DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on December 1, 2025 was received. Claims 11 and 23 are amended. Claims 1-10, 16-17 and 21 were canceled.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued March 19, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15, 18-20 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20210147976) in view of Liu (US20210141304) and Kim2 (US20170263867).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches a method of making a light emitting unit in an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display substate (paragraph 0003). Huang teaches to deposit a deposition material (vapor deposition of organic material) on the display substate through the mask assembly (paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0046). Huang teaches the mask assembly comprises a mask frame (20 or 200) having an opening portion (23 or 203) (paragraphs 0040, 0053, figures 2 and 7) and a mask sheet (10 or 100) on the mask frame (paragraphs 0040, 0053, figures 3 and 8). Huang teaches the mask sheet comprises a first body part having a plurality of first opening portions arranged in a continuous array, a second body part having a plurality of second opening portions surrounded by the continuous array of first opening portions and a third body part having a third opening portion surrounded by the continuous array of the first opening portions and offset from the second body part (figure 11, paragraphs 0046, 0043-0045, see annotated figure 11 below). Huang teaches a plurality of the second body parts and a plurality of third body parts are provided; and the plurality of second body parts are aligned with one another, and the plurality of third boy parts are aligned with one another (see annotated figure 11 below). Although Huang does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the plurality of second body parts and the plurality of third body parts are alternately arranged in a zigzag shape or a serpentine shape along a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”.
Huang does not explicitly teach the at least one of a shape of the second opening portion, a size of the second opening portion, and a distance between adjacent ones of the second opening portions is different from that of the first opening portions. However, Liu teaches a mask strip that is used for fabricating a light emitting infrastructure layer on an array substate by an evaporation process (abstract and paragraph 0030). Liu teaches the mask strip has a first mask region 1a and a second mask region 2a, wherein the size of the masking openings in first mask region and second mask region are different and the distance between adjacent ones of the second opening portions is different from that of the first opening portions (paragraphs 0030-0032, see for example annotated figures 2-3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply first, second and third body parts on the mask as suggested by Liu in the method as disclosed by Huang because such configurations reduce the strength of the first mask region, uneven stress across the boundary area between first mask region and the second mask region is avoided, thereby the risk of color mixing between the first OLED region and the second OLED region is reduced or eliminated (paragraph 0031).
Huang in view of Liu teaches all limitations of this claim, except the deposition is conducted inside a chamber (locating a display substrate and a mask assembly inside a chamber). However, Kim2 teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, such as OLED (abstract, paragraphs 0003 and 0113), and comprising steps of placing a mask frame assembly 100 and a display substrate inside of a chamber, and depositing a deposition material, such as vaporized organic material, on the display substate through the mask assembly (paragraphs 0027, 0097-0099, 0102-0103 and figure 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to preformed the deposition inside of the chamber as suggested by Kim2 in the method of Huang in view of Liu, because Kim2 teaches the vacuum chamber is a airtight and allow the pressure controlled inside of the chamber to facility the deposition of the vaporized organic material on the substrate (paragraphs 0097-0106, 0007).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches the shape of the second opening portion and a shape of the third opening potion are same (see annotated figure 11 above). Liu teaches the shape of the second opening portion and a shape of the third opening portion are the same (see annotated figures 2 above).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches the mask assembly further comprises a support frame (20 or 200) located in a direction different from a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet and support the mask sheet (figures 7 and 10). Although Huang does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the third body part overlaps the support frame in a plan view), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. Particularly, Huang teaches the third body part (same as first grid pattern region 1011) (paragraphs 0043-0046, see figures 6 and 11) are associated with the active region for the deposition, however, Huang further teaches the deposition pattern (the active region) can be different design based on the requirement of the device; thus, it would be obvious to overlap the third body part with the support frame in a plan view to achieve a specific design pattern in light of the teaching of Huang. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”.
Regarding claim 14, Huang and Liu both teach the second body part and the third body part are located opposite to each other with respect to an arbitrary straight line parallel to a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet and passing through a center of the mask sheet (see annotated figure 11 above of Huang, and annotated figure 2 above of Liu).
Regarding claim 15, Huang and Liu both teach a distance from an edge of the second opening portion located at an outermost portion of the second body part to an edge of the mask sheet is same as a distance from an edge of the third opening portion located at an outermost portion of the third body part to an edge of the mask sheet (see annotated figure 11 above of Huang, and annotated figure 2 above of Liu).
Regarding claim 18, Huang and Liu both teach the mask sheet comprises a plurality of the second body parts and a plurality of the third body parts, wherein each of the third body parts has a plurality of the third opening portions, and wherein a sum of areas of the second opening portions of the plurality of second body parts and a sum of areas of the third opening portions of the plurality of third body parts are the same (see annotated figure 11 above of Huang, and annotated figure 2 above of Liu).
Regarding claim 19, Huang and Liu both teach the mask sheet comprises a plurality of the third body parts and at least some of the plurality of the third body parts are arranged symmetric to each other with respect to an arbitrary straight line perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet and passing through a center of the mask sheet (see annotated figure 11 above of Huang, and annotated figure 2 above of Liu).
