DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, and 14 of copending Application No. 16/945,914 (reference application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 2 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, and 14 of Application No. 16/945,914. In other words, claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, and 14 of Application No. 16/945,914 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore anticipates claims 1 and 2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,822,839. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,822,839. In other words, claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,822,839 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore anticipates claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 6,684,670 to Agbay et al.
Agbay et al. disclose an apparatus (10) for securing first (28) and second (26) ends of a meter sealing ring (22), the meter sealing ring adapted for use in installing a meter (meter enclosed within cover 12) to a watthour meter box (14), the apparatus comprising: a lock (34) having a head member (36) and a shank portion (38) comprising moveable locking members (44), the shank portion being inserted through an aperture (opening that allows the shank portion to extend therethrough; inserted during locking operation thereof) formed in the first end of the sealing ring; and a retaining sleeve (30) adapted to capture the shank portion (figure 7), wherein the lock is permanently retained on the first end of the sealing ring (figures 5 and 7; column 4, lines 21-36), as in claim 1.
Agbay et al. also disclose the first end of the sealing ring is disposed between the retaining sleeve and the head member (figures 5 and 7), and wherein the lock is permanently retained on the first end of the sealing ring (via engagement between the locking members and recess 60 of sleeve 32), as in claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the argument that Agbay et al. do not disclose the lock is permanently retained on the first end of the sealing ring, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The force needed to remove the lock from the sealing ring has already been discussed in the Office action mailed December 4, 2024. Concerning, the applicant’s assertion that Agbay et al. needs a key during initial assembly, therefore cannot be considered permanently retained, the examiner disagrees. During normal use of the sealing ring assembly, the lock of Agbay et al. is permanently retained, as the claims are directed to the assembly as a whole, and not the method of assembly, thus the steps Agbay et al. disclose during assembly are not relevant to the current claims.
In regards to the argument that the shank portion of Agbay et al. is not inserted through an aperture formed in the first end of the sealing ring, the examiner disagrees. As clearly shown in figures 2 and 7, the shank portion is inserted through an aperture in the first end of the sealing ring.
Responding to the argument that Agbay et al. does not disclose “the first end of the sealing ring is disposed between the retaining sleeve and the head member,” as noted and concerning the “exterior tubular collar 32,” and head member 36 are both disposed with respect to one side of the first end, the examiner requests the applicant to review the rejection concerning the aforementioned recitation, as the elements the applicant is pointing to are not utilized in the rejection. As clearly shown in figures 2, 4, 5 and 7 of Agbay et al., a portion of the first end of the sealing ring is disposed between the retaining sleeve and the head member.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
December 9, 2025