DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkison et al., US PGPUB No. 20150370827 A1, hereinafter Parkison, McKegney et al., US PGPUB No. 20170024112 A1, hereinafter McKegney, and further in view of Miao et al., US PGPUB No. 20170091652 A1, hereinafter Miao.
Regarding claim 15, Parkison discloses a system (Parkison; a system (i.e. distribution file system environment) [¶ 0058-0059 and ¶ 0158]; moreover, computing device [¶ 0168 and ¶ 0171], as illustrated within Fig. 5, cloud controller [¶ 0048], as illustrated within Fig. 3, and computer environment [¶ 0158], as illustrated within Fig. 4) comprising:
at least one processing unit to perform operations (Parkison; at least one processing unit to perform operations [¶ 0035-0036, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0158]) including:
receiving, by a server, sets of delta information including first delta information generated and provided by a first client and second delta information generated and provided by a second client (Parkison; receiving sets of delta information (i.e. change notifications) including 1st delta/change information generated and (interpreted as “that is”) provided by a 1st client and 2nd delta/change information generated and (interpreted as “that is”) provided by a 2nd client by a server [¶ 0075-0077], as illustrated within Fig. 7; wherein, cloud controllers are configured to send change notification messages for namespace operations (e.g., when a file is created, deleted, or renamed) in addition to data operations (such as file writes) [¶ 0078]; moreover, cloud controller [¶ 0048 and ¶ 0050-0052]; additionally, delta encoding [¶ 0049-0050], e.g. comparison of “deltas” [¶ 0111-0113]; alternatively, EOF comparison [¶ 0154-0156]), the first delta information and the second delta information representing different respective changes made to data representation of a same synchronized version of data (Parkison; the 1st delta/change information and the 2nd delta/change information [as addressed above] representing different respective changes made to data representation of a same synchronized version of data [¶ 0079-0080]; moreover, in the event a client requests access to this (registered) file, the cloud controller can use the information from the change notification to directly contact that hosting cloud controller and immediately synchronize the modified file data (instead of waiting for the incremental metadata snapshot that describes the change to arrive), thereby bypassing the normal update mechanisms and presenting the updated file contents to the client as quickly as possible [¶ 0073]; additionally, synchronization updates between cloud controllers [¶ 0106-0107]);
computing, by the server, global version identifiers arranged in a sequence representing an encoding of a global sequential order (Parkison; computing global version identifiers [¶ 0110-0111] arranged in a sequence representing an encoding of a global sequential order (i.e. set of ordered metadata structures) [¶ 0048-0049], as illustrated within Fig. 3, by the server [as addressed above]; moreover, version identifiers involving the cloud controllers [¶ 0009-0010], wherein the version identifier is a part of the updates [¶ 0012-0014]; still further, the cloud controller compares the version identifier of the metadata within the updated version identifier of a synchronized update, in order to determine if a current local metadata version is up-to-date [¶ 0015]), the global version identifiers identifying respective synchronized versions of the data (Parkison; the global version identifiers identifying respective synchronized versions of the data [¶ 0110-0111]) and relative positions of the sets of delta information in the global sequential order (Parkison; implicit relative positions (given memory configuration; i.e. disk blocks, tree-structure, and/or data blocks) of the sets of delta information in the global sequential order [¶ 0048 and ¶ 0050-0051], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, delta/change info is managed within a memory environment [¶ 0111-0113]); and
transmitting, to the first client, the second delta information received by the server from the second client (Parkison; transmitting the 2nd delta/change information received by the server from the 2nd client to the 1st client [¶ 0075-0076], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, transfers of data between two or more clients is multi-directional [¶ 0110-0112], as illustrated within Fig. 11), a first global version identifier assigned to the first delta information from the global version identifiers (Parkison; a 1st global version identifier assigned to the 1st delta information from the global version identifiers [¶ 0110-0112]; wherein, version identification is both local and remote [¶ 0015]; in other words, the current local data is given a version ID and a remote/global data (associated with synchronization different from the local) is given a version ID so that the two IDs can be compared [¶ 0012-0015 and ¶ 0109]), and a second global version identifier assigned to the second delta information from the global version identifiers (Parkison; a 2nd global version identifier assigned to the 2nd delta/change information from the global version identifiers [¶ 0110-0112]; wherein similarly, version identification is both local and remote depending on which client is transferring the data for synchronization [as addressed above]), the second global version identifier identifying a second synchronized version from the respective synchronized versions (Parkison; the 2nd global version identifier identifying a 2nd synchronized version from the respective synchronized versions [¶ 0110-0112]; moreover, updated file data directly to cloud controller as part of the synchronization update allows the cloud controller to present the new