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches the mask assembly further comprises a support frame (20 or 200) located in a direction different from a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet and supporting the mask sheet, wherein a plurality of support frames and a plurality (the 202 area) of the second body parts are provided (see figure 7), wherein a passage area through which the deposition material passes is defined by adjacent support frames from among the plurality of support frames and an edge of the first body part, or by one of the plurality of support frames, the mask frame and an edge of the first body part (see figures 9 and 11). Although Huang does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the second boy parts is located at corner portion of the passage area), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”.
Regarding claim 22, Huang teaches a method of making a light emitting unit in an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display substate (paragraph 0003). Huang teaches to deposit a deposition material (vapor deposition of organic material) on the display substate through the mask assembly (paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0046). Huang teaches the mask assembly comprises a mask frame (20 or 200) having an opening portion (23 or 203) (paragraphs 0040, 0053, figures 2 and 7) and a mask sheet (10 or 100) on the mask frame (paragraphs 0040, 0053, figures 3 and 8). Huang teaches the mask sheet comprises a first body part having a plurality of first opening portions arranged in a continuous array, a second body part having a plurality of second opening portions surrounded by the continuous array of first opening portions and a third body part having a third opening portion surrounded by the continuous array of the first opening portions and offset from the second body part (figure 11, paragraphs 0046, 0043-0045, see annotated figure 11 below). Huang teaches the mask assembly further comprises a support frame (20 or 200) located in a direction different from a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet and support the mask sheet (figures 7 and 10). Although Huang does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the support frame is disposed to overlap the third body part and some of the plurality of the first opening portions and is spaced apart from the second body part), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. Particularly, Huang teaches the first body part (see 1013 in figure 6) is outside of the barrier ring pattern 1012, which is blocked form depositing material during the deposition process by the mask frame body 202 (paragraphs 0043-0044, 0053, see figures 7 and 9). Since the first body part would not be used to deposit material to the substrate, unlike the second body part 1011 (paragraphs 0043-0044), it would be obvious that the first body part and second body part would not be required to have the same design (same shape of opening, size of opening and distance between adjacent ones of the openings) and the modification would not alter the operation of the mask. Huang teaches the third body part (same as first grid pattern region 1011) (paragraphs 0043-0046, see figures 6 and 11) are associated with the active region for the deposition, however, Huang further teaches the deposition pattern (the active region) can be different design based on the requirement of the device; thus, it would be obvious to overlap the third body part with the support frame in a plan view to achieve a specific design pattern in light of the teaching of Huang. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”.
Huang does not explicitly teach the at least one of a shape of the second opening portion, a size of the second opening portion, and a distance between adjacent ones of the second opening portions is different from that of the first opening portions. However, Liu teaches a mask strip that is used for fabricating a light emitting infrastructure layer on an array substate by an evaporation process (abstract and paragraph 0030). Liu teaches the mask strip has a first mask region 1a and a second mask region 2a, wherein the size of the masking openings in first mask region and second mask region are different and the distance between adjacent ones of the second opening portions is different from that of the first opening portions (paragraphs 0030-0032, see for example annotated figures 2-3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply first, second and third body parts on the mask as suggested by Liu in the method as disclosed by Huang because such configurations reduce the strength of the first mask region, uneven stress across the boundary area between first mask region and the second mask region is avoided, thereby the risk of color mixing between the first OLED region and the second OLED region is reduced or eliminated (paragraph 0031).
Huang in view of Liu teaches all limitations of this claim, except the deposition is conducted inside a chamber (locating a display substrate and a mask assembly inside a chamber). However, Kim2 teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, such as OLED (abstract, paragraphs 0003 and 0113), and comprising steps of placing a mask frame assembly 100 and a display substrate inside of a chamber, and depositing a deposition material, such as vaporized organic material, on the display substate through the mask assembly (paragraphs 0027, 0097-0099, 0102-0103 and figure 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to preformed the deposition inside of the chamber as suggested by Kim2 in the method of Huang in view of Liu, because Kim2 teaches the vacuum chamber is a airtight and allow the pressure controlled inside of the chamber to facility the deposition of the vaporized organic material on the substrate (paragraphs 0097-0106, 0007).
Regarding claim 23, Huang teaches a method of making a light emitting unit in an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display substate (paragraph 0003). Huang teaches to deposit a deposition material (vapor deposition of organic material) on the display substate through the mask assembly (paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0046). Huang teaches the mask assembly comprises a mask frame (20 or 200) having an opening portion (23 or 203) (paragraphs 0040, 0053, figures 2 and 7) and a mask sheet (10 or 100) on the mask frame (paragraphs 0040, 0053, figures 3 and 8). Huang teaches the mask sheet comprises a first body part having a plurality of first opening portions arranged in a continuous array, a second body part having a plurality of second opening portions surrounded by the continuous array of first opening portions and a third body part having a third opening portion surrounded by the continuous array of the first opening portions and offset from the second body part (figure 11, paragraphs 0046, 0043-0045, see annotated figure 11 below). Huang teaches a shape of the second body part is same as a shape of the third body part in a plan view (see annotated figure 11 below). Huang teaches a plurality of the second body parts and a plurality of third body parts are provided; and the plurality of second body parts are aligned with one another, and the plurality of third boy parts are aligned with one another (see annotated figure 11 below). Although Huang does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the plurality of second body parts and the plurality of third body parts are alternately arranged in a zigzag shape or a serpentine shape along a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”.
