DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 2, 4-5, 7, 11, 13-15, 20, 22-24 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, 12, 16-19, 21 are pending. Claims 16-19 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 6, 9-10, 21 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, 12, 21 are examined herein.
The claim amendments have rendered the 112 rejection of the last Office Action moot, therefore hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the remaining rejections have been fully considered but found not persuasive, therefore maintained for reasons of record and modified below as a result of the new claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, 12, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Sparkman (US Patent Application 2008/0317886 A1, of record).
Sparkman teaches: "When runners were given either 3 g HMB per day or a placebo during six weeks of training followed by a 20 km run, blood samples taken after the run showed that the HMB-supplemented individuals had reduced levels of CPK and LDH compared to the placebo control subjects (Knitter,A. E., et al., 2000)." And that "....it was shown that supplementation with HMB reduced the amount of perceived muscle soreness and with less strength loss, suggesting an anti-catabolic effect on muscles which results in less damage (Byrd, P., et al., 1999). (p. 3, col. 2, para [0029]. Sparkman also teaches: "[0060] The forms of HMB could include but are not limited to beta-hydroxy-beta- methylbutanoic acid, calcium beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate, beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate amino acid salt, and tricreatine beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate. (p. 7, column 1, para [0060]. Sparkman teaches composition of HMB as any salt or chelate administered in forms that include liquids, gels, and can be incorporated into foods, such as sports bars (p. 9, column 2, para [0077], lines 3-9, claim 87). Excipients such as gelling agents or flavors, for example raspberry-lemonade or strawberry-lemonade, can be added (examples 1-8).
It is noted that the limitations regarding “increasing strength” and “wherein the administration of HMB acid results in greater increases in muscle strength than the administration of an equivalent amount of HMB in the calcium salt form (CaHMB)” and “increased by at least ten percent” and “increasing systemic exposure” and “wherein the administration of HMB in free acid results in a higher peak plasma concentration (Cmax) and a shorter time to reach peak plasma concentration (Tmax) than administration of an equivalent amount of HMB in the calcium salt form (CaHMB)” are considered inherent in vivo mechanisms of action and will necessarily occur because the same claimed active agent is being administered to the same claimed patient population at the same claimed dosage amount.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Sparkman does not disclose any comparison between HMB-acid and CaHMB for muscle strength, administration of the two forms at equivalent doses, or any teaching that one form produces greater strength outcomes than the other.
This is not persuasive because Sparkman clearly teaches the administration of both forms, thereby meeting all the instant method steps. The difference in muscle strength will necessarily occur even though not explicitly taught by Sparkman.
Applicant argues that the measurable outcomes related to higher Cmax and shorter Tmax are not established by Sparkman to inevitably occur.
This is not persuasive because all of these measurable outcomes must occur if the same method steps are taught by Sparkman, which it does.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, 12, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over Nissen (WO 9414429 A1, of record) in view of Sparkman (US Patent Application 2008/0317886 A1, of record).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of improving muscle utilization of HMB, improving muscle function, improving muscle performance, and improving muscle strength in a human compared to the administration of an equivalent amount of HMB in the calcium salt form (CaHMB).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Nissen et al., teach, "the method of protein sparing, comprising orally or intraveneously administering to a human subject an effective amount of HMB for increasing the retention of nitrogen, said HMB being in an edible or intravenously-administratable form selected from (i) its free acid form..." and where further in claim 3, the effective amount of HMB is from 0.5 to 10 grams (WO 9414429, p 13, claim 3), Nissen teaches a preferred amount of HBM is from 2-6 grams. (p. 7), and can be administered as a free acid (p. 6), which falls within the range of 0.5 to 30 grams described by instant claim 15. Nissen teaches that the administration of beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyric acid (HMB) is based on discovery that nitrogen retention in humans is "dramatically improved by the administration of small amounts of p-hydroxy-p-methylbutyric acid (HMB)” (Summary of Invention, p.4-5). In the preparation of HMB, a phosphate buffer was used (page 9, second full paragraph).
Nissen teaches increased bioavailability, wherein this is intrinsically increased plasma levels of HMB that result in a faster time to reach peak plasma levels.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Nissen, is that Nissen does not teach improving muscle strength and increasing systemic exposure in a human compared to the administration of an equivalent amount of HMB in the calcium salt form (CaHMB).
This deficiency in Nissen is cured by the teaching of Sparkman.
Sparkman teaches a composition for treating acute inflammation and preventing or reducing the resulting symptoms of delayed onset muscle soreness following overuse of muscles comprising a source of beta-hydroxy-beta methylbutyrate.
Sparkman also teaches giving a horse 10 g of HMB, to relieve muscle soreness (p. 13, column 1, para [0087]), wherein 10 g falls within the range of HMB described by the instant claim 1, of 0.5 to 30 g of HMB free acid, as Sparkman teaches that HMB can be administered as HMB acid "[0060] The forms of HMB could include but are not limited to beta-hydroxy-beta- methylbutanoic acid, calcium beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate, beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate amino acid salt, and tricreatine beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate. (p. 7, column 1, para [0060].”
Therefore, since the perceived muscle soreness and strength loss is reduced, it is obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would know to measure this effect by using well-known isometric or isotonic contraction testing protocols, such as planks and lifting weights, to measure muscle strength.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use the free acid form of HMB, as taught by Sparkman or Nissen, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Sparkman teaches that HMB is used for compositions with HMB salts or essential amino salts (p. 9, para [0077], lines 3-10, and p. 15, column 2, claim 87). A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to provide the oral form of HMB, as taught by Nissen in any conventional form, or taught by Sparkman to include HMB acid (p. 14, claim 66), including as a gel, to a subject in need thereof.
It is noted that the limitations regarding “increasing strength” and “wherein the administration of HMB acid results in greater increases in muscle strength than the administration of an equivalent amount of HMB in the calcium salt form (CaHMB)” and “increased by at least ten percent” and “increasing systemic exposure” and “wherein the administration of HMB in free acid results in a higher peak plasma concentration (Cmax) and a shorter time to reach peak plasma concentration (Tmax) than administration of an equivalent amount of HMB in the calcium salt form (CaHMB)” are considered inherent in vivo mechanisms of action and will necessarily occur because the same claimed active agent is being administered to the same claimed patient population at the same claimed dosage amount.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that different forms of HMB were understood as interchangeable salts, but there was no teaching or expectation that changing the counter-ion would yield greater muscle strength at the same dose. Moreover, there was no teaching or suggestion that removal of calcium would materially alter systemic exposure or that such PK differences would translate into superior muscle strength.
This is not persuasive because Applicant is reminded that the prior art clearly teaches the administration of HMB free acid at the claimed dosage. Therefore, there is no need to provide a motivation or reasoning to interchange to or from a particular salt form. Furthermore, it is not clear whether CaHMB is actually being administered to the same patient. The muscle strength, Cmax, and Tmax of HMB free acid administration is being compared to what the muscle strength, Cmax, and Tmax would have been if CaHMB was administered. Either way, the limitation is met because the increase in muscle strength, Cmax, and Tmax of HMB free acid is obvious to occur since the method steps of the claims have been taught by the cited prior art.
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623