version to a client [¶ 0113]; and, after processing the synchronization update, the receiving cloud controller logically has the entire copy of the modified file, even if only a small amount of new data and metadata were included in the synchronization update and only a small part (or even none) of the previous version of the file is actually cached locally on that cloud controller [id.]; still further, synchronization is dynamic between clients [¶ 0007-0008, ¶ 0010-0012, and ¶ 0117-0118]), the transmitting causing the first client to update a first local copy of the same synchronized version to a second local copy representing the second synchronized version (Parkison; the transmitting [as addressed above] causing the 1st client to update a 1st local copy of the same synchronized version to a 2nd local copy representing the 2nd synchronized version [¶ 0106-0107 and ¶ 0110-0111]; wherein, change notifications indicate updates for which the system reacts to [¶ 0075-0077]; moreover, a change notification message can be used to identify the cloud controller that is caching the most recent version of the registered file [¶ 0073]) by:
using the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier to evaluate the relative positions in the global sequential order (Parkison; using the 1st global version identifier and the 2nd global version identifier to evaluate the implicit relative positions (given memory configuration; i.e. disk blocks, tree-structure, and/or data blocks) in the global sequential order [¶ 0048 and ¶ 0050-0051], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, delta/change info is managed within a memory configuration [¶ 0111-0113]), and based at least on the evaluated relative positions, determining that the first delta information is to be applied to the same synchronized version and the second delta information is to be applied after the first delta information in the global sequential order (Parkison; determining that the 1st delta/change information is to be applied to the same synchronized version and the 2nd delta/change information is to be applied after the 1st delta/change information in the global sequential order based at least on the evaluated relative positions [¶ 0110-0111]; wherein, a version is brough up to date [¶ 0112]; moreover, the synchronization update may also include an incremental data snapshot that includes any file data that has changed for (or been added to) a file subsequent to the metadata version sent by cloud controller [¶ 0113]; additionally, determining change access to data (e.g. lock-ing) [¶ 0100-0101, ¶ 0106-0107, and ¶ 0115-0116]),
based at least on the determination, applying the first delta information to the first local copy of the same synchronized version to change the data representation to an altered data representation (Parkison; applying the 1st delta/change information to the 1st local copy of the same synchronized version to change the data representation to an altered data representation based at least on the determination [¶ 0111-0113]; moreover, changes to a data set [¶ 0050]), and
applying the second delta information to the altered scene representation using one or more conflict resolution rules to resolve a conflict resulting from the altered description being incompatible with the respective changes represented by the second delta information (Parkison; applying the 2nd delta/change information to the altered scene representation using one or more conflict resolution rules to resolve a conflict resulting from the altered description being incompatible with the respective changes represented by the 2nd delta/change information [¶ 0111-0113]; moreover, synchronization techniques [¶ 0107 and ¶ 0110]).
Parkison fails to disclose changes made to a scene representation of a same synchronized version of a scene;
computing global version identifiers arranged in a sequence representing an encoding of a global sequential order, the global version identifiers identifying respective synchronized versions of the scene and relative positions of the sets of delta information in the global sequential order;
using the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier to evaluate the relative positions in the global sequential order; and
synchronized version to change the scene representation to an altered scene representation.
However, McKegney teaches information representing different respective changes made to a scene representation of a same synchronized version of a scene (McKegney; information representing different respective changes made to a scene representation of a same synchronized version of a scene [¶ 0083-0085]; wherein, collaborative based content [¶ 0079-0080]);
identifying respective synchronized versions of the scene (McKegney; identifying respective synchronized versions of the scene [¶ 0083-0085]); and
synchronized version to change the scene representation to an altered scene representation (McKegney; synchronized version to change the scene representation to an altered scene representation [¶ 0083-0085]).
Parkison and McKegney are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user using a platform/application, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a collaborative environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison, to incorporate information representing different respective changes made to a scene representation of a same synchronized version of a scene; identifying respective synchronized versions of the scene; and synchronized version to change the scene representation to an altered scene representation (as taught by McKegney), in order to provide improved application and access of three-dimensional scene rendering that offers increased control/interaction for users/collaborators without a high level of technical capabilities (McKegney; [¶ 0003-0006]).
