect.]. However, Isaacs does not appear to teach the metal precursor is a silver precursor. However, Isaacs does not appear to teach the metal precursor is a silver precursor. Kunitake is provided.
Kunitake, directed to forming inorganic nanoparticles [abs] using reducing agent pg 6, teaches examples of metal salts that could be used to form metal nanoparticles, such as gold salts and silver salts [pg 6]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the gold precursor of Isaacs with a silver precursor since Kunitake teaches silver precursor salts are also capable of being reduced and precipitated as metal nanoparticles [pg 6-7] using a similar solution process [pg 6]. Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would find silver salt precursor as an operable substitute.
Although the prior art does not explicitly teach that the silver thiosulfate anions are phase transferred to the non-polar solvent layer, since the prior art teaches using the same materials (e.g. a mixture of TOABr in a non-polar solvent with a solution of silver precursor in a polar solvent and adding thiosulfate salt to the mixture) and Isaacs teaches forming a metal-thiosulfate [pg 7, col 1] wherein thiosulfate anions are formed [pg 5691 col 2], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the metal thiosulfate anions such as silver thiosulfate anions would be phase transferred to the non-polar solvent layer to naturally occur by using the same materials with the same process. Isaacs further teaches removing the non-polar solvent layer [pg 7, col 1], which would naturally contain the phase transfer silver thiosulfate anions. Although Issacs using a reducing agent such as sodium borohydride (NaBH4), the prior art does not teach the specific reducing agent species as claimed. Suh is provided.
Suh teaches that reducing agents such as sodium borohydride and sodium ascorbate can be used [0045]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use sodium ascorbate as a reducing agent since Suh teaches such specie is another operable reducing agents for forming nanoparticles.
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach d) immersing a substrate in the dispersion of the silver nanoparticles in the non-polar solvent to form a particle layer on the substrate; and e) immersing the substrate formed with the particle layer in a dispersion of a monomolecular material having amine groups in an organic solvent to form a linker layer on the particle layer. Kim and Joseph are provided.
Kim teaches a method form forming a nanostructure [abstract] by dissolving linkers in a solvent and depositing the material onto substrate by, for example, immersion [0140]. Kim further teaches the solvent can be any solvent that dissolve the linkers [0058]. Kim further teaches the linkers can be a monomolecular material [0021] which can comprise amine groups [0024]. Kim further teaches the linker layer and nanoparticle layer can be stacked alternately and repeatedly [0130]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the linker layer and nanoparticle layer are alternately stacked and repeated, at some point the linker layer would be deposited on the nanoparticle layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use linking layer to attach the particles to a substrate as taught by Kim to stably fix the nanoparticles onto the substrate [0077]. Although Kim does not explicitly teach immersing the substrate with the dispersion of nanoparticles, Joseph teaches it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to immerse a substrate in the particle dispersion as another operable way to form a nanoparticle film on a substrate [abstract; 0023; 0064]. Joseph also teaches operable solvents include organic solvents for linkers [0016-0017]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an organic solvent for dissolving the linking material since Joseph teaches such solvents are operable for dissolving linking material. Kim also teaches a surface layer having functional group [0039; Fig. 1a], the prior art does not appear to teach: d) forming a base layer on a substrate by immersing the substrate in a dispersion of polyethyleneimine (PEI) and ethanol. Anders and Eitan are provided.
Anders teaches a multilayer nanoparticle thin film assembly, wherein the substrate is immersed in a dispersion of PEI and chloroform; and a particle layer is assembled on the functionalized substrate [0035; Fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a base layer using a solution of PEI by immersing the substrate since Anders teaches the PEI layer increases assembly strength of the nanoparticle thereon [0028]. However, Anders does not appear to teach using a ethanol as the solvent in the dispersion. Eitan is provided.
Eitan teaches that ethanol is an obvious polar solvent variant of chloroform [0302]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use ethanol instead of chloroform since Eitan teaches either solvents are obvious variants.
However, the prior art does not appear to teach the monomolecular material having the amine groups is tris2-aminoethylamine (TREN). Cho is provided.
Cho teaches forming a flexible electrode by forming a bonding layer comprising amino group onto the substrate and forming a nanoparticle coating [abstract]. Cho further teaches the amino group can be tris2-aminoethylamine (TREN) [0010] and can be deposited by immersion [0015] and further deposited onto the nanoparticle coating [fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use tris2-aminoethylamine since Cho teaches such compound has improved bonding strength for interlayers of nanoparticles [0044-0045].
Claim 18: Isaacs teaches the non-polar solvent is toluene [pg 5689, col 2, Exp. Sect.].
Claim 19: Isaacs further teaches the ToABr to gold precursor is in a range of 2:1 (2mmol of (Oct)4NBr to 1.mmol of HAuCl4)[ [pg 5689, col 2, Exp. Sect.].
Claim 20: again by using the same materials with the same process, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the silver thiosulfate anions are formed by anion substitution of bromide ions by thiosulfate ions and are phase transferred to the non-polar solvent layer. Isaacs further teaches the introduction of the thiosulfate counteranions in place of bromide anions [pg 5689, col 2].
Claim 21: Kunitake teaches the silver precursor can be silver nitrate and etc. [pg 6].
Claim 22: Isaacs teaches the polar solvent is water [pg 5689, col 2, Exp. Sect.].
Claim 23: Isaacs teaches the thiosulfate salt is sodium thiosulfate [pg 5689, col 2, Exp. Sect].
Claim 24: Isaacs teaches the reducing agent can be sodium borohydride [pg 5690, col 1].
Claim 25: Kim teaches the substrate may be plastic substrate [0015].
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaacs in view of Kunitake, Suh, Kim, Joseph, Anders, Eitan and Cho as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Caruso [US 20090047517].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach treating the substrate with an RCA solution. Caruso is provided.
Claim 26: Caruso teaches immersing the substrate in a RCA solution (water, ammonia, hydrogen peroxide) to clean the surface prior to processing [0135]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform this RCA cleaning process so as to fully clean the substrate surface for processing [0135].
Claim 27: Caruso teaches the RCA solution comprises water, hydrogen and ammonia [0135], where Caruso teaches water can exist as distilled H2O [0144].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715