Huang does not explicitly teach the at least one of a shape of the second opening portion, a size of the second opening portion, and a distance between adjacent ones of the second opening portions is different from that of the first opening portions. However, Liu teaches a mask strip that is used for fabricating a light emitting infrastructure layer on an array substate by an evaporation process (abstract and paragraph 0030). Liu teaches the mask strip has a first mask region 1a and a second mask region 2a, wherein the size of the masking openings in first mask region and second mask region are different and the distance between adjacent ones of the second opening portions is different from that of the first opening portions (paragraphs 0030-0032, see for example annotated figures 2-3 below). Liu teaches a shape of the second body part is same as a shape of the third body part in a plan view (see annotated figures 2-3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply first, second and third body parts on the mask as suggested by Liu in the method as disclosed by Huang because such configurations reduce the strength of the first mask region, uneven stress across the boundary area between first mask region and the second mask region is avoided, thereby the risk of color mixing between the first OLED region and the second OLED region is reduced or eliminated (paragraph 0031).
Huang in view of Liu teaches all limitations of this claim, except the deposition is conducted inside a chamber (locating a display substrate and a mask assembly inside a chamber). However, Kim2 teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, such as OLED (abstract, paragraphs 0003 and 0113), and comprising steps of placing a mask frame assembly 100 and a display substrate inside of a chamber, and depositing a deposition material, such as vaporized organic material, on the display substate through the mask assembly (paragraphs 0027, 0097-0099, 0102-0103 and figure 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to preformed the deposition inside of the chamber as suggested by Kim2 in the method of Huang in view of Liu, because Kim2 teaches the vacuum chamber is a airtight and allow the pressure controlled inside of the chamber to facility the deposition of the vaporized organic material on the substrate (paragraphs 0097-0106, 0007).
Regarding claim 24, Both Huang and Liu teach the second body parts and the third body parts are located opposite to each other with respect to an arbitrary straight line parallel to a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet and passing through a center of the mask sheet (see annotated figure 11 above of Huang, and annotated figure 2 above of Liu). Although Huang and Liu does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the second boy parts and the third body parts do no overlap each other in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction to the mask sheet), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”.
Regarding claim 25, Huang and Liu teach the plurality of second body parts are aligned with one another, and the plurality of third body parts are aligned with one another (see annotated figure 11 above of Huang, and annotated figure 2 above of Liu).
Regarding claim 26, Although Huang and Liu does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (each of the second body parts and each of the third body parts are arranged in a serpentine shape), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 1, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
Huang in view of Liu does not teach the second body part and third body parts are alternately arranged in a zigzag shape or a serpentine shape along a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet (claims 11 and 23).
Huang in view or Liu does not teach the support frame is disposed to overlap the third body part and some of the plurality of the first opening portions and is spaced apart from the second body part.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
As discussed above, although Huang does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the plurality of second body parts and the plurality of third body parts are alternately arranged in a zigzag shape or a serpentine shape along a longitudinal direction of the mask sheet), before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”. Applicate has not established the criticality of the claimed shape and configuration of the mask (regarding the arrangement of the second and third body parts).
As discussed above, Huang teaches the support frame but does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration (the support frame is disposed to overlap the third body part and some of the plurality of the first opening portions and is spaced apart from the second body part), before the effective filing date of the invention, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (mask sheet) of Huang to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim and it is not expected to alter the operation of the device (mask sheet) in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. Particularly, Huang teaches the first body part (see 1013 in figure 6) is outside of the barrier ring pattern 1012, which is blocked form depositing material during the deposition process by the mask frame body 202 (paragraphs 0043-0044, 0053, see figures 7 and 9). Since the first body part would not be used to deposit material to the substrate, unlike the second body part 1011 (paragraphs 0043-0044), it would be obvious that the first body part and second body part would not be required to have the same design (same shape of opening, size of opening and distance between adjacent ones of the openings) and the modification would not alter the operation of the mask. Huang teaches the third body part (same as first grid pattern region 1011) (paragraphs 0043-0046, see figures 6 and 11) are associated with the active region for the deposition, and further teaches the deposition pattern (the active region) can be different design based on the requirement of the device; thus, it would be obvious to overlap the third body part with the support frame in a plan view to achieve a specific design pattern in light of the teaching of Huang. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)”. Applicate has not established the criticality of the claimed shape and configuration of the mask (regarding the arrangement of the support frame, the third body part and some of the first opening portions).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717