Parkison as modified by McKegney fails to explicitly disclose computing global version identifiers arranged in a sequence representing an encoding of a global sequential order, the global version identifiers identifying respective synchronized versions of the data and relative positions of the sets of delta information in the global sequential order; and
using the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier to evaluate the relative positions in the global sequential order
However, Miao teaches computing, by the server, global version identifiers arranged in a sequence representing an encoding of a global sequential order (Miao; computing global version identifiers arranged in an implicit sequence (given version-control techniques) representing an encoding/conversion of a global sequential order by the server [¶ 0052-0055], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, hashing update identifiers [¶ 0050]; moreover, a server may use version control (techniques) to produce global versions of a model [¶ 0023 and ¶ 0049-0051]; and moreover, the server may track global versions [¶ 0027]), the global version identifiers identifying respective synchronized versions of the data and relative positions of the sets of delta information in the global sequential order (Miao; the global version identifiers [as addressed above] identifying respective synchronized versions of the data and relative positions of the sets of delta information (i.e. data changes, updates) in the global sequential order [¶ 0052-0055], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, a server may use different version-control techniques to track the generation of global versions of a model from updates received from the clients [¶ 0050]; even further, a server may hash update identifiers for updates to be merged into a global version of model into a version identifier for the global version [id.]; still further, the server may merge a set of updates into a global version of a model by averaging the contribution of each update [¶ 0051]; additionally, the server iteratively generates new global versions associated with version identifier(s) corresponding to a data conversion/encoding [¶ 0027 and ¶ 0034-0036]); and
using the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier to evaluate the relative positions in the global sequential order (Miao; using the 1st global version identifier and the 2nd global version identifier to evaluate the relative positions in the global sequential order [¶ 0052-0055]; moreover, using version identifiers of global versions of statistical model [¶ 0027-0028 and ¶ 0033-0035]).
Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user using a platform/application, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a collaborative environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney, to incorporate computing, by the server, global version identifiers arranged in a sequence representing an encoding of a global sequential order, the global version identifiers identifying respective synchronized versions of the data and relative positions of the sets of delta information in the global sequential order; and using the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier to evaluate the relative positions in the global sequential order (as taught by Miao), in order to provide improved performance of data management, transfer, and visualization in an efficient manner (Miao; [¶ 0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 16, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the system includes a data store that includes records of the respective synchronized versions of the data (Parkison; the system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] includes a data store that includes records of the respective synchronized versions of the data [¶ 0048-0049]; moreover, providing ongoing incremental snapshots of changes to a cloud storage and other cloud controller [¶ 0050]), and the records represent deltas between the respective synchronized versions of the data (Parkison; the records represent deltas/changes between the respective synchronized versions of the data [¶ 0076-0078]; moreover, synchronization [¶ 0110-0111] of changes/deltas [¶ 0112-0113]).
McKegney further teaches synchronized versions of the scene (McKegney; synchronized versions of the scene [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate synchronized versions of the scene (as taught by McKegney), in order to provide improved application and access of three-dimensional scene rendering that offers increased control/interaction for users/collaborators without a high level of technical capabilities (McKegney; [¶ 0003-0006]).
Regarding claim 17, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first client defers initiating the update until the server, in response to the receiving, provides both of the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier to the first client based at least on the first client receiving the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier out of order (Parkison; the 1st client defers initiating the update until the server, in response to the receiving, provides both of the 1st global version identifier and the 2nd global version identifier to the 1st client based at least on the 1st client receiving the 1st global version identifier and the 2nd global version identifier out of order (corresponding to order based version control) [¶ 0101-0102 and ¶ 0110-0111]; moreover, metadata is updated based on version changes (e.g. incremental data) [¶ 0112-0113 and ¶ 0116]; additionally, lock-ing to control order [¶ 0082-0086]).
Regarding claim 18, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first client (Parkison; the 1st client [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]):
stores an indication that the first delta information is unconfirmed by the server after sending the first delta information to the server (Parkison; stores an indication that the 1st delta/change information is unconfirmed by the server after sending the 1st delta information to the server [¶ 0009-0010 and ¶ 0075-0076]; moreover, determinations corresponding to flagging [¶ 0096-0098] for synchronization operations [¶ 0111-0113 and ¶ 0115]);
updates the indication to indicate that the first delta information is confirmed in response to receiving the first global version identifier from the server (Parkison; updates the indication to indicate that the 1st delta/change information is confirmed in response to receiving the 1st global version identifier from the server [¶ 0110-0111]); and
applies the first delta information to the first local copy responsive to the updating of the indication (Parkison; applies the 1st delta/change information to the 1st local copy responsive to the updating of the indication [¶ 0111-0113]; additionally, distributed change techniques [¶ 0075-0076 and ¶ 0078]).
Regarding claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 is addressed within the rejection of claim 15, due to the similarities claim 1 and claim 15 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 15 regarding the rejection of claim 1. Although, claim 1 and claim 15 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 1 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 2 is addressed within the rejection of claim 12, due to the similarities claim 2 and claim 12 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 12 regarding the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 3 is addressed within the rejection of claim 13, due to the similarities claim 3 and claim 13 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 13 regarding the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first client generates the first delta information and further waits for receipt, (Parkison; the 1st client [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] generates the 1st delta/change information and further waits for receipt [¶ 0094-0095] of the 1st global version identifier over one or more network communications and from the server [¶ 0111-0113]; moreover, upon receiving a change notice for the modified file [¶ 0096-0099]), the receipt of the first global version identifier triggering the first client to initiate the update of the first local copy to the second local copy (Parkison; the receipt of the 1st global version identifier triggering the 1st client to initiate the update of the 1st local copy to the 2nd local copy [¶ 0096-0099 and ¶ 0111]; additionally, file lock-ing [¶ 0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each global version identifier of the global version identifiers is a respective numerical value (Parkison; each global version identifier of the global version identifiers is a respective numerical value [¶ 0110-0111 and ¶ 0116]; moreover, cloud controller configured to identify files [¶ 0009 and ¶ 0066-0067]).
Miao further teaches the server computes each subsequent respective numerical value in the sequence by incrementing a respective prior numerical value represented by a prior global version identifier in the sequence (Miao; the server computes each subsequent respective numerical value in the sequence by incrementing a respective prior numerical value represented by a prior global version identifier in the sequence [¶ 0053-0056], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, iteratively generated [¶ 0034-0036] in relation with version management [¶ 0027-0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate the server computes each subsequent respective numerical value in the sequence by incrementing a respective prior numerical value represented by a prior global version identifier in the sequence (as taught by Miao), in order to provide improved performance of data management, transfer, and visualization in an efficient manner (Miao; [¶ 0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 9, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more conflict resolution rules are also used by the second client to resolve the conflict when the second client updates a third local copy of the same synchronized version to a fourth local copy representing the second synchronized version based at least on the second client receiving the first delta information from the server (Parkison; the one or more conflict resolution rules are also used by the 2nd client to resolve the conflict when the 2nd client updates a 3rd local copy of the same synchronized version to a 4th local copy representing the 2nd synchronized version based at least on the 2nd client receiving the 1st delta information from the server [¶ 0111-0113]; moreover, synchronization techniques [¶ 0107 and ¶ 0110]; wherein, performing modifications [¶ 0094-0095 and ¶ 0099] in relation with different outcomes [¶ 0096-0098 and ¶ 0102], as illustrated within Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the update causes the first client to update a display of the first local copy to the second local copy in a user interface (Parkison; the update causes the 1st client to update the 1st local copy to the 2nd local copy [¶ 0110-0111 and ¶ 0113]; moreover, distributed filesystem wherein one or more clients are updated [¶ 0094-0096 and ¶ 0099]).
Miao further teaches the update causes the first client to update a display of the first local copy to the second local copy in a user interface (Miao; the update causes the 1st client to update a display of the 1st local copy to the 2nd local copy in a UI [¶ 0053-0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate the update causes the first client to update a display of the first local copy to the second local copy in a user interface (as taught by Miao), in order to provide improved performance of data management, transfer, and visualization in an efficient manner (Miao; [¶ 0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 11 is addressed within the rejection of claim 15, due to the similarities claim 11 and claim 15 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 15 regarding the rejection of claim 11. Although, claim 11 and claim 15 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 11 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 12, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the at least one processor of claim 11, wherein the server (Parkison; the server [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]):
receives the sets of delta information in respective client update requests (Parkison; receives the sets of delta/change information in respective client update requests [¶ 0094-0096]), each set of the sets of delta information being received in a different one of the respective client update requests (Parkison; each set of the sets of delta/change information being received in a different one of the respective client update requests [¶ 0094-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 9), and
assigns a different respective global version identifier of the global version identifiers to each set of the sets of delta information (Parkison; assigns a different respective global version identifier of the global version identifiers to each set of the sets of delta/change information [¶ 0110-0111 and ¶ 0116]).
Regarding claim 13, Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao further discloses the at least one processor of claim 12, wherein the applying the first delta information to the first local copy generates an intermediate local copy that represents an intermediate synchronized version of the respective synchronized versions (Parkison; the applying the 1st delta/change information to the 1st local copy generates an intermediate local copy that represents an intermediate synchronized version of the respective synchronized versions [¶ 0094, ¶ 0096, and ¶ 0099]; moreover, incremental data and synchronize [¶ 0106-0107 and ¶ 0110-0111]; moreover, synchronization updates between cloud controllers [id.]), and the first global version identifier identifies the intermediate synchronized version (Parkison; the 1st global version identifier identifies the intermediate synchronized version [¶ 0106-0107 and ¶ 0110-0111]; wherein, version identification is both local and remote depending on which client is transferring the data for synchronization [as addressed above]).
Regarding claim 14, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the at least one processor of claim 11, wherein the operations further include transmitting, by the server and to the second client, the first delta information received from the first client, the first global version identifier, and the second global version identifier (Parkison; the operations [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] further include transmitting, by the server and to the 2nd client, the 1st delta/change information received from the 1st client, the 1st global version identifier, and the 2nd global version identifier [¶ 0075-0076 and ¶ 0094-0096], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and 9; additionally, synchronization update includes what is essentially an incremental metadata snapshot that only includes changes for file Z and an updated file version identifier for file Z, and cloud controller applies this snapshot to its stored metadata to bring file Z up to date [¶ 0110-0111], as further illustrated within Fig. 11; wherein, version identification is both local and remote depending on which client is transferring the data for synchronization [as addressed above]), the transmitting causing the second client to use the first global version identifier and the second global version identifier to apply the first delta information and the second delta information in the global sequential order to update a third local copy of the same synchronized version to a fourth local copy representing the second synchronized version (Parkison; the transmitting causing the 2nd client to use the 1st global version identifier and the 2nd global version identifier to apply the 1st delta information and the 2nd delta information in the global sequential order to update a 3rd local copy of the same synchronized version to a 4th local copy representing the 2nd synchronized version [¶ 0075-0076 and ¶ 0094-0096], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and 9).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao as applied to claim(s) 1 above, in view of Khosravy et al., US PGPUB No. 20060215569 A1, hereinafter Khosravy, and further in view of Iskandar et al., US Patent No. 11157739 B1, hereinafter Iskandar.
Regarding claim 6, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conflict is caused by the respective changes corresponding to the second delta information representing a first command to change a node in a graph of the scene that was removed from the first local copy by a second command represented by the respective changes corresponding to the first delta information (Parkison; the conflict is caused by the respective changes corresponding to the 2nd delta/change information representing an implicit 1st command (given operations) to change a node/block in a graph of the data that was removed/modified from the 1st local copy by an implicit 2nd command represented by the respective changes corresponding to the 1st delta information [¶ 0058 and ¶ 0110-0112]; moreover, remove operations [¶ 0078]; and moreover, application executing on client in relation with performing modifications [¶ 0094-0095 and ¶ 0099] in relation with different outcomes [¶ 0096-0098 and ¶ 0102]), and the one or more conflict resolution rules include discarding the first command in order to produce the second local copy (Parkison; the one or more conflict resolution rules include discarding the 1st command in order to produce the 2nd local copy [¶ 0110-0112]; moreover, collaborative synchronization [¶ 0154-0156]).
Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao fails to explicitly disclose commands to change.
However, Khosravy teaches the conflict is caused by the respective changes corresponding to the second delta information representing a first command to change a node in a scene graph of the scene that was removed from the first copy by a second command represented by the respective changes corresponding to the first delta information (Khosravy; the conflict is caused by the changes corresponding to the 2nd delta information representing a 1st command to change data that was implicitly removed (given a data modification) from the 1st copy (i.e. current version) by a 2nd command represented by the respective changes corresponding to the 1st delta information [¶ 0072-0074]; moreover, conflict detection [¶ 0075-0079]), and the one or more conflict resolution rules include discarding the first command in order to produce the second copy (Khosravy; the one or more conflict resolution rules [¶ 0075-0079] include discarding the 1st command in order to produce the 2nd copy (i.e. new/updated version) [¶ 0072-0073]; additionally, versions are tracked [¶ 0080-0082]; in other words, data items added, removed, or modified are not truly removed because they are tracked within recoded correlating to versioning).
Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao and Khosravy are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user using a platform/application, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a collaborative environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate the conflict is caused by the respective changes corresponding to the second delta information representing a first command to change a node in a scene graph of the scene that was removed from the first copy by a second command represented by the respective changes corresponding to the first delta information, and the one or more conflict resolution rules include discarding the first command in order to produce the second copy (as taught by Khosravy), in order to provide improved synchronization of data between various devices having various capabilities (Khosravy; [¶ 0004-0006 and ¶ 0038]).
Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao and Khosravy fails to explicitly disclose to change a node in a scene graph of the scene.
However, Iskandar further teaches a first command to change a node in a scene graph of the scene (Iskandar; an implicit 1st command [Col. 21, lines 6-27 and Col. 21, line 52 to Col. 22, line 9 and Col. 23, lines 20-26] to change a node in a scene graph of the scene [Col. 17, line 66 to Col. 18, line 50]; moreover, synchronization of data in response to change [Col. 7, line 57 to Col. 8, line 14, Col. 13, lines 36-59]).
Parkison in view of McKegney, Miao, and Khosravy and Iskandar are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user using a platform/application, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a collaborative environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney, Miao, and Khosravy, to incorporate a first command to change a node in a scene graph of the scene (as taught by Iskandar), in order to provide improved high-quality computer generated reality environments that further improves a shared user experience (Iskandar; [Col. 1, lines 21-57]).
Regarding claim 7, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the method of claim 1.
Parkison in view of McKegney, and Miao fails to disclose the scene comprises a graph and the first delta information references a plurality of nodes to delete from the same synchronized version of the scene graph in the sequence to produce a second synchronized version of the scene graph in the sequence
Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao fails to disclose the scene comprises a graph and the first delta information references a plurality of nodes to delete from the same synchronized version of the scene graph in the sequence to produce a second synchronized version of the scene graph in the sequence.
However, Khosravy teaches the data comprises a data chain and the first set of delta information references a plurality of nodes to delete from the same synchronized version of the data chain in the sequence to produce a second synchronized version of the data chain in the sequence (Khosravy; the data comprises a data chain [¶ 0072-0073 and ¶ 0080-0082], as illustrated within Fig. 20 and Fig. 22, and the 1st set of delta information references a plurality of nodes/data-elements to delete from the same synchronized version of the data chain in the sequence to produce a second synchronized version of the data chain in the sequence [¶ 0072-0074]; wherein, a node corresponds to a data-element (i.e. a replica) [¶ 0071], as illustrated within Fig. 19, in relation to data synchronization [¶ 0041, ¶ 0043, and ¶ 0052-0054]; moreover, sending synch requests [¶ 0083-0085]).
Parkison in view of McKegney, and Miao and Khosravy are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user over a network, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a communication and/or collaboration effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate the data comprises a data chain and the first set of delta information references a plurality of nodes to delete from the same synchronized version of the data chain in the sequence to produce a second synchronized version of the data chain in the sequence (as taught by Khosravy), in order to provide improved synchronization of data between various devices having various capabilities (Khosravy; [¶ 0004-0006 and ¶ 0038]).
Parkison in view of McKegney, Miao, and Khosravy fails to disclose a scene graph further comprising a plurality of nodes.
However, Iskandar teaches the scene comprises a scene graph further comprising a plurality of nodes (Iskandar; the scene comprises a scene graph further comprising a plurality of nodes [Col. 17, line 66 to Col. 18, line 50], as illustrated within Figs. 3A-B).
Parkison in view of McKegney, Miao, and Khosravy and Iskandar are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user over a network, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce communication and/or shared information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate the scene comprises a scene graph further comprising a plurality of nodes (as taught by Iskandar), in order to provide improved high-quality computer generated reality environments that further improves a shared user experience (Iskandar; [Col. 1, lines 21-57]).
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao as applied to claim(s) 1 and 15 above, in view of Iskandar.
Regarding claim 8, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each set of the sets of delta information defines a respective graph of a respective version of a virtual environment (Parkison; each set of the sets of delta/change information defines a respective graph of a respective version of data [as illustrated within Fig. 3]; wherein, Fig. 3 illustrates filesystem metadata (310) that further illustrates a tree data-structure), the respective graph corresponding to a respective synchronized version of the data and a respective global version identifier in the sequence (Parkison; the respective graph [as addressed above] corresponding to a respective synchronized version of the data and a respective global version identifier in the sequence [¶ 0048 and ¶ 0050-0051], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, delta/change info is managed within a memory environment [¶ 0111-0113] and involve version identifiers [¶ 0110 and ¶ 0116]).
McKegney further teaches a respective version of a virtual environment (McKegney; a respective version of a virtual environment [¶ 0055 and ¶ 0080]; moreover, visual editor [¶ 0036-0037]); and
a respective synchronized version of the scene (McKegney; a respective synchronized version of the scene [¶ 0084-0085]; moreover, cloud-based [¶ 0079-0080]).
Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao fails to explicitly disclose a respective graph of a respective version of a data; and
the respective graph corresponding to a respective synchronized version of data.
However, Iskandar teaches a respective graph of a respective version of a data (Iskandar; a respective graph of a respective version of a data [Col. 19, line 62 to Col. 20, line 22]); and
the respective graph corresponding to a respective synchronized version of data (Iskandar; the respective graph corresponding to a respective synchronized version of data [Col. 19, line 62 to Col. 20, line 22 and Col. 21, line 52 to Col. 22, line 9]).
Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao and Iskandar are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user using a platform/application, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a collaborative environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate a respective graph of a respective version of a data; and the respective graph corresponding to a respective synchronized version (as taught by Iskandar), in order to provide improved high-quality computer generated reality environments that further improves a shared user experience (Iskandar; [Col. 1, lines 21-57]).
Regarding claim 20, Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao further discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the data includes layers of data graph that are composed using a ranking of the layers (Parkison; the data includes layers of data graph that are composed using a ranking of the layers [as illustrated within Fig. 3]; wherein, Fig. 3 illustrates filesystem metadata (310) that further illustrates a tree data-structure).
McKegney further teaches to generate a composite scene that defines a three dimensional (3D) virtual environment (McKegney; to generate a composite/shared scene that defines a 3D virtual environment [¶ 0084-0085]; moreover, 3D scene browser interaction editing technique [¶ 0034-0035] associated with 3D scene definitions [¶ 0036-0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate to generate a composite scene that defines a three dimensional (3D) virtual environment (as taught by McKegney), in order to provide improved application and access of three-dimensional scene rendering that offers increased control/interaction for users/collaborators without a high level of technical capabilities (McKegney; [¶ 0003-0006]).
Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao fails to explicitly disclose the scene includes layers of scene graph that are composed using a ranking of the layers to generate a composite scene graph that defines a three dimensional (3D) virtual environment
However, Iskandar teaches the scene includes layers of scene graph that are composed using a ranking of the layers to generate a composite scene graph that defines a three dimensional (3D) virtual environment (Iskandar; the scene includes layers of scene graph [Col. 19, line 62 to Col. 20, line 22] that are composed using an implicit ranking (given the hierarchy) of the layers to generate a composite scene graph that defines a 3D virtual environment [Col. 17, line 66 to Col. 18, line 50, Col. 21, lines 6-20, and Col. 21, line 52 to Col. 22, line 9]).
Parkison in view of McKegney and Miao and Iskandar are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to data processing in relation with providing information to a user using a platform/application, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a collaborative environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Parkison as modified by McKegney and Miao, to incorporate the scene includes layers of scene graph that are composed using a ranking of the layers to generate a composite scene graph that defines a three dimensional (3D) virtual environment (as taught by Iskandar), in order to provide improved high-quality computer generated reality environments that further improves a shared user experience (Iskandar; [Col. 1, lines 21-57]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(regarding data sharing platforms)
Hoque et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150032690 A1);
Jung et al. (US PGPUB No. 20160072889 A1);
Daly (US PGPUB No. 20200193717 A1); and
Beres et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200204739 A